We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Aanola Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castries, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bob O
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pictures online were good but the place was a disappointment”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Right off the jump we got 1 key for 4 people.The apartment was supposed to have a queen size and a double bed.There was a double and 2 twin beds.The clothes washer leaked.Shower nozzle was gone.The curtain rod for the shower was held on by a thread.Bathroom is tiny.There are no chest of drawers for clothes.We left our clothes in suitcases on top of a chair.Aanola Villa looks good from the outside but the inside is poor.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The outside of the building
Liked least: The inside of the building
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2016
Hi communication is key, no pun intended. Thanks for the review but had you said any of this during your stay each issue could have been addressed by anyone of our maintenance guys who maintained the property daily during your stay. I have added some pictures of the finished painting job to this listing, hope you like them.

We do have extra keys which are available with a deposit because guests lose keys regularly and a lost key becomes a security hazard so the locks have to be changed but if you had let us know and paid the deposit we would have been happy to give you additional keys.

You'll be happy to know that the shower nozzle was installed once we discover that it was missing as has been the shower curtain. Our motto is “just let us know and we’ll do our best”.

Bathroom size is much harder.

We do have alternatives for the chest of drawers though because there are closets in each bedroom and we try to keep fifteen hangers in each closet. Also our folding luggage racks convert any suitcase into a chest of drawers.

The beds I'm sure you found as advertised; in none of our advertising did we suggest otherwise. After reading your review we did discover that the washer was leaking, so thanks for letting us know but we would have preferred you to have done this while you were here so we could have addressed it then.

Since then one of our maintenance team has replaced the seal ring around the door of the washer so it does not leak anymore, that took all of five minutes. I have also uploaded some pics of the washer filled with water showing no leaks.

We have been reviewed on other booking sites more times than here so potential guests please check some other site reviews to get an objective view.

We really happy that you did say that AANOLA VILLAS looks good even if from the outside. That's encouraging so we'll continue to offer vacations to families like yours so they can enjoy St Lucia affordably.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B
Ajax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Aanola Villas. It was large and airy with an air-conditioner in the master bedroom which we appreciated even though there was always a nice breeze and good screens on the windows. The location was excellent, beautiful views and close to a bus stop which got us to the City of Casties in 10 minutes. We were very pleased to find that initial supplies of coffee, sugar, toilet paper, and soaps were provided. Anthony, who along with Desma manage the property, was quite helpful to stop on the way after picking us up at what would become our favorite local bar/restaurant called the Hardest Hard Café to buy us a welcoming beverage and allow us to get some food.

The building is located near the City of Castries on a little inlet. There is a small beach with a sun pavilion right behind the property , although you have to walk around this fenced off lot to get to it. A cleaning crew comes every weekday morning to pick up anything that drifts in over night and do a good job keeping it clean. I went snorkling and saw some nice little fish, red and black sea urchins, and a cool purple sea eel. The water is clean and warm for swimming. We really liked that the property has fruit trees that you can pick from and enjoy fresh, tree ripened fruit every day including grapefruit, oranges, guava, limes, papaya, bananas, plantains and mangos. Nearby were also almond, breadfruit and tamarind trees. We took a day trip down to Soufriere to see the sulphur springs which they also call the “valcano”. Along the way our driver pointed out cocoa and cashews growing by the roadside. We dried and roasted the cocoa beans to make cocoa tea, which is a St Lucian favorite.
The apartment had a full kitchen basically equipped with dishes for four persons, although we longed for better cookware, a toaster and kettle. We had investigated Caribbean cooking and looked up St Lucia recipes prior to coming, so we were well prepared when we went to the famous Market in Castries and the local Super J grocery store to purchase and cook local dishes such as stewed and curried chicken, fresh fish bought from the local fishermen, along with dasheen, breadfruit, yams, and boiled green plantains and bananas, or figs as they call them in St Lucia. Get your booze at the Super J too. The local Piton beer and Bounty or Chairman rums are very good and super cheap.
In regards to sight seeing, we went up to Rodney Bay/Reduit Beach, but found it very expensive with a narrow beach loaded with tourists. The beach hawkers were on everyone like crazy. We also went to La Toc beach by bus and met Rasta Sheldon. Real nice guy, but the beach is also small and eroding away. Much better were Choc Beach and Vigie Beaches. Both have long stretches of perfect white sand, nice water, and a bar/restaurant at one end for refreshments and good local food. Say hi to the Rasta guy Sirus for us on Choc Beach and Dan on Vigie Beach. You can take taxis everywhere, but they cost 20 times what the local buses cost! The “buses” are really 10 person vans which they use because the roads are narrow and windy. They are super cheap and take off as soon as they are full. You can go anywhere on the island with them. Just tell anyone where you want to go and they will help you get to the right bus as buses are located in different areas depending on destination. We found the local people to be helpful and friendly but were cautioned not to walk alone in the City at night, as is unfortunately wise advice anywhere these days.
Went also hired a driver to take us down to Sourfriere to see the famous Pitons. Although the Internet says go to Sugar Beach, which is located between them, we tried but were shooed off by the resort security and told to lay only right in the middle in the full sun or to go off to one side where there was some shade and a couple beaten up beach chairs. There are booze-cruises that go out of Castries that are a better way to see the Pitons. You will also see Marigot Bay on these cruises, which we found after taking the bus there has a tiny beach again in spite of Internet promotion. Again, booze cruise better. But watch out for the prices of these trips as we met people who paid from $200 to $600 for the same cruise!!
We also went up to Gros Islet for the Friday night street party. This is the real deal if you want the local experience. We met Anthony and our Rasta friends up there and they took very good care of us. Make sure you have transportation booked to return before you go there as it is quite isolated. For great local food, as is the case whenever travelling, avoid where the tourists are eating :) and go around back to where they are roasting fresh fish over charcoal fires. Man was that good. Also further to food, eat at the Hardest Hard Café for lunch and surprisingly, at the Taipon Hospital who serve morning coffee for us addicts and full dinners until 6:30pm. Getting food this "late" is hard as St Lucians eat their big meal for lunch and finding local food after about 4, even in the Market, is a challenge.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2015
JIM THANKS FOR STOPPING BY.HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN SOON.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitz891
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
“Did not live up to promise”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2014

Advertised as air-conditioned but was not. Accommodation was very spacious, with a view of the ocean, but facilities and amenities need to be upgraded. Without Air-conditioning, we had to open the windows. The breeze was good but the mosquitoes interrupted sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious accommodation
Liked least: facilities and ammenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2015
Since your review you will be happy to know that we have air conditioned our bedrooms to provided this option to our guests. While most prefer the natural Caribbean breezes we have chosen to include ac in our bedrooms for guests to have the choice. Thank you again for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylzie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing when compared to the advertised photos.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There is no air conditioning and my apartment was dirty. During my stay, I called to report a broken toilet. No one answered and no one returned my call. It remained broken during my stay. The only dining within walking distance is the hospital cafeteria.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2014
We are a green property and being right next to the sea; we make the most of the constant north east trade winds and don't advertise air-conditioning. To have as gentle a carbon footprint as possible we have fans in all our rooms. Also our apartments boast full kitchens and are meant to be self catering for families traveling with children but we encourage our guest to make the most of the wide range of cuisine available on island.

At check out we provide each guest with a review form to provide direct information to help us maintain our standards of cleanliness and service. Its always best when these issues are raised at this time and helpful to us when our in-house form is completed. This guest did neither however the guest did complain about the taxi-fare to the airport being to high. We had to explain that the taxi-fare was quoted in Eastern Caribbean dollars and not United States dollars. We are a family property that really loves offering affordable Caribbean vacations to families and wish all our guests the very best experience when they visit the Caribbean.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castries hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing