We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Paradise - One visit is not enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apartment Espoir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartment Espoir
Ranked #1 of 16 Castries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in Paradise - One visit is not enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

What can we say that has not already been said about Espoir, Keith and Sabina. For those that love the self sufficient holiday this is the perfect place why stop anywhere else.
Keith and Sabina are the perfect hosts making you feel more than welcome they made us feel that we were on holiday with friends nothing was too much trouble, they are an invaluable resource for everything you’d be hard pressed to find something that they do not know about the island they organised all our trips told us the best places to go and eat – places we would never have found - and arranged our hire car.
The apartments are superb with wonderful views and just a short 3 minute walk to 2 lovely beaches. There was something satisfying about laying our towels down in the middle of the East Winds Inn all inclusive resort and thinking how much have you paid to stop here!! All beaches in St Lucia are free.
The 2 bed apartment we stayed in had everything we needed; the gardens are well maintained the pool was a wonderful distraction. Keith has just finished a 2 bed Villa in the Gardens – this is finished to a high standard and we hope to return and try it out some day. The apartments are well placed even if you do not have a car a short walk to the bus stop, buses all 16 seat mini buses are frequent and friendly allowing you to explore Rodney bay, Gros Islet and Castries within 30 minutes this is a must but remember ‘Bus Stop Driver’ when you want him to stop no bell.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_and_Diane9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us and that your vacation was just what you wanted, We look forward to welcoming you back to St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    29
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
98
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

For the self sucicient who like to truly experience and explore while on vacation. Rent a car, stay at the Espoir and pick Keith's brain on the best trail hiking along the north side of the island and beyond. Listen to him. Ask him about food and local festivities.
The apartment was perfect. Nestled in a garden with 8 different types of mango (among many year round bloomers) that are in season beginning April to October. Keith was building a private two bedroom cabin when we there. Just beautiful.
Access via your own two feet to two fine beaches on the right and the left at the end of a short dirt rd/path.
Get your friends o
My suggestion. Come and check it out on your own, but consider gathering your close friends and family, Rent out a bunch of apartments and take the place over . The views from the balconies are glorious. The place is extremely safe and secure. Two beautiful labs will be there to greet you.
The grocery store is close enough(just down the main rd) . Rodney bay is a few minutes drive. We were able to explore 15 beaches from this location and we only went as far south as soufriere and north to... Cas en bas. We stayed for two weeks .
I was so comfortable there that I cried when we left.
A truly amazing experience to share ...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir Once again, thank you for posting these wonderful comments; I am sure it will help assist other travellers when planning their own holiday.
We hope to welcome you back to Apartment Espoir at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waintfleet All Saints, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here in October and had a trip to remember. We prefer to self cater and this is a really lovely place to stay. The apartments had everything in them that we needed. The pool was very welcome and is surrounded by tropical gardens.
Keith & Sabine are brilliant hosts and will do all they can to make your holiday one to remember- we shall not forget it and will certainly return here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philparker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us and that your vacation was just what you wanted.
We look forward to welcoming you back to St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have stayed at Apartment Espoir on two different trips and it is always a great experience. The addition of a swimming pool was great on our last trip as that is a nice place to relax in the evenings. Keith is so helpful in telling the history of the island and recommending restaurants and things to do around the island. He also made all of our dinner reservations on our last trip, even one for our wedding anniversary when we had even moved to a place further south on the island. We are hoping to return again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caribbean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you once again for posting your review following your second visit very much appreciated.
It was great to read that you would choose to return and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our island of St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Once again I m back in St-Lucia ,can t stay away from paradise to long ,it is so relaxing & beautiful.the feeling of being in a secure place with no worries about nothing .Keith & Sabina are still as helpful as ever to make your stay as enjoyable as possible .they will go out of there way to make sure that your stay is memorable.that is one of the reasons that I come back here years after years .From all the places I have been in Lucia this is where you want to be .this year I did not bring the kids but if you travel with kids and want to make your own food well this is the perfect place .fridge stove everything you need is in the apartments all you need is your personal effects,the beach & pool nearby walking distance ,& the beach is so clean & water clear as you would not believe.it is worth every dollars you spent to be here.If you compare oranges for oranges wow this is it .Also long term rentals I have not yet find another place at better rates they are very reasonable .well hopefully this will help in choosing the right place to be in Lucia .Have a nice trip to you all travelers out there .

Room Tip: they also have 2 bedrooms apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samgen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir Thank you once again for posting your review following your second visit , very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

on our cab ride from hewanorra to Espoire, my wife and I couldn't help but notice all the derelict cars abandoned roadside. whay a shame for such a beautiful island.upon our arrival at Espoir we noticed numerous vehicles parked there. much to our chagrin we realized these were all junked / abandoned. it's kind of funny how none of the pictures of Espoir show the broken down cars strewn about the property (land rover) and the many abandoned cars littering the road adjacent to this place.
With a little investigating I found out that all these eyesores belong to the owner of Espoir.
Keith clean up your surroundings so people can enjoy a tropical vacation that doesn't resemble a car parts lot. definately not what we paid for or expected to see. Save yourself a bundle of cash and camp out at your local used automall at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alistair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I wanted to respond to this one after much thought and research on my end. I am not unopposed to criticism if I deserve it and it is accurate. This report is unfair in many ways: I feel it is misleading and inaccurate. You have never been to Apartment Espoir. We have absolutely no record of you ever staying at Espoir. It is a great shame that you have been able to use such a great medium as Tripadvisor to deceive people & degrade a country & an establishment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We found the location of Apartment Espoir to be great - not that far from Castries, nor from Rodney Bay with the clubs and restaurants, but still rather secluded and peaceful. Public transport to and from the guesthouse, accessible after a short walk, was frequent and cheap. The closest bar&grill, 'No Stress Bar' was 5 minutes walk from the guesthouse - very much a local place and not suitable for fancy dinner arrangements, but loads of fun with a friendly owner. A couple of more eateries were within a 15-minute walking distance. The guesthouse does not have its own beach, but is very close to other hotels with clean (and public!) beaches. Windjammer Landing with its restaurants (not great, but OK) and waterfront bars is a short walk away, but the walk might not be suitable for everybody. Unless we were enjoying the pool in the guesthouse, we were usually on the Windjammer beach, sipping cocktails. Our room had a kitchenette with a fridge, so we stocked up on ingredients for breakfasts and occasional dinners while visiting the shops in Rodney Bay or the market in Castries. The room was clean and spacious enough for two, with a veranda that was perfect for breakfasts.The hosts, Keith and Sabine, were very friendly and available whenever we needed their assistance. Although our first time there, we felt like visiting old friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments. It is greatly appreciated. I often think of Estonia. Do you realise we have our Independence Day on very close dates. Estonia’s independence is 24th Feb. St Lucia is 22nd Feb so for sure whenever we celebrate our Independence Estonia is very close to my heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
0.0 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#8 of 12 in Castries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#7 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment Espoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment Espoir

Property: Apartment Espoir
Address: Labrelotte Crescent | East Winds/ Marisule, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment Espoir 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Espoir, a unique experience, The 11 fully self contained apartments (clean, light, friendly Caribbean colors, well equipped), fantastic view overlooking the Caribbean Sea, lush garden, beautiful palm fringed sandy beach, great service, warm friendly atmosphere, English & German speaking, great unforgettable tours, home away from home. Don't just Dream it! Do it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apartment Espoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment Espoir Hotel Castries
Apartment Espoir St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing