We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the owner has a penchant for collecting derelict cars”
Review of Apartment Espoir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartment Espoir
Ranked #1 of 16 Castries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2011

on our cab ride from hewanorra to Espoire, my wife and I couldn't help but notice all the derelict cars abandoned roadside. whay a shame for such a beautiful island.upon our arrival at Espoir we noticed numerous vehicles parked there. much to our chagrin we realized these were all junked / abandoned. it's kind of funny how none of the pictures of Espoir show the broken down cars strewn about the property (land rover) and the many abandoned cars littering the road adjacent to this place.
With a little investigating I found out that all these eyesores belong to the owner of Espoir.
Keith clean up your surroundings so people can enjoy a tropical vacation that doesn't resemble a car parts lot. definately not what we paid for or expected to see. Save yourself a bundle of cash and camp out at your local used automall at home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alistair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

I wanted to respond to this one after much thought and research on my end. I am not unopposed to criticism if I deserve it and it is accurate. This report is unfair in many ways: I feel it is misleading and inaccurate. You have never been to Apartment Espoir. We have absolutely no record of you ever staying at Espoir. It is a great shame that you have been able to use such a great medium as Tripadvisor to deceive people & degrade a country & an establishment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Apartment Espoir
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 159 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

We found the location of Apartment Espoir to be great - not that far from Castries, nor from Rodney Bay with the clubs and restaurants, but still rather secluded and peaceful. Public transport to and from the guesthouse, accessible after a short walk, was frequent and cheap. The closest bar&grill, 'No Stress Bar' was 5 minutes walk from the guesthouse - very much a local place and not suitable for fancy dinner arrangements, but loads of fun with a friendly owner. A couple of more eateries were within a 15-minute walking distance. The guesthouse does not have its own beach, but is very close to other hotels with clean (and public!) beaches. Windjammer Landing with its restaurants (not great, but OK) and waterfront bars is a short walk away, but the walk might not be suitable for everybody. Unless we were enjoying the pool in the guesthouse, we were usually on the Windjammer beach, sipping cocktails. Our room had a kitchenette with a fridge, so we stocked up on ingredients for breakfasts and occasional dinners while visiting the shops in Rodney Bay or the market in Castries. The room was clean and spacious enough for two, with a veranda that was perfect for breakfasts.The hosts, Keith and Sabine, were very friendly and available whenever we needed their assistance. Although our first time there, we felt like visiting old friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for the lovely comments. It is greatly appreciated. I often think of Estonia. Do you realise we have our Independence Day on very close dates. Estonia’s independence is 24th Feb. St Lucia is 22nd Feb so for sure whenever we celebrate our Independence Estonia is very close to my heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our hosts ,Keith & Sabine, were incredibly warm and helpful. They were ready with all types of information and advise. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony and letting the world go by- as we watched the beautiful tropical sunset each night. The colors were fantasticl!
The entire complex is surrounded by gorgeous tropical plants and brightly colored flowers all integrated in the surrounding natural foliage --a sort of miniature jungle paradise experience that rivals the St. Lucia botanical gardens.
The pool is situated among all this marvelous foliage.
A very unique experience to say the least. Once you arrive you do not want to leave. Just sipping a drink looking out over the Caribbean and the jungle from your own private balcony. Keith recommended Peter, a wonderfully helpful taxi driver, who tooks us to all kinds of great sites. If you are in Castries this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the sea and watch the suns.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonaldTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us and that your vacation was just what you wanted - relaxed and left you both invigorated It is also good to note that your taxi driver provided a smooth transition from the airport to the hotel and plenty of useful information and commentary to make you feel truly welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We loved our stay at Espoir, Keith was a fantastic host, he answered our many questions and was very helpful. He arranged for transportation to and from the airport as well as arranged a day trip to Martinque for us. Keith also took us on a tour of the island sharing his great knowledge of St. Lucia allowing us an insiders view of the island.

The room was well equiped with everything necessary however we spent much of our time on the balcony as the view of the ocean, pool and garden was incredible.

The location of Espoir is ideal, close enough to Rodney Bay to go for dinner, near to Castries and has a grocery store & bbq spot just a short walk down the road. With the Windjammer just a couple minute walk away, the resort's restaurants and beach were very accessible.

Our stay at Espoir was amazing and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilyd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir It was great to read that you would choose to return and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our island of St Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We feel very welcome at Espoir. This is the best place we can think about it when coming to St. Lucia.. We have been coming here to Espoir since 9 years and we just love it. Sabine & Keith are like family and very, very helpful in all things.
We can recommend this place highly. It is a place to relax, feeling welcome and to enjoy the holidays.
If you ever come to St. Lucia, go to Espoir to stay. You will not regret it.
Keith and Sabine thank you for having us once again and as usual we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hasueierkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Manager at Apartment Espoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Thank you for the nice comments. Coming back to Espoir since 9 years shows us that you truly enjoy St. Lucia and this place. It is great to have such amazing and friendly guests like you staying with us. We hope to see you back in 2012 !
Sabine & Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

It is difficult to know what to add to the other glowing reviews, but Apartment Espoir is a beautiful place. The apartments are well furnished, with everything you need. We didn't self cater, with the exception of breakfast, but the kitchen was extremely well equipped if you want to cook. The things that make this place so special are the views, from your balcony and the lovely pool area and Keith's hospitality is second to none. He obviously knows his island in depth, and loves it, and his enthusiasm is infectious. We followed all his recommendations and were glad we did. The walk to the beach is easy and the access to Windjammer means you have all the advantages of a big, high class resort combined with the privacy, intimacy and charm (not to mention price) of a beautiful, owner run small one. On our last day, we had a late evening flight and Keith let us use his personal facilities and gave us drinks and fed us delicious paw paw before we left. Thank you Keith for making us so welcome and being the perfect host!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel-Ian11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir We look forward to welcoming you back to St Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Espoir are lovely self catering apartments on a hillside in Labrellotte Bay, just 3 minutes up the hill from the East Winds & Windjammer Resorts. Plus you can use the facilities at the Windjammer. The sunsets at Espoir are phenomenal.
Espoir also has a lovely pool & gardens with a host who makes your vacation worhwhile. The Mini bus system is very easy to use, however you can rent a car right on the premises, if you are a little more adventuress.
E-mail the Espoir & they will arrange transportation from the airport as well as make suggestions & arrange tours for whatever you like. Make sure that you get a chance to meet the local people & sample their food, both are a treat.
Rodney Bay is right up the road, only $1.75 EC by Mini Bus,it has many restaurants & shopping. Castries is only a little further but worth the trip. There are boat trips from the Windjammer as well as all types of water sports & don't miss the Happy Hour.
Make sure you take a tour of the Island to see the beauty of the Pitons & the villages along the way.
Don't be intimdated by the walk up the hill or do what we did, walk done to the Mini Bus & for very little EC's, take a Taxi back.
Try to spend some time the host's as they have a wealth of knowledge about the Island, both its history & things to do.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadRetied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with
Once again, thank you for posting these wonderful comments; I am sure it will help assist other travellers when planning their own holiday.
We hope to welcome you back to Apartment Espoir at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
0.0 mi away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.0 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#2 of 12 in Castries
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.0 mi away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#8 of 12 in Castries
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment Espoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment Espoir

Address: Labrelotte Crescent | East Winds/ Marisule, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castries
Price Range: $81 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment Espoir 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Espoir, a unique experience, The 11 fully self contained apartments (clean, light, friendly Caribbean colors, well equipped), fantastic view overlooking the Caribbean Sea, lush garden, beautiful palm fringed sandy beach, great service, warm friendly atmosphere, English & German speaking, great unforgettable tours, home away from home. Don't just Dream it! Do it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apartment Espoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment Espoir Hotel Castries
Apartment Espoir St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing