We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous View Made For A Relaxing Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
LA MARGUERITE - balcony view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LA MARGUERITE - balcony view
LA MARGUERITE - kitchen LA MARGUERITE - fine dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
LA MARGUERITE - balcony view
LA MARGUERITE - kitchen
LA MARGUERITE - fine dining area
LA MARGUERITE - queen bed
LA MARGUERITE - balcony view
LA MARGUERITE - coffee for two
LA MARGUERITE - balcony view
LA MARGUERITE - sailing around the bay
LA MARGUERITE - cruise ships at berth
LA MARGUERITE - cruise ships entering the bay
LA MARGUERITE - cruise ships at dawn
BAYSIDE VILLA St. Lucia
BAYSIDE VILLA ST. LUCIA
LA MARGUERITE Apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Castries, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
BrigitteM...
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous View Made For A Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We rented the L'Ixora for a week and were very pleased with it. The little apartment has everything you need - a kitchen equipped for simple meals (stove, microwave, toaster oven, dishes, utensils), a separate bedroom, nice bathroom, and a living room with cable TV. Everything was very convenient and comfortable, except for the sleeper sofa in the living room, which was not so comfortable to sit on when watching TV. Our absolute favourite spot in St. Lucia was the porch of the apartment ... never hot because of a breeze, a beautiful view of the bay, Castries, the cruise ships going by, and very close to the fridge!! It gets dark at 6:30 pm, so it's best to go out early and to be back late afternoon. We took a public bus (mini van) to Castries, Rodney Bay, and Marigot Bay, which was easy and inexpensive to do. The apartment is close to "Sandals - La Toc", where we went to the beach a few times, but if you plan to go there,bring a cooler bag for drinks and a beach bag for your stuff. We only went for walks along the beach since we found it more convenient to use the lawn chairs at the villa. We had hired Anthony, a driver who also does the airport transportation, to go to Soufriere to see the Pitons, Diamond Falls, to use the mineral baths, and to go the drive-in volcano. It took us from 9 am to 4 pm to do that, and I had hoped to do a little hike as well, but we did not have time. Since we ended up doing what you can get on a regular tour, I would probably check into a catamaran tour instead. Anthony was very reliable and always on time, but I would suggest to always ask him about fares beforehand. If you would like to go out at night, I would probably recommend renting a car. Buses aren't really an option for the night, and we found the fare to Vigie quite expensive and opted to go out for lunch most of the time and made our own dinner. The owners of the property, Shirley and John, are very welcoming and helpful. John took us grocery shopping and showed us where to catch the bus to get back to the apartment in the future. Both Anthony and John have a lot of interesting information to share about St. Lucia. We had a very relaxing time and miss the perfect weather.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann S
United States
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, Very relaxing, Bayside Villa will see us again”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
4
people found this review helpful

This apartment is charming, nice and sparkling clean. It has everything you need to make your stay perfect and the owners, John and Shirley live on the property will greet you upon arrival and will make sure your stay goes well.The couch is comfortable and the bed in comfy too. There is A/C and wireless high speed internet in all the apartments and the La Rose has a washing machine in it. I think the other apartments share a washer in a separate laundry room. Everything you need to make your stay comfortable is there for you. They have a lovely dog named Reds, who is sweet and knows he can't come down to the apartments, but if he does, please don't pet him for his owners do not want him spoiled. We were there for two weeks and never heard him bark and he will not bother you either. The apartments are off the main road so there is no thru traffic, no noise, nor people walking by, just beautiful relaxing views from the covered porch with soft breezes and lounge chairs to sit and enjoy your favorite beverage while you watch the cruise ships pass directly in front of you, as well as other boats and the city of Castries. The lights at night twinkle across the bays and kept me up late looking at them-just too pretty to miss. Be sure to bring your good camera as well as a pocket camera for you do not want to miss out on views from this magnificent affordable property, as well as elsewhere on the island.We really enjoyed watching the moon come up over the city from the porch and kitchen window-it was beyond pretty!. There are large windows so you won't miss out on viewing the beauty from inside either, the light house across the bay, the city during the day and the lights by night and on most days the island of Martinique is visible.They have a trusted driver who will pick you up at the airport, if you don't rent a car there. The driver, Anthony will makes stop along the way and will stop at a grocery store and even help you find things if need be. You can also hire him to take you places and he will wait for you. He took us to the Jump Up in Gros Islet, which is a street party with loud music, rum, beer stands and food vendors. Locals go later in the night, but there are large crowds with happy tourists from early to late!The grocery stores have most everything you can find back home, but also island foods, like Banana Ketchup, which is wonderful.We put it on everything and even brought some back home with us. Prices are very fair in the grocery stores. And, all stores take US currency and converting any currency to Eastern Caribbean is no problem. We recommend small bills if using American Dollars. You will find a fully equipped kitchen for you will want to cook in the apartment as that eating out is very expensive. We ate out two times, once in a tourist restaurant which was very pricy and then once in a place where only locals goes, which was very reasonable and tasted better. By eating in the apartment, we could enjoy the activities in the Harbor and the pretty landscape of the lawn-oh so relaxing.You will be given a cell phone with $10.00 worth of minutes on it when you get there and then you can add more minutes if you want to. This was useful to call and inquire about tours. We did two tours with The Tour Store in Rodney Bay-the Segway and the Boat Trip to the Pitons. Segways was easy to do and we loved riding them. Our favorite beach was Marigot Bay, which was nice and quiet with private boats as well as tour boats coming and going. John and Shirley recommended this as their favorite family beach. We went there several times as well as other beaches. During your stay in Saint Lucia, you will be approached by a few locals who will want to shake your hand and then want to sell you something or ask you for a little money, just say, "No thank you" and that's it. I didn't shake hands. After we arrived on Thursday, we decided to rent a car and John arranged for one to be brought directly to the apartment on Saturday and all the paper work was taken care of right there-no problem at all. Be sure to call your credit card company back home and let them know you will be in Saint Lucia so you can use your credit cards while on the Island. Discover is not widely accepted, but Visa and Mastercard are and American Express in some places. John and Shirley can tell you where to shop for some beautiful things-they know where my favorite store was. Just ask them and they are very willing to help you with anything they can-just the nicest people one could ever meet. The people in Saint Lucia are very nice, very mannerly and we know you will have a great time there and at Bayside Apartments. We saw all three apartments and all are very nice.. We always felt safe there and as a woman, I could go back alone and feel safe in the apartment and else where. Oh yes, there is a safe in each apartment and you set your own combination. During outings, I just took some money, etc in a little cloth tote bag I carried over my shoulder. I never take a purse when I travel. My husband always take another wallet for his front pocket with only what he needs. We had such a wonderful time and coming back to the apartment each day and turning on the A/C and relaxing was what we wanted and got exactly that and more. We are going back next November 2014 and stay here again for we fell in love with the island and now have great friends in John and Shirley. I think it will be hard to find another apartment as nice and handy as this with the beautiful views -Thank You John and Shirley for our wonderful stay and thank you for letting me pat your sweet dog Reds just one time. By the way, if you can, try and stay two weeks for one week is just not enough to really see it all and have time to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice apartment and relaxing views and the website pictures are exactly what you see-beautiful
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robveee4
Central Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Gem on the Hillside”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent sometime looking for the right place to stay and had corresponded with John and Shirley before booking. Best choice we could have made. The reason for our trip was an island recce , to confirm our thoughts on this beautiful island, prior to selling up our bech bungalow on Ambergris Caye. The apartment was perfect and John turns out to be a building contractor and a man of great local knowledge. We spent time with him looking for an appropriate building lot. He is carrying on the search , while we set about selling up on the Caye.
We fell in love with the 'locals' charm , openness and disarming smile. The lush country sides , well stocked supermarkets, abundance of great eateries, beautiful beaches etc etc, ticked all the boxes and even some we hadn't thought of. John and Shirley go way beyond the norm in their hospitality and willingness to assist and help their guests.
It is also very important to rent a small AWD vehicle to really appreciate the country and to get from the villa to all the surrounding sites. We are so looking forward to our return in the New Year.
Thx again , to you both Robert and Carolyn

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: View and the wonderful hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevenv
Moncton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Views to die for....”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
7
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in "La Rose", the larger of the two apartments that John and Shirley have. As the title says, you can't beat the views. We spent 2 weeks watching life go by in the harbour from the porch on the hillside. We would recommend this place to anyone who is adventurous and looking for something different. It is a 10 min walk down hill to the nearest beach (15 mins coming home!). We walked to town at least one way everyday. It takes about 35 mins each way. We always felt safe walking the streets during the day. The locals were very friendly and helpful. We frequently took the local mini vans along with the locals. Very cheap and convenient way to get around.

The only downside is , without a vehicle we were restricted to taxis or staying in at night as John doesn't recommend walking or the local buses at night. We made some changes to our routine and carried on, no problems.

Our last day, John arranged for us to buy a day pass at the all inclusive Sandals resort down the hill. Worth every cent! Thanks John and Shirley for your help in making this vacation a memorable one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tg_allan
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“La Rose Apartment - Very Nice Views”
Reviewed April 16, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed six nights in the La Rose apt. It was spacious, clean and offered wonderful and entertaining views of the harbour. John and Shirley were very helpful in assisting us with tips and information regarding getting around. If you are going to stay in or near Castries proper, this is a good choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Views of the harbour and surrounding community
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2012
Wonderful have you stay with us. Your natural spirit for an adventure filled vacation was fueled by our location, and we are happy about that. Thanks again for staying with us. God Bless!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL123...
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed October 2, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
6
people found this review helpful

We arrived to St Lucia for a quick trip to attend a destination wedding...we stayed in La Marguerite at Bayside Villas, a perfect location to our friends; we found wonderful accomodations; The owner picked us up from the airport down south, and since we had a lot of desired activities for a short stay, he made sure we didn't waste any time :) so....we stopped for ziplining right away; it was a thrilling adventure for a first time! He patiently and kindly waited for us (~ 45min-1 hour) He also stopped along our route to take in the views and photos, including site of the General's mansion; he also was nice and thoughtful to take us for shopping at the local grocer... we got to our apartment, which was charming and nicely inviting... We had a wonderful time! We attended the wedding and spent most of our time with dear friends and made a few new ones; we went on Man of Sons Sea tour by speed boat along the west coast to Pitons, volcanos, mudbathing, botanical gardens, snorkeling and a most delicious Creole homecooked lunch; we returned to the hotel, spent the evening dining and entertained; all wrapped up in a perfect getaway weekend in PARADISE..... without insect bites, which amazed us :) The owners are great hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2011
Thank you Sarah & Eric for you positive review. Shirley and I are elated to have been a part of your adventurous vacation experience, short though it was. Lots more to see and do in St. Lucia so you got to come back again real soon. All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Reviewed September 13, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2011
Thank you DMC for choosing to stay with us. Happy to know that the apartment lived up to your expectation, and that our location was "perfect". See you again soon! John and Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing