We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here in 2006”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
TORONTO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stay here in 2006”
Reviewed September 11, 2005

We have stayed at Sandals Regency several times and always loved it.
BUT, right now it is undergoing major renovations that have to be done sometimes. The main building is being demolished and rebuilt. The jackhammers over rule the lapping of the Caribbean waves. We were also informed that the main pool area will be re tiled in the near future.
If you go in what is left of 2005 stay up on the concierge bluff suite area with a lovley picturesque pool area or stay at the Grande. Once these renos are finished come back to the Regency.
The bus ride is so scenic it is like driving through Jurassic Park.
30 foot bamboo and fern leaves the size of my bathroom.
The staff are nice if you are nice to them, the food is good and the golf course and spa are top of the line. It is just that if you are grumpy and unhappy the food will not taste as good as when you are happy.
The 'vermin' that are flying around are Caribbean birds that try to steal your pizza crust when you leave the table.
Maybe when people pay more than they can afford they get too uptight regarding their expectations.
Relax and enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank LUV2GOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,132
    1,696
    642
    313
    240
See reviews for
174
5,863
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,833)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 11, 2005

This place was top notch. We really enjoyed ourselves. I found the staff to be very accomidating and the resort to be incredibly enjoyable. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.C.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2005

First of all my wife and I love Sandals in the Bahamas. We went there after I returned from Afghanistan in 2004. So we thought Regency looked great. NOT! First of all I ordered an ocean front room. Once we arrived after a ride from HELL. (NOTE: Fly in at the northern airport, just 5-15 min to any sandals resort or fly helicopter from the lower airport 15 min flight. Otherwise it's an hour + ride up and down, you’ll be car sick once you arrive.) We had reservations for an ocean front room. We were upgraded to a room overlooking the golf course. What a joke! I paid to see the ocean. Now the room was remodeled and the one reserved sucked. The food bar always had flies and bugs on it. The food sucked. The wait staff acted like it killed them to wait on you. No one asked them to be a slave. But hey, your job is to wait and make each couple feel special. Hmm, that's called service and when you pay $5600 for the vacation you expect some kind of special service. I even talked to the property manager and he was rude and did not give a damn as to any problems. Rooms service was like never. Our refrig was never stocked. Room was hardly cleaned each day. They are remodeling the resort, so in a few years it may be a good place to visit. Not from me!

Now on to the best part of our vacation. We transferred to the GRANDE. Just 20min north of the Regency. What a difference. It was like night and day. The office staff was friendly, food was fantastic, wait staff was always friendly, the views and sport activities were excellent. The beach was 5 times the size of Regency. Castres is just 5 min from the resort. The rooms were always clean, rooms service was quick, pool area was fanatic, etc... Nothing negative at all.

SO IF YOU STAY SANDALS ALWAYS ASK WHICH RESORT IS THE NEWEST. STAY AT THE GRANDE IN ST. LUCIA IF YOU WANT A GREAT TIME.

If you wish more info or photos please email me hewettent@alltel.net

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank hewettent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2005

This is the worst place on earth, vermin fly around the resturant and steal your food. food is disgusting, not as advertised. birds leave excrement on tables. air conditioning had safety guards missing. we were burgled by the maid. diving is not on site as advertised. air port within one mile of resort, not as virgin brochure shows. if anyone wants video evidence of this please email me. this resort should be closed down.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank peter2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2005

Well I'm not going to try to dump to much on Sandals Golf Resort & Spa, but its kind of hard not to. We checked in for our honeymoon and were immediately disappointed. The room was so small we couldn't find a place for our suitcase. It was old and smelt really musky! We couldn't get any reservations for the restaurants because they were all booked. We tried right when we got there but to bad! We were very upset with the cleanliness of the resort from the beginning. I felt they "spiffed up" the pictures because the water and the resort really weren't that pretty. The first morning at the breakfast buffet there were birds eating from it. Immediatly we asked to be moved from that resort to the Grande. We didn't even bother checking that out (It couldn't of gotten any worse) I have to say that the Grande was MUCH better, but we did have a sour taste in our mouth for a couple of days that followed. There was broken glass on the floor in the bathroom which I stepped on right when we checked in. The food was very average and the resort management did not empathize with our concerns. Even after I had to get my own bags from the cab and burned my leg on the muffler sticking out. I will say a few nice things regarding the Grande. The spa area was very nice and comfy to use even if you didn't get treatments that day (i.e. the jacuzzi and steam rooms) There is Pigeon mountain at the end of the peninsula which was fun to climb. We met 3 other honeymooner couples that we got to hang out with. I really think if you are going to spend anywhere from $3500 or up you can find a much nicer resort than Sandals Golf Resort & Spa. We wrote a 2 page complaint letter to Sandals and they didn't much care that we were disappointed. I am not that picky and travel ALOT!

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank vivedetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, az.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2005

We just returned form St. Lucia a week ago, and I am having withdrawl! The resort is wonderful. We did get married on August 5th, but this is not just homeymoon talk, it is a great place for a wedding or romantic vacation.
If you are planning a wedding, go here, you'll have no planning to do. All you have to do is pick a location and flowers and you are finished, they do everything with style. The photographer is wonderful, the video turned out great, and most of all they make you feel like you the only one getting married.
As far as the romantic side, I am not sure where to begin. They offer everything from a oceanside massage for two, to a private dinner on the sand at sunset. If you can get one of the top 3 catagory rooms, you will have a private butler who will even draw you a hot bath with rose petals. I would tell more, but you must save something for a surprise when you arrive.
I have saved the best for last....IT'S ALL-INCLUSIVE! All the beverages, even your in room stocked bar. Dining at all the restaurants, I would have to say Armandos is the best, but they are all wonderful. It is so nice to get up and have no bill, and no tipping allowed. Golf and water sports are also included. There are 13 room categories, if you can swing it, I would go for the ocean bluff with a plunge pool, well worth the money, but any of the top 3 come with a butler, who makes reservations, and takes care of all your needs. You also have the use of any other Sandals in the area, which makes for many dinner and entertainment choices.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for an adult only, very upscale, all-inclusive, romanitc vacation.

Helpful?
15 Thank susieqaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 15, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Sandals Regency in St. Lucia from July 31st, 2005 to August 7th, 2005. We had the time of our lives!

Traveling to the resort:
We arrived in St. Lucia at the airport farthest from the resort. Our baggage came quickly, and guys took them out of the terminal to taxi area for a tip. A couple of dollars is fine. The currency there is EC, which is 2.5 times the American dollar.

We hardly had to wait for the van. The hour ride through the countryside was no problem. The roads were paved, with some bumps and potholes…we were just in awe of the scenery and didn't pay attention to the bumpy ride. It took a few minutes to get used to the van driving on the left side of the road as we're from America.

A note on the vans: they use them to travel between the different Sandals resorts. When there's not traffic it's less than half an hour to get to the other resorts. Twice, we got stuck in rush hour or construction traffic and it took an hour. It wasn't the end of the world though, as it just enabled us to take in more of the local towns.

Upon arrival at the resort, we went up to a conference room with 3 or 4 other couples. We were fed nice appetizers, given a cool towel, and drank champagne while employees gave us gift bags and we began the check-in process. We loved the contents of the bags…really nice shampoo/conditioner, and great after-sun lotion. We were then taken to our room where our bags awaited us.

Room:
We had originally booked a Luxury Oceanview room, but found out that we were upgraded to a Grande Luxury Oceanview room #403. These rooms were yellow behind the main pavilion, facing towards the right side of the beach looking out at the ocean. The rooms were descent sized, and had a big balcony with great views. As other people have said, if we were to go again, we'd get the lowest priced rooms because we were hardly there.

It didn’t matter that we were in hearing distance of the pool noise because we had our doors/windows closed at night and had the air conditioner running, so you couldn't hear it anyway. The AC was loud, but we liked it, it helped us to fall asleep!

As far as maintenance goes, they were great. We couldn't figure out how to get the AC working at first. And after a call the front desk, someone came within 5 minutes. Also, our safe in the room broke, and we couldn’t get our stuff out. But someone came with a drill within 15 minutes and replaced our safe. The service was excellent. They made the bed and re-stocked the bathroom every day, and even had a turn-down service in the evenings.

Food:
We ate 3 meals a day, each 4/5 courses, all 7 days of our stay. We both gained a few healthy pounds as a result…but every bite was worth it! Breakfast at The Pavillion most mornings was great. I loved having a buffet because you could choose whatever you wanted, and you could go as many times as you wanted too. It was great to eat breakfast by the pool, and look out at the ocean. The other breakfast option was Armando's, the Italian place up on the bluff. We ate their once and enjoyed it. Lunch was usually at Armando's or the Arizona Grill. No complaints there either. Over at the Grande resort, definitely go to Bayside for lunch. They had an excellent buffet. Josephine's at the Grande also does really good milkshakes. For dinner, Armandos was our favorite. The Italian food was awesome. I loved their pizza…you could order whatever you wanted on it, I got shrimp, chicken, Italian sausage, and salami all one piece! We didn't like La Toc very much. The Pavillion had some nice meals for dinner but we only had it once as we had breakfast there every day. The Pier and Pitons had really good selections as well.

As other reviewers have said, make your dinner reservations as soon as you get there. We did them at 5:30pm on our first day (Sunday) and got everything we wanted. We enjoyed eating at the 8:30 time slots because that enabled us to enjoy the full day outside, watch the sunset, and shower in time for dinners.

Pool/Beach/Weather
The weather was awesome during our stay. On the first day it was cloudy and had been raining all day. Otherwise it was low 90s and partly cloudy most of the time. The sun is REALLY HOT down there near the equator! We both tan really well, but we played it safe and used 50 sunscreen, and it payed off. People were getting scorched, but we applied once or twice a day and never burned. By the end we were both quite tan and were able to be in the sun as much as we wanted. Every once in a while a shower would pass through, but it was cool because it gave some relief from the heat.

The pool atmosphere was awesome. Great waterfalls, jacuzzi's, fun activities. The playmakers don't harass you, they ask nicely if you want to join activities, a polite "no" works just fine if you're not interested. What's nice is that every day they post the day/night time activities so that you can plan your day around them. There was nothing like relaxing on the floats, and rolling right up to the bar to order whatever drink your heart desired. Sometimes the bar service was slow because of the amount of people…but so what! It just means you have to relax in the water a little longer while they make your drink! Other reviewers are right about shade access. If you want to have an umbrella during the day, get to the pool by 8am and put some towels down on chairs. There is also good shade access on the beach over towards the Arizona Restaurant.

Dress:
For the fancy restaurants, the brochure said guys had to wear long collared shirts and pants. Most people wore short-sleeved polos and were fine. I got really hot wearing long sleeves. I recommend just wearing polos and bringing a long sleeve just incase they give you a problem. It's so hot, even at night with the humidity…so dress as light as possible.

Golf:
My wife and I had a great time playing. We made an early 8am tee-time to stay out of the heat. The caddies were awesome, ask for Randall! We tipped them $20 each. The green fees are inclusive, but we paid for shoes, clubs, and balls.

Excursions:
We did the Soufriere Day Sail and had a good time for $100 each. It starts with a 1 hour 45 minute catamaran cruise up the coast of the island with great views of the shores and the Piton mountains. You're dropped off at the village of Soufriere and are then bussed 10 minutes to the smelly but interesting Sulphur Springs. Then you are bussed another 10 minutes to botanical gardens where you are shown all sorts of exotics plants and flowers. It takes about an hour to hike around the gardens, and it's really hot/humid, so bring drinks! One of the stops in the gardens is the Diamond Waterfall shown in the film Romancing the Stone. After that, you have lunch at a place over-looking the village of Soufriere and the Pitons. Spectacular views, and ok food. Then you head back towards Sandals, with some fun snorkeling/swimming on the way back. They also play drinking games with you on the catamaran which was entertaining!

Of note: if you hang out at the Grande one day, they do free snorkeling trips right out of the resort. You have to reserve in advance though.

Well, that's about all I can think of for now. We highly recommend staying at the Sandals Regency for your honeymoon or a romantic getaway. (Most of the other couples there were 20 – 30 years old, and newlyweds, so take that into consideration). Visit the Grande a couple of times while you're there. Feel free to email if you have any questions.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
10.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.1 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
12.4 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa

Property: Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Address: La Toc Road, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Elevated Millionaire Suites come with 180 degree views, rotating 46" plasma TV's, a private whirlpool and infinity pool and fully opened glass walls •Airport transfers and 24 hour room service available•Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Course located directly on the resort •10 minutes from George F.L. Charles Airport (SLU), Shopping and Castries and 1 hour from the Hewanorra International Airport (UVF) •"Stay at One, Play at Three" free shuttle exchange privileges with Sandals Grande St. Lucian and Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort •Three magnificent freshwater pools, sixty-five personal plunge pools, and four whirlpools •Voted Sandals Resorts "World's Leading All-Inclusive Company" 20 years in a row •Voted Sandals Resorts "Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand", 18 years in a row •Voted Saint Lucia's Leading Spa Resort •Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals La Toc Golf Hotel Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Regency St Lucia Hotel
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing