We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 St. Lucia Sandals resorts: explained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals Regency La Toc
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

At first I was a little hesitant to spend my honeymoon in Sandals. It seemed kinda cookie cutter, cheesy, whatever. My wife and I are more the kind of people who like to come to sites like this, buy a Frommers or Lonely Planet, and just plan the whole trip ourselves. After my (then) fiance told me that she did not want a non-stop adventure style honeymoon, however, I was forced to look into other options.

There are 3 Sandals properties on St. Lucia:
The Grande: This is the newest resort and more for the party animal types. If you want to go to big pool parties that play hip-hop music for the honeymoon this resort is for you. The Grande also has the largest stretch of beach. They have a phenomenal restaurant called Gordon’s; book dinner here. It sits on a pier over the ocean has offers incredible meal options (our favorite restaurant of the three resorts). Many people have said that this is the best resort. I think it just depends on what you’re looking for.
La Toc: This was the original resort on the island and is the largest, but is the most private location on St. Lucia. The signature restaurant is French cuisine called, fittingly, La Toc. We stayed here and loved it. More on this resort later.
Halcyon: This resort seemed more fitting for an older crowd. 50 years old and over seem to prefer this resort. We only ate dinner here but overall were happy we stayed elsewhere.
Butler Service:
When you check in, they take you to a private club and conduct your check-in there. They provide you with a cellphone that you can reach them nearly anytime. Our butlers names were Stephanie and Marcus. They were fantastic, very pleasant, and went consistently out of their way to keep us happy. They did pretty much anything we wanted. We wanted breakfast in bed every morning (the normal honeymooners w/o butlers only get breakfast in bed once). Our butlers provided this. We wanted Bailey’s for our coffee, which we didn’t find anywhere on the island. Our butlers found this (for free). We had them reserve the best lounge chairs each day at whichever pool we wanted to sit at. They learned we like champagne and started placing an ice bucket and bottle for us in our room each afternoon for us to drink while getting ready. They had reservations already booked for us upon our arrival at the hardest restaurants to get reservations on the 3 resorts. Butlers are definitely more expensive, but we were pleased that we got them. The butlers are also the only people who will actually take your order and deliver food to you poolside! Without them, you have to leave the pool and eat at one of the restaurants (which are right next to the pool, not that big of a pain).
A couple of notes. The butlers leave each night at 10pm (they have to sleep too). After this time, you’ll need to get your food through regular room service. They have other rooms than you. Don’t be surprised if it takes them a few minutes to get your food to you. Plan accordingly and order early. Lastly, the butlers are one of the only exceptions to the “no tipping” policy that Sandals has. We asked around and found that between $50 and $100 each is an average tip for them (we were there 6 nights). We were so pleased that we tipped them each $150. Marcus and Stephanie. Ask for them.

One negative: We talked to a couple of different girls who were bit by bugs, so bring your bugspray here. It's a tropical island!

Overall, we loved Sandals and can’t wait to go back. Next time we’ll go w/ other couples but loved having the time all to ourselves on the honeymoon. Great experience!

Room Tip: Rooms that come w/ Butler are quieter and have better views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,559 - 3,565 of 7,409 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was our first experience at a Sandals resort and it was very nice. We stayed in an Emerald room and our expectations weren't too high because it was one of the more affordable rooms. It was very nice and the housekeeping was always on top of things. The staff was always very helpful around the resort. The only issue we had with the place was the dinner service at the Pavillion. We (and most other people we saw) waited at least 30-45 minutes between courses making the meal about a 2.5 hr experience that became very boring and tiring. However, the breakfast buffet at the Pavillion was outstanding with very efficient service and food choices. It was nice to be able to travel between the three different Sandals on the island for free. All of the beaches were nice and we were able to swim in the ocean every day we were there. We didn't care for the busy atmosphere of the resort. Maybe this is the same at other all inclusives or Sandals, but it reminded us of a cruise ship where there are activities planned all day. Several of the nights were rather loud, but this may be something attractive to other people, we just didn't care for it. The resort overall was very nice and we felt like it was adequately priced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is the first sandals resort we have been to that had waitresses taking drink orders from you at the pool and beach. It is such a relaxing and wonderful service. Fernella is the sweetest and most accommodating waitress. This was our second visit to this resort and she took great care of us both times. We specifically looked for her our first day because we knew she would take good care of us. She exceeded our expectations as always. We sat down on the beach our last day there and Jeanique and Marlon took excellent care of us since Fernella was working by one of the pools. They worked hard and gave us prompt service. All of them are very friendly and treated us wonderfully. We really like this resort because my husband can easily golf every morning and than meet up with me later at the beach. As soon as we arrived at the resort he headed to the club house to reserve the same caddy he had last year, Iran. He had such a great golfing experience with Iran last year he wanted to be sure he could golf with him again. He couldn't ask for a better caddy. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation and would definitely return again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room avoid the main building on the pool and ocean side. You hear all the nightl...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Sandals La toc was a perfect honeymoon spot. My wife and I just returned from there and we had an amazing time. We had butler services and when we arrived we felt like VIPs with a private luxury car transfer. We got to check in and our butlers completed the whole process for us and took our bags while serving us drinks. Kayson and Trisha were our butlers and we could not have asked for more. Every time we would come back into our room, there would be a different creative display of towels in the shapes of animals like swans and turtles. Sometimes they would leave us messages from ferns such as "True Love" or "I Love you." There were always rose petals. They took care of all of our excursions and our dining reservations. If I wanted chocolate covered strawberries or champagne they would bring those to us and even run us a bubble bath without us even asking for it. It was truly great service. All of the restaurants had great food with great drinks. The service was fantastic and everyone was very friendly. I would definitely recommend this trip for any couple on a honeymoon or anniversary. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hermes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a bit long, so I’ve broken it up into chunks (food, lodging, activities, tour, overall experience).

Food- The food was excellent! There was a lot of variety, depending on one's mood. Our favorite places were Cricketeers, Neptunes, and Armando's. There was a sushi bar that was a savior on our first night in when we were starving and didn't feel like getting "dressed" for dinner. The service at all of the restaurants was fast, but not rushed, and attentive, but not overly so.

Lodging- The room was well-appointed and, thanks to Amy McHugh at Dream Makers Vacation Services, we were given an upgrade to a suite! The room was clean, quiet, and the bar was always stocked without having to ask.

Activities- There are three pools (high, middle, and low). Even though the middle pool was closed all week from storm damage, the other two were not crowded. The ocean activities are limited because of the conditions, but we knew that going in. We figured it wouldn't be that big of a deal because we had planned on visiting the other two Sandal's St. Lucia resorts to take part in their ocean activities one or two days. However, due to the storm (which lasted about four days) we never made it over there. Instead we decided to take a tour to get out and see a bit of the island. Even without leaving the resort, there was plenty to do (poolside games, board games, billiards, etc.).

Tour- The tour we went on was the "Joe Knows" tour. I wasn't that keen on the idea, but my husband talked me into it. Boy, was I glad he did. I got a little nervous when the entire lobby was filled with people all going on the same tour. But they put us on a bunch of smaller boats so I felt a lot better (I can be shy in large groups). The "Joe Knows" crew was amazing! We had a blast and they were very attentive to our safety. The variety of activities (snorkeling, car ride, volcano, lunch, boat ride) was paced well. We never felt rushed.

Overall Experience- The staff at Sandal's La Toc was outstanding! As I mentioned previously, a major storm hit the island for about 4 days. Bridges were washed out, the airport was flooded, people lost their lives and homes. All the while, Sandal's handled the situation professionally and with compassion. There were customers who couldn't leave and staff members who couldn't get home on Christmas Eve and no matter who we struck up a conversation with, they all said how wonderful the management was with trying to get people home to their loved ones and making those who couldn't as comfortable as possible. They even made a special Christmas dinner for employees who couldn't get home.

One last special note about Amy McHugh at Dream Makers Vacation Services. She is a-maz-ing. Upon hearing about the storm, she phoned the resort to check on us. When they couldn't find us (we were playing giant Jenga in the commons area) she kept calling until someone came and found us. THEN... she checked to make sure we got home ok because a huge ice and snow storm had hit our home. She is the BEST! I wouldn't use anyone else to help me with my travel plans.

Room Tip: The bluffs were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geneticist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently went to Sandals La Toc for our honeymoon and we don't regret it one bit. We decided to go with the butler service - and we highly recommend this to anyone that is debating whether or not to get it. Everyone we talked to that didn't have one regretted it, and we had exceptional service with ours. I recommend Titus and Combie if can put in a request!

The food was phenomenal to say the least. Kimono's, the hibachi restaurant, was outstanding. The chef that we had there was better than any hibachi chef we have ever had in the U.S. Honestly, we didn't find a restaurant that we didn't like.

Room Tip: Get the butler service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymous23479823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great vacation, perfect trip. We had amazing food at each of the restaurants daily and drank wonderful drinks each and every day, all day! Great service and great staff. Absolutely beautiful island with remarkable people. We did the ziplining tour and Joe Knows through the resort, would recommend both. Great place to vacation!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyV4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi there Amy,

We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay at Sandals La Toc! Thank you so much for sharing your amazing experience with us and we are grateful that you chose us to host your vacation in gorgeous St. Lucia. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
10.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
981 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.1 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
12.4 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Regency La Toc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Regency La Toc

Address: La Toc Road, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $444 - $1,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Regency La Toc 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Elevated Millionaire Suites come with 180 degree views, rotating 46" plasma TV's, a private whirlpool and infinity pool and fully opened glass walls •Airport transfers and 24 hour room service available•Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Course located directly on the resort •10 minutes from George F.L. Charles Airport (SLU), Shopping and Castries and 1 hour from the Hewanorra International Airport (UVF) •"Stay at One, Play at Three" free shuttle exchange privileges with Sandals Grande St. Lucian and Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort •Three magnificent freshwater pools, sixty-five personal plunge pools, and four whirlpools •Voted Sandals Resorts "World's Leading All-Inclusive Company" 20 years in a row •Voted Sandals Resorts "Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand", 18 years in a row •Voted Saint Lucia's Leading Spa Resort •Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandals Regency La Toc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals La Toc Golf Hotel Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Regency St Lucia Hotel
Sandals Regency La Toc St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing