We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Regency La Toc
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We can't say enough positive about our Sandals La Toc vacation. The rooms, pools, scenic setting and staff were terrific and the food was by far the best we have ever had at an all-inclusive resort. The ability to take a short bus ride over to enjoy time at the Halcyon or Grande was a very nice bonus. The highlight of our trip was getting our scuba diving certificates. The dive center staff, particularly our main instructor Lum, was incredible! With their strong knowledge and calm demeanor they made what could have been a stressful experience completely relaxing and enjoyable. We strongly recommend a vacation at La Toc whether you want to be active or just relax by the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,484 - 3,490 of 7,314 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

The great service started when we arrived at the airport. We were a party of ten and the driver put us all in one van and we were off to the resort in no time. When we arrived we were greeted with information. We found out they upgraded us to a beautiful suite. The rest of the week went as so wake eat, lay by the pool, eat, drink, drink, drink, drink, eat, drink drink, sleep. We were a little disappointed that there were no water sports on our resort. The bus ride to the grande took us 45 min because of traffic (Independence Day). Other days it was 20min. The food was amazing! We ended up getting in the ocean at our resort despite the red flag. Not so bad. Our wedding was beautiful, staff very accommodating!! Thank you Georgia, Marija, and Timothy!!
We had no problem getting chairs by the pool.
One thing you have to try is Joe Knows!! So worth the money. We had BK and Sid, Andy was our captain. Amazing!!!
All in all a beautiful wonderful trip. Would have given a five star but was a little disappointed because of water sports.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon hideaway, private pool and deck, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Analisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Traveled there in the beginning of March 2014. Hotel was very nice. Employees went up and above to make our stay enjoyable. When we checked in our first room was up in the bluffs behind the main hotel,. This location was not accessible for one of our travelers. They found us all rooms in the main building, the next day, with no questions asked. Without this move our vacation would have been unbearable. Truly appreciated!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingcrop69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you, kingcrop69!

We are delighted that our staff was able to find suitable room arrangement for your group and that everyone had a fantastic time! It's truly our mission to see that each guest has the best vacation experience and the staff will happily go the extra mile to meet this goal. We appreciate your kind comments and for sharing your lovely experience in St. Lucia.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just returned from a ten-day winter break at Sandals La Toc in St Lucia. This was our fifth visit to La Toc in as many years, and the experience was just as amazing as our first. The island is beautiful but the people make St Lucia truly special. With its rugged hills, seaside cliffs, crescent shaped beach and beautiful little golf course, the property at La Toc is spectacular, and is meticulously cared for by the gardeners and maintenance staff.

As always, we booked a Club level, beachfront, walkout room near the spa. The room is a reasonable size with a king size, four-poster bed, seating area and lots of closet space. This location is close to the beach, the golf course, the spa, watersports area, the main pool and most of the restaurants. The room’s patio is a great spot to have a coffee, a cold drink or something stronger from the mini-bar. It’s also a great place to get a break from the sun in the afternoon. The views of the ocean and the bluffs are magnificent and we never tire of watching the cruise ships, fishing boats and sailboats slip in and out of Castries harbor. It’s also great to fall asleep listening to the sound of the surf breaking on the beach.

The restaurants provide lots of variety and the food is consistently great. No doubt this is due to La Toc’s Cordon Bleu credentialed Executive Chef. We have stayed at other all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean where the food in every restaurant was mediocre and more-or-less the same – not so at Sandals la Toc. We especially like Neptune’s (lamb lollipop and grilled swordfish), Pitons for Caribbean themed dishes, and La Toc for French cuisine with white glove service. Cricketer’s pub also has a great ambiance, good food and plenty of the excellent local Piton beer. Service in all of the restaurants was also very good.

The dinner for returning guests in the Pavilion is always good, and the food was exceptional this year. The opportunity to dine at the other two Sandals resorts on the island is also a plus. Gordon’s at the Grande offers a superb dining experience in a unique atmosphere. Phillip, the Restaurant Manager, and Jacinta our server, made our evening at Gordon’s a very special one again this year.

The golf course on the property is one of only two on the island. It’s not long but it is challenging and lots of fun. It’s also a lot better than trying to play golf in the snow. Cynthia in the pro shop is warm and welcoming. She anticipates your requests and makes sure your golfing experience is perfect. Golf Club Manager Andrew, Kim, the Club Pro, and his staff of caddies all go out of their way to make sure you want to keep coming back. The service they provide is outstanding, and I always feel more at home at the Sandals La Toc Golf Club than at my own course.

We think the Club level service is well worth it. Check-in is very relaxing especially while enjoying a glass of champagne in the Club lounge and enjoying the personal service of one of the members of the concierge team. They will look after all of your bookings and dinner reservations, and take care of any special requests you have during your stay. We are very grateful to Versilia and Kimma who took exceptionally good care of us again this year. The complimentary WiFi and Club perks were also very nice to have.

It’s hard to find fault with La Toc, but a few minor points come to mind. The bathrooms in the walkout rooms are completely functional and in good repair, but are a bit small and are probably due for an update. The internet is slow, particularly at peak times, but we were able to send and monitor e-mail and make sure there were no crises at home. Being able to disconnect on vacation isn’t a bad thing.

While the weather in March has been reliably great, the property is beautiful, and the resort is first class, the attitude of the staff and the service they provide is definitely the top reason we keep coming back to la Toc. They are very proud of their island and their resort, anxious to share it with visitors, and determined to provide you with the best possible vacation experience. Many of the staff recognize you from previous visits and are genuinely happy to see you return. They like to say “welcome home”, and we have come to appreciate that this is not just a corporate tag line – they really mean it.

While all of the staff were great, we’d like to give a shout out to Miguel at the golf club and Justina at the spa who came in on their days off just to look after us, John, the Bell Captain, for brightening every day, and Ricky at the Soon Come Back Desk for providing us with great advice and resolving an administrative issue. Victor, Director of Guest Services, always seemed to appear out of nowhere to make sure we were enjoying our stay, then waved his magic wand to make our experience even better. See you all again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DTN_HAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I were at Sandals La Toc at the beginning of February. Before we even got there, one of our carry-on bags were stolen from our departing airport. We mentioned this in passing to the young man at the check in. 2 days later, the lovely staff sent up a nice card, some champagne and turned down our bed with rose petals. Such a lovely gesture and not expected by us. This was one of the many things the staff did during our week there. Everyone was friendly and attentive.

Honestly we never had a problem with anything while we were there other than....Some of the other guests. While we met a few friendly people there (key word being FEW), the rest seemed quite snotty, and treated the staff as such. I am suspecting that the people complaining of shoddy service were some of the ones demanding and crabbing about everything non-stop while they were there. Self entitlement isn't an attractive quality. I saw a woman bully another woman over beach chairs there. She seemed to enjoy making a scene because she was talking loudly enough for everyone else in the area to hear her shrill voice. It was a simple mixup between their 2 butlers that could have easily have been solved without all her drama. Remember, people will treat you the way you treat others. There were a few other observations of guest behaviour that I wont even bother talking about because it really didn't affect us, but I am sure it affected the staff in a negative manner being talked to like that. Unreal.

The beach was beautiful even though it was a little choppy out there. The waves crashing on the shore sounded wonderful. I enjoyed to going to sleep listening to that. The food was tasty at all the restaurants we visited. I felt ill one day (too much sun) and had to go back to my room before our meal was served, the sweet people had our lunches brought up to the room. That was so appreciated. Room was lovingly taken care of by a wonderful housekeeping team, we never went without anything we didnt need. If we needed something, all we had to do was ask. We had some connectivity issues with our wifi and that was resolved quickly, and really if they weren't solved, it wouldn't have been a deal breaker because we are on vacation after all. The servers and bartenders were friendly. Our favourite was the staff at the Pub. Was our "go to" spot at the end of the night. Great bunch working in there. So fun.

There were some theme nights there, and we attended the Chocolate Buffet and the Friday night Jump Up. Both are not to be missed. There was a lot of pride showing at that Jump Up. You could tell that food was cooked with love.

We spent a couple days over at the Grande just to get a different flavour. We enjoyed the beach there, the water was always calm there. The clientèle there were way more fun and friendly as well. It was quite the party atmosphere. A nice change to La Toc's quieter setting.

As for the drive from the airport....It's really not that long. 1.5 hrs isn't a bad commute when you are spending your time in paradise. Its a little twisty bendy, but I had the utmost confidence in our drivers to and from the airport. Really. They drive those roads every day and know what to expect around the corner. Sit back, drink your rum punch and enjoy the beautiful view.

I find that this world is too big and too beautiful to visit the same places repeatedly and there is so much more of it I would like to see, that being said though, I would definitely come back to St. Lucia again. The people are warm and friendly. The island is beautiful. If you are looking for a quiet place and a lot of couple time, La Toc is definitely for you. Just please don't forget you are a visitor in someone else's country and don't leave your manners at home.

A job well done. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Monkey_n_Menace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Hello there!

Thank you for your review of Sandals La Toc. We truly appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff and they will be so pleased to know that you enjoyed their company and hard work. It was a pleasure to have hosted your stay in beautiful St. Lucia and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We just finished a week at Sandals La Toc. Overall the resort is beautiful, nicely spread out, peaceful and calm.
Food- breakfast and lunch were consistently good. There was always healthy selections and a good overall assortment. We did not particularly care for the Indian food buffet at lunch, just went to get pizza instead, which was surprisingly good. All our dinners were very good to excellent, the notable exception of the Pitons. We had a 45 minute wait, took almost 1.5 hours to get the main course (prime rib and jerk chicken), and neither was good. Surprise of the trip was tapas dinner at the Pavillion, which was excellent. On the downside, there was no where to get soft serve ice cream and/or an afternoon snack besides pizza. We ate at all the restaurants (were able to get into Kimonos and La Toc by taking 9:00pm seatings).
Service- this is where Sandals is lacking. We had to ask almost every day for the towels, water, and coffee to be restocked...waited a long time to receive any of these. Called and spoke with management who seemed shocked that I would want these things on a daily basis (duh), but after our conversation, room was properly stocked. Bartenders seemed overworked, at the piano bar there were 30+ people and 1 bartender.
Beach- fantastic. Was red or yellow flag every day, however we had no problem swimming in the water during the red days. If you're used to East Coast beaches (NJ, DE, MD), the red flag days are like a gentle lake. We always got chairs when we went down around 11:00am. Resort was full but never crowded. We were never approached or bothered by the locals, there were very few of them around.
Room- we stayed in the Pitons ocean view Sundeck room, blue "hill" buildings. It seemed like a long walk at first but after we figured out the best paths, it was 5 minutes, tops, to the main building. Close to quiet pool, piano bar, and beach, plus unobstructed views of the ocean. The pictures depicted cushy lounge chairs however what we got was plastic loungers, no padding or pillows. Overall room was small but the view was worth it. The shower did not easily stay "on", we remedied this with a band aid.
Excursions- we took the northern sites buggy tour and Greg was fantastic! We were the only ones on this tour so we in essence got a private tour all over the island in our buggies- mountain to shore. He took us to some new places and took lots of pictures for us.
We wanted to do the "Joe Knows" tour but did not want to deal with a party crowd. Worked with Brutus and Mitch from Our Toy Boat and were able to negotiate a similar private tour with Dillinger and Alvin. This was the highlight of our trip, authentic St Lucia. Took their new speed boat out to the Pitons to snorkel (beautiful and shallow!). Went into Soufriere and took a car to the sulfur springs and waterfall. Both were beautiful, topped off with lunch (homemade fried chicken) at a local bar. Dillinger and Alvin were both great, even letting us drive the boat for a few...great guys who know the island well and truly enjoy sharing their beautiful country.
Spa- had a massage and it was probably one of the best I've ever had...and I get monthly massages at home. Pricey but I did use the plunge pools and sauna to make it an afternoon.
The oddities- You need a room card to have the A/C run- request 2 upon check in and one later, and there's no problem. Check in was weird, we did the online check in and then still had to wait around/sign more papers. Did not seem organized. There are some kittens running around, however, they were never in the main areas and never got close to us, but we didn't mind. Property is hilly but this was fine with us, nothing was a long walk and we would've sacrificed a quick walk for a longer walk with privacy.
Overall our trip was wonderful and we will "come soon back!"

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pitons area- in the middle, quiet yet close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have waited to write this review because it was a pretty upsetting experience. My husband and I went to La Toc for our honeymoon. We stayed in the Pitons room. The very first thing we noticed was our bedding. We had a knit type blanket as the comforter and 4, hard a a rock, tissue-thin pillows. We immediately called the front desk to ask for better pillows and a comforter. They said they would send them right up. They didn't. We called again and they said they should have come already. So we slept without them. Woke up stiff and many times throughout the night because our AC unit rattled so loud the neighbors actually came knocking on our door to see what the noise was. We called to have it fixed several times, stayed an entire week and we resorted to buying earplugs because they either couldn't or wouldn't fix the unit. Our katie table was cracked and the umbrella was broken so we could not put it up at all, and it blew around smashing around he porch every night. On our third morning we found a dead bat on our patio, no big deal but when we left a note about it for the cleaning crew to take care of they ignored it for 3 days. My husband finally threw it into the bushes with a napkin. We called every day for new pillows and a blanket for our bed and only upon speaking to a manager on the last night did we receive them. For 1 night!!!! 3 separate days they "cleaned" our room and left us without towels to shower with. We had to call and wait every time. One night we waited 2 hours for them to bring them and missed a dinner reservation, they handed us the towels in a trash bag!!!! We called the desk to ask if we could order room service due to missing the reservation due to not having towels. They said no, our room package didn't include it. On the last day when we finally were approached about our linen issue the manager was condescending and acted like it was our fault. He said, and I quote, "different rooms come with different linen, you get what you are willing to pay for." I asked how we would have known that and he ignored me. My husband asked and he changed the subject. We checked online, nowhere does it state linen counts or bedding differences for different rooms. We also were told by a booking agent that La Toc was best for us because we loved the beach and water sports. Jokes on us again. The beach was CLOSED the entire week. When we spoke to a lifeguard about it he said its closed about 80% of the time due to high surf. We had to go to a different resort just to step foot in the ocean or do any water sports. I would say that about half of the staff is not blatantly rude to guests. There is so much more I could say here but honestly its so upsetting and disappointing to think about I don't even want to continue. This was our one and only Honeymoon and we were treated like crap. LIke we didn't matter at all. We have never been more disappointed with an experience and would never ever recommend this to a friend or even an enemy. We will never be visiting another Sandals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Megly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Megly2,

We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Sandals La Toc. This is not the impression that we want our guests to leave with and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I assure you this is not typical of the service we provide our guests. I would like to look into this matter on your behalf and have sent you a private message for a few additional details about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
10.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.1 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
12.4 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Regency La Toc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Regency La Toc

Address: La Toc Road, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $452 - $1,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Regency La Toc 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Elevated Millionaire Suites come with 180 degree views, rotating 46" plasma TV's, a private whirlpool and infinity pool and fully opened glass walls •Airport transfers and 24 hour room service available•Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Course located directly on the resort •10 minutes from George F.L. Charles Airport (SLU), Shopping and Castries and 1 hour from the Hewanorra International Airport (UVF) •"Stay at One, Play at Three" free shuttle exchange privileges with Sandals Grande St. Lucian and Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort •Three magnificent freshwater pools, sixty-five personal plunge pools, and four whirlpools •Voted Sandals Resorts "World's Leading All-Inclusive Company" 20 years in a row •Voted Sandals Resorts "Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand", 18 years in a row •Voted Saint Lucia's Leading Spa Resort •Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Unique Vacations Inc, getaroom.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Regency La Toc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals La Toc Golf Hotel Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Regency St Lucia Hotel
Sandals Regency La Toc St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing