We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weddingmoon October 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weddingmoon October 2012”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

not worth the price... having stayed at multiple 3 star resorts on several different islands in the past, we decided to splurge for our Weddingmoon, but we did not see the difference in quality we expected. (For frame of reference we have stayed at the Venetian in Las Vegas which is a 4*)

The room had an air conditioner which was extremely loud, and for light sleepers (as i am) may disrupt your sleep.
our room was nothing spectacular with a view of the front entrance parking lot. basic furniture, but nicely decorated with a "private balcony". the room was clean, and bright, we did see one cockroach, but given its the Caribbean, that's to be expected.

the buffet breakfast/lunch were very good, but service was incredibly poor and slow both at buffet and the restaurants. plan for a 2 to 2.5 hour dinner. i usually lost my appetite by the time the main was delivered ~1.5 hours after sitting down. Wearing white gloves does not = "white glove service". again, having eaten at expensive restaurants with white glove service, we saw the difference, but others may disagree.

The Cricketeers was a great British pub. Must try the fish n chips.

Drinks were very good. Some have mentioned John already, but he is a whiz

the grounds were incredibly picturesque and the tropical drinks amazing.

the evening entertainment was quite good, but if any of you are night owls, you may wish to stay at a different resort. by 10pm everything is closed with the exception of the pub...no night clubs for dancing etc every night

We did visit the Grande on the shuttle (a great service). The food at the Grande is better than La Toc, but the beach, while bigger, is not as nice and very busy. Grande is certainly larger and more picturesque, but i personally preferred the intimacy of La Toc.

For any couple planning to have a wedding moon, if you intend to have family & friends attend with a reception, don't... those wedding moons are best served for couples who intend to wed without any fanfare. the ceremony on the beach was beautiful and perfect. the cocktails & reception a disaster. i wont go into details as this is not necessarily related to our stay at Sandals, but don't pay for the extra weddings (I had the flutter of romance).
don't expect everything that is listed as "included" in the wedding brochure. Example, we did not get our private dinner with a bottle of champagne. the groom's spa package listed in the brochure had never been heard of at the wedding planner office or the Spa... (i would give this 2 stars)


All in all, a very good vacation for sun and sand, but overly priced for the quality provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
After speaking with you privately, I'm glad that our management team at Sandals La Toc was able to address your concerns and provide the high standard of customer service we strive for everyday. Thank you for your feedback. We are grateful for both the good and the not-so-good reviews as they all help us to improve to better serve our clients.

We look forward to you visiting again in the future.


Regards,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,876
    1,636
    616
    296
    239
See reviews for
159
5,536
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,758)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at La Toc from 10/22/2012 - 10/26/2012. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room in the main building was very basic. The furniture needs some updating though. The grounds was well kept except for the two rats we saw running in the area between Neptunes and the main pool, and the cockroach that was in our room almost forgot that one. The Beach was really ruff, not for bathing and I didn't like that it was public, didn't like the shady characters that were there. The food tasted great at all the restaurants. Only problem i had was some of the portions were really small especially at La Toc, but it wasn't much of a problem cause the Cricketer's Pub was a few doors away from our room. Oh yeah almost forgot about the cats; there are cats roaming around the resort. They didn't really bother us except while eating breakfast at Armando's one morning one came and peed on my wife's bag, lol, which was funny but not cool at the same time. Overall I was not wowed at all, it was good, but not for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Drogbadell_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Its good,but its not the premium value that you'd expect from such a high price.

The room that we were originally allocated was an insult.we were told that we would get an upgrade due to us being on Honeymoon - the room we were shown was a typical 2-3 star room with no view. After complaining to the main reception we were then taken to a room which was more acceptable,and thats where we stayed for the week.

Its easy to note that the hotel was catered for the American visitors,not for everyone. If you spend time looking at things in this complex you will see that it needs a lick of paint and someone the hallways updating.

This complex is All Inclusive - Adults Only which was a major bonus to the whole complex. The beaches were clean and tidy,plenty of sun chairs and loungers,and you didnt need to get up early to get one. (One downside though,the butlers service team can come down early and mark some up for exclusive use)

The pools were great - The main pool bar was always busy when open - Look out for John the barman - a wizard with an ice crusher and loads of bottles ;) (if you are brave ask him for " A big Bad Dirty P***k - its not on the list)

The restaurants are good,plenty to offer. The two place to eat that really stand out were La Toc (Bookable) and the Japanese restaurant,these are the very best of restaurants in the whole complex.

The Photographers are good and the prices reasonable,check the photo shop out each day to see the bargain prices,they know when you are leaving so the deals are worth a look.

The entertainment was very hit and miss,something that Sandals La Toc fail on.

The Cricketers Pub - a great location for a snack (Try a Dog's Bowl),the bar staff were good,but again seem to favour the Americans over others.

Remember - this is a NO tip resort - I see nothing wrong in tipping,it does enhance service etc but remember we all pay a premium to come here,so why pay more money again..

Will we return - No,I dont think so ! Yes,we had a great time,but it wasnt worth all that money...

There is one bonus - The General Manager is actively walking around the complex each day so there arent too many staff being idle...

Ive missed one member of staff off this report - Alice (Housekeeper for our room),she was brilliant,nothing was too much trouble,always a smile on her face,always happy and very polite,and under valued staff member..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fieldmouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at La Toc from 10/20-10/27/2012....best vacation we have taken by far! We had a butler suite with a plunge pool...the room and butler service was wonderful. Our butlers made the vacation stress free from making all dinner reservations to reserving our chairs at the beach/pool. They were very attentive but we didn't call on them much. But to not worry about dinner reservations or not having a spot on the beach/pool was worth it. We are beach people and the beach was wonderful. Although not very big, it never seem over crowded and the water is just beautiful. There is a little tent by the water sports and there is a local guy selling wood carvings...go and check him out...we got a very nice piece that will remind us of our time in St. Lucia. Food was great, the people and service was wonderful, and the country is beautiful. We did the Sons of man land and sea tour...same thing as Joe Knows tour...but a little more intimate setting and not a party atmosphere. We would highly recommend this excursion. We left at 9am and got back at 2pm....definitely worth it!

This trip was well worth the money we paid and I think the butler service and private transfers etc made it more special! St. Lucia is beautiful and I would recommend this resort to anybody!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals La Toc. We're so honored to have shared this wonderful milestone with you. We're happy that you were able to have such an amazing stay with us and enjoy our exciting tours and activities as well as the genuine hospitality of our staff, especially our butlers.

We hope to welcome you back again next year for an even better experience.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Iraj F. We have been staying at numbers of luxury resorts all over the world. Since we started staying at Sandals resorts we became part of their family. La Toc is one the best of them and we assure you that you will have nice and relaxing holiday. If you stay in one the conciege rooms or suites then you will have a perfect holiday. It is a value for your money and that is the reason we go to the Sandals Resorts once a year.

Room Tip: Romeo and Juliet Suites are value for money and the location is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iraj F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your great review of Sandals La Toc. We're so happy to hear that you had such a relaxing stay at our resort. We always want to exceed the expectations of our guests, especially our return guests as they are already familiar with the high Sandals standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your annual trip!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

All in all it was a fantastic trip. The resort was clean and well ran. We had one issue one night with our room where the maid's were in the process of making the bed but stopped. Evidently there was an issue with the card reader on our door and they couldn't get back in. Maintenance and housekeeping came and were in our room for about 90 minutes fixing the door. This was very awkward as we were trying to get ready for dinner. We had to shower and dress in the bathroom since our door was wide open. Not fun.
Other than that the trip was good. Prices for the photos they took were very expensive. Sunscreen in the gift shop is ridiculously priced. (To the tune of about $30 a bottle) Seriously??? WTF? Make sure you bring your own. We brought ours but used it up to ensure we did not burn. Also, internet is not included and will run you $15 a day or $43 per week. All-inclusive huh? They have a laptop that you can use for $5 per 30 minutes.
Booking tours through the resort is easy but you can save money if you book your own. We did the Joe Knows tour and it was a blast. Read my review for that excursion as well.
All in all, Sandals is a great resort but could stand to lower their prices on their photos and include internet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conestogo, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I read a lot of reviews before deciding where to go on our honeymoon, some were good, some were bad, but we were not disappointed with La Toc the people and the food were amazing! To start off, we were on our honeymoon and were travelling on only 2 hours of sleep. After arriving we remembered to breeze by the guys trying to assist with baggage and we went straight to the Sandals lounge at the airport. It was great to have a comfortable place to sit and a drink while we waited for our private transfer. It is worth the money to do this as you will hear about the island from your driver, ours even offered to take us out one night. We got to the resort, one quick stop at the butlers lounge and we were taken to our room. Water's edge oceanfront suite. It was an older room, but nice- we could hear the ocean all the time which was quite relaxing. It was nice to have a quick path to the beach right outside your bedroom. Remember you are in a lush tropical environment and there will be mosquitos in the evening so don't forget your bug spray.
Our Butler Tony and his sidekick Surage took great care of us, arranging our reservations, getting us a cabana for a day, and answering any questions we had. These guys were happy to help with anything and we were so pleased with all their help.
We had a spa credit so we got a fantastic couple's massage and spent a little extra for a great package, Sparkle and Valerie were fantastic!!
We did the Joe Knows tour and I would recommend it as Lion, Snoop and Captain Andy made it a fun day for sure! it was great to see the Island by boat and we really enjoyed the mudbath. Remember to bring a dark swimsuit as it will get stained from the mud. Outside the waterfall, there were some vendors. We bought some soaps made with the mud from the volcano and some hot sauces. The creole lunch hit the spot and it was nice to try something off the resort.
Some other couples we met did ziplining and loved it. You could do a shopping outing, but really just take a shuttle to one of the other resorts, which are closer to shopping than La Toc, and pay a taxi to take you where you want to go. We went to Halcyon one night, and I can say I am glad we did not book there as the resort is tiny and there didn't seem like much to do. We heard many people staying at that resort spent most of their time at the others, and 1 couple actually asked to transfer to La Toc for their stay. We went to the Grande, which was nice, but we liked the variety of the landscape at La Toc better. The Grande seemed more generic than La Toc- but Gordon's was superb- if you can get a reservation- go! Gilbert was great the night we were there.
Food: We had most breakfasts at Armando's as it was close to our room, a relaxed atmosphere and I was slightly addicted to the Tuscan Sunrise. We had breakfast at the buffet the day of our outing and it was good, we also did breakfast in our room one day but didn't really take advantage of room service. If I wanted to sit in a room all day I would stay home. Neptune's was great for lunch, never tried it for dinner, but everyone need to try the Pasa Pasa Reggae Dog!! The Pitons was fantastic for dinner, you got to try some Creole inspired food which was delicious. La Toc was great for dinner, but very rich. We had a chocolate buffet that night after dinner and it was more decadence than we needed in one day. Armando’s was great for dinner. Kimono’s was good, but keep in mind you will be sat with random people, so you don’t get to choose your company for dinner. If we had remembered that, we would have gone to La Toc again instead. We went to the pub for snacks and once for dinner. Great fish and chips- especially with that spicy mustard chili sauce- so good I bought some to bring home.
The first night we went to the lower bar at Armando’s and met Tasha. This girl is what the Island is about- so friendly and welcoming. She is nice like rice! We will keep in touch for sure.
The people who work at La Toc really go out of their way to ensure you have enjoying yourself while you are on vacation. Our driver back to the airport stopped to show us some sights and we met a Canadian who had moved to the Island 10 years ago and never looked back. It made us think about finding a way to live there too. Unfortunately the last leg of our time in Saint Lucia wasn’t so great. We tried to get some food at the airport at the Island Deli- waited over an hour for our food, watching the people who ordered after us get served in 20 minutes or so with the same thing we ordered, eventually the man came out with half our order and said they had run out of the rest and asked if I wanted something else, I didn't want to wait another hour so I asked for my money back. Please don’t waste your time or money at this place, they are disorganized and don’t care because you’re on your way out anyway. Go to the coffee place across the way where you will actually get a smile and your food will arrive in 10 minutes or less.
Would we go back to Saint Lucia- YES. Would we go to another Sandals- Absolutely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
10.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.2 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
7.5 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa

Property: Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Address: La Toc Road, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Elevated Millionaire Suites come with 180 degree views, rotating 46" plasma TV's, a private whirlpool and infinity pool and fully opened glass walls •Airport transfers and 24 hour room service available•Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Course located directly on the resort •10 minutes from George F.L. Charles Airport (SLU), Shopping and Castries and 1 hour from the Hewanorra International Airport (UVF) •"Stay at One, Play at Three" free shuttle exchange privileges with Sandals Grande St. Lucian and Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort •Three magnificent freshwater pools, sixty-five personal plunge pools, and four whirlpools •Voted Sandals Resorts "World's Leading All-Inclusive Company" 20 years in a row •Voted Sandals Resorts "Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand", 18 years in a row •Voted Saint Lucia's Leading Spa Resort •Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals La Toc Golf Hotel Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Regency St Lucia Hotel
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing