We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Over rated for the price”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went to Sandals LaToc for a wedding. The grounds are very beautiful the buildings are nicely decorated but in need of repairs and updating. Food was good especially the specialty restaurants. Bar service was very good.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor facing the sea beautiful view of the sea and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,029
    1,662
    631
    307
    240
See reviews for
166
5,724
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,806)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

St. Lucia is beautiful, however, having traveled through much of Central America, there are much less expensive and equally as gorgeous places to go. This was our second time at an all-inclusive resort, and while having everything paid for up front is a great feeling, it also tends to make you stay at the resort and miss the opportunities to really get out and experience another culture. You don't see even 10% of the beauty of this gorgeous island if you lay by the pool all day! And after paying so much to stay here, the added prices of the excursions can seem overwhelming. We tried our best to get out on our own - a much less expensive option. The resort is beautiful and the staff is about 50% amazing and friendly, and 50% blatantly resentful - though it's tough to blame them when you see the difference between the local living conditions and the resort. Overall, if you are a traveler that really enjoys exploring new places and trying different things, this is not for you. If you want to pay a lot of money to have a worry-free, all decisions made for you trip, you may really love this. Getting out of the resort to see the island was the best thing we did!

Room Tip: Why splurge on an expensive room when you won't want to be stuck in there anyway? We had a less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mqo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in July and it was the best decision we could have made. I initially had a hard time choosing between Sandals Grande or Sandals La Toc. But then I found Jennifer at VIP (Jennifer@travelbyvip.com) who explained every little detail about each resort and made my decision easy! I would highly recommend using her and her team of experts. They were so pleasant to speak with, very knowledgeable, easy to contact,
and I was able to register my honeymoon!

This was our first time staying at a Sandals resort and it exceeded our expectations. We chose to splurge and opted for the butler service, which I would definitely recommend. They scheduled dinner reservations for us for certain restaurants before we even arrived, prepared a romantic dinner on our balcony, scheduled our excursions, and did special things for us throughout our stay. Many thanks to Surage (one of our butlers), he was truly the best!

This resort has the most beautiful grouds, everyone was very friendly, rooms were nice, and the food was yummy! We were in paradise! The spa was totally worth it. I had the best massage of my life! And you have to do the Joe Knows tour. You can sign up with them on the beach in front of the resort and you will have the time of your life!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alie626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having booked on of the most expensive rooms at La Toc I was bitterly dissapointed on my last day when a necklace my mother had given to me over 15 years ago went missing.

The customer services manager was not sympathic to me and even went as far as to search mine and my partners luggage for the necklace.

When I requested the sercurity report via email I received no response and my insurers will not pay out with out this.

The hotel is over rated and not a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Helenlondon_W5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I'm so sorry that your experience at our resort did not quite meet your expectations because of this unfortunate incident. We take theft very seriously at our resorts and while it is not a regular occurrence, we still make the necessary provisions to ensure that there is not a repeat. We always want our guests to feel secure and worry-free so that they can get the most out of their stay. As you already know, we are currently working with you to get to the bottom of this matter as quickly and as efficiently as possible. We thank you for your patience and for your feedback.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We choose to go here for out Honeymoon and what a good choice it was. We were greeted with a smile the minute that we arrived and were treated great. We decided to have a butler and I think it was a great choice. Before we even arrived they had made dinner reservations for us. My wife and I have trouble choosing where to eat at times so this was great. Don and Sydney were our butlers and did an amazing job making out vacation a breeze. They had great ideas for activities as well as tours. The food at the resort was very good although sometimes it took a little extra time and the portions were small but who cares order extra and it's vacation so what is the rush.

Out last night we ate at Gordans which is extra unless you have a butler room. The food was amazing. I am a very very picky eater and liked everything that I ate. Neptunes was one of my favorite places to eat during the trip and the pub was a great place to enjoy a drink.

We played some golf while we were there. The course was hard but the caddy we had was great and a big big help during the match. It was fun to try out a different course.

If i can give you one tip it would be try out the Butler rooms. They make the trip much easier and are very helpful if it is your first trip to the resort. You can always ask for Don or Sydney they were the bomb...

Room Tip: I liked the 2 story Veranda rooms they were nice and right in the middle of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came from Trinidad and this was the best vacation ever. The only problem we had (and we spoke to management about it) was the inconsistency of the various bartenders. I read some other reviews saying that the pictures were misleading and that is true. We did not really care because who goes on vacation to stay in the room anyway. This place was fantastic. Andreas, you know we love you. You know who you are. The food, the activities, the staff. We left in tears. Who wants to go back to the real world when there is Sandals, La Toc.

Room Tip: The pictures are truly deceptive.The room was way smaller than we thought.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillyjanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Sandals La Toc. We're so delighted to read you had such an amazing vacation with us. You enjoyed our delicious food, exciting activities and warm, friendly staff, and exceeding your expectations is our top priority. We know we have made loyal friends for life. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.

Happy Travels!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is our first sandals vacation, we booked our honeymoon through Island getaways Nancy was great and took good care of us. The Island is beautiful, the food is great, the rooms are very clean. I would recommend the butler service it make all the difference you really don't have to think of anything on your stay just let them know what you want. The week was just perfect!
The only bad thing was the beach was a little rough so we couldn't really use the water sport stuff unless we went to the Grand. We did the Fountain of youth tour with the cameraman you defiantly get your moneys worth on this trip it was lots of fun.
Like the island this resort is hilly it makes for a beautiful back drop there is a shuttle service that runs all day but it really isn't that bad.
All in all we would highly recommend the island and resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 level honeymoon suite it was very nice with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you of your review of Sandals La Toc. We're so happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. It's great that you were able to take advantage of our Stay at 1, Play at 3 promotion. you got the chance to enjoy the amenities and experience the unique styles of both La Toc and The Grand.

We hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
10.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.1 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
6.7 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa

Property: Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Address: La Toc Road, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Elevated Millionaire Suites come with 180 degree views, rotating 46" plasma TV's, a private whirlpool and infinity pool and fully opened glass walls •Airport transfers and 24 hour room service available•Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Course located directly on the resort •10 minutes from George F.L. Charles Airport (SLU), Shopping and Castries and 1 hour from the Hewanorra International Airport (UVF) •"Stay at One, Play at Three" free shuttle exchange privileges with Sandals Grande St. Lucian and Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort •Three magnificent freshwater pools, sixty-five personal plunge pools, and four whirlpools •Voted Sandals Resorts "World's Leading All-Inclusive Company" 20 years in a row •Voted Sandals Resorts "Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand", 18 years in a row •Voted Saint Lucia's Leading Spa Resort •Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals La Toc Golf Hotel Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Regency St Lucia Hotel
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing