We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A St Lucian Oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boiled Frog Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 16 Castries B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A St Lucian Oasis”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

As others have noted, it you like big, fancy all-inclusives, the Boiled Frog probably isn't for you. But if you like a homey atmosphere in a quiet location at the end of a gorgeous, expanse of beach with relaxed hosts who offer everything from home-cooked meals to information to make your stay wonderful, you'll likely enjoy the Boiled Frog. I spent 8 nights here while attending a conference in Gros Islet and want to take my husband back for a vacation sometime soon. After travelling for almost 3 months, the home-cooked meals were a treat, the freedom to eat breakfast whenever I was ready was so welcome, and the sunsets with a glass of wine, chatting with very friendly hosts was the perfect end to another day in paradise. The wifi was the best I'd had in 3 months, plus there were electrical outlets to charge laptops, tablets etc on the veranda. I only wish I'd had more time to chill in a hammock reading a book.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vacation-Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
41
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Thanks to Danielle, Steve, and the boys our move to Saint Lucia was painless. We thought about Saint Lucia but had almost ruled it out due to not being able to find much on day to day living. We received an email and Danielle answered numerous questions and concerns. We booked our week and the Boiled Frog was everything we could ask for.. The Boiled Frog is close to everything, situated on the beach front, no crowds. You can choose to dine with the family Danielle is a fantastic cook . We have now been on island for two months and enjoying retirement. Thanks again for making our dream come true.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I spent the first part of our Honeymoon here. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The owners organised a taxi there for us and had the fridge filled with drinks for our arrival. The location is fantastic- right on the beach with a great terrace and garden for lounging in hammocks and a supermarket and restaurant/bar in easy walking distance, the town of Castries a bit more of a walk. Danielle, Steve and the boys make you very welcome and Danielle is a fantastic cook. We had 3 lovely meals there- even including both meat and vegan options to suit us both! Excellent value for money too. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyJennyJenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The beach right outside is basically your own to share with a few locals. There's a supermarket over the road which sells everything you'd ever need. There's a bus stop outside which is ridiculously cheap to get you up to rodney bay and gros islet. Getting the bus is an experience in itself!

The room was big and opened onto the terrace, the air conditioning was amazing! The more expensive places we stayed on the island didn't even have air con. Danielle and Steve were really really good hosts and supplied us with everything we needed whilst also being really chilled. The whole family are lovely and it was great to be around dogs whilst missing our own at home!

We were originally going to book a B&B right In Rodney Bay but are so so glad we chose here, I highly recommend you do the same!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cosmicwars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time for leaving us a review and thanks for all your great comments! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all our dogs! It really is a fantastic location and we're happy we got to share it with the two of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife Ros and I have returned from an excellent vacation at the Boiled Frog guest house, beautiful location right by the sea, good food, excellent family environment with most helpful hosts. We arrived as guests and left as friends, that should say it all!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rosandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks you two for taking the time to leave us such a great review! And thanks for all the evenings of fun discussion while you were here. It's times like that which add so much to our experience here! We're very happy we got to share your vacation with you and glad that you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Boiled Frog last september and, although it took us this long to write a review, we really wanted to share our experience of this wonderful guesthouse.  Saint Lucia was the very first destination of our one year family travelling adventure and staying there was just the perfect way to get started!  Danielle, Steve and their 3 wonderful boys are fantastic hosts and made our stay particularly enjoying, so much so that we ended up staying longer than expected!  They are very knowledgeable about the area and the island, and are always full of good advice.  They were always happy to answer our questions and help us plan activities.  Danielle even booked a catamaran trip for us and kindly gave us a lift to the meeting point.  We particularly enjoyed eating at the guesthouse.   We liked the idea of a self-service breakfast in the morning, which meant we could eat at whatever time we wanted and didn't have to stick to a particular schedule.  Dining there is an absolute must!  Danielle is very passionate about cooking and her cuisine is both heavenly and inventive.  Most of all, meals are taken with the whole family and we have loved being able to spend some time with them and getting to know them better.  They made us feel like we were part of the family and we very much enjoyed the company and conversation.  The property is ideally situated on the seafront, which is great if you like swimming and beach walks, and is very close to all amenities (shops, supermarket, banks, bus stops, etc).  The views from the deck, patio area and hammocks are amazing, and watching the sunset from the house is particularly satisfying.  Our room was very comfortable and clean with lots of cupboard space, a TV, air conditionning and wifi.  Our daughter loved the company of Zeus the dog and their youngest son Podamous, with whom she had great fun.  In short, this is the perfect place to relax in great company at very competitive prices.  Thanks again for such a lovely stay Danielle, Steve, Alex, Sacha, Pod and Zeus!  We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephcejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Aww! Thanks you guys! It was and continues to be such fun to be a part of your family adventure! We certainly enjoyed your time here and we're so glad that you did too! Your stay has been one of the hi-lites of our own adventure so Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our family stayed in the Cottage at the Boiled Frog for 1 week. We wished we could stay much longer. Danielle, Steve and the boys are perfect hosts, especially the "teeny tiny" 3-year old Kieran, extremely active, funny and endearing little boy. The Cottage was roomy for us, the ocean view from the patio and gazebo is very relaxing. The fact that Danielle stocked up our fridge with food for breakfast was very convenient for us, as she offered us the flexibility to take our breakfast at any time we wanted, in pyjamas like at home, not like at other guesthouses where breakfast was served within a certain fixed time frame (7am to 1am for instance). Danielle is a very good cook. Her meals are out of this world. The location is very convenient to take a bus ride and go groceries shopping. We always love to stay with the locals, so we can enjoy the real island flavor. We will certainly be back in the future. St Lucia is not as developped as Aruba, it still conserves this rustic tropical island atmosphere we look for.

Room Tip: The cottage is roomy, has a kitchen and a patio. very convenient set-up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truong-n-Pham-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving us a review and for being such great guests and for choosing to stay with us and for all your kind comments! It was great to spend time with you guys and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
0.0 mi away
Oasis Marigot
Oasis Marigot
#3 of 4 in Marigot Bay
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartment Espoir
Apartment Espoir
#1 of 16 in Castries
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boiled Frog Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boiled Frog Guesthouse

Property: Boiled Frog Guesthouse
Address: Choc Bay, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boiled Frog Guesthouse is a 3 room guesthouse situated on the shores of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms are large, air conditioned with private bath. The cottage room is self contained with kitchenette while the other two rooms share a common kitchen. There is a small beach directly in front of the property and a large beach just minutes down shore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boiled Frog Guesthouse St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing