We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you stay anywhere else?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boiled Frog Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 16 Castries B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If your concept of a perfect vacation is tourist packed beaches, the sound of sea-doos buzzing off shore all day long, and staying in a multiplex condo unit housing 500 other travellers which required you to remortgage your house in order to afford, then The Boiled Frog is not for you. The Boiled Frog is a place you go to feel at home with friends and family offering all you need for a fabulous vacation: start your day off with fresh coffee or tea and a walk along the beach (usually comes with "Good Mornings" from a few locals also enjoying a morning walk); next, returning to have a breakfast of island fruit, yogurt, bagels, cereal, etc, etc...your choice; after breakfast you pack your day bag to head off on an excursion which Danielle or Steve has helped you book for and usually are available to drive you to the rendezvous point; return at the end of the day for a shower-off and maybe a second beach-walk at sunset, after which you either join the family for an amazing dinner (Celiac friendly and soooo good!) or head off to another establishment (so easy to access) for good eats; then finally when your evening is done and the lights are turn off, you fall asleep (in your clean, spacious, and cool room) to the sound of tree frogs and surf. Basically, The Boiled Frog allows you to enjoy all of what St. Lucia has to offer, while at the end of the day escaping to a serene hideaway in paradise. Whether a solo traveller like myself or travelling with companions, The Boiled Frog will give you the true escape that vacations are meant to provide. So I ask, why would you stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: I don't really think you could go wrong with any of the rooms. The Cottage is ideal if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aliceyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and thanks even more for taking the time to write a review! It was great to share your vacation and get to know you! And yes we DO try to cater to our guests dietary needs and we're glad you enjoyed it! Hope we see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 70 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having searched the whole of the Caribbean on Trip Advisor for a beach-front B&B with wifi and great reviews, we came to the Boiled Frog and were not disappointed. We originally expressed an interest in the Cottage with its own kitchen but it was booked out so we had the Stew instead and were well pleased. We swapped the reduced room price for allowing Danielle to cook for us most evenings and decided that that was the much better and lazier option!

Her menus are now published for the week ahead and you can eat with her and her family and any other interested guests up to 5 nights a week if you wish. The food is just a main course served at 6.30pm but is excellent quality, often with seconds and wine is there for you to help yourself to as well, all for under $20US a head.

The Stew has a large low window behind the bed-head so you can draw the curtains in the morning and lie there watching the gentle waves lap the shore under the coconut trees. The room is very spacious and the bed enormous. Fridge and bottle-opener provided but bring your own hair drier.

You have a room key and also a key that fits the padlocks on all the gates around the property. There is a tall perimeter fence and full height gates into the building. Outside the bedrooms is a large covered veranda with tables, chairs, hammocks etc where you can spend your days/evenings and meals are served. Ask Danielle to mix you up a two litre container of rum punch to keep in your fridge for pre-supper drinks etc. She will do it for not much more than the cost of the ingredients.

Breakfast is a help-yourself affair whenever you like from the main fridge out in the veranda, typically ham, cheese, fruit and cereals with breads and bagels, coffee and various fruit juices.

Just below the veranda is a lawn with a gate leading straight out onto the beach. It is rocky at this point so folks normally turn left or right to get to sandy sections. There are reefs generally around so best to come with swimming shoes anyway just to be sure. The beaches to the left and right both have overhanging trees that provide shade from the sun if you wish. People clean the beaches at least weekly. A few locals do walk along the beach and sometimes come for a swim but most of the time you are likely to have it to yourselves.

What to do? The location is on the main road just north of Castries, on the 1A bus route. There is a supermarket 3 mins away just over the road and the Wharf restaurant 15 mins walk up the road for the nights you want to eat out. 10mins beyond that is the modern Megaplex 8 cinema showing all the latest films for a cheap entrance price. Listings are on the internet. Take the bus down into Castries or north, but don’t bother with Rodney Bay which is a waste of time. One small overpriced mall and no easy access to the waterside marina.

Go to the end of the bus line to Gros Inlet on a Friday night for street food and drink. If you get there early it can look a bit run-down and intimidating, but it gets more lively and full of tourists from 7.30 onwards.

In summary, if you want something different from and way way cheaper than an expensive resort hotel and you like beach space and travelling on local buses, then the Boiled Frog is for you. Book early though!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MDB-Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Boiled Frog and glad that we could be a part of making your vacation enjoyable. Thanks for pointing out all the great features of our little piece of paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt at home, only better - no nagging about sleeping in, getting back late. Our hosts, Danielle and Steve, helped tuck ourselves in for a recent 11 day stay. They provided just the right mix of sociability and privacy. Our room was clean & comfortable, air conditioning when we wanted it, quiet when we needed it. Danielle makes a delicious dinner most nights of the week for guests who choose to dine in (We chose!). A beautiful beach for walking & swimming is across their front lawn. Buses stop at the end of their driveway running north and south to shopping and more adventurous destinations. Danielle helped us arrange longer trips on boats and into the rain forest interior. There are certainly more elegant and expensive destinations on the island, but none, we feel confident, that suited us as well as The Boiled Frog.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a response here on Trip Advisor! We loved having you guys stay with us and we're glad that you found us helpful during your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

It was our first time in St Lucia and our stay was made absolutely perfect by the warm, casual atmosphere at The Boiled Frog. We arrived at sunset to a beautiful view that would make anyone instantly relax after travelling. The rooms are large, airy and cool. There is a wonderfully large front porch with the view and sound of the surf, which is perfect for lounging in a hammock or an easy chair.

Breakfast with fresh coffee is served buffet style with a wide variety of items including fresh island fruit and Danielle's dinner menu selections, while adventurous, are super tasty should you choose to stay for an evening meal. One of the family is always there to provide advice on what to see and do or help organize pick ups for excursions. As others have said, by the time we (sadly) had to leave, we too, felt like friends of the family! We are already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: With its large bay window, The Stew is a perfect choice if you like to hear the sound of the surf wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seashellgirl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Boiled Frog for your stay! We appreciate the opportunity to be your hosts and thank you very much for all your kind comments! We loved having you and are glad that you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We traveled to St Lucia last September, and I have found myself reflecting again and again on what a wonderful trip it was. Danielle, Steve, and the Boiled Frog were a big part of that. From providing for our safe transport from and to the airport, to arranging details, to ensuring we had everything we needed to be comfortable, Steve and Danielle were amazing hosts. The room was so very comfortable, the shared meals delicious, and the conversations lively. And they seem to attract an interesting clientele, looking to get off the more beaten paths. Danielle and Steve love answering questions about the island. Be sure to ask about their favourite spa and "street chicken" - believe me, it's worth getting over any qualms you may have about street meat!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for staying with us! And thank you for letting others in the Trip Advisor community know that you enjoyed your stay. It's always great to share our amazing piece of the island with new friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

CANADIANS Danielle and Steve Unruh felt they were being boiled alive in their jobs as health and safety advisors to the oil industry.

When they sent each other drawings of their ideal place to live, both doodles depicted a house by the sea fringed by palm trees.

The light bulb moment illuminated the way to the pair establishing the aptly-named Boiled Frog Guesthouse, near Castries, on sunny St Lucia.

For many people, holidaying in the Caribbean means an all-inclusive resort with all the associated pampering you fancy.

What Danielle and Steve offer Is a bed and breakfast by the sea, with the option of dining with them and their family at night should you wish.

Arriving at the Boiled Frog feels more like arriving at a friend’s home.

Danielle and Steve greet you with a smile and introduce you to sons Alex, Sasha, little smasher Kieron and Zeus the friendly dog.

You walk, via the sprawling ocean-facing deck, to either a self-contained cottage or one of two large bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms.

You grab a beer already chilling in the fridge, you hear the waves swooshing on the sand, see a huge illuminated cruise ship crawling by on the horizon and the relaxation begins.

We spent what must be one of the laziest two weeks of our lives at the Frog, and we loved it.

Mostly all we did was take long beach walks alongside the clean, crashing surf of Choc Bay, throw down the sarongs, lap up the 30C heat and cool off in the waves.

The only decisions were whether we turned left or right in the morning, which book to read next, or if we could have a private skinny dip, which was normally “oh yes”.

Having flown all that way from the UK, we did hop on one of the abundant island minibuses and do the tourist bit to the marina and fort at Rodney Bay, as well as to Soufriere in the shadow of the islands famous Piton twin peaks.

We also took in scenic Marigot Bay, marvelling of the hilltop holiday homes belonging to the likes of Oprah Winfrey and boxing champ George Foreman.

But we really were lazy on this trip, which was designed to be a battery charge away from an England on the cusp of another chill winter.

We breakfasted around 7am, helping ourselves to fresh coffee, juice, muesli and toast.

We sometimes had family dinners and enjoyed lovely homemade bread, pasta, Frog burgers, steak and lobster (lobster which two local spear fisherman had caught that very day).

Sometimes we walked the 15 minutes along a busy main road to dine at the Wharf bar and restaurant , where owner’s daughter Liza bent over backwards to make us feel at home and kept to cold beers coming with gusto.

And that was about it.

Plenty of people told us to keep out wits about us for theft, but plenty of people strolled by us on our deserted stretch of beach and every one was polite and civil.

It is a fact of life that you have to keep your wits about you everywhere in the world, even your home town.

Frog gardener Sylvester, who came with the property when it was bought, did appear with a machete now and again – in order to offer us coconuts from the palm tree or golden apples which we chomped on with thanks.

All in all we had restful days capped by interesting chats during family dinners or down at the pub.

The room was clean, the food was great, and hosts Danielle and Steve were on hand to solve the slightest problem should it arise.

Danielle’s parents, Dave and Barbara, turned up for Christmas and enriched the family scene.

Even Zeus the dog smiled for a photo, almost.

We would thoroughly recommend the Boiled Frog to any fellow traveller who feels they are getting a bit boiled by life’s pressures, and fancies the same kind of break.

It you stay there, when the interested locals ask you which hotel you are staying at, you will undoubtedly tell them the same as we did: “We aren’t in a hotel, we are staying with friends.”

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeniben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving a review here on Trip Advisor. We thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and we are so glad that it was one of your most restful vacations ever! Maybe one day we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I'm writing this review with a lump in my throat looking at pictures of The Boiled Frog. I miss our vacation cottage by the sea. We have stayed in many resorts and hotels in our travels and we can honestly say that our stay with Danielle, Steve, and their boys (yes, you too, Zeus) topped them all. This was our first trip to St Lucia and we couldn't have been in better hands to learn about the island and venture out on our own. Danielle's assistance was invaluable; from arranging transportation with our very competent driver Elias, to booking excursions. Plus, she bakes some damn good bread! Every meal prepared by our hosts were delicious. We even got to eat lobster caught near the guesthouse by local fishermen. We swam in the private little beach coves, slept well, and enjoyed good conversation. I loved zenning out in the hammock under the moonlight listening to the waves. The Boiled Frog's atmosphere is laid back and carefree, like a hug for your soul. Guests posting previous reviews know what I'm talking about. We had an absolutely wonderful vacation and plan to return. Steve and Danielle have a genuine love for their home and we're so happy that they shared it with us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetrouper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Well we are so happy that we got to share our home with you! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. With the sun so far to the south of us at the moment, that hammock in the yard is the perfect place to spend an entire afternoon in the shade of the coconut trees. We look forward to a time when you can join us again! Thank you for leaving this review and sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
0.4 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#2 of 12 in Castries
665 reviews
5.9 mi away
Nature's Paradise
Nature's Paradise
#2 of 7 in Marigot Bay
279 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartment Espoir
Apartment Espoir
#1 of 16 in Castries
160 reviews
5.6 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
12.6 mi away
La Haut Resort
La Haut Resort
#1 of 9 in Soufriere
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boiled Frog Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boiled Frog Guesthouse

Address: Choc Bay, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castries
Price Range: $80 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boiled Frog Guesthouse is a 3 room guesthouse situated on the shores of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms are large, air conditioned with private bath. The cottage room is self contained with kitchenette while the other two rooms share a common kitchen. There is a small beach directly in front of the property and a large beach just minutes down shore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boiled Frog Guesthouse St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing