We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bang for your buck on the ENTIRE ISLAND!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boiled Frog Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 16 Castries B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best bang for your buck on the ENTIRE ISLAND!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Steve and Danielle are the GREATEST hosts a vacationer can ask for. We had booked 7 nights for the queen room but once we got there, we'd been UPGRADED to the cottage for the same fee!! And what an upgrade it was!!! The cottage is so freaking cozy and welcoming. You feel like you've lived in this abode by the sea your entire life. My best friend and I did not want to leave!! Danielle was always bringing us little treats that she baked and we devoured!! The kids are great and extremely helpful. And let's not forget my main man, Zeus (the family dog). A big guy with an even bigger heart, and the protector of the compound. Prepare to be licked...and LOVE every minute of it. I can't say enough about our experience at the Boiled Frog! What a pleasure it was to walk to beach whenever it suited. Thank you guys for an AMAZING stay. You'll definitely see us again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamar120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you so much for such a great review! It is refreshing to get such a positive response when it actually rained almost every day you were here! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
41
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill, East Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

For those of you like me who would rather read a couple of condensed lines than reams of text, I have decided to summarise first and put in more detail later. So, here goes…

Summary:
Go to The Boiled Frog website (search for “the boiled frog guesthouse” in your favourite search engine) to get a feel for the family, food and the place itself, read some of the other reviews here. If what you see interests you (as it did us) continue reading this and prepare for a great holiday (or vacation). The hosts (Steve, Danielle and family) added so much to our St Lucia experience and we were really glad we chose to stay with them. Here are my main bullet points:

• The Boiled Frog offers the hospitality of a family that will welcome you to both St Lucia and to their home.
• If you would rather enjoy some interesting and humorous conversation from the knowledgeable hosts than just sit by a pool in an “all inclusive”, this is certainly the place for you.
• Bed and breakfast is the order of the day, but Danielle normally cooks 5 of 7 evenings and if you want in (the menu is on the fridge on the veranda) just let her know by noon that day – simple.
• Eating with the family is a great way to get to know more about the island. In our two weeks we also found that listening to the tales of how they came to be running The Boiled Frog was both interesting and fascinating too.
• You choose your level of involvement with the hosts. They are very adept at judging how much interaction you would like, so if you want quiet time it’s yours.
• The location is right by the beach in Choc Bay (pronounced “Shock”) so the sea is just outside the property – who needs a pool! When you are done head back to your room and shower.
• The guesthouse is just outside Castries, the capital of the island, which has an excellent market. It is also just a short bus trip away from Rodney Bay (beach, restaurants and boutique shops), so the location is a great base to get access to other places to visit.
• The location is also quite close to some of the all in one resorts, so if you are going out to St Lucia for a wedding, it is also a great place to stay if you don’t want to be in the all-inclusive as you can easily get to the wedding for a small bus fare or by taxi.
• There is a supermarket in a mall over the road so you have easy access to a cash machine and a great place to stock up your fridge with Piton beer or buy wine for the evening meal.

So... There are the greatest hits as I see them. Still interested? Please read on.

Room:
We stayed in the middle ranked room called The Stew. The Stew is a big room with a bathroom off it that has a powerful shower over a bath. The bed is large and comfortable and there is plenty of storage space in the room. Most importantly, there is air-conditioning for which there no extra charge. Another neat touch is having a decent sized fridge in the room which came in handy for keeping water, orange juice and the local beer (Piton) cool ready to drink. If you ask for it, the fridge can be stocked for you before you arrive. We found that great as we got our stuff into the room then headed out onto the patio and enjoyed a couple of beers whilst we introduced ourselves to Steve and Danielle. In the room there are 2 UK style sockets and also a socket strip with US style connections. There is a small TV which initially seemed odd, but to be honest, we never used it anyway – there are more fun things to do when you are on holiday than watch TV. The Stew was $70 (US) or £45 (UK) per night for the room and breakfast which we felt was excellent value.

Common areas:
The double doors to the room lead out onto the veranda, which is a massive space with plenty of seating and four medium sized tables. One of the other rooms (The Reef - which is next door to The Stew) also opens on to the veranda. There is also a main dining table where you would sit if you chose to eat with the family which we did on 7 of 14 nights. There is plenty of information and also some books about St Lucia and its wildlife as well as a rum station (great idea) and a sort of freebie station where there are some useful things like bug sprays etc. which is handy to get you started if you have forgotten to pack such things. There is also a large fridge which has all of the stuff in it for breakfast such as spreads and jams etc. From the veranda a gate leads to a patio type area that has a couple of chairs and some loungers on it. From there is the entrance to The Cottage which is the largest accommodation on offer. As well as the bedroom there is a small lounge area, a small kitchen area with a cooker and a bathroom off the bedroom. The patio leads to a sheltered lounging area and also to the garden. Once in the garden the sea gate is right there for access to the beach. The veranda, patio or garden all make for a great place to see and photograph absolutely stunning sunsets. Incidentally, in St Lucia all beaches are public, so if you want to, you can go to one of the Sandals beaches to see what’s on offer there – not that we did, but it is an option.

Food:
Breakfast is continental style. The veranda fridge has milk, juice, cheese and ham as well as jams sauces and fruit etc. there is a variety of teas, fresh filter coffee, bagels and bread. As regards the evening meals, the food was excellent and was always freshly prepared on the day including homemade speciality bread. Some of Danielle’s recipes are available to view on the website. Steve and Danielle’s boys are very polite and helpful. Setting the table and clearing up afterwards, The Boiled Frog is a family effort and we found it great to see that the whole family is involved in the smooth running of the guesthouse. For the nights that Danielle is not cooking, there is an excellent restaurant 10 minutes walk away called The Wharf. If you go there (and we would recommend you do) ask for the cheesecake for desert. It is the best I have had and is made by the owner to a secret recipe that not even his daughter knows! You have to ask for it as soon as you sit down though. The Wharf also has a veranda that you can watch the sunset from while you eat. There are further restaurants in Rodney Bay which is about 20 minutes away by bus and only costs $2 EC each (approximately $0.75 US or £0.45 UK).

We had a great holiday and for us the experience was made more special by all at The Boiled Frog. If you are desperate for all-inclusive, maybe The Boiled frog is not for you, but we cannot recommend it highly enough. Enjoy your holiday, enjoy St Lucia, and enjoy “The Boiled Frog” experience.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms. If you want to cook or would like a proper seating area, go for "The Cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint_Boss_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Wow! Thank you for that great and very detailed review! Makes me want to update our website. Thanks again you guys. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Making new friends is one of the best parts about this line of work. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexhill, sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My partner found this guest house on the internet, and right from the first emails, the information, assistance and friendliness was apparent. We were asked if we wanted our fridge stocking with 'groceries' prior to our arrival, and Danielle obliged with a crate of beer!
There are 2 rooms plus an attached 1-bed cottage. We were staying in the larger of the two rooms, an extremely spacious, clean airy room with air-con and a fridge. The en-suite has a wonderful power shower over the bath.
Breakfast is a very casual affair, bread, bagels or croissants are available for toasting and coffee is ready and waiting whatever time you wake up. We had already decided on a laid back holiday, choosing to stay chilling out at the guest house for the majority of our stay, but this didn't seem to be an issue for Steve and Danielle, They have a 'tame' taxi-driver (who is available for airport transfers) and who is also available for hire for sightseeing. We took advantage of this, and for EC400 ($140 US or £95 UK), we had Elias for the day, being ferried round to various places. The advantage of this is twofold: you get to see far more than you would on a resort tour bus and you can do the sights at your own speed.
We ate at the Frog for 7 out of the 14 nights we were there. Danielle is a really good cook, the food is tasty, healthy and nutritious, many meals being accompanied by her home-made herb breads (yum!). On her nights off, we went to the nearest restaurant (The Wharf) which is about a 15 minute walk from the Frog.
I would say, for anyone (like us) who finds the idea of all inclusive to be intrusive, loud and regimented, the Frog is the ideal place to stay. The local knowledge and help given freely by Steve and Danielle, plus their friendliness and welcoming nature makes this probably the best guest house experience anyone could wish for.
I have begun saving up for my return visit........

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babsissimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you guys for this great review and the pictures! We loved having you stay with us. The late night discussions were fantastic and we're so glad you found our little piece of paradise such a great place to just hang out and relax. Thanks again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

From the beginning stages of the trip planning process all the way up to our last morning there, Steve and Danielle were incredibly friendly and so helpful. The greeted us upon arrival with a cold beer and a delicious meal, and from that point on, we felt right at home. We rented the Cottage, which is the larger, free-standing room of the 3 that are offered at the Boiled Frog. With a grocery store just a short walk away, and our own kitchen, we felt like we had our own apartment in paradise (which was great, because there are not a lot of bars/restaurants in the immediate area, but busses and taxis are readily available all time, so you don't feel stuck). These guys seem to have great relationships with many local businesses, from dive shops to sight-seeing tours, and are happy to point you in the right direction based on what you're looking for. And if you don't feel like venturing out for dinner on any given night, they'll typically offer a delicious home cooked meal for a small additional fee! These guys make it easy. That, and they're just an all-around nice family, which always adds to the experience. We hope to make it back down there and highly recommend the Boiled Frog Guesthouse to anyone who wants to visit St. Lucia on a more intimate level than what is offered at the all-inclusive resorts. And when you're there, ask Steve to fix you up a tasty beverage consisting of rum and juice fresh out of the coconut!

Room Tip: If you wish to have your own kitchen and a little more space/privacy, go for the Cottage- its a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I have to apologize for taking so long to respond to this fantastic review! We are very glad you chose to stay with us and even happier that you enjoyed it! Thank you for taking the time to let the rest of the world know! We loved all the time we shared with you both, it was a fantastic stay for us so thank you for making it so enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Boiled Frog. Steve, Danielle and their family are excellent hosts, very friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are large and well equipped, including air conditioner and a small fridge. A selection of breakfast food is provided and you can use the kitchen to make meals if you wish. Danielle is an excellent cook so take advantage of the nights that dinner is offered. She even went out of her way to make special dishes for our teenage son who is vegan. The guesthouse is right by the beach and is a calm oasis close to the bustle of Castries. Overall a great experience and one of the highlights of our trip to St. Lucia. Thanks Steve, Danielle and the boys! We hope to be back and see you all again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I have been negligent in responding to this great review and I have to apologize for that! We had so much fun hosting your family and are so appreciative of everything you shared with us while you were here. It was a real treat for us to serve as your hosts and we would certainly love it if you found your way back. Thank you again for taking the time to write a response. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have stayed in alot of good guest houses over the world but this is miles ahead of the rest. Nothing is to much trouble for Steve and Danielle. The food for evening meal is not only fantastic but cheap as well. I will be certainly coming back in the future. Alan A

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I have to apologize for taking so long to respond to this review! I really thought I had already. At any rate, thank you very much for taking the time to leave one and thank you for all your kind words. We loved having you stay with us and we're really glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill on Sea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We recently stayed in St Lucia for a wedding and were lucky enough to be staying at the boiled frog guesthouse. We are frequent travellers worldwide, and have stayed in many different properties, but can safely say that this is the best place we have ever stayed. The place is beautiful, a stones throw from the beach and a short walk to the supermarket and the mini bus stop. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable and lead off from a wonderful veranda with loads of seating and hammocks to relax in. The owners Steve and Danielle and their boys are wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome and really do make this an amazing place to stay. Danielle is a great cook and it was lovely joining the family for meals.whilst we were staying there, our wedding party descended on the guesthouse and Steve and Daniele provided an amazing buffet spread for us, those onion bhajis were incredible!!

St Lucia is a beautiful island and the people are so friendly, we made several trips on the local buses which are very cheap and frequent. Castries the main town was nearby with a good market for buying gifts and an interesting general market, we also found a couple of bars by the harbour to sit in and sample the lovely Piton beer. We went on a sunset cruise which was an experience!! unfortunately there was no sunset as the rain was so heavy, but we made the most of the rum punch!

A great trip to do was the land and sea adventure with spencer ambrose tours which was a lovely way to see the island, try a few local specialities, relax on the beach and finish with a fun boat ride back to castries.

We only spent a week in St Lucia, but it was wonderful, made all the more special by Danielle and Steve at the boiled frog, I cant recommend this place enough, and we cant wait to return to see the place, the family and of course Zeus the dog.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your review! It was our great pleasure to host your group and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. We had a lot of fun that evening with the wedding party and had a great time preparing the buffet! It was a real learning experience for us, so thank you! We really hope we see you all again somewhere down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
0.0 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#8 of 12 in Castries
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartment Espoir
Apartment Espoir
#1 of 16 in Castries
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.0 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boiled Frog Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boiled Frog Guesthouse

Property: Boiled Frog Guesthouse
Address: Choc Bay, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boiled Frog Guesthouse is a 3 room guesthouse situated on the shores of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms are large, air conditioned with private bath. The cottage room is self contained with kitchenette while the other two rooms share a common kitchen. There is a small beach directly in front of the property and a large beach just minutes down shore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boiled Frog Guesthouse St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing