We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven amongst the bustle ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pink Plantation House

The Pink Plantation House
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Atlanta USA
Level Contributor
551 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Haven amongst the bustle ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Just a short drive up the hill from the manic downtown of Castries / up a short lane from the governors mansion site this charming restaurant - complete with glazed art pottery and a super walk around the gardens - the views are spectacular and food innovative and tasty / open for lunch, and only do dinner on Fridays this time if the year - junior us a great employee! We highly recommend it - even our 14 yr old said it was great!

Helpful?
1 Thank Expattraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    70
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You MUST come here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a lovely old plantation home that is set amongst the lovely tropical foliage. It also has a very beautiful view of the bay. The owner Michelle, is a fantastic artist that does a wonderful job painting many different scenes, flowers and whimsical designs on her pottery. The scenes are her "take" of the various places around the island. We spent over an hour just admiring the art work. We couldn't help but purchase several pieces and had the pleasure to visit with Michelle while we did this.

The food is fantastic! My wife had an awesome salad that had Dorado fish with local greens and veggies mixed with a wonderful fresh dressing. She said it was the best salad she ever had in her life. I had the Dorado served "island style". It had such amazing and wonderful flavors with the fish prepared perfectly. They also served a side tray for our table which was absolutely scrumptious. One item was a delicious pumpkin gratin. Another was a cheesy Christophene that was so fresh and fantastic. It also came with locally grown vegetables that went perfectly with the other items. We were much too full for dessert but we ordered some anyway as we were too tempted with the homemade cheesecake with guava sauce....and we were so glad we did!

Overall we couldn't have asked for anything more. Great service and exceptional food in a beautiful spot with an awesome art boutique. It doesn't get any better!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MP-Hami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If only this were open for dinner as well!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Absolutely first class lunch with excellent service and view over Castries. Well worth the drive up the hairpin bends to get there. Not easy to find so take a taxi.

Really nice local fruit juices to start you off.

Very good soups/starters and also a good selection of main courses. The coconut curry shrimps and the red snapper were excellent. And a selection of very local veggies to die for. Puddings brilliant. 3 courses for lunch! not the norm but here it just has to be done.

An old colonial type setting done really well and really is a must visit venue because it is so different from the norm. Great selection of Michelle Elliott pottery and some paintings to muse over and buy. Great for local souvenirs and presents

Opens for dinner on Friday's only, which is a pity as we didn't manage to fit dinner in but will get our diary sorted out on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSteve_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

On a hilltop overlooking Castries, the food and service were excellent. The place settings for sale are unique and something to bring home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, gracious service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We recently had a memorable lunch at The Pink Plantation House. It is located up in the hillls overlooking Castries. The house is an old Victorian style house, very open and charming. The owner's hand painted ceramics are used for meals and are also for sale. They are colorful and make a lovely souvenir of St. Lucia. We were warmly greeted and seated at a table that overlooks the harbor. If it had been a clear day, we would have had a lovely view. Fresh juices start the meal. The food is fresh, local, but has a much more elegant feel than your average local eatery. Every dish that we tasted was spectacular. Perfectly cooked fish, tender lamb, freshly roasted vegetables. Each entree is accompanied by several tasty side dishes. Highly recommended. I cannot imagine anyone leaving disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swimmer283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pink Plantation House also viewed

Castries, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to The Pink Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing