We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2005

This past February, my husband and I took our first trip to the Caribbean. We consulted Trip Advisor to help us choose our accommodations. We decided on the Villa Beach Cottages in Castries mainly because it had gotten very high marks We were not disappointed.

The people working at Villa Beach were all great -warm, friendly, and always very helpful. They all really tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Whenever we needed to get anywhere, they helped us with information, arranged reservations, and arranged transportation. Nadia, Sharon, Neva, Melanie, Thank You!

We also had a wonderful driver, Moses. With him, we took two driving tours and many other short excursions. Besides having a warm and caring nature, he was very informative, and made the tours a lot of fun.

We spent our first 5 nights in a very cozy cottage not very far from the sea wall. Not only did we have a beautiful view of the ocean, but we also heard the sound of the waves. The next week, we stayed in a Villa Suite. These were more modern than the cottages, and very comfortable. Both places had very well equipped kitchens and lovely porches to sit out on to view the ocean.

We were interested in local cuisine and were lucky to have Clara, the Villa Beach chef, cook for us. Her dinners were delicious, lace table cloth and fresh flowers enhancing the atmosphere.

Our favorite local restaurant was Laurel`s, only 10 minutes away by car. Laurel prepares wonderful tasty food and, now, one of my favorite deserts, coconut cake.

We have already booked our vacation for next year.

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank jsf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    64
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
146
303
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2005

We stayed at Villa Beach Cottages for 9 days in early April 2005, with an additional 5 days at the La Daupine Estate property. Villa Beach is well-located on a great beach between Castries and Rodney Bay. The units are very well-equipped and maintained. Staff are excellent and clearly enjoy people. The GM Colin Hunte takes a personal interest in his guests and takes the time to discuss the many area activities, together with a long list of dining-out suggestions. Listen to Colin! You must try the Coal Pot for a special dinner. Staff will arrange restaurant reservations, car rentals, boat trips, etc. A good spot for families with kids and also for couples (our case) looking for laid-back relaxation. Ask Clara to prepare a local meal for you and serve it right on your own porch, or get a wonderful, personalized day trip from one of the two resident taxi drivers, "Mr Charles" or "Moses"! How can two people know everyone in St Lucia? Our first visit of many.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BC Taffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2005

We stayed at the Villa Beach Cottages for 7 nights in March,2005 and it was absolutely wonderful. The Ocean view suite was spectacular and affordable. Its located right next to Sandals and there is a restaurant right next door which adds to the convenience. The staff was very friendly and made us feel right at home. We forgot our daughters blouse and they mailed it at no charge. Now that's what we call service! Its not far from Rodney bay which has tons of good restaurants. We enjoyed staying at the Villa Beach Cottages and if we visit St. Lucia again there's no question where we'll stay.

Stuart, Shazeena and baby Chloe

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazeena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2005

Greetings to all who may read this review
The Villa Beach Cottages are all what the previous reviews have stated and more.

It is so nice to go to resort and we welcomed essentially like family. You have this here. This is our fifth year return to St. Lucia. Does that say enough. Colin, is an extremely well liked gentleman with a love to no end for his Island. His staff is the best you can ask for. Want a carefree, relaxed getaway with a breathtaken view of the water, STAY A VILLA BEACH COTTAGES
SEE YOU IN 2006

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2005

This is one of those Caribbean gems that you read about other people finding and staying at - and then wish it had been you. For our family of 4 this was perhaps our best island experience, and we have visited many.
Gracious is a word that best describes our entire experience at Villa Beach Cottages. The entire staff on the grounds just seem to make your day better is so many little ways - you just have to experience it yourself. Whether it is suggestions on what to see, where to go and even how to get there, its all easy, friendly and enjoyable. Even lounging around by the pool or on the deck for hours at a time or walking the beach right before you, this is one relaxing vacation. We'll be back next March!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, VA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2005

My family of 4, including 2 boys ages 16 and 6, spent the week of March 13-20, 2005 at this establishment on the beach at Choc Bay. We had a wonderful time. The proprietor, Colin Hunte, is a well-spoken and well educated man with a delightful sense of humor and sound advice about what to do or not do in St. Lucia. His staff are friendly and forthcoming with any assistance required. You will be hard put to find a friendlier group of people, complete with spontaneous pearls of wisdom which they happily share with you. This is a very good place for families...comfortable bedrooms, a kitchen, a TV, a small living area. There is a small pool and the beach is just the other side of the retaining wall. No snorkeling here...but decent swimming and beach walking. A place for people who don't like to "swim in a roped-off sea." This is NOT a big fancy resort with every conceivable amenity, nor will you find an entertainment director to tell you what to do or take your children off your hands. And if you are the haughty type...well...look somewhere else. But this modest place is unhurried, clean, and quite pleasant in appearance. And the small kitchen has more supplies than many other similar establishments will provide. Only the 2-bdr suites do not face the ocean. We could take a taxi to anywhere we wanted to go. Not cheap, mind you, but it beats taking responsibility for a rental car on the somewhat treacherous roads of St. Lucia. My whole family would gladly return here any day. And if you come here, you may experience what my 16 yr old did, while dozing peacefully in a hammock overlooking the sea..to have another gentleman guest lift up my son's baseball cap off his face and enquire "Have you found Paradise?" To which my son replied "Yes" and promptly pulled the cap back down on his face and returned to sleep.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gentle_heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2005

Villa beach deserves more than a rating of five. Where we stayed was the best part about our vacation. They tell you when you arrive you are like family to everyone (the staff AND THE OTHER GUESTS!) and that is exactly how you are treated the entire vacation. The views are spectacular. Everything is so convenient from your excursions to water sports to eating. This was our first time, and we are planning to come back next year.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
2.0 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
5.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Property: Villa Beach Cottages
Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and West Indies so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing