We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“"5" star excellent rating well deserved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Villa Beach Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Certificate of Excellence
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"5" star excellent rating well deserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I searched for many hours on TripAdvisor to find what we were looking for in a winter beach vacation - location on a great swimming beach with warm ocean temperatures, not a huge hotel with lots of people and activities, comfortable accommodations, not having to go out to eat all the time, relatively reasonably priced. Villa Beach Cottages popped up in the search - and its many reviews were glowing - so glowing, in fact, that I was a little suspicious. But it's all true. We just got back from a week's stay in early March (we are a married couple around age 60) and had one of the most relaxing, refreshing, and enjoyable vacations ever. Admittedly, we don't need much in the way of activities to be content - but if you want activities and don't mind paying for them there's plenty to do and see on the island. We did an island tour (very interesting and worthwhile), loved having lunch overlooking the Piton Mountains, and yet couldn't wait to get back to what we felt was the best beach in St. Lucia.
Some tips:
1. Unless you have small children, I would recommend getting an upstairs room. The bedroom and balcony views are amazing and it offers a little more privacy. We stayed in a standard room (as opposed to deluxe) and it was luxurious as far as we were concerned.
2. If you're not renting a car, ask the driver who picks you up at the airport to stop at a grocery store before you get to Villa Beach. We had intended to go out for dinners but It's so easy to make simple meals and the setting is so beautiful that we wanted to stay put. That saved a lot of money, too.
3. As far as restaurants go, we loved Laurels - a local place not on the beach but with really delicious food. We had the same fish there as at Jacques (a very pricey place on the water) and honestly, it was tastier at Laurels. The Wharf, next door, is perfectly fine and remarkably reasonably priced - a great choice the first night you're there.
4. Be prepared for some really big waves! We were told it was unusual for March, but the last few days we were there the waves were so big it was a little scary to go in the water. Otherwise the beach was perfect - warm water, sandy bottom with no rocks. Walkable, too - as long as you don't mind getting wet because at times there's not much dry beach.
5. We wanted to take the bus sometimes but upon asking Colin or others at the front desk we found that it didn't go where we wanted to go. But if you're just going into Castries or Rodney Bay to walk around I think the buses would work.
6. Claudius is a great driver for tours or anything else you might want to do - and if you go by the one place on the island that makes cassava bread, get some!
7. Get local fruits and vegetables at the green grocers rather than the larger grocery store. Go early in the day when the selection is better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank boxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    60
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
140
276
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lovettsville,VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first trip to St. Lucia. We did not want to stay in a big resort, in my searching I found VBC, we just returned home after 17 nights of pure pleasure, We were not disappointed, the room was spacious, very clean, 2nd floor, end unit, sun settings were beautiful. Everyone at VBC from Colin on down where helpful, friendly and knew us by our name not room #. The cab drivers provided by VBC were very friendly and we always got a good history lesson about St. Lucia. The beach was very inviting and clean. We were in walking distance of two grocery stores. Next door was The Wharf Restuarant, great food, large portions and very reasonable prices. Lisa will greet you at the door, dad does the cooking and Colonel is behind the bar. Try the homemade cheesecake. It was an enjoyable stress free trip, VBC handled everything for us. If you are thinking about going to St. Lucia, check out VBC, you will not be disappointed, also family friendly. We will return and stay at VBC.

Room Tip: 2nd floor,end unit, over looking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gransaf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I rented a first floor 2 bedroom villa at VBC with another couple for a week and what a special place we discovered. The owner, Colin Hunte, met with us for approximately an hour and gave us so many wonderful tips regarding restaurants and tours.The office staff, groundsmen and cab drivers were all so friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. We spent a great deal of time with our cab driver, Ali, and we thoroughly enjoyed his company. He was a great tour guide and a very safe driver. Our villa was so large and well equipped. We intended to just have coffee in our room and go out for meals because we were on vacation. We ended up eating breakfast on our patio, snacks in the afternoon, and brought in a couple of dinners. Although we thoroughly enjoyed touring the Island, we looked forward to returning to our slice of paradise at VBC. It was so mesmerizing watching the sunsets from our patio or sitting on the lounge chairs by the pool. We just loved it!

Room Tip: Any room facing the magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Villa Beach Cottages for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, between Rodney Bay and Castries. Very convenient to both and the local grocery stores. The cottage itself was set on a beautiful beach and was relaxing and met all our needs. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a sea front top floor villa (Room 2). It was wonderful. The villa is right on the beach with a lovely balcony and amazing views. We enjoyed watching the sun set over the Caribbean Sea with a glass of wine every evening. The kitchen was well appointed and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach which was about 10m away. The wifi worked well and sitting on the balcony speaking to our relations in the UK was surreal !

We ate out at the Wharf next door. Do not be put off by the decor; the food was excellent. We also took taxis organised by reception to local restaurants in Rodney Bay and Coal Pot in Castries. Claudius the taxi driver (provided by the hotel) on a number of occasions and was always courteous and helpful. There is very well stocked supermarket within walking distance.

Colin, the owner, spent an hour talking to us about his property and the things to see on the island the day after we arrived and we used this invaluable information to tour the island.

Nadia and all the staff at reception without exception were always smiling and extremely helpful. We hired a car through the hotel at very reasonable rates.

All in all, we would highly recommend this and will certainly come again.

Room Tip: Room 2 top level beachfront - highly recommended
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sjo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in Villa Beach cottages in Feb 2013 and we were very happy with our stay!
The apartment was nice and directly on the beach. Spacious and clean.
what made the stay special was the people working there though - they were very personable and incredibly helpful! We would definitely go back!
A real gem :-)

Room Tip: The beach front villas are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaS_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

One of the warmest welcomes ever received from any destination I've traveled to, delivered by Mr Colin Hunte. Of the 3 destinations traveled to in St Lucia, this stop ranked #1. Why? Superior service, taxis at hand, excellent dining and tourist destination information (no resto on premises), a mall across the highway, a beach seen/scene from the window, a kitchenette, food ordered and served in the room (24 hr notice), lovely room and double bathroom, 4-poster bed, balcony with superb view, security 24 hours, easy parking, and something it seems 90% of St Lucia lacks: air conditioning. At 70% humidity and temperatures upwards of 80, this air conditioning proved totally essential. Other 5 star resorts at twice the cost did NOT have air conditioning. They did have mosquitoes--so you stay under your net and fry in the heat (yes, even at Anse Chastanet where you have a FAN above the bed) or you sleep in sea breezes and get bitten to death. Air conditioning means that boon of keeping doors closed and bugs out (Note: Villa Beach Cottages did not have mosquitoes thanks to ocean breezes). This is a joy for North Americans spoiled by their own homes. Given the daily servicing of Mr Hunte's rooms your stay is clean, mosquito-less, and relaxing enough for you to want to extend your stay. The few rooms means little noise and the chance to meet new friends. If I came back to St Lucia, this is the hotel for me. And, apparently, for returnees upwards of 30 years. I can see why. The down side? Maybe the highway, but really, with the ocean waves the only thing you hear from your balcony--the highway is merely fast access to other spots. This is my only 6-star rating for a 5-star place in 30 years of travel. And I'm so happy I did not stay at Sandals next door. An Oscar to Mr Hunte.

Room Tip: Upper suites give better views and security, lower rooms give better access for the elderly or walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
2.0 mi away
East Winds Inn
East Winds Inn
#1 of 14 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
1.7 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
15.4 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Resort
Rendezvous Resort
#3 of 16 in Castries
4.5 of 5 stars 2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Property: Villa Beach Cottages
Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, West Indies, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Otel so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing