We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

On the first day at VBC we were invited to see Colin the owner . He welcomed us to the ' family ' at VBC and we wondered what he was talking about. Within a few days we fully understand that this is exactly how you start to feel about the staff. The groundsman who climbs a tree to get you a coconut, the cleaners that you share a joke with and the receptionists that will do everthing you ask of them. Colin has a special team that make the resort one of the most professional that we have ever encountered.
The room facilities were excellent, location perfect and we would recommend the ground floor sea view rooms, amazing!
A lot of good restaraunts have already been listed but I would add the Pink Plantation and Flavours of the Grill as top of my list.
Make friends with the staff next door at the Wharf as that is a great place for pre dinner drinks. Lisa and Kernel were great hosts and shared our sense of humour. The rotis and jerk were excellent there.
Claudius the taxi driver is a real gent and will take you to the steet party at Gros Islet and look after you if you ask him nicely. He may even take you to his local pool hall.
I can usually find some issue with any place I stay but this place has defeated me.

Room Tip: Ground floor , sea front are feet from that perfect sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    64
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
146
303
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We loved the privacy and the lovely people who work at VBC who made our stay so wonderful. The view and beach was beautiful. We think that st. Lucia is the prettiest island in the Caribbean. We have been to seven islands. It was so relaxing. The restaurant next door has good food and is steps away. It needs some TLC. VBC has drivers to take you anywhere . Driving there made us nervous. Would recommend using the drivers. This is the place to stay for relaxation and quiet. We had 4-5 ft waves crashing right outside the cottages which we enjoyed. Most activities are away from VBC. Colin gave us lots of good advice. Claudius the driver was so accommodating and charming. Sherlan always there if you need anything and wonderful to talk to.
The ladies at the front desk were so,helpful . We will look forward to going back to VBC.

Room Tip: We liked the upper room. The view is better. Room #11 was above the smaller pool. Felt safe leav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dotsimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We enjoyed 10 relaxing days at Villa Beach Cottage over the 2012 holidays. The staff is wonderful and will set up anything you need, including car rental, which if you are staying for longer than a few days you may want to consider. They also have a list of drivers and can set up all day excursions around the island.
Villas are very large and well maintained. Kitchen has everything you will need to prepare simple meals to a large dinner for a group. Suggest getting a 'starter pack' for when you arrive to give you the basics. There is a grocery store about a 10 minute walk away.
Pool area is lovely with plenty of padded chairs, umbrellas and a couple of hammocks. Towles are provided.
Beach is steps away and clean not large but nice all the same You can borrow sea kayaks and go out to Rat Island a few hundred yards off shore.
All in all a wonderful property with a very accomodating staff who will cater to your every need. We would highly recommend Villa Beach Cottages, especially for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPVM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our stay was for four nights in a one bedroom first level suite.
The view - magnificent!
The cottage - fully self contained with full stove, fridge, microwave and everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. The lounge and bed were in one room, the dining and kitchen in another with a good sized bathroom. The balcony included a wooden outdoor setting for two (again, the view from here, magnificent).
The grounds - great pool and plenty of loungers for gazing out to sea.
The beach - narrow, not somewhere I would sit between swims. Bascially you have the villas, a strip of lawn, pools and or loungers, then the beach (steps down), as can be seen on the web site.
Nearby - the cottages are on a busy road (which you can't hear from the cottages) and there is a supermarket nearby (approx. 10-15 minute walk) with a small shopping centre, and in the other direction a cinema and a great sorbet/ice-cream shop! ATMs at both locations.
The island - beautiful. Colin (the manager) will overview the options for tours and make recommendations - take them! This is a great island to explore. We ate at the Wharf Restaurant next to the cottages, don't be put off by the appearance, reasonably priced, good food. Otherwise, we catered for ourselves.
If you're after a place that is relaxing, quiet and allows you to do your own thing - this is it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked two weeks in St. Lucia. And the best was the week we had at Villa Beach Cottages. It is right ON the beach!!!! You can enjoy the pool. . .or the beach. . . or BOTH!!! Would highly recommend the property!

Room Tip: Especially enjoyed the two bedroom in the new building. Lots of 110 outlets. We had that for four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just stayed for nine days at the cottages. We had an absolutely wonderful time there. The deluxe, one-bedroom suite had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. There is a kitchen that has everything you need, if you chose to make some of your own meals . . . including a microwave oven. There are two stores within walking distance of the cottages, but it is easier if you have a car.

The main room is large with a king-sized bed. There is a jetted jacuzzi tub in the room, next to the bathroom. The bathroom had two sinks and a great walk-in shower. You feel very comfortable in the suite . . . it is very roomy, but not too big. The air-conditioning works great and keeps the room at whatever temperature you like . . . even ice cold !!!

Our suite was on the ground floor and we had a patio, accessible through double doors. It had a small table and two chairs and two chaise lounges with cushions. We stayed in #5 and had the best view out to the bay. From the patio to the water wasn't more than 75 ft. There is a 4-5 foot sea wall at the edge of the property and you can listen to the waves. There are two gazebos on the property that offer even better views of the bay. Also, if you book a suite on the second floor . . . you will have a more panoramic view of the bay and Carribean. Sit back with a book and a cool drink and watch the sailboats and yachts pass by, the giant cruise ships come into Castries, the capital, which is less than ten minutes to the south by car.

Colin, the owner, is a wealth of information and I think he knows everyone on the island. He will spend time with you and give you a detailed overview of all that St. Lucia has to offer. The girls in the office are incredibly nice and they will do everything they can to help set un tours, dinner reservations, or whatever !

As you travel around the island you will see many resorts, especially Sandals. They are teeming with people. If you like that kind of atmosphere . . . by all means stay in one of them. However, if you would like to stay someplace that is very nice and comfortable, where you actually can get to know the other guests, if you want, that is centrally located on the island and close to grocery stores and restaurants alike . . . stay at Villa Beach Cottages.

I would recommend getting a car to be able to explore the island. Austin can fix you up with a car/jeep and off you go. He will work with you if you only need a car on certain days. Yes you have to drive on the left hand side of the road, but you get used to it. You can also rent snorkeling gear at VBC, as well as kayaks to get a better look at Choc Bay. The also have small internet cafe.

Definitely take a guided tour of the island. You will be able to relax that one day and let someone else do the driving. The rest of the time get out there and explore. The Pitons, Anse La Rae fish fry on Friday night, Pidgeon Island to the north (visit the old fort), Rodney Bay for jet skiing, snorkeling at Anse Chastenet and at the base of the Pitons, La Dauphine (Colin's other property) for a tour of a real cocoa plantation, RainForest zipline for incredible views and lots of fun high up in the trees. Drive to Marigot Bay (be prepared for some rough roads . . . wholes and steep). It is where they filmed the original Dr. Doolittle and is considered by many as the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean.

Try the Coalpot restaurant (dinner or lunch) near the airstrip, the Spice of India (lunch) at the Rodney Bay mall, the resort club at The Landings resort (lunch), and the Dasheen at the Ladera resort. It is situated between the Pitons. The view is one of a kind incredible . . . the food is good but not great. You can have lunch or dinner at all of the big resorts. Pick and chose the ones that have the best views. If you have time go to Smugglers Bay and go down the stairs to the beach. It is very picturesque and they have a little bar there that makes great smoothies.

St. Lucia is the most beautiful island in the Caribbean. It is covered with beautiful forests. The people are very friendly and helpful. ENJOY !!!

Room Tip: #5 is great. If you want the second floor . . . chose #2 or #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dunford23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Brochure hype rarely lives up to it's claims, but Villa Beach Cottages delivers all that it states and something more, true hospitality and gracious living. Our King Suite was well appointed with all that you could need, a fully stocked kitchen, spaciousness, and the room looked exactly as shown on the website.
We opened our balcony door and the view was breathtaking, the bay was turquoise blue with sailboats bobbing in the distance. The waves were a constant lull in the background, and the breezes coming ashore were wonderful.
Villa Beach is a lovely well maintained boutique property that is headed by a true proprietor who knows his business, but makes it YOUR place to stay. The staff is friendly, helpful, and goes out of their way to accommodate all of your needs.
We experienced the island and our driver, Claudius was attentive and thoughtful by touring us through his country with details that you would never find elsewhere. The concierge level service at the front desk was superb.
Don't miss the views of the Pitons from L'Adera, or a visit to one of the many fine restaurants in the area.
Do budget some extra cash for taxis, as this is more practical than attempting to navigate a rental car.
We shall return to Villa Beach, it's a wonderful retreat that was first rate. We felt very fortunate to have discovered it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinoveritas59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
2.0 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
5.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Property: Villa Beach Cottages
Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing