We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our stay was for four nights in a one bedroom first level suite.
The view - magnificent!
The cottage - fully self contained with full stove, fridge, microwave and everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. The lounge and bed were in one room, the dining and kitchen in another with a good sized bathroom. The balcony included a wooden outdoor setting for two (again, the view from here, magnificent).
The grounds - great pool and plenty of loungers for gazing out to sea.
The beach - narrow, not somewhere I would sit between swims. Bascially you have the villas, a strip of lawn, pools and or loungers, then the beach (steps down), as can be seen on the web site.
Nearby - the cottages are on a busy road (which you can't hear from the cottages) and there is a supermarket nearby (approx. 10-15 minute walk) with a small shopping centre, and in the other direction a cinema and a great sorbet/ice-cream shop! ATMs at both locations.
The island - beautiful. Colin (the manager) will overview the options for tours and make recommendations - take them! This is a great island to explore. We ate at the Wharf Restaurant next to the cottages, don't be put off by the appearance, reasonably priced, good food. Otherwise, we catered for ourselves.
If you're after a place that is relaxing, quiet and allows you to do your own thing - this is it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    66
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
152
311
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked two weeks in St. Lucia. And the best was the week we had at Villa Beach Cottages. It is right ON the beach!!!! You can enjoy the pool. . .or the beach. . . or BOTH!!! Would highly recommend the property!

Room Tip: Especially enjoyed the two bedroom in the new building. Lots of 110 outlets. We had that for four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just stayed for nine days at the cottages. We had an absolutely wonderful time there. The deluxe, one-bedroom suite had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. There is a kitchen that has everything you need, if you chose to make some of your own meals . . . including a microwave oven. There are two stores within walking distance of the cottages, but it is easier if you have a car.

The main room is large with a king-sized bed. There is a jetted jacuzzi tub in the room, next to the bathroom. The bathroom had two sinks and a great walk-in shower. You feel very comfortable in the suite . . . it is very roomy, but not too big. The air-conditioning works great and keeps the room at whatever temperature you like . . . even ice cold !!!

Our suite was on the ground floor and we had a patio, accessible through double doors. It had a small table and two chairs and two chaise lounges with cushions. We stayed in #5 and had the best view out to the bay. From the patio to the water wasn't more than 75 ft. There is a 4-5 foot sea wall at the edge of the property and you can listen to the waves. There are two gazebos on the property that offer even better views of the bay. Also, if you book a suite on the second floor . . . you will have a more panoramic view of the bay and Carribean. Sit back with a book and a cool drink and watch the sailboats and yachts pass by, the giant cruise ships come into Castries, the capital, which is less than ten minutes to the south by car.

Colin, the owner, is a wealth of information and I think he knows everyone on the island. He will spend time with you and give you a detailed overview of all that St. Lucia has to offer. The girls in the office are incredibly nice and they will do everything they can to help set un tours, dinner reservations, or whatever !

As you travel around the island you will see many resorts, especially Sandals. They are teeming with people. If you like that kind of atmosphere . . . by all means stay in one of them. However, if you would like to stay someplace that is very nice and comfortable, where you actually can get to know the other guests, if you want, that is centrally located on the island and close to grocery stores and restaurants alike . . . stay at Villa Beach Cottages.

I would recommend getting a car to be able to explore the island. Austin can fix you up with a car/jeep and off you go. He will work with you if you only need a car on certain days. Yes you have to drive on the left hand side of the road, but you get used to it. You can also rent snorkeling gear at VBC, as well as kayaks to get a better look at Choc Bay. The also have small internet cafe.

Definitely take a guided tour of the island. You will be able to relax that one day and let someone else do the driving. The rest of the time get out there and explore. The Pitons, Anse La Rae fish fry on Friday night, Pidgeon Island to the north (visit the old fort), Rodney Bay for jet skiing, snorkeling at Anse Chastenet and at the base of the Pitons, La Dauphine (Colin's other property) for a tour of a real cocoa plantation, RainForest zipline for incredible views and lots of fun high up in the trees. Drive to Marigot Bay (be prepared for some rough roads . . . wholes and steep). It is where they filmed the original Dr. Doolittle and is considered by many as the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean.

Try the Coalpot restaurant (dinner or lunch) near the airstrip, the Spice of India (lunch) at the Rodney Bay mall, the resort club at The Landings resort (lunch), and the Dasheen at the Ladera resort. It is situated between the Pitons. The view is one of a kind incredible . . . the food is good but not great. You can have lunch or dinner at all of the big resorts. Pick and chose the ones that have the best views. If you have time go to Smugglers Bay and go down the stairs to the beach. It is very picturesque and they have a little bar there that makes great smoothies.

St. Lucia is the most beautiful island in the Caribbean. It is covered with beautiful forests. The people are very friendly and helpful. ENJOY !!!

Room Tip: #5 is great. If you want the second floor . . . chose #2 or #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dunford23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Brochure hype rarely lives up to it's claims, but Villa Beach Cottages delivers all that it states and something more, true hospitality and gracious living. Our King Suite was well appointed with all that you could need, a fully stocked kitchen, spaciousness, and the room looked exactly as shown on the website.
We opened our balcony door and the view was breathtaking, the bay was turquoise blue with sailboats bobbing in the distance. The waves were a constant lull in the background, and the breezes coming ashore were wonderful.
Villa Beach is a lovely well maintained boutique property that is headed by a true proprietor who knows his business, but makes it YOUR place to stay. The staff is friendly, helpful, and goes out of their way to accommodate all of your needs.
We experienced the island and our driver, Claudius was attentive and thoughtful by touring us through his country with details that you would never find elsewhere. The concierge level service at the front desk was superb.
Don't miss the views of the Pitons from L'Adera, or a visit to one of the many fine restaurants in the area.
Do budget some extra cash for taxis, as this is more practical than attempting to navigate a rental car.
We shall return to Villa Beach, it's a wonderful retreat that was first rate. We felt very fortunate to have discovered it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinoveritas59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were married at VBC on 3 December, 2012. We stayed there for a week after the wedding, then had a couple of days at the owner's other property - La Dauphine.

Firstly, the photos and descriptions of other reviewers are pretty consistent with our experience. The unit was perfect for our needs, the staff looked after us and we slept like babies listening to the ocean's roar every night. Self-catering worked for us but, as others have mentioned, it's a 10 minute walk along a very busy road to the supermarket, and the only walkable restaurant, the Wharf, is not fancy, although the food was good and Lisa looked after us well. We felt lucky to travel in quiet season when the weather was perfect but we had the hotel almost to ourselves.

We had decided to get married on our own in St. Lucia with no friends or family in tow. That said, we still wanted a special, memorable day with nice pictures to share. VBC's wedding co-ordinator Susan Mondesir, did a great job of ensuring everything was perfect for for us. Neva and Austin volunteered to be our witnesses, Patrick took some great photos, and all the VBC staff made us feel very special. We had a lovely day and a fantastic honeymoon. Thanks Susan, Colin and team!

After a week at the beach, we were a little reluctant to move, but we had booked our last 2 nights at La Dauphine so we rented one of the hotel's "jeeps" and drove down to Soufriere. We were so pleased we did! We stayed at the great house (123 years old, no AC, no TV, no glass in the windows!) and had a fantastic time with the entire property to ourselves. With fresh fruit from the gardens, 2 high-end restaurants right next door (Dasheen and Boucan), a gorgeous pool and terrific views of a Piton, we had a blast. Just don't forget the bug spray.

This was our first visit to St. Lucia and we had only TripAdvisor reviews to guide us on selecting a hotel for our special day. We had a wonderful time and would recommend VBC to any other travelers looking for a non resort location.

Room Tip: I had thought a top floor room would be better, but room 4 on the ground floor was perfect, with dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TFATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked 2 weeks at VBC for Oct/Nov 2012 after reading many of the reviews on Trip Advisor. It was our first trip to the Caribbean and as a family with 2 young kids (ages 5 & 7) we wanted some luxury but also some practicality and VBC certainly provided that. We were all blown away when we arrived and were shown the apartment. When we opened the balcony doors the view was breathtaking and I was immediately thankful that we had chosen the seaview! We are now all seriously missing our beautiful breakfasts on that balcony with the sound of the waves breaking on the beach.
The set up is excellent, particularly if you want the comforts of a hotel but with the flexibility of self catering. The reception facility can provide everything a hotel concierge would and we loved having our own BBQ's by the pool!
What really makes the place stand out is the quality of the team - they are so friendly and helpful. One of the guys would even climb a palm tree in the grounds to pick fresh coconuts for us to enjoy by the pool - the children loved it!
I'd have no problem recommending VBC to my family and friends and I really hope that we will have the chance to return at some point.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have good access to the pool/beach, but upstairs rooms have a fabulous balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our 1st trip to St lucia. It is truely an enchanted haven and a place that needs to be experienced .We spent 2 weeks in Oct / Nov 2012 .we chose the VBC . What a gem. A lovely boutique hotel. Yes, yes , yes it looks just like all the photo,s .The beach is right out your door with the hypnotic sounds of the waves and tree frogs to entertain your sences. Most of the time the waves were rolling and gentle. But a few days they were very big and exciting to watch. Our room was just beautiful. We had a huge surprise when we arrived , and were upgraded. Now that was such a treat. We were on the 2nd floorand relished the view from the balconey daily. It almost didn,t look real. Everynight the sunsets were slightly different and looked like a painting. The bed was so comfortable. The kitchen wa very clean and had everything you would need. The outside grounds were so pretty and well kept. The pools were too. If all this wasn,t enough to help you have a great vacation, the entire staff ( many) were super. We were picked up at the airport by Ali from vbc. We had a delay and couldn,t reach vbc ( due to our phone ). The driver was so patient and waited over an hour and a half for us. He greeted us with a warm smile and was happy we were ok. When we arrived at vbc the staff were excited that we finally made it there. For us, being strangers in a new country , this quickly felt like home. Being there for 2 weeks gave us time to get to know them . The nice thing was that they wanted to know us too. One night we decided to have a BBQ. Oliva reserved one for us . Earnest delivered it all cleaned and set up about one hour before we requested . The service with smiles , was wonderful. He placed it on the patio below our room . It was great and we had a delightful BBQ experience. The quest service staff Oliva, Neva ,Nadia and Austin were always ready to help us with our plans and questions . Margaret , our housekeeper also did a lovely job. Her thoughtfulness started before we arrived. She di such a beautiful job setting up our room with flowers and even added the rose petals on the bed. So sweet. Colin,s orientation to the vbc and St lucia was tremendous. We enjoyed his family stories and recommendations of places to visit. It was also nice of him to answer his childrens phone calls while we were sitting with him . This showed the family values of himself and his hotel and staff. We had decided not to drive. We took Colins advise and the others trip advisors reviews and asked for Claudius. Now, if all the above wasn,t enough , having a driver was like the cherry on top of the ice cream. It was such fun and we looked forward to each trip we took with him. He,s the best driver. Claudius kept us relaxed and gave us lots of insight about his island. he took us to severals beaches and pionted us in the right direction. We did the Souffere tour and he tailored it to what we wanted to do and see. He brought us to the Friday night jump up, which was a blast . Claudius walked us around and then set us free, but would be around for when we wanted to leave. We had great local foods and danced in the streets. What a unique time for the tourists to share with the locals. He also brought us to the little zoo. We had a terrific quide Chris who gave us the medicinal plant tour . She didn,t let the rain stop her from explaining everything to us. Claudius even taught us a little creole.
We are at the Wharf next door. Thje food was very good. The roti was delicious. Also enjoyed several catch of the day dinners. The crab back was awesome,,,, need to order several and they are worth it. The owner was very kind to let us listen to the news on hurricane Sandy , which was near our home. His daughter was delightful and helped us with the money exchanges , more than once . We had a magical time in St lucia and the VBC. We will return again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: 2nd floor suites had the jet tub with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
5.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
1.4 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
15.4 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
4.8 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Property: Villa Beach Cottages
Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, West Indies, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing