We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rendevouz St.Lucia”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2007

The most beautiful holiday ever, got married there, went scuba diving there, it was the most perfect holiday. The staff are SO helpful and friendly, you feel as though you live there you are made to feel so at home, the food is gorgous and we are chefs so are picky, the diving is just great at the Marine Park and we are Padi instructor and Divemaster from the UK, would just ask for more trips to the marine park for us though, less around the house reef, all dives are boats dives which is great and the boat handler Sheldon is just superb at his job as are the dive staff, Paul, Luie G and Terroll, I cannot express enough how fabulous this place was, and the helicopter trip you just have to take from the airport it is amazing. The property is not all perfect and sparkly but it is beautiful and clean and exactly what you want on a proper holiday it has character and has rustic charm but I would definately say it is 3 star plus/4 star, it does not have the marble and glass effect but the charm is outstanding and it is so romantic in it's character, I cannot wait to go back and dive some more of the marine park !

6  Thank neribee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,377 - 2,383 of 2,621 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2007

A beautiful resort and island, made even better by the excellent staff. The perfect place for our wedding.

Location: Just North of Castries. This is about an hour and a half away from the main international airport, we transferred by helicopter from her over to the small light aircraft airport close by. A very recommended way to start your holiday. It must be said whilst there is a small amount of noise from thge planes they are very infrequent (5 to 10 a day) and we found they gave us something else to watch whilst lazing on the beautiful sandy beach.

Staff: One of the things that can make or break a holiday (particularly all inclusive) but they all were a credit to the funny laid back nature of the island. Special thanks must go to Imran, known as Mini Me by everyone, an excellent barman and top chap to boot, good footy skills too... Pauline, who's keep fit tried to keep some of the weight gain off and advise which helped my new wife on the big day and also Tamara who whilst being new had instantly got into the mood of the resort and was a ray of sunshine. Lennie, the man with the great fruit stall and a lovelly line in dresses - wait for one of the shows - very funny. There were many others, but so little time to type.

The Wedding: Again a great experience, manly thanks to the excellent Sandra and here team. We saw at most two weddings in a day and the huge choice of everything really took us by surprise, we went through at least 30 different bouquet options all with matching button holes etc. They felt very personalised and we ended up taking most of the options, which were also great value compaired to the prices charged back home. A great day which we even finished off with a delicious meal on the beach.

Room: We stayed in a Veranda suite which was big, clean and cool with a marble shower that had plenty of room for two. Took less than a minute to get anywhere too.

Food and Drink: A big selection of different foods were available with themed nights, even down to the different uniforms worn by the staff each day. Very tasty and always something for everyone by the size of the helpings we saw people having. Great deserts too which seemed to be our downfall. Copious variety of name brand booze and soft drinks available all day, with some great cocktails too - pink scorpion with a sting, mmmm.

Activities: Everything from Archery, Waterskiing and Beach Cricket through to organised cycles and romantic walks, no pressure and you could do as much or as little as you wanted. The watersport and fitness staff are all well trained and excellent.

All in all great for couples in love...

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank happycouple_saints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Overall - This resort is a fabulous place, for those wanting to get away to relax, while having a few things to do if you get bored.

Location - First resort to the north of the main town Castries. This means you hear a low hum of traffic in some parts of the resort. The very close airport is no bother at all. Only hear <10 small planes per day and they are gone in 10 seconds. All St Lucia beaches are non-private, but due to closeness to town you get a lot of locals at the weekend. This adds to the holiday experience watching them play footy or diving off the rocks. Security guards are posted on the beach solely to prevent locals coming up and trying to sell you stuff. So no hassle at all.

Beach - First rate 2 miles of beach. Waiter service to beach and shaded areas. In very large bay perfect for water skiing/wind surfing/sailing. Nice breeze to cool you down. And beach is right next to bar/restaurant/rooms.

Rooms - Seeing many of them and speaking to others the best value are the Verandah, however all rooms are great quality, cleaned very well and airconditioned. Verandah are massive newly refurbed rooms with massive showers and balconies. Garden rooms good but smaller. Seaview not worth the money as hardly any view and not that private (next to pool). Oceanview good if you can afford it (upgrading when there is cheapest option).

Food - For the main buffet terrace restaurant its very good. Lots of variety and with different themes each night (Italian/Tex Mex/BBQ) you don't get bored. Always a great salad bar and deserts. Or Trysting aircon restaurant. A la carte and good service and food. We aren't talking 5 star here (go to Le Sport sister hotel for a day/meal at Tao), but is well above average.

Activites - You can completely relax and get waiter service to your sunlounger on the beach, or at the pool go to the swim up bar. Or you can join in the many many activites (see website) which are well organised, fun and great to meet others.

Staff/others - The staff give exemplary service. They are very friendly and genuinely want to make friends with you. It's an adult couples only resort so no kids in the pool (great), no drunken antics in the bars and a great atmosphere to meet others. Age was mostly 30-45 or 45-60 (40% each).

Roads/Trips - Trips organised in the resort are very good. Especially the catamaran to Soufiere. Most are only a 30m drive away. The roads have only just been completely re-surfaced so they are smooth and quick (expect in castries centre). However the 1.5hr drive from airport is slightly scary as drivers like to go either 0,15 or 50mph. And drive 1m from car in front. TAKE THE HELICOPTER from the airport to Castries airport (5mins from hotel).

Other points - Don't blame this resort if you don't like the town. You CHOOSE to go there. Weddings - We saw/heard 7 in two weeks, which is pretty sparse (Sandals had 8 in one day). Spend a day at the sister resort (Le Sport) and dine there in Tao for a change of scenery (they have a very secluded bay with snorkelling off the beach).

You will really enjoy this resort. I guarantee any minor issues (which you get anywhere) will not spoil this holiday

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank tvrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

For my first experience in the Caribbean we chose Rendezvous.. from the moment we arrived the heat hit us.. the weather stayed fantastic all holiday and although short showers it was always hot.

We recommend the helicopter from the airport to Castries airport which is next to the hotel. Although you hardly notice the aeroplanes taking off.

The staff were friendly and nice, easy to talk to if you wanted but left you in peace if not.

The food was varied, lots of it and of good quality.. (although we did eat out 4 of the 10 nights we were in St Lucia) we recommend the Tao and the sister restaurant, The Body Sport.. the Tao is amazing!!

Also recommend the tree zip lining which was arranged by our tour operator when we arrived.

We went into Castries itself but did not feel safe at all and left as quickly as we arrived!!

Overall a fantastic relaxing break away.. recommended..
Just choosing where to go for our next trip..and it is proving difficult!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank next_stop_manilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

What a great place ! staff were so friendly and efficient, food was fabulous, rooms were comfortable and well appointed although refurbishment needed in bathrooms. If you want to relax - no problem, if you want to be active - no problem as there is always something going on and something to do. Entertainment most evenings was most enjoyable. Noise from local small airport was of no consequence. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NEIL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2007

Upon arriving at the resort after a long flight from the UK we were met by welcoming staff who gave us a lovely cool rum punch. Our standard garden room was larger than expected, very clean with plenty of storage space. First impressions were very good.
The food was excellent, plenty of variety and always a fresh vegetable choice. The "Trysting Place" was a welcome air conditioned alternative to open air buffet dining. This is an a la carte restaurant offering mouth watering dishes at no extra charge (other than fine wines from the special wine list). The service in both restaurants was excellent. My special thanks must go to Dianna and her girls and boys for their wonderful friendly and helpful service - nothing was too much trouble! The activity staff are outstanding and will do everything to ensure you have a good time. They will also give you space if you want to relax. Their evening entertainment is not to be missed!! The Malabar beach location was spectacular, especially watching the large exotic cruise liners leaving Castries harbour against a setting sun! Those who may be worried by being close to the small local airport need not be concerned. There are so few planes, which are so small, they add a little local interest! We were lucky enough to be there for the first three England cricket matches and found the added support of the hotel staff most welcoming. All in all a wonderful holiday and a hotel I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending to you.

Stayed: March 2007
17  Thank JohnLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

I stayed at Rendezvous for 4 nights during part of my honeymoon March
25-29.

It is a smaller all inclusive resort and is laid out nicely. I did find some of the staff to be very friendly and talkative such as Nema
and Gaston, while others were not that friendly.

The food was okay at the buffet. I don't really care for buffets, so I am probably not the best person to give an opinion. I found the food at the Trysting place to be so so. My husband and I did not enjoy it as much as we had hoped, especially when we compared it with other fine dining on the island.

We stayed in a Verandah Suite and it was nice and quite large. The maid service was excellent.

The pool bar was nice as was the terrace bar. We did not go to the Piano bar. Drinks were good and the beer was cold.

We did not enjoy the beach as much as other areas on the island. The
water is not as clear here and the sand is a lot more coarse at this location.

There appears to be what I think was Security in plainclothes roaming
the resort all the time, but we were never actually told this so I can not be sure. Upon arrival while waiting for our room to be readied, we attempted to walk the beach but were stopped by uniformed security instructing us not to do so as it might not be wise. This alarmed us and we never did venture away from directly in front of the resort. I like to explore so we were a bit put off by this and also found the security person we dealt with to be very brash. Not a great first impression.

Overall our stay was nice, but I would not book this resort again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
969 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
14.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.2 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 12 in Castries
7,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $438 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing