We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding and Honeymoon”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2006

After both of us visiting Rendezvous with ex partners we decided to take the plunge and revisit in February this time to get married.

We were a bit apprehensive because we had both enjoyed ourselves on our first visits and thought that second time around it may not be quite as good.......how wrong we were!

After previously experiencing the helicopter transfer we decided to go by the minibus this time and although it is an hour or so to Castries from the airport and along winding and bumpy roads the journey isnt that bad at all especially if you get a really good and friendly driver. We stopped half way for a little breather and an ice cold Piton and this certainly helped although Virgin had arranged for our van driver to pick up some cold bottled water as we left the airport as well. Once through the rainforest section of the island the drive becomes a little more relaxed and you pretty much cruise through Castries around the docks to the side of the small airport and through into Rendezvous.

Now dont let the idea of the airport put you off, there are less than a dozen light aircraft each day and the sound of the props disappears as soon as it came!

Once out of the van in the lobby area a member of staff was waiting with Rum Punch which was well received. We were given our keys and with us both visiting before we knew where we were heading so departed for our room. We had booked one of the Luxury Oceanfront Suites which were well worth the extra money as they are spacious and very comfortable. Admittedly they could do with a little spruce up but i guess these will be the last of the rooms to be refurbished now the Garden View and Verandah Suites have been completed, otherwise, not a single complaint.

We were hoping that some of the staff would be the same as our last visit and thankfully the large majority of staff were still there. Deano, Anna, Trista, Steph, Gaston to name but 5 were welcome faces as we knew the level of service they provided.

On to the wedding and the most nervous time of the holiday. All the additonal services are worth looking at having, especially the hairdresser for the ladies, she did a magnificent job with my wifes hair and the videographer and photographer who for 50% of the price charged at home did a way better job than at our blessing weeks later. Also the Steel Band were great.

The hotel isn't just a stream of weddings each day, we only counted a handful in the 2 weeks we stayed so dont worry about a procession of brides wandering around. The organising staff were fantastic and we couldnt have asked for more, even the registrar was brilliant.

The rest of the holiday was like a dream, we had one days rain in 14 so we were lucky. The food was excellent again and a tip for those of you who prefer a la carte dining, book up in Trysting Place a couple of days in advance of when you want as it does get booked quickly......you have been warned ;-).

The entertainment is good, the staff really do their best with the little time they have to prepare so if you are expecting Las Vegas style shows please, go to Vegas! The bands are great and really remind you that you are in the Caribbean so just sit back and relax and if you cant get a table in the Terrace Bar, sit on the wall and let your feet cool off in the sand while listening to the sea roll in.

If you are looking for relaxation with the one you love, then Rendezvous is the place for you, there is as much or as little to do as you want and you dont feel pressured into doing any of the days activities, but if you do join in always finish second as the prize is a bottle of Bounty Rum rather than a t shirt!

Cant wait to go back, but that will have to wait until the bank manager is a little happier!

Enjoy, it really is worth the journey.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank WanderingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,369 - 2,375 of 2,587 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2006

What more can I say that Nellples hasn't said already. Returned from Rendezvous hotel on the 2nd December. We had a fantastic time, having been to St Lucia several times and visiting six other islands it is our favorite.

On deciding to get married earlier this year, it had to be in St Lucia it was a good decision. The wedding was very special and all we could have wanted, but it all went far too quickly. Our photographer Mikael took some stunning photographs and friend Steve was a whizz with the camcorder.

The food was some of the best we have tasted in the Caribbean and the desserts were definitely the best.
The room was a Verandah suite on the top floor which we couldn't fault.
The staff were great, special thanks to the water sports and scuba dive, who kept my husband well entertained. The evening entertainment was excellent and the staff shows were a hoot, once again some of the best we have experienced.

We did go on an Island tour with Moses a local taxi driver who is great and stopped anywhere you wanted. Went to the usual attractions, as our relations hadn't been before, also went to Ladera for Sunday lunch and wonderful views of the Pitons.

We loved every minute of our stay and will go back.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

I made bullet points with the idea of keeping things brief as I know I hate reading lengthy reviews.....it obviously didn't work as I appear to have written an awful lot! I hope its useful though...

The island - Stunning, just lush all over and very unspoilt. Can't capture it fully in words......just go and see it!

Tours - The Land and Sea tour covers half day by air con minibus (with commentary, breaks) and the second half by catamaran. You really experience the island by doing this tour. The open top jeep/rain-forest cycle tour was also great and well worth doing, so informative and the waterfall was simply breathtaking....much better than the Diamond Waterfall on the Land and Sea tour because you can actually take a dip and there were no other tourists.

Location - Ok, it is next to a cemetery.....its actually a beautiful white cemetery, not like our grey ones. You aren't sunbathing facing it or even near it - not worth mentioning anymore as not an issue. Planes do go over head, they are small planes and its a loud buzz for a few seconds - you get used to it, there are only a few a day and once again not an issue. Resort is next to Castries, you can walk into it and its great to wander amongst the locals (during the day is best, it seems safe but lets be sensible - you wouldn't wander round certain parts of the UK at night!). The duty free is superb, don't bother getting any at the UK airport. Plus no carrying, it is delivered to the airport for collection on departure...and it works!

Beach/Sea - The beach has a superb view all round, its quiet and the sand is lovely however the sea was really warm but could be a little choppy at times, however other times its was beautiful. Our friends have been three times and said that 2 out of 3 times the water was a still turquoise. The fact that you can sit and have your meals overlooking the beach and sea is what made a lot of the holiday for me. Especially as it was clear beach, ie without any sunbathers in front of you, not always what you want when you are eating. Its the Caribbean so obviously use a strong insect repellent, as long as you do then you can walk on the beach at night quite happily...unlike other places in the Caribbean where its just not an option. The locals use the beach as obviously you are next to the town of
Castries, no beach in St Lucia is private. There really aren't many that use the beach, we only ever really saw locals on our beach on a Sunday, there weren't many and it wasn't an issue - they are just like us, they just want to enjoy their day. Its their beach and actually really adds to the feeling of being there and reminds us that we are very lucky to be able to share their island in harmony. I strongly stress this is not an issue, however if it might be for you then you could always choose Sunday to visit Le Sport (sister resort) which is a short cab away, its not near a town and so the beach is tourist only.

Weather - We went in mid November and came back with lovely tans despite not being sun worshippers day in day out. Great weather for us, I don't like it scorching as I end up uncomfortable and so the occasional clouds were a blessing. It rains here and there but its over before you know it, I just swam in the sea whilst it did this - its great fun! The evenings are really clement, it was so surprising how comfortable we were, I think being by the beach with that lovely sea breeze helps.

Food - Top notch, been to other parts of the Caribbean and the food has been mass production and just sits in hot trays losing its flavour and texture....not the case here. Plenty of choice in all areas, beautifully cooked and what more can you ask but to sit eating breakfast, lunch and dinner only yards from the sea. We have experiences of eating in a huge bright dining hall and its just not as special as being at the Rendezvous. The Trysting is for your posher evening and is also great, its inside (air con) but it makes a nice change. Book early as the return customers seem to get in early (ie book on arrival!). Repeat customers gives you an indication that a place is good tho...

Rooms - Perfect and with a great colonial feel, also incredibly quiet. Some people on prior reviews made complaints but I can't see
why......maybe they are so precious that they think as soon as a shower curtain gets a tiny mark it needs throwing!

Staff - Very friendly and polite, everything is dealt with efficiently - no complaints here! Ok a small one, make sure you don't get Beverly if you book a treatment, she is surly and certainly shouldn't be working with people. No complaints about the massage, just the person giving it.

Nature - Some headcase complained on a review about the crabs......they are fantastic to see! They pop up out of a hole but as soon as they feel the vibration of a foot on the sand they disappear - its cool. They are no longer than your thumb, there aren't many and the beach is not teaming with them. Birds are aplenty and the tweeting is wonderful, especially at brekkie. Once again a review complained (an American, sorry for any offence but they do seem rather precious when they review...) saying there was bird poo everywhere - my goodness, that is so untrue - we actually couldn't work out where they went to do that as you just never saw any!!
They flitter about and its lovely, they have more right to be there than we do and and some people basically just need to get over themselves. We saw the occasional little lizards, a couple of thumbnail sized frogs, a gekko - it all adds to that feeling of being on a tropical island.

Sports - Ok, we relaxed but we still like to be fairly active when we're away. There are daily included scuba dives and its a very professional outfit. The dives are good but defo recommend the Marine Park, thats a paying double dive but very cheap and well worth it. Wake board and tube to your hearts content as well as hobie cats, kayaking, water ski etc. Lessons are provided, get stuck in and learn something new! The gym is excellently stocked also, best we've seen for up to date weight and cardio equipment when away. All activities are set far away from the sunbathing area of the beach and are unintrusive.

Pool - I'm a beach freak so we didn't touch the pool except to do a few lengths before dinner occasionally. There are two, I only used one. There is the odd leaf as the pool is amongst the trees and bushes.......quite honestly who cares?? Doing lengths whilst listening to the birds and being surrounded by trees was good enough for me.

Entertainment - The bands were fantastic, you'll see. The resort really makes an effort and once again if that particular night isn't for you then its not intrusive - the bar is big enough for you to not see any of it. International drinks are also included and there is a piano bar in addition to the pool bar and the main bar. Hard to put a feeling of contentment into words with regard to the evenings.....for me it was simply perfect to sip my cocktail under fairy lights and look out at the sea with my favourite person...awwww!

Le Sport (Sister Resort) - Nice but felt less organic and romantic, more concrete and geared towards all day activities, that said the sea is calmer and the snorkelling is fab. Reception sort you a courtesy room and you can dine there in the evening (take trousers, they are stricter!)....altho its not on the beach. The whole place is larger, its very nice but we loved the Rendezvous far more as it was so intimate - Le Sport is called "The Body Holiday", Rendezvous is called "The Romantic Holiday".....this gives an indication of the difference between the two.

All in all we had a superb time - the resort was fantastically intimate and romantic, you felt free from the restrictions and monotony that often accompany all in inclusive resorts.....plus the island is simply stunning and the people are wonderful. GO!

Have a look at some pics on the below link if you're interested.

http://www.nellples.plus.com/st_lucia/

I hope the above helped, sorry it was so long - it wasn't meant to be but my enthusiasm ran away with me!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank Nellples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

The hotel was advertised as a 4* property, but it's really a 3*.

The food was average (after 2 weeks is was getting rather bland), the service was good and the room was fine.

The planes overhead were annoying to begin with but you did just get use to them. The beach was quite crowded and you had to be down there early to get a sunbed with a parasol. The water was not very clear - the water was not very appealing. The beach itself is not a private beach but we didn't really see any locals apart from for a few hours at the weekend.

The spa was good (I had a facial, manicure and a massage) and the service was very professional.

There are good local restaurants near by and it's well worth hiring a taxi to take you round the island. It's cheaper than the virgin organised trip and much more comfortable.

Overall the holiday was fine, but the people were a bit 'chavy'.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SottishDrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

Stayed 7 days from 8 Nov 06
Outstanding staff who were attentive, friendly always wishing to help and available. High staff ratio
Good foor with plenty of choice, mainly buffet, but with option of dinner in exclusive dinning room
Good and helpful watersports
Everything worked!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Too_difficult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2006

I was very disappointed with Rendezvous. Advertised as a "Romantic Holiday" it was nothing of the sort.

To be fair, there were some good points - firstly the rooms were fine. Although the shower pressure was a bit feeble, the room was very clean (a couple of cockroaches popped in to say hello but that's expected in the tropics), well maintained and the air conditioning was wonderful. Also, the staff (with one exception) were incredible - nothing was too much trouble and they were very friendly and welcoming. Particular mention must go to Finbar and Marvin. Also, the pool bar was a perfect place to hang out when it got too hot, and the watersports (even if you've never done them before) were great.

However, there are a few problems. Firstly it's far too crowded to be romantic - if you want any peace and time on your own go elsewhere. The sunbeds on the (admittedly small) beach were normally all taken by 8am, and after dinner there were normally no seats left in the terrace bar - even if you do get a seat you'll have to share the table. Secondly the entertainment wouldn't be out of place in Butlins - what's romantic about the staff dressing in drag and miming to musicals - this was on "Lover's night"!?!. Most nights consist of a band covering UB40 songs then forcing the guests to do a conga around the bar.

The food was nothing special and you'd be slightly disappointed if you had it back home and were expected to pay, although it was plentiful and varied. We only ate in the Trysting Place once - it must have been the chef's night off as the food was completely overcooked and almost inedible - we tried to send it back but the staff were too busy clearing away other tables. When they finally collected our barely touched plates they didn't say a word.

The island on the other hand was wonderful. I highly recommend the "Conveniently Late" trip and we will be going back to St Lucia, but not to Rendezvous.

To summarise, I would say that Rendezvous is a good resort if you go with friends and are looking for a lively holiday with a bit of cabaret. If you're after relaxation or romance go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 046153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

We just got back from our honeymoon this week and had to write a review about the wonderful staff at the Rendezvous. We did many tours while at the resort and met many couples from other resorts that stated that they felt like "a number". It really made us feel lucky to have chosen the Rendezvous with their superior service and kindness. Most of the staff knew us by our first names within a day and acted like they knew us for years. I can't say enough about the great attitude of the staff........they truly stand out and love their jobs which reflects immensely.

On other notes, there was plenty to choose from at the buffet for dinner and lunch.........and I thought it was very good. We did eat at The Trysting Place two nights of our stay for a more private romantic atmosphere and the food there was excellent.

Entertainment was great and fun! Our favorite nights were Caribbean night and Beach Party night. We had a blast......these nights are not to be missed! Also, there is so many activities to join in during the day .........or you can just sit at the pool bar for an afternoon drink and chat while taking a break from sun bathing. It is entirely up to you and the staff is great no matter how you choose to spend your time. The gardens and grounds are absolutely beautiful.........and the beach when we were there was breathtaking. Every morning when we got up (which was around 7), the sand and garden areas were raked, pathways swept from sand, etc. Every room had a large container of water to dip your feet in before entereing your room.......and all major gathering places had the same near the entrances to help keep the terraces and rooms exeptionally clean. Again.....superb service.

All in all, this resort has a fun, relaxed, authentic atmosphere of the island to it. So, if you want a more luxurious (5 star), pretentious resort without the laid back feel and great attitude, try one of the main exclusive chain resorts like Sandals. From what I hear, they will accomodate.

KAH, Baltimore, MD

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank kmrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
14.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.7 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $486 - $957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing