We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Ruin your vacation. Stay away from Rendevouz!”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2005

Absolutely appalling. Granted, my boyfriend and I are spoiled Americans. We specifically asked, when booking our vacation, if the resort had room service and were told they did. Turns out we had to beg (and generously tip) an employee to bring us a hot dog (the only food option outside of meal times). The food was terrible, my boyfriend got food poisoning from his raw lamb (which he ordered to be cooked medium well). stray cats were everywhere and one threw up next to our table during lunch. Native children were all over the beach, to the point where they outnumbered hotel guests. For a resort that was advertised as couples-only this was very disappointing. No TV. Tiny beach. Dont go for a walk...one direction there is a cemetary (how romantic) and the other is blocked by a barbed wire fence. The airport we flew into was 2 mintues away (and yes the noise was extremely disruptive). We didnt even last 24 hours. After hours of trying to find another hotel (as everything was booked during christmas vacation), we finally found room at the Royal St. Lucian. The Royal was fabulous- stay there! The Rendevouz is a disaster

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DPBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,499 - 2,505 of 2,611 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Swindon, Wiltshire
132
Reviewed April 17, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Rendezvous for 2 weeks, late March and early 2005 for our Honemoon. We were very much guided by price and the Rendezvous suited our budget.

We stayed in the Garden View rooms which have recently been re-decorated and were in excellent condition, there was no seperate seating area in the room just a bedroom / dressing area leading to a balcony and bathroom. The rooms were air-conditioned and included a CD player. The maids were attentive and changed the towles everyday and bed linen 3 times a week, athough they made the bed and cleaned everyday.

Personally I didn't see much of a difference between the Garden View rooms and the Verandah Rooms, only a larger...well...verandah and the amount of time spent in the room I wouldn't have liked to pay the extra, they are also both in the same location. The other accomodation looked very good and is located on the beach and seemed in excellent order, probably worth the extra if you can stretch.

The food was superb, the buffet menu changed every night varying from English, Italian, Asian, French, Carribean and BBQ (both recommended). The wine is nothing to write home about but certainly palletable. The Trysting restaurant however is suberb the quality of the service, music and food was excellent. You can book up 3 evenings at a time but eat there any amount of time. There is also a wine list from $10 upwards there.

There are 3 bars, the poolside, main bar and Piano bar all provide a large range of top shelf label drinks.

There are many activities a day from Diving, Cricket, Volleyball to ring tossing. You can either go to the location (stated on a daily notice board) at the time or the staff sometimes walk around and ask if you want to join in you are very much left alone however.

The beach is excellent and there is a bouyed area for residents, the beach is public but extremly quiet, apart from Sunday where there must be as many as 20 people walk past! We were approched twice in 2 weeks to buy something (shells and palm weaves) and the vendors were very polite.

Ignore comments about the airport they are prop planes (5 - 10 a day) and mostly in the morning and late afternoon for the commuters, 20 secs and they are gone, also interesting to look at.

There is a shop in the resort and sells most things needed (medicines, camera film, clothes, shoes and food).

There were a number of weddings (2-3 a day)which seemed to go well and speaking to the married couples they said they were more than happy with the occasion.

We had no Carribean experience and wasn't let down, the Rendezvous exceeded our expectations and would certainly return if given the chance.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2005

We vacationed at the Rendezvous for one week in March and it wasn't nearly enough time. My husband and I both agree it was the best vacation so far. Because there are no TV's I think you socialize more. We met some great people (hi to Vince & Pam and Rich and Maryann). The staff could not have been more accommodating. We spent all our days on the beach and didn't really get involved with the daytime activity but sure had a great time at the evening events. The talent was amazing! We also had great meals with wonderful service (thanks to Candace) and great marguerita's thanks to (Hamilton). The red flags on the beach are unbelievable. It's really true you stick your flag in the sand and very quickly someone is taking your drink order. This is only our second time going to an all inclusive but I can't imagine there are any that are better than this one. It will be hard to beat! We had an oceanfront room that was very roomy and clean. Believe me you don't spend much time in the room so although it was nice waking up to the ocean, I'm sure the garden rooms are fine. The locals on the beach were all very pleasant and never a problem. The next time we will fly into the Castries Airport and try to get a non stop flight because it was a long trip to and from New York.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank MMaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2005

My new husband and I have just returned from two wonderful weeks at the Rendezvous Resort, and having found this site very useful in getting information myself I thought I would post my opinion of this resort as well.

We arrived after a 1¼ hour drive up in an air-conditioned minibus from the main airport, which was a lot better than I was expecting after reading reviews on here! Our driver was very considerate and also pointed out lots of things along the way, so it was almost like a mini tour. When we rolled up to the Rendezvous, we were met with a cold rum punch and face towels to cool us off and then taken up to our room by Gaston, who was to become quite a pal of ours. He gave us some info on the way up to the room and by the time we got there, our suitcases were already waiting outside the door!

We were in a Luxury Oceanfront Room, which was lovely, quite spacious, with a massive bed and beautiful bathroom with a glassblock wall that allowed natural light in without anyone being able to see us on the loo or in the shower! Our bed had been decorated with flowers spelling out Congratulations, and there was a tropical flower display, fruit plate, bottle of rum and bottle of champagne with 2 glasses waiting for us. We unpacked our suitcases and cracked open the champers whilst sitting on our balcony, which overlooked the beach and the beachside wedding arch.

The food at Rendezvous is divine and I came home a full ¾ of a stone heavier than when I left! Good job I only had to fit into my wedding dress before we came here! Every night of the week is a different theme in the buffet restaurant, ranging from Sunday night carvery to Caribbean night, Italian to Far Eastern. Thursday nights are beach barbecue night, with food cooked on the beach and if you’re lucky you can get a table actually on the sand. That night there is a limbo and fire eating show, and guest limbo competition – we actually were crowned King and Queen of Limbo in our second week, winning Rendezvous t-shirts! Breakfast is a good cereal and fruit buffet, with about a dozen different types of bread, then you can order cooked items from the kitchen, like poached eggs, full English, freshly cooked waffles and pancakes (yummy!), and they have a special each day, which we often tried. Lunch was a range of hot dishes, freshly cooked paninis, salads and so on. The desserts are to die for, and are probably to blame for my extra holiday pounds!

The Trysting Place restaurant is wonderful. You can literally eat in there as often as you like, you just have to book in 2 nights before and you can book up to 3 nights at a time. The menu changes every 3 days, and the food is top notch. In the two weeks we were there, there were 4 different menus, each as delicious as the last. Quite frankly the buffet food was good enough to eat every night of your stay, but it was nice to go in the Trysting to be waited on, and to sit in an air-conditioned restaurant. The service in both restaurants was excellent, special hellos to Patrick the Trying wine waiter and Lloyd in the main restaurant, who always had a smile and a joke to share with us.

The staff is without exception outstanding. A lot of the main staff knew us by name within a few days, and they are so friendly and enthusiastic about their jobs. The entertainment staff I don’t think even really viewed what they did as work, apart from the fact they were around before we got up until well into the evening. There were always beach games to participate in to win t-shirts and bottles of rum, but there was no pressure to take part if you didn’t want to.

There is so much to do at this resort, and the beauty is it’s all included. We did the Discover Scuba morning, which was brilliant, and the teachers are very professional, but make it easy to learn and fun. We got to do a 27 foot dive in the sea, seeing lots of colourful fish and coral, and even a turtle. We also had a go at water skiing, tubing and took out a pedalo. There were lessons for all water sports in the morning and afternoon, so even beginners could enjoy everything. All the equipment was in an excellent condition, with safety being the top priority.

Also included are cycle tours into the town, so you can explore a little, but know that you’re safe, as you’re with some of the resort staff. There are also archery lessons, tennis courts and aerobics for a bit of variety from the water sports and lounging on the beach!

The place itself is stunning. The beach is gorgeous, lovely soft golden sand, and the gardens are beautiful. There are giant hammocks big enough for two dotted around the gardens that we spent many a happy hour lying in reading our books. On the beach there are plenty of loungers for everyone, and a red flag is issued each morning for you to summon a barman to take your drinks order from your lounger! This was lovely, but most people thought it was too lazy to do this and would go to the bar anyway!

The drinks were great…all premium brands (and some local ones if you wanted to try them) and too many lovely cocktails to try! If the cocktail you fancied wasn’t on the list, you just had to tell the bar staff what you wanted and they’d put it together for you. The strawberry daiquiris were so yummy! As for a giant cocktail for two and they’ll make whatever you like and put it in a big glass for the two of you to share. You can also have wine and sparkling wine, and we occasionally would take a glass of bubbly up to our room to have on our balcony before getting ready for dinner.

The evening entertainment was good and varied – bands playing many nights of the week for you to have a boogie to, a steel band on Beach BBQ night, staff shows (hilarious), and even a casino night on Sundays, which was really good fun. The Piano Bar literally stays open until the last couple leaves – there was a hardcore Irish couple there whilst we were staying and they regularly were up in there drinking till 6am! The pianist is quite a character and will play requests or whatever from 10pm till 2am, but just don’t ask him to sing! Even I have a better voice than him, and that’s saying something!

Wednesday nights are Managers Cocktails Party, which gives you a chance to mix with staff and guests and drink champagne by the pool and have a few canapés. Just watch out for Yarmi, as she’ll beat you to the chicken!

On our last day, as we travelled with Virgin they checked us in for our flight at the resort and then took our suitcases off to the airport, so we could relax for the last few hours at the resort and turn up just before our flight was due to board. We were given access to a courtesy room to shower and change at the resort, which was one of the Garden View rooms. I think had I been in one of these I would have been a bit disappointed, as they were pretty small, with tiny bathrooms, but they were adequate. The Veranda Suites and Seaside Lanais looked really nice though, and our room was excellent. There are only 100 rooms in total, so a maximum of 200 guests, so although the resort was apparently full when we were there, we could always find a quiet spot to be by ourselves.

Regarding the location of the resort, yes it is by the small airport, but please please please don’t let this put you off. There are a fair few planes going over, but the largest is a 25 seater, and the aircraft noise is gone within 5 seconds, literally. They were also pretty cool to watch going over, and there would be hours at a time when there would be none at all. What previous reviewers have said about there being a cemetery right next door is true, but the tombs and graves are all brilliant white, and being such beach lovers, the St Lucians should be able to have their final resting place by the sea! I wanted to have a little wander round, but never got the chance as had so much else to do!

The beach is public, as are all the beaches in St Lucia, but we never felt threatened by the locals – they were just having a good time, playing football or swimming in the sea. And they were only really there on Sundays, the rest of the time it was ours. Also there are security guards along the stretch of beach the resort borders, 24 hours a day, so you know that there won’t be any trouble.

We did a few excursions whilst we were there, including the Land and Sea tour of the island’s main attractions, which included a snorkelling stop off on the boat journey back. Also we went horse riding, and there was just myself, my husband and the leader with the three horses on a deserted beach. We even got to swim in the sea with one of the horses, and my husband, who’s never ridden before in his life, had a canter on the beach, with his reins being held by the instructor.

The St Lucians are the friendliest people, and the staff at the Rendezvous make what is a lovely resort outstanding. Hello to Gaston, Yarmi, Nimah, Lloyd, Patrick, Javan, Anna, Giselle, our maid Theresa who always had a smile, and the inimitable Deano, who you’ll often see mentioned on here. The guests were all really lovely as well, mostly us Brits, but a few Americans and Canadians, of all ages. We, at 24 and 25, were amongst the youngest, but everyone was so friendly, and being couples only, just there to enjoy each others’ company and mix with other couples when they wanted. Hi to Dani and Darren, Andy and Sally, Ken and Tina, Adam and Kris, Matt and Caroline, and many more besides!

Some people we met out there got married whilst they were there, and all the ceremonies looked lovely, and a real effort was made, decorating the arches with fresh flowers, steel bands playing, and so on. It seemed that everyone was made to feel really special on their big day and we only heard good things from those that had chosen to get married at the Rendezvous.

We had an amazing time at the Rendezvous, and wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again if we return to St Lucia. We finished it off with a helicopter ride back to the airport, and were very sad to leave. If you’re considering a couples holiday in St Lucia, go to the Rendezvous and you’ll never regret it.

Natalie and Adam Phillips

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank NatWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Littlehampton, England
117
Reviewed April 10, 2005

We stayed in the Rendevous Hotel for 2 weeks to celebrate our honeymoon. Our honeymoon was changed from the Maldives to St Lucia at short notice, as our hotel and the Island which we were originally staying in were badly damaged by the Tsunami. We had not really considered St Lucia when booking our honeymoon, and had not even looked at the Hotel in the brochure. What a mistake this was ! We could not have asked for more.

When we arrived we were greeted by cold towels, and a rum punch and taken to our rooms, given some helpful information and advice by a staff member, we did not even have to visit reception to 'check in'. We soon were settled in, and it only took a couple of hours to realise that we were in a fantastic resort on a fantastic island.

The staff were consistantly brilliant, Deano, Gaston, Angie, Pauline, Jay....they couldnt have worked harder, and really made the guests feel like part of the fun. You could do as little or as much as you liked, there were various activities, and sports that you could do as often as you liked, and you were never pressured into partaking,

The food was fantastic, there is an A La Carte resturant there- we didnt bother going in 2 weeks !!! The food was so nice in the buffet resturant, there didnt seem any point !

The airport didnt bother us in the slightest, please dont let this put you off ! And the beaches were slightly busier at the weekend, but it REALLY didnt matter at all, it was great just watching the kids play football and have fun.

There is nothing really more to say !! NO complaints at all, it was 100% perfect, we will be going back next year. We made some great friends, and we had a great honeymoon.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2005

Just a very quick review because I only visited the Rendezvous for one day as my best friend was getting married there.

Although it is for couples only they allowed my three kids in for the day after strict instructions not to bother the other guests !!

The whole place is out of this world, the food, the beach, the bar, the drinks, the rooms, the grounds, the staff - you name it !

The only down side is the aircraft noise, don't belive the tour operators when they tell you 'some aircraft noise' it is quite a busy local airport and there are a good few flights a day.

Forget that tho, grab a drink, chill at the bar and watch the sun go down.

It might cost you a bob or two to stay here, but it is worth every penny !

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank The_Travelling_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kim & Andrew Owen, Kitchener, ON. CANADA
117
Reviewed April 5, 2005

Travel Dates: January 29 to February 5, 2005

What makes Rendezvous, St. Lucia standout?

Was it the ambiance of the resort, with its well groomed lawns, outstanding gardens with tropical flowers galore, or was it the buffet meals that had more variety, taste and appeal than any gourmet restaurant I have eaten in, or could it be the absolutely outstanding personality, commitment, devotion and all round gentle nature of each staff member. Well, I guess it was the whole package. My, now husband, and I were married on the beach, under blue skies, on a sunny morning, with birds and the ocean singing and all we had to do was tell Karen, the Wedding Coordinator, what we wanted and with a snap of her fingers, it was done. I can honestly say that my wedding day was perfect, beyond all my expectations, and I cannot say enough for how easily the staff made it all come together.

This resort offers a number of activities that you can choose to take part in, or not if you so desire, but I was very thankful to try a few (archery, beach volleyball, Tai Chi, weights, cardio machines) not only to meet some wonderful vacationers but to really get to know the Activities Staff without whom this resort would not be the same. Dean, Neima, Gaston, Anna, Javon, Pauline & Giselle are an amazing group of individuals whose dedication is obvious in all that they do. I must say extra special kudos to Dean, who in everything he does, gives 115%. He managed to go beyond the call of duty, saving our wedding day by finding a video camera with only a half hours notice (we foolishly left ours on the plane) and then going that step further to actually video the whole event for us. There are not words enough to thank him as the video is amazing and really captures the moment.

I honestly cannot think of any downfalls of the resort to share. Perhaps someone might not like the beaches being public, so Islanders are free to walk by but, we had no problems with anyone. And someone may not like that there is an airport close to the resort but, I could not get enough of the planes zooming by the palm trees and they were out of sight before I could really focus on them.

We truly enjoyed the Manager's cocktail party and the Champagne Toast Evening for all married couple's of that week; it was a very special touch that was greatly appreciated.
Did I mention the food??? Really, it is great. The extra touches of friendliness and excellent service from Patrick, Elizabeth, Angela Harry & Simon really made our dining experiences that much more wonderful. I loved that there was a different theme for every night and the Beach BBQ and Limbo Contest were great highlights.

My husband and I highly recommend a stay here. We loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
864 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 12 in Castries
7,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $463 - $1,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing