We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scared at First, but It Grew on Us”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Scared at First, but It Grew on Us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Rendezvous for our first year wedding
anniversary. I must say that we were terrified on the bus ride from
hell to the resort and were shocked when our resort was immediately
outside the over populated city. The entrance and lobby of the resort didn't put us at ease either. It was plain and old and run down. But things started looking better as we walked through the floral grounds. Our beachfront room was somehow booked so we had to stay in a garden verandha room our first night which was very nice and romantic. We were compensated with free massages. We got our beachfront room the next day and it was disappointing. It seemed old and it was very noisy since it was right next to the kitchen. The music at night was way too loud. We complained several times and finally got moved down where we finally got some sleep on our eighth and nineth nights. The scenery along the shore from the beach was beautiful but we didn't swim in the water because of all the trash and run off that we saw just past the resorts "not-so-private" beach area. Locals constantly passed by, some even hounded us to buy drugs. There was constanly the smell of marijuana and trash burning. There was constantly the sound of dogs barking and sirens blaring. The graveyard and airplanes taking off, however, we thought were both neat. The staff let their friends hang out at the resort and acted as if we were a burden to them. The food was great and the buffet was different every night. The pool was small and dirty. The gazebo above the pool was romantic though. Overall, the place seemed old and dirty. The island itself was very over populated and poor. The water was not that pretty but the Pitons were gorgeous and best seen from a boat in the water. We took a couple of tours -jungle jeep safari, catamaran, volcano. All were very neat. The best part of our trip was the giant sized chess board at the beach, the swings, the city lights at night, the fact that it was couples only, the food theme nights, the al a carte restaurant was very romantic, the hammocks in the garden were peaceful, the cats were adorable, there were no annoying topless sunbathers, our anniversary surprise was special-a fruit basket with a bottle of champagne, and the daily weddings outside our room were sweet but I sure wouldn't get married that way. Compared to other resorts, it was a better value in price, but next time I'd rather save up and spend more for a nicer reort in a better location. We've stayed at many 5-6 star resorts on many islands and spent the same amount of money and seen far more "heavenly" resorts. If you are not used to glitzy, glamorous places then you will love it but if you are, you will be disappointed.

Helpful?
18 Thank Mexican-mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,759
    501
    126
    49
    38
See reviews for
31
2,091
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2005

After the disappointment of having to change our holiday from the Maldives (my favourite place!) after the Tsunami tragedy we were looking for somewhere intimate, quiet, good food and a friendly atmosphere. We picked the Rendevous for exactly those reasons as advertised in the brochure and were certainly not disappointed. We had booked an ocean front room which was right on the beach (good choice!). For nine days we enjoyed the pleasure of excellent weather, excellent food, good service, excellent hospitality and good company from other guests. The hotel only markets to American and English clientelle which is a nice change (particularly when there are plenty of unreserved sunbeds!!). The food reflects the respective nationalities which is also great...When we arrived on the Sunday we ate a good Sunday Roast followed by Apple Pie...lots of choice too!
Our days were filled by relaxing and reading, making use of the free watersports, cycling into Castries or enjoying the games headed up by the fantastic and hardworking entertainments team. The only downside for me was the sea not being calm and crystal clear, there are always waves making a relaxing gentle swim not possible and the sea not clear but hey! you can't have everything. Having no children around was a massive plus!!
The average age of the guests was approxiamately 45 - 65 although being younger myself the mix was quite nice.
Overall an excellent relaxing holiday, would certainly like to return..

Helpful?
21 Thank Bobbymac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2005

The Rendezvous Resort was a wonderful choice for our honeymoon.

Our Verandah Suite room was beautifully decorated, the washroom was nicely updated with a very large marble shower with glass front doors, and the large four poster king size bed was comfortable and inviting for a honeymooning couple.

The food delicious, very well prepared and presented in both the Terrace and Trysting Place restaurants. The drinks were splendid and the wine with dinner was delicious. The grounds were kept very neatly manicured and lush with beautiful flowers everywhere your eye looked. The beach was raked every morning and the pool was always clean.

The Rendezvous staff was quick, polite, always smiling and ready to get you whatever you wanted and needed. We would be thrilled to visit the Rendezvous Resort again. It is a great choice.

Patricia and John Forte

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2005

My husband and I (both early twenties) went to Rendezvous in November 2004 for our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The staff were extremely welcoming when we arrived. We stayed in a verandah suite which was nicely decorated and very romantic with lovely views over the gardens. The gardens are peaceful and it's great just lounging around in one of the hammocks made for two! The activities team always have something for people to do from vollyball to sunset strolls along the beach followed by champagne but to be honest, you can be as active or as lazy as you like! My husband had a go at some of the watersports that were on offer too. The pool is lovely and you can sip coctails by the pool bar or in one of the jacuzzis. We found the food to be great - loads of choice (even for a fussy eater like me!). It was a themed buffet each night ranging from italian, caribbean, romantics night, chinese etc. The buffet restaurant overlooks the beach and it was lovely to listen to the sea whilst relaxing in the evening.The staff are amazing - so friendly and very attentive. We did a few of the tours: Tout Bagey (Catermaran trip, visit to the volcano and into the fainforest and to a banana plantation), Pirate ship sunset cruise and the island helicopter tour. They were all brilliant and a great way to see the highlights of lovely St Lucia. The resort had a very intimate feel - it never felt crowded but people were friendly. Overall, we simply loved it and will definately go back. St Lucia is beautiful, the staff were great, the weather lovely - we had a really fun and relaxing time.

Helpful?
10 Thank Holidayenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2005

we have just returned from the rendezvous. It is an unsophisticated but charming hotel with a mainly British clientele. We were in a basic garden room which was fine but I am sure an upgrade to a veranda or oceanfront room would be worth it. The gardens and staff are lovely as most people have said. We were very surprised at how good the food was. We live in London and are used to good restaurants and we were pleasantly impressed. We preferred the outside restaurant as it is right on the beach.

The most striking thing about rendezvous is that it is extremely well run and it has a great position right on the beach. Sitting at the bar sipping cocktails whilst gazing out to sea is a highlight. Yes it is true that it is close to a runway and a graveyard. You only notice the graveyard if you go for a walk along the beach. As for the planes there are not very many and only a couple of large ones a day. I am a fussy person but had to admit this did not really bother me and I didn't really notice them after the first day. However it is better to be forewarned so I am pleased I read about this on the trip advisor site before we went.

The only real let down was the weather which was mixed. If you can, I think the helicopter trip would be a good idea, at least on the return journey, as you do not want to do that trip twice! The beach party night was the best night at the hotel. We went to Le Sport for the day but honestly thought our hotel had more charm. The bar staff are professional - we had proper cosmopolitans and vodka martinis (we are very fussy about our cocktails and a lot of bars do not get these absolutely right but the rendezvous did). They seemed to have most premium brands and a kind of "champagne" in a proper glass.

Finally, do not go to the rendezvous if you want 5 star deluxe sophistication. It is more of a get away from it all/read your book/charming/relaxing kind of place and I think this is why it appeals to the British guests mainly. If you want sophistication go to another island like Barbados.

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2005

The seclusion of this resort was a wonderful thing. I would honestly rate this hotel as an awesome chance at repeating the first honeymoon. We lost luggage, no fault of the resort.

Rendezvous(July 04) is and experiance I would not want to repeat, but I WANT to go back. If you are looking for a 3-4 star resort, you need to see it. The beach view is unbelievable. I have been to several resorts, and for the money.... this is a good time and good buy

"you only make it what you expect it to be"

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2005

My wife and I went to Rendezvous on August 9 2004 for our honeymoon. We were very disappointed from the moment we pulled up in the taxi. The resort is small and not very inviting when you first arrive. It is not nearly as attractive and inviting as the other resorts we stayed at. The rooms were nice but had no TV, even on our honeymoon on a rainy day its nice to see whats going on back in the states. There were very limited options for food, you had two restaurants and a tiny snack bar that wasnt even open all of the time. We ended up switching mid week to Sandals Halcyon, we tried to switch right away but the hotel forced us to stay 3 nights before cancelling. The two nice things I will say about the hotel is if you pay for the oceanfront suite, which we did it is literally on the beach. The staff was also very friendly but it did not make up for the food and lack of "elegance".
For my wife and I, 28 year olds from the states. Sandals was 10 times better and well worth the extar $1000.

Helpful?
9 Thank Kingken10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing