We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!!!!!”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from the rendezvous yesterday after 7 days and we loved it.
Here are my views;

Food
Food was lovely, I have a serious peanut allergy and one of the chefs would come out in the dinning area everyday and tell me what food contained peanuts.
All staff always had a smile on there face and nothing was too much trouble.
All different food available, hot or cold. My two favourite foods has to be the coconut yogurt at breakfast and the banana crumble!!
We always had a table and there was always room.
Had one meal in the Trysting which was very nice.

Beach
We spent the whole week on the beach, really nice, I think better to swim on the right side of the rocks as its calm and no stones on the floor, but also enjoyed the left side of the rocks as the waves bigger and great fun, a few small stones here on floor just as you go in, but did not cause a problem.
Clean beach towels available everyday by the outdoor chess set.
Sun loungers fine once towel was on it and there are plenty of them, people do put towels on loungers under the umbrellas but the palm trees give lots of shade anyway, so no need to worry.
Cant comment on pool as we loved the beach we did not go to the pool.

Room
We stayed in a verandah suite and this was great, large, comfortable, cleaned everyday and fresh towels daily. I have no complaints whatsoever of our room!

Staff
Wonderful!! They get to know you, are always really kind and friendly.

Other;
I enjoyed the planes overhead, they do not come all the time.
Gardens look lovely.
Went on the rubber rings (tubing) had so much fun, laughed the whole time but do hold on tight!!

As i have said so much, we really had a fab time, met so many lovely people and of all different ages( my husband and I are in our 30s), and if you are going to Rendezvoue soon ,enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jojo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,148 - 2,154 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2009

Only spent two nights here as we requested a change of hotel, went to Amond morgan bay.
Reason for our move was that we felt that the Hotel rating was not actually 4*, it was a huge dissapointment, we felt that part of the hotel would struggle to get 3*,this being both pool area's which were very dated and had really old and dirty sunbeds, and the Bar area, and Buffet Restaurant, couldn't believe there wasn't a matre' de to seat you, and that the guests were encouraged to slice their own bread without firstly washing their hands!
Our room however (Verandah) was beautiful, ad so was the Trysting Restaurant, both were most definatley 4* However the rest of the Hotel is in urgent need of a Refurb!
The beach that the Hotel is positioned on is beautiful, probably one of the best on the Island and the staf are amazing, probably the reason they have so many repeat guests.
After speaking to Yasmin (General Manager) we were informed that the hotel would be Refurbished in the near future, if this were to happen then we may consider giving it another try as the Hotel do have many good posibilities, they just need to spend some money and bring it up to date. I hope they let me know when it's completed!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allen-frm-Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I have just returned from 2 weeks at the rendezvous. On our arrival at St lucia we were greeted with a letter from the Management stating that due to over booking our room would not be ready for 2 days and would we mind going to an alternative site for 2 days when at such time we would be allowed to go to the Hotel. After a number of words with the Management Team we were allowed to go to the Rendevous, we later found out that this had also happened to a number of other guests, not a great start. When we did arrive we were met by the Management Team with cold drinks which was a nice touch after a very ardious drive from the airport to the hotel in a tropical downpour, the driver did as much as he could by avoiding all of the holes in the road, we spent a lot of time swearving all over the road. The hotel itself is very worn, it is in much need of a face lift, when it rains which was a lot the rain came through the roof flooding the dining area along with the bar area. We did experiance a number of downfalls which resulted in most of the area around the hotel being flooded, this resulted in the sewers becoming overwhelmed resulting in a very bad smell around the reception area. At one point during the day we lost water throughout the hotel (6 hours) because a water pipe had been damaged, the Hotel Management gave us 2 bottles of water to help, plus they got water delivered which took its time, this all resulted in all the toilets being left in a dreadful state because they could not be flushed. On the goodside the staff were brilliant, they always tried hard to make the best of things, if it was not for the staff and all of their hard work I would have tried to move to another venue. In the evenings they put on shows which were of a good standard, the hi-light was Saturday night which was great fun, they band were fantastic. I found the food to be of a very high standard, there is a massive choice at every meal time. Overall I enjoyed the holiday because of the staff and the people we met on holiday, I would hope that the venue is spruced up, the gardens are a sight to see if you are into that sort of thing. The beach is clean and well looked after, the watersports are well run and good fun. A special mention should go out to Pauline the activities lady who always had a smile on her face and was always there for a chat. Overall I was disappointed by the venue but that was made up by the staff who really do work hard to make the holiday as pleasurable as they could

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisHDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

On arrival at the airport we were met by a manager who told us our room was overbooked and we would have to spend the first three days and nights at another hotel, the Almond Morgan Bay - a resort we had specifically decided not to go to. As a consequence we were deprived of the Rendezvous' all-inclusive facilities for three days. And when we got there we found several couples in the same situation, and others who had been moved around within the hotel. Since we booked our room in mid-2008 we regard this as shambolic.

The resort itself has very attractive gardens which are scrupulously maintained and a variety of well-presented rooms with CD players, so it's worth bringing your favourites. The Trysting Place restaurant (food, service, atmosphere and unobtrusive live music) is excellent, and the Terrace self-service buffet has as wide a range for breakfast, lunch and dinner as anyone could want.

There is no outdoor sitting area, which is a significant drawback, and the two pool areas are rather cramped and in one case dominated by a toilet block. The gym was out of action while we were there. And the resort doesn't make the best of the beachfront either: insufficient sunbeds, with those sheltered by small pagodas bagged by 7 am by the early-morning brigade who then didn't appear until late morning, and a curious structure of black concrete blocks in the middle to trap litter and worse.

The watersports were outstanding: windsurfing, tubing, snorkelling and lots more. And the top feature was the all-inclusive scuba diving: every day except Sunday, led by Paul and Luis G who were excellent divemasters for novices and experts alike. The diving facility was worth a star on its own.

Which brings me to the all-action staff, whose energy and commitment were outstanding with activities round the clock from 7 am to midnight, often with the same people leading different activities and then appearing in a very polished staff show in the evening. They deserve the highest praise and are the resort's no. 1 asset. It's a pity the overbooking, unavailable gym, and poor site layout are likely to stay in our minds longer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnBEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

double booked our room had to stay at Almond Morgan for 2 nights, not bad, no gym open 11 sunbeds for 100 rooms, no way, cemetery 100yds down beach, very quiet,
crammed terrace restaurant, insufficient seating in Terrace bar.
i couldn't hand on heart say that I could come back even for free, it certainly needs its star rating scrutinising again.
Staff worked hard, Trysting restaurant really good, like a different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Returned a week ago from the rendezvous and have had time to get back into working again and give our view of two weeks at the rendezvous from start to finish.
We made sure that we packed our "chill" and wanted to relax and not get annoyed about things we couldn't control.

We arrived at the airport and had about a one hour wait to get through passport control and customs. Not a problem but be prepared if you are almost last of the plane as we were. We had booked the helicopter transfer and were told that we had to wait an hour because only one helicopter was running that day. Used our "chill" straight away and had a cold beer at the airport. Helicopter transfer was great and we really enjoyed. Would of course been nicer without the wait. (did in a way take the point out of doing it when we had to wait though, so do take that into consideration before booking).

Upon arrival at the rendezvous greeted with rum punch and forms, took about 5 minutes. Unfortunately we changed rooms 3 times during the first 4 days, firstly due to our room not be available and then due to the hotel being informed that we had booked a luxurious room and not the verandah suite that we had booked with Hayes and Jarvis. This became a bit of a soup but the hotel was very good in sorting the problem out. First the room was not available so we stayed in a garden room for one night receiving compensation in dollars and spa treatment. Then we had a oceanfront room for two nights until being moved to the verandah suite for the rest of the holiday which we had booked. Thankyou to Michael in reception for his approach towards us with this room problem, as they solved it very quickly and moved us to the verandah suite. Minus to Hayes and Jarvis and their rep who didn't do much apart from trying to sell us tours.

Garden room - Top floor with view over gardens, fitness pool and a bit of sea and sunset. Balcony was normal size with wooden chairs and table. A/C in the room was quiet and effective. No mosquitoes or bugs. The bathroom was ok with a shower head above the bath. Good storage for clothes/cases.

Oceanfront room - Second Floor with view over beach, about 20m from the sea. Balcony was a small wooden walway about 3m long to a round balcony with enough room for the 2 plastic chairs. Also there was a hammock that you could put up across the walkway. Room was bigger than the garden room with a 2 seater sofa. The bathroom was larger and felt more luxurious with a shower again in a bath tub. Felt like less storage place though for cases and clothes, but a much more open/larger feeling to the room. More mosquitoes as my wife got quite bitten during the two nights we had in this room. We didn't like that the balconies to the rooms were very close together (max 3m between) given no privacy. Noisy A/C which I found hard to sleep with.

Verandah Suite - Top floor with a view over gardens and fitness pool, no sea or sunset though. Huge balcony/verandah with wooden furniture. (2 sunbeds, 2 chairs and table) Dividing walls between balconies. Similar size room to Oceanfront room although felt slightly larger and more spacious. Plenty of storage for clothes/cases. Bathroom had no bath tub but huge shower with one main head and then two smaller heads lower down for the body. No mosquito bites for either of us. Normal sounds for an A/C.

The verandah suite really suited us and we did not like the cramped feel of the oceanfront room.

The staff at the hotel were very good. Everybody was helpful and friendly from the gardeners to the managers. The bar staff were always friendly and all the activity staff were loads of fun. A special mention to Gaston, Deano and Pauline who never seemed to stop.

The food at the hotel was very good considering it was an AI buffet. And the Trysting Place was even better.(loved the lamb) Service by the staff was also good and for us was only slow on one occasion.

The wine was not fire lighter fluid, but not fantastic either. (But after two glasses we didn't notice anyway). There were good spirits if you asked for them. Including Macallan, much to my liking. Although do ask for less ice, otherwise you get a glass full. The cocktail glasses were plain, and it would have been nicer if they were bigger or different. Beer was Heineken or Piton, always cold. I preferred the Piton as I was on holiday.

Evening entertainment was good some nights, and alright some nights. The staff shows were really good considering how many other things the activity staff do. Had a really good night learning to Cha cha cha :). Were dissapointed with the 2 bands the hotel hired. One of the guys sounded like an Asian karaoke singer. Enjoyed listening to the steel drum bands.

Both swimming pools were in good condition. They were cleaned of leaves every day and scrubbed most days. Pool bar kept us refreshed, although the flag service takes time as loads of orders are taken, made and then served. If you can wait put the flag in the sand otherwise walk the 20m to the bar. Easy really.

There are planes flyin over the resort during the day, around 10 - 15 every day. It didn't disturb us at all. If it will disturb you then don't go. There is also between the runway and beach ( south end of beach) a cemetery if this scares you. This was even less disturbance than the planes,even quieter ;).

Beach was always clean while we were then and it was raked every morning. Special area for swimming seperated from watersports. Sunloungers on the beach felt a bit dated as were those by the pool. And the sunbeds on the beach under shade were reserved by 6 o'clock in the morning (some early risers)

We took a taxi to Rodney Bay and walked aroung. We felt it was very touristy nad not as nice as the rendezvous area/beach.
Bike ride with hotel to Castries market. Bit hairy cycling in the traffic but no problems. Enjoyed the market but not having to haggle to get a good price. We were spoken to by lots of people selling trips, cigars, souveniers and taxi services. We were polite but said no thankyou and had no problems. Some couples we spoke to though felt they were hassled and some sellers were rude to them.
Conveniently late tour was not that impressive. Rushed to different places and not what we considered much to see. Although loved the Pitons and Marigot Bay plus some fantastic sunset pictures.
We went bottom fishing with the hotel. Gaston took us for the afternoon out on the boat. We caught two red snapper and a squirrel fish. Gastin caught and let go a turtle (wow). The chef cooked our fish on the barbecue for dinner which was a nice touch and tasted really good.

We did try the honeymoon massage and thought it was just O.k. They were quite heavy handed and we didn't find it very relaxing.

We took a taxi back to the airport which cost 70 US dollars for both of us. Nice drive but preffered the helicopter. Took about 90 minutes.

Met a lovely couple from Canada, a fantastic group from Ireland, Harrisson Ford lookalike and the limbo king from Scotland.

We probably wouldn't go back as we like to try different things but are really pleased we went Rendezvous and will remember it as a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pellpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

This is a fantastic resort that all 8 of us enjoyed immensely and between us we've travelled extensively so we can be quite objective. We were there for our daughters wedding and i can think of few places more perfect for a fairytale wedding. There are loads of activities so you never need get bored; if you prefer you can laze by the pool or on the beach all day. Talking of the pool, the swim up pool bar saw some action!

Regarding the food, loads of choice, good quality and little repetition, we had two meals in the Trysting place both of which were a very good standard. If you fancy something a bit more formal this is the place for you. Finally forget the comments about the graveyard & the airport, they really aren't a problem unless you want them to be.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Queenie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
864 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 12 in Castries
7,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $463 - $1,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing