We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the pool bar!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved the pool bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

Hi all
We stayed here for 11 nights from the 3rd October. (Well we had to stay in Martinique the first night but never mind).

When we got to the Rendezvous we were greeted by a guest who said what a wonderful place it was (the guest wasn't even being paid for this) and this is what we found throughout the whole stay. The staff and other guests were all really nice and friendly. We met people who were returning to the Rendezvous they loved it so much.

The rum punch to begin with was nice and strong and I took it to my room to sip whilst we settled in. If you're celebrating anything they'll also have champagne waiting for you though it is included at the bar whenever you want it.

There was plenty to do. We arrived just as mixology had finished and got straight in the pool and met some tipsy guests who were having a great time. This was a great ice breaker and really gave us a good impression that people were having fun at this hotel and from the time we got there we were too!

I had a diving lesson, a water skiing lesson (which my boyf filmed...oh dear!) and a hobie cat lesson. We took a kayak and hobie cat out most days which as we aren't the sunbathing types was great to have something inclusive to do. We went on the inclusive cycle ride to Castries to get some souvenirs (apparently the prices go up if there's a cruise ship in but there wasn't when we were there). We went bottom sea fishing with Gaston and had an archery lesson and tournament too. When it rained Markel set up a ring tossing competition a few times and asked for all the 'tossers' to line up which was hilarious. The staff come across very innocent at times! My boyf Matt joined in the volleyball game three times while we were there, getting bruised but that's men for you!

We went to the Trysting four times which was worth dressing up for but we really really liked the buffet anyway. The service was still a really high standard even though it was a buffet and the food was amazing. Matt really enjoyed the Caribbean night (with jerk chicken and suckling pig). Every breakfast you can order the special or whatever you want and get continental breakfast and fruit from the buffet. The local cat had kittens while we were there which was fantastic. We just hope they are ok.

There were two or three stray dogs around who were friendly but would leave you alone if you didn't stroke them. The two cats lounged around sometimes going for the odd pidgeon so they were good to deter the birds plus we love cats anyway. We did see a horse with a limp on the beach and it did go in the sea but I again thought that was really nice to see. It was hot there and the poor horse was probably sweltering too. We went in the sea everyday and the pool most days. The sea was really warm. It was murky and we couldn't snorkel right outside the front but there was plenty more to do. In the rainy season debris does wash into the sea. We went and looked and the debris was mostly coconuts and wood and the odd crisp packet and archery arrow! We got on a kayak and would go and have a look at the debris.

The planes overhead never bothered us. Some were really small planes and were gone in a few seconds.

The staff were the best, trying to learn your name and serve drinks quickly. The beach flag system does work.

We went on the Brig Unicorn sunset cruise which was really good with a steel band playing. We would recommend this.

We loved it so much we've started a facebook group called R*A*S*T*A - there's more pictures on there.

It's not a four or five star sofitel or hilton like you get in England, Maybe if you want that I've heard Le Sport or Sandals are more aesthetically pleasing/ikea/habitat style. The rooms, gardens, pool, staff, activities, trips, food, views etc etc were all fantastic and we will definitely go back in 1 - 2 years we hope!!!

  • Liked — Friendliness and helpfulness of staff and other guests, all inclusive activities and premium drinks fantastic food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarah_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    495
    126
    49
    38
See reviews for
31
2,071
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

The grounds are quite nice.

The staff was great.

Rooms are on the small side. The facility could use some TLC.

That beach shown in most pictures is less than clean. After every rain, and there was a lot of rain, debris washes into the little "bay" from Castries and onto the shore making a big mess. We, four of us, never went into the ocean water the entire two weeks. There even were locals washing horses in the surf adjacent to the dining area, the Terrace, not a real enjoyable picture.

I haven't read all 300 plus reviews but in the reviews I have read no one has mentioned that the Rendezvous sits almost directly at the end of the runway for George Charles Airport. Flights begin about 6:55 am and end at roughly dusk and fly directly overhead. The aircraft are of the turboprop variety so the noise is minimal compared to jet aircraft but still quite annoying at times. For our friends it seemed almost like home since they live close to the airport in Burbank, CA. So why leave home? At certain times depending on wind conditions, jet fuel exhaust flows over the resort.

The food was very plentiful and interesting but not great, of course it is difficult when everything is buffet style. All-in-all cleanliness was good.

We greatly appreciated the fact that it is an adult only facility. There were several weddings during our stay that brought smiles to most everyone.

All of that having been said we might even return someday.

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerstwo_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

My husband and I returned from our honeymoon at Rendezvous on Sept. 29. Since getting back, we have commented many times (and to many people) that a honeymoon at Rendezvous was a perfect choice for us.

Being that we only get one honeymoon, we splurged on the oceanfront suite. We were on the third floor and therefore enjoyed elegant vaulted ceilings that were a nice touch to an already lovely room. We adored the room, but I will agree with other reviewers who stated the rooms and resort could use some updates. If you are expecting urban, Western, ultra-contemporary accommodations, Rendezvous isn't for you. This is a Caribbean resort after all, not the Waldorf Astoria. It is also located in a tropical climate (i.e. humid), so don't be surprised if your air conditioner doesn't keep things quite as frigid as you're used to. Open your balcony door and enjoy the breeze. We were never uncomfortable with the temperature in our room.

We have no complaints about the food and always found plenty. If you can imagine a cruise ship on land, you'll get an idea of how frequently they feed you at Rendezvous. From 7:30 a.m. until 11:30 p.m., there is food available. Even the most finicky eaters (I don't eat red meat, pork or any undistinguishable meat), should be satisfied. We enjoyed the buffets at the Terrace Restaurant, but I do recommend trying the Trysting Place at least once during your stay. Fabulous fare.

Also, definitely consider taking advantage of the water sports and outings offered. The staff were eager to teach us anything we wanted to learn. Our list of first time experiences and lessons includes: Windsurfing, scuba diving, snorkeling, calypso dancing, ocean tubing, paddle boating, etc. You can be as adventurous as you like.

For us (two American 20-somethings) this was a cherished honeymoon experience. Again I'll agree with other reviewers and say that if bar-hopping nightlife is a must, find another resort. Also, it's true that most of the crowd is middle-aged British couples, but we had a wonderful time getting to know people with different backgrounds than us and, frankly, we enjoyed not being at a resort that catered only to the "young and physically perfect." MTV Spring Break, this was not.

Intimate, relaxing, memorable honeymoon for laid-back newlyweds ... absolutely.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noelbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

We have just returned from a 10-night holiday at the Rendezvous which we first visited three years ago. We once again went with our daughter and son-in-law. I had read some of the recent reviews and was slightly concerned that we would not enjoy our second say as much as the first. What do these people want from their holidays? The holiday was wonderful, the staff were brilliant and some remembered us by name from our first visit. The food both in the buffet and Trysting room was excellent. Our room in the Verandah suites was as clean and kept tidy with plenty of changes of towels and sheets. I even mailed before our visit saying that we were looking forward to visiting again and mentioned the rooms that we stayed in previously and they gave us the same rooms, it felt like coming home.
One of the reasons we decided to go back to the Rendezvous was to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary by renewing our vows. This was all arranged free by Sandra and Karen. The whole experience was wonderful. The bedroom and bed was decorated while we were out, with flowers and more champagne. All the staff could not do enough for us that day and everything was arranged with no worries for us. We had a special dinner on the beach the evening before, dinner in the Trysting room on the actual day, breakfast in our room the next day, the celebrations seemed to last forever.
One previous reviewer said that the Rendezvous was boring and full of old people. Well I was 60 this year, my wife is not yet 60 obviously my daughter and son-in-law are younger, but the number of young couples there either on honeymoon, getting married or just on vacation, etc. no way is this an `old` hotel. There are plenty of activities if you want to get involved, tennis, archery, water sports, mainly free, etc. etc. I won many tee shirts and bottles of rum during my stay.
To summarize, a wonderful holiday again, would have no hesitation in going back which we hope to do shortly. Anyone who complains about this hotel must be very hard to please.

  • Liked — Large, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

First, let me say that I have moved over 20 times and traveled extensively - staying in every kind of accommodation known to man, including caves, private homes with locals, condos, youth hostels, 5-star resorts and everything in between.

I found out about Luxurylink.com on my honeymoon one year ago. We stayed at the Blue Palace, Santorini, Grece for what turned out to be twice what another couple paid, who told us about Luxurylink. The accommodations at the Blue Palace were nothing short of spectacular.

Listed as a 4-star, I assumed, even after reading some reviews, that Blue Palace and the 4-star listed Rendezvous in St. Lucia would at least compare...... not at all! Now, it was a nice place - all-inclusive with gorgeous beach and plenty of food. However, the age of the place was evident. The lack of "extras" and details that make a 4-star experience was disappointing, from a "luxury experience" perspective. Although everyone there seemed to just love it.

After meeting quite a few other visitors and having spoken to locals, it was made evident that (as three separate people told me) "The Americans go to Sandals." Ahhhh - then I understood. It is true that the American expectation is different - no better, no worse, just different from, say, European expectations. One example is the lack of A/C - or even adequate ventilation in the dining area. (I suppose it truly was hotter than usual there.)

All in all, I'm glad we went... it was smaller and more intimate than any Sandals could have been. And even with 3 weddings while we were there, it wasn't the "wedding/honeymoon hub" that Sandals apparently is. The location was good - with the exception of the planes flying low overhead. the fine dining room was great food - the buffet was OK. And, with the exception of a very rude waitress once for breakfast and once for dinner, the people were friendly - particularly the activity staff.

So..... in the future, I'll keep in mind that one person's "4-star" is another person's "3." -- Cheers.

  • Liked — The beach - the bay
  • Disliked — No adequate A/C to give relief from the constant heat
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippinnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

My wife and I have just returned to England after a 10 day stay at the magnificent Rendezvous Resort.....I cannot believe some of the negative reviews that have been written, most of them seem to have been written by snobs who a) didn't want to mix with locals or guests with tattoos, b) expected 5 star treatment from a 4 star resort and c) blamed the hotel for the weather/acts of god!!
On arrival to the resort we were shown to our Oceanfront Suite, which was amazing, very spacious and well maintained. The resort had upgraded us as we were on our honeymoon and they even gave us free champagne with a personal note attached, congratulating us which was a lovely touch.
The staff in 99% of cases couldn't do enough for us, the bar staff (Ashley), reception staff and activities staff (Markel) were really friendly people and guaranteed to put a smile on your face..On the odd occasion the restaurant staff could be a bit abrupt with you, but they were fine with you the next time they saw you.
The facilities were great, plenty of watersports if that takes your fancy, drinks served to you whilst you sunbathed on the beach and the spa which my wife really enjoyed on our rainy day. The main buffet-style restaurant served a good, wide range of food, which we preferred to the Trysting Place. The food in the Trysting Place was amazing, but the atmosphere was a bit too formal for our liking. The drinks served included proper brand names which was a bonus, but i preferred Piton to Heineken anyway!!
We enjoyed walking to both ends of the beach, and the locals we met were very friendly (esp. Jimmy the Rasta!) and we did not feel worried about our safety at all.
Marcelle sells his hand made wooden sculptures at the Terrace Bar and is very inobtrusive. He is one of the friendliest persons we met during our stay and a very talented person.
We also got the day passes for Le Sport, which was worth the visit as the snorkelling is amazing. Just a shame that the atmosphere did not match up to the Rendezvous. (It seemed like that there was a large contingent of snobby guests)
We would also definitely recommend the Conveniently Late Tour, the Castries Market Karaoke Bar and the Gros Islet Jump Up!!

Thanks to all at the Rendezvous for helping to make our honeymoon an amazing one.
Paul & Vicky

  • Liked — Staff, Piton, everything really...
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

Let me keep this brief and on point. The people are very nice and there's nothing wrong you can say about them. However, that's all the nice there is. This is not a place with any ambience and after settling in it looked like everyone was either retired or wishing, like we did, that they were somewhere else; it was geritol-ville. You need to look carefully at the pictures they show on their website and note that everything they show you looks a lot larger than it really is. Everything is in need of a serious upgrade and we understand that it's simply that the owner doesn't want to put any money into the place; that's obvious. If you're looking for atmosphere go somewhere else. The food was not fabulous as other reviews note and they even ran out of food some times, and there weren't even many visitors during our stay. We were on our honeymoon and will have to take another as it was non-refundable; we were stuck and it sucked. If you're in your senior years and looking for quiet, stay here, if you're under 60 and want anything more than old and dull, look somewhere else for the money, it's just not worth what this cost.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exilim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
BodyHoliday Saint Lucia
BodyHoliday Saint Lucia
#1 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing