We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We returned to Rendezvous after 7 years hoping it would be as good as the first time. It was actually better as the changes they had made on an already wonderful hotel were lovely.

We had an upper floor verandah suite which was really large and had a fantastic shower in the marble bathroom and a wonderful large balcony with steamers table and chairs.

The food was fantastic with a huge variety. There was the buffet most nights and on Tuesday and Friday they had fine dining evenings where you were waited on and chose from a menu. There is a beach BBQ once a week and as a final option there is the a la carte restaurant.

The bars are stocked with great wines and spirits and the cocktails are great. We loved the Champagne bar and 7-8 was the managers special champagne, it was great to go to before your evening meal. Also if you want to stay up late they stay open until the last person leaves.

The holiday can be as active or as relaxing as you want. The entertainment staff are so energetic but not pushy. After 7 years Deano is still so energetic and they are all great fun. The guys at the dive centre are excellent too.

There is a mixture of age groups from young couples to the more mature and there is enough for everyone to do. There is never a need to reserve sun loungers as there are more than enough. The spa treatments are very good and well worth a visit.

The staff are such good fun and very friendly. Thanks to Francis for looking after us so nicely in the restaurant. Our great barmen Ash and Eric, you guys made us laugh everyday. Also thanks to Trevor for looking after us with drinks at the pool. Lastly thanks to the management for our returning guests dinner and thank you for keeping Rendezvous such a wonderful place to come for a holiday and please don't give in to TV,s in the room, it is so nice to be cut off for a short time.

We will return again soon.

Room Tip: We loved the verandah suite but all the rooms are nice so depends on how much you want to spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frosty32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

952 - 958 of 2,590 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is our third visit to Rendezvous and once again we were not disappointed with our choice. We suppose it is a bit like your favourite arm chair, warm, welcoming, and you know you want to spend time there.
Rendezvous does most things well or perhaps to be fair very well. On our two return visits two years apart it was good to see they had not rested on their laurels but had tweaked and refined certain areas. Our garden room had been substantially upgraded and improved and whilst not the most expensive room in the resort was thoroughly acceptable.
On previous occasions we had not really made use of the champagne bar. On this holiday we used it pre-dinner on most nights. The company, ambience and pianist made this most enjoyable. Just to dispel a myth, you will not be provided with the finest champagnes all night long as clearly the occasional guest had expected but neither do we remember being served Beluga Caviar either, doh!
The Trysting maintained its high standards with a slightly more personal and refined touch. It may not be to eveyone's taste but those who do decide to dine there invariably gave it a resounding thumbs up. The service, host and classical guitarists were charming. We did also thoroughly enjoyed our meals on the Terrace and in particular their a la carte evenings; something new from our previous visits. The terrace restaurant is open air, the clue is in the name. Surely this is one of the attractions of being in the Carribean, the ability to dine outside and not in a protective bubble which could be anywhere in the world.
The terrace bar as on previous visits provide a lively, fun and vibrant atmosphere to socialize, meet fellow guests, enjoy the entertainment etc. It never became rowdy or suffer from boorish behaviour as can be the blight of many an all inclusive resort.
We cannot help but reflect that the rendezvous continue to offer reasonable value for money. It is not the cheapest but on each occasion we have never left the resort feeling short changed. Perhaps this is one of the reasons why many guests return again and again.
Last and by no means least and perhaps the cornerstone to the Rendezvous's continued success are the staff. They never ceased to impress with their warmth, sense of fun and overall good service. In our travels we have seen high levels of service before but on too many occasions it had been robotic and devoid of any personal warmth. This is where we believe the Rendezvous steals a lead. You are made to feel special and the interaction between guests and staff give the holiday real character.
Our sincerest thanks to all concerned for another very enjoyable stress free holiday to remember. Familiarity to this 'favourite arm chair' remains has not diminished the appeal. It has only been enhanced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HighlanderInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Words can never do justice to this wonderful resort., Not for those who want wall to wall marble, gold plated taps and 24hour a day American style feeding stations but for a real Caribbean holiday this is the place to go. Old fashioned service, delightful and attentive staff and a wonderful laid back approach. The hotel is small enough to care about personal requirements and in our experience nothing is too much trouble. Yes there is a small runway at one end of the property for small inter island planes that fly some 10 times during the day only and there is an old graveyard but why should that bother anyone? There are birds in the tropical gardens and one has to make sure you don't leave food out as birds will be tempted and yes you get some mosquitos but the property is fogged every week and they have ample supplies of BOF for spraying in the rooms at night. Hey this is the tropics and after travelling around the Caribbean for 35 years these things are normal !!
The age profile is young couples or mid 40's upwards but that is to be expected as there are no children allowed ! Lovely for those that want a rest from the grandchildren. For the young plenty of water sports and plenty of loungers for those inactive people like myself who just want to chill out.
Thank you Yhasmine and all your staff for a wonderful holiday We will be back

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms and cottages get beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tarf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in November for our honeymoon. The resort is beautiful and well taken care of. We stayed in a beach front cottage which was amazing!

Positives:
Food is lovely. We visited the a la carte restaurant twice and the food and service were wonderful.
Upon our arrival we received a bottle of champagne to celebrate our honeymoon. I thought this was a lovely touch by the hotel.
The lazy river was a nice place to relax but it was often difficult to find a space, as people stayed there all day. Not that I blame them!
Beach front cottage is beautiful! We loved being able to leave the room and take 5 steps to the beach!

Negatives:
The staff were a little aloof at times. Especially in contrast to the way they welcomed returning/ older guests.
Having got married in st. Lucia at a different hotel, you could clearly see the difference between how the staff at each hotel responded to you. Not sure if the staff here had been told to keep interaction to a minimum but that is certainly how it felt.
The biggest problem for us was when there was a storm or heavy rain the nearby river flooded. This meant bottles and other waste poured into the see and beach. This was not a welcoming sight and prevented you from enjoying the beach. In fairness the team were very good and were out sweeping straight away and after an hour so the beach was back to normal.

We are in our mid to late 20's and from our experience the resort is aimed at the more mature guest. The majority of the guests were around 60+.

This was a beautiful hotel but just not for us.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Icegems17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I spent a fantastic week, over Easter in this delightful place, to celebrate a significant wedding anniversary. I cannot agree with the previous contributor. We found all the staff, including the management to be highly professional and very caring. I hurt a ham string in my leg attempting to water ski. I was cared for very well by all the staff I came into contact with, they couldn't do enough to help me feel better. It certainly didn't spoil the holiday.
The food and drinks were delicious, plenty of variety and choice. I even noticed several dishes each day had a 'gluten free' notice on them. The home made coconut yogurt and variety of beautifully prepared tropical fruits were a highlight for me as were the variety of alcoholic and non alcoholic cocktails. There were a few small birds flying around the outdoor eating area during the day. This didn't bother us at all, it is to be expected in the Caribbean. I did however see a large bird feeder outside the restaurant area, were most of the birds went to be fed.
The range of activities, all included, is amazing! We did sailing, kayaking, yoga, aqua aerobics, tennis, beach volley ball and water skiing. Although I wasn't good at water skiing my husband really enjoyed it. There's lots of other activities available with no pressure to do anything if you just wanted to completely relax!
The hotel is at the opposite end of the island to the international airport. The journey to the hotel took about 75 minutes. it was good to get a feel of the island and both drivers from and to the airport were very helpful giving us useful information throughout the journey. The small airport near the hotel is not at all intrusive. We noticed about 6 small island hopping planes fly over the sea each day, never at night.
We stayed in a premium garden room on the second floor. The room was very well appointed with a lovely sea view. The huge bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I did put ear plugs in at night because of the' nocturnal whistling frogs' noise, however it didn't bother my husband and the frogs here didn't seem as noisy as they were when we stayed in Barbados a few years ago.
If you are looking for an all inclusive romantic holiday, with someone special, this is the place for you! They really have thought of everything at Rendezvous. We are looking forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our premium garden room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moonbeam776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I would like to start this review with the positives. Unfortunately there is only one and that is the staff. I would like to emphasise how friendly and courteous they are towards the guests. This is not true of the hotel management and this is ultimately what spoiled our holiday. Onto the negatives; firstly there is a huge problem with birds in this resort. Having a phobia of birds you can imagine the daily horror I faced during meal times when the birds would fly up to any tables in order to get scraps of food. After the first day I spoke to reception and was told there was no facility for indoor seating! I thought this was ridiculous and no mention of this was clearly made on the website. Had I known I would not have chosen to stay here. I was told that bird feed would be put out to deter them from coming to the tables, this was not done and the problem persisted. Having been to other Caribbean resorts I know birds can be an issue but this is thought of and indoor seating had always been available! So after 4 days of eating very quickly and enduring indigestion, I had to do something about this situation, our dream holiday was turning into a nightmare! The next issue was, the open plan arrangement of the buffet which meant that birds were entering the buffet area and eating from food meant for guests. An example of this was witnessed by my husband and I as we saw birds eating from the bread basket and also eating the vanilla sauce which was meant for dessert at lunch! Unfortunately they were too quick for us to photograph. But not only birds, we also noticed flies hovering around the open salad and fruit and a cat which came up to tables at lunch and dinner time waiting to be fed. This was certainly not hygienic and meant that we had to be very careful what we ate. The next problem were mosquitoes and lots of them! Every evening we were battling with at least 3-4 mosquitoes in our room which meant every morning we would wake with lots of mosquito bites! We spoke to the reception staff about this and were told our room would be sprayed in the evenings to sort out the problem. This was not done and as a result we spent our first few evenings trying to squat these pests, which was not our idea of a relaxing vacation! After 4 days (out of an 11 day stay) of enduring this we decided we could not spend another day at this resort. We proceeded to talk to the manager. On speaking to her we were told she understood our concerns but could not provide a suitable solution to the problems we encountered. After this we tried to cancel our stay and return to London. We were told there was a 3 day cancellation policy and due to a lack of flights back we were effectively stuck there or could lose our money and return early. Having spent a lot on this holiday we did not want to lose our money. The manager then agreed to have my breakfast and lunch sent up to the room so I didn't have to endure the birds. This was our compromise, so for the rest of our romantic, long-awaited holiday I was eating alone in my room whilst my husband was eating alone in the terrace restaurant, not our idea of quality time together. Despite reporting all of our concerns to management, each morning we had to reiterate to the staff at breakfast about my situation as it seemed management had not made this known to them. Along with this we only had our room sprayed for mosquitoes twice during our 11 day stay which meant wewere either getting bitten or spent the evenings chasing mosquitoes. This was easily our worst holiday and the first time we were counting down the days to our return! It is a shame that the management of this resort does not care to change these things which make a huge difference to a holiday. It was evident that the birds, flies, mosquitoes and cats were bothering other guests too. The success of this resort lies with its staff who work extremely hard but this is unfortunately let down by the very poor management. Definitely not worth the money!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rdlondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Managers1, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guests

We appreciate your feedback and regret your disappointment. We recognise that a holiday is an important part of the lives of our guests and we do all we can to deliver an experience that considers and places great importance on this.

Your situation, the bird phobia, is not one that we often have to deal with, we openly admit, and as the resort location is in the tropics such a phobia is difficult to manage. Again, because of the tropical location, the resort has been designed to offer as much outdoor open air dining and experiences as possible and therefore, only dinner service provides a fully enclosed dining option. In your conversations with our House Manager, it was recorded that an indoor option was offered to you for your breakfast and lunch meals but you declined this offer. Two options were provided including The Trysting Place only opened for dinner service as well as the Champagne Bar which looks out on to the gardens through floor to ceiling glass walls. This latter option was encouraged as we felt it would allow you to enjoy the outdoors and natural light without being subject to the entry of birds. Instead, it was your preference to dine in room. Rendezvous is a couples resort and therefore all decisions are made with the couple in mind, any options offered would allow for the couple to enjoy or experience together. It would go against the very core of what Rendezvous is to suggest that your partner dine on his own while you dined alone in your room. However, we do regret that this was your experience.

Since your stay, we have also reviewed the resort description in the various pieces of collateral circulated as well as the website to ensure that all potential guests are aware of the resort set up and location.

We again apologise for your disappointment. Generally, guests really appreciate being able to eat in an al fresco setting but we completely understand that with your bird phobia this is not a pleasant experience in the Caribbean.

Yhasmine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed there from the 9 th April for 10 days and what an amazing hotel.the hotel staff are very friendly, helpful cant do enough to please you. The rooms 202 garden room was lovely, clean and well looked after. A beautiful hotel setting right on the beach a bit of paradise, beautiful gardens, amazing cocktails and service. Thoroughly recommend this hotel, we would return tomorrow, tip for anyone going to the Caribbean for the first time take US dollars .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
14.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.7 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $484 - $991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing