We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing it already, will return”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Missing it already, will return”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 10 nights and would like to say it was a lovely hotel. Small with only 100 rooms, however this added to the atmosphere. The staff were amazing, so helpful and polite. Beach was great, food was great. Go take a look for yourself. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    512
    132
    50
    38
See reviews for
34
2,157
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We chose this hotel specifically as it was adults only. The hotel itself is fabulous. The rooms are comfortable, and especially the beds. You have a choice of five different pillow fills and the beds are super king size. The hotel describes itself as boutique and it is small enough to get to know the other guests but big enough to get away from everyone. The food is excellent and we only ate on the terrace as it was so good with so much choice that we never could decide which night to go to the a la carte!
There is so much to do at this resort with everything being included. This is the first resort that I have been to that includes diving and actually includes a free try dive! All the waterspouts including waterskiing are inclusive. There simply wasn't enough time in our 2 weeks to try everything.
The staff are outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble. They are always friendly, smiling and genuinely happy to serve you. Tipping is not permitted so the staff are genuinely friendly and not just pretending.
There are so many guests that keep returning to this hotel which speaks volumes for it.
We made some lovely friends here as it was a relaxing and friendly hotel.
My only criticism is that smoking is allowed in the bar area. It would be much better if smoking was banned from all covered areas.
The resort is a good location to see the rest of the island. I would highly recommend the zip wires in the rainforest and a trip to pigeon island which is beautiful.
I would highly recommend this resort and should we ever return to St Lucia we would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: As you spend so little time in your room go for the cheapest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

It would seem that staff training has greatly enhanced the general atmosphere at the resort, resulting in all guests being made to feel rather special and repeat guests (of which there are many) receiving a special welcome back to the Rendezvous family. Staff tend to be more familiar with guests than the formal relationship of most hotels, which we certainly welcome and so it seems to do almost all the Rendezvous guests.
I have a particular quirk when on holiday, in that I enjoy a cage/cognac every morning at 11am.
Imagine my surprise, when on my first morning, the lovely barlady Bina came to my sunbed at 11am with a "welcome home" greeting and my favourite morning drink. She had not seen me since the previous year, but she remembered and I was immensely impressed.
Reception staff were exceptionally helpful on this visit, which is worth a mention, as I had been critical of them in a Trip Advisor report, following my first visit 3 years ago.
My advice to Rendezvous newcomers, is to become more involved with the staff than is perhaps usual in hotels. Tell them if you think some issue needs improving and of course, they would be thrilled to hear you say that you think they are doing an excellent job. Speak to Joseph the Food and Beverage Manager and do not be afraid to ask Head Chef Peter for a particular request. He is the most delightful man, who takes his responsibilities for our eating pleasures very seriously. In the restaurant, get to know the wonderful waitress Carmen, who is something of a treasure and the lovely Candice, who so wants to ensure that everything is to your liking.
Whatever you do, make friends with the mighty Pauline, who runs the keep fit and yoga classes, as she is just a bundle of joy and so much fun, although she takes your health and general well-being, very seriously indeed.
Also take note of the House Manager Dawn, as she makes her regular patrols to ensure that the premises are up to scratch and say hello to the delightfully charismatic General Manager Yhasime, who can regularly be seen inspecting the facilities and using her phonecam to record problem areas and improvements, in addition to guiding staff members to even higher levels of efficiency.
All the rooms are to a high standard of decor and cleanliness, the buffet food is to a very acceptable standard and the Trysting formal dining room produce superb meals in a relaxed atmosphere. To keep the menu interesting, it is changed every 3 days. A very acceptable range of red, pink and white wines are included free of charge and for the more discerning, there is a vast range of superb wines, that are most carefully kept in temperature controlled conditions. All premier brand beers, spirits and liqueurs are of course free of charge.
For the more energetic, the activities team organise a range of beach games and the water sports team have all manner of activities, such as scuba diving (with instruction) snorkelling, Hoby Cat sailing, canoeing and water ski-ing etc. You will never be bored.
Will we return?.............You bet we will, to further enjoy our delightful St. Lucian family.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, choose the de luxe seafront rooms. Apart from being slightly larger than othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The staff is very helpful and nice, the food was ok also. What I didn't like was that they served dinner very late, 7:30pm. No TV's in any rooms.
The most disgusting thing for me personally was the ocean water, it was brown and dirty with sewer run off from the city, sometimes plastic bottles, trash and syringes would wash up on the beach.
Rendezvous has no private beaches, hoodlums were playing soccer on the beach and kicking sand in people's faces, they did have security there, but they were no match and couldn't handle all of the trouble. People were riding horses very fast through the beach, not looking where they were going, I almost got trampled, I feel if there were children there, there would be a huge danger of great injury or even death, yes it was that bad...
I understand that it is not the resorts fault, therefore I gave them 4 stars overall. Although we will not be going back to this place.

Room Tip: Bring lots of sunscreen and bug spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PillowMintTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Managers1, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comments about your recent stay at Rendezvous. We are pleased with your positive comments about our staff as well as your criticism on the areas that concerned you. However, it is disappointing to read that you have decided not to return based on such factors.

I would like to apologise for the less than ideal conditions at the beach. As with all islands, after periods of heavy showers the sea becomes silted and occasionally the waves will crash debris on the beach, this affects most islands coastline. However, our beach team always ensures that the beach is always welcoming and pristine. It is important to note that all of the island’s beaches are public and you would occasionally find locals occupying and frequenting the beach. However, the safety of our guest is important to us and we are sorry to hear about this incident. We will ensure that such incidents are not repeated in the future.

There are indeed no televisions in our rooms, this is a conscious decision that helps our guests to disconnect from the pressures of the world that they are bombarded with back home. Rendezvous was designed to help couples focus on what matters most; each other. We do however; have a television in the games room for guest who are desirous of catching a game etc.

We have noted your comments on the time dinner is served at our restaurant and this will be considered as we seek to improve on the guest experiences.

Thanks again for the review and we hope that this has not left an indelible mark and will reconsider visiting Rendezvous and by extension Saint Lucia.

Warm regards,

Yhasmine Remy-Hylton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon in May 2012 and it was the most wonderful holiday of our life and so much of that was down to Rendezvous and its staff! We chose the hotel because it seemed much friendlier than the larger resorts and we were delighted when it lived up to our expectations! The staff made us feel very welcome and got to know you by name - Deano was a great laugh! There was also a great selection of gluten-free food - the ginger cake at breakfast time was so delicious, the chef was kind enough to give us the recipe (which reminds me of our honeymoon every time we bake it!). The separate air conditioned restaurant had delicious food - beautifully cooked duck! It was such a relaxed atmosphere at the hotel, when we were eating, on the beach (where you can stick a flag in the sand and be brought your drinks order - the height of laziness which is what you want for a honeymoon!) and the lazy river - our favourite place which had little islands in the water with couple sunbeds! Our favourite time was sunset where we made a habit of lying on the cabanas on the beach and watching the sunset. Even when it rained for a few days the staff did their best to organise games to keep us occupied (we even won a bottle of Bounty rum!). The aqua aerobics classes, archery and pilates were great fun and well worth giving a go. They had a cocktail masterclass at the swim up bar and a water balloon tossing competition which were good fun and a giant chess board! The couples spa treatments are also divine and soooo relaxing - we also learned how to do a back massage on each other (a surprise wedding present from our friends which we were given on our arrival!) We also received a welcome basket with champagne, jam (although nothing to put it on!) and coconut candle (they even have house champagne as part of the all inclusive package). Whilst they have all sorts of activities on offer at the hotel, make sure you get out on a tour of the island which was wonderful. We also went on a sunset pirate cruise ship with a steel band, and a trip to pigeon island (an architectural heritage site).

The only complaint I would have is that the beds are too hard.

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a wonderful week at Rendezvous on our first visit to the Caribbean. We stayed there on the recommendation of friends and were delighted. It feels very laid-back, but the staff were fantastic and the facilities top-notch. We stayed in a Premium Garden Room, which had everything we needed. We were on the first floor so didn’t have a sea view, but would have requested one if we’d realised. The room was very comfortable and the lack of a TV turned out to be quite a positive thing.
We made full use of the sports and water sports facilities, playing tennis every day, windsurfing and going on a great snorkelling trip down to the Pitons. We also spent the day at Rendezvous’ sister hotel, Bodyholiday at Le Sport, which I would undoubtedly recommend given that the only extra cost involved was the price of the taxi fare ($30 US each way).
On the first night, we were a little underwhelmed by the food, but it improved significantly and the breakfasts were a particular favourite. We ate at the Trysting Place twice and were lucky enough to have a different menu (it changes twice a week). It was a lovely experience on both occasions, although it is a bit of a shame being indoors. We also particularly enjoyed the nightly Bubbly Hour in the Champagne Bar.
The staff helped make our trip complete. Always ready with a smile, the service seemed very sincere. My husband hurt his back water-skiing on our final morning and a number of members of staff showed a great deal of genuine concern, which was very much appreciated.
Going back somewhere for a second time is something we rarely do, but on this occasion it seems more than likely that we will.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I would definitely recommend this resort and we have every intention of visiting again.
Beautiful location with excellent food, facilities, activities and staff. Quite a small resort (100 rooms) so a lovely friendly atmosphere.
A few improvements could be made; there are no TVs in rooms (and I would have liked one), and they could do with more toilets in the pool/ beach area.
The 'posh' restaurant has lovely food & great service but it's all indoors and we enjoyed eating al fresco. The buffet restaurant food is excellent.
The sea is quite rough, great for swimming but not the crystal clear waters some people expect.

Room Tip: if you're staying in the garden view rooms, ask for a high floor if you want a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny290406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
833 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing