We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectation”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
743 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectation”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just had a week in this hotel. Flew from Antigua so landed at the tiny airport next door. We were in room 245 so had a balcony with a hammock and a sea view. Seldom spent time in the room because we liked being out and about in the hotel. Food was excellent especially the Trysting place we went to once, superb meal and a really good guitarist playing in the backgroung.
We did little except relax. Walked into Castries twice to the market but nothing different there. The walk to the lighthouse at 7am with one of the entertainment team was enjoyable. I had my nails painted in the spa, OK. The hotel was fogged with smoke for insects on Monday evening and we hardly had a bite. Our room also had an English electric socket. Cold flannels were brought round on the beach. There is a TV in the airconditioned room above the gym. We did pop in to watch some of the semi final of Wimbledon.. Did excursion to the aerial tramway above the rainforest. This I felt was very overpriced. On the otherhand the catamaran day out was good value. There are showers etc above the gym to use on the last day when you have checked out.
I have not mentioned any staff member by name because they were all fantastic. Food was fantastic. Drink quality good. The flowers in the gardens were almost as good as the botanical gardens in Souffriere.
Always a breakfast special, salmon and scrambled egg, omellette with olives and artichokes. Wear your tighter close at the start!! Waiting staff dressed to enhance the themed dinners. I bought a nice dress from one of the vendors on the beach. They do not come and bother you, they have a shack at the end of the beach.
Reception staff were happy to help me check in on line for my return flight. Umbrellas in room for tropical showers. Evening entertainment OK. Beach bar b que was fun. Wish I was still there. Please feel free to ask me anything. Wish I was still there. The trip back to the International airport was fine. Hilly road but not bumpy.

Room Tip: Liked ours 245
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    512
    132
    50
    38
See reviews for
34
2,157
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I booked a week here as a well earned break without the kids. I wanted a week to relax with a book and my husband wanted to have some activities to keep him entertained, as well as some romance! As with all our holidays I always research the hotels before going and this place did not disappoint. We went at the end of April for a week and got a great deal on BA.com. The drive from the airport was about an hour, the transport was not modern and the roads not great but it was better than sitting on the motorway! We even drove through a little bit of rain forest in the middle of the island. When you drive through the centre of Castries it is hard to imagine that paradise is just around the corner, but as you enter the security gates of the resort the landscaped gardens and ambience of the place takes hold.
Our chosen room was not available for our first night, disappointing you might think? but we were upgraded to a suite and given Champagne and a voucher for the spa as a consolation, along with t shirts and an apology letter from the manager. We moved to our room the next day, at a time that suited us.
The resort itself is not that big (we liked that) but beautifully kept, the grounds, rooms and communal areas are always kept clean and there are always plenty of staff at hand if needed, nothing is too much trouble.
The bars are fantastic as are the bar staff, they can make you any drink you fancy and they are always so friendly, especially Eric.
The food is very good, buffet style, but lots of choice and if you fancy a change then book a night at the trysting place restaurant which is also very good. They have different themed nights and the food and entertainment follows this theme.
The entertainment staff were great, so enthusiastic, especially Josie and the guys! It's entirely up to you though if you want to join in or just watch. Day or night there is always something to do, sports, games, drinking, relaxing, whatever suits you. Everything is included, scuba, yoga, aquafit, archery, beach volleyball, and so much more.
This place is just fantastic, there were a mix of old and young ( myself and husband are 39/37) but I can understand why people keep going back. The staff make this place what it is, they are all wonderful. The location is fantastic and the weather, despite a few tropical showers was hot hot hot!
The beach is beautiful, with plenty of sunbeds. It is cleaned every day and although a public beach, you always feel safe as security men are on patrol and the locals didn't bother us.
The spa was an added bonus, wonderful treatments that are well worth the extra. If you fancy a trip to their sister resort (the body holiday) you only have to pay for a cab, it was nice for a day, much bigger and a very different feel, very focused on health! But a lovely place and the food in the restaurant was superb.
In all we felt this was a fantastic small, friendly resort with a focus on fun, relaxation and romance. The staff were second to none. Just what we were after. We would absolutely recommend. Thank you to all the dedicated staff who made our holiday so memorable. Rendezvous, we love you!
If you are considering going here for your holiday/honeymoon.....DO IT, you will not be disappointed.
Regards to all the staff, Kat & Nick. Xx

Room Tip: Suites are bigger but not been refurbished recently, so smaller cheaper rooms are fantastic and clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oakways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Rendezvous and like the majority of other reviewers we had a wonderful time. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble! The setting was quite beautiful and was not detracted from by the small airport nearby or the rather amazing graveyard just along the beach! We enjoyed an exceptionally good meal in the Trysting Place restaurant, although the food at the Tarrace resturant was excellent as well! Wine with lunch and dinner was very good and unusually for an all inclusive resort, bottles of wine were left on the table, unlike some places we have been to where it is served by the glass. The champagne bar or piano bar was excellent too and had the advantage of being airconditioned! Whilst we were there tropical storm Chantel was forcast to hit the island and I can only praise the staff and management of the hotel for keeping us well informed of events and reassuring us that every effort was being made to keep visitors safe. Fortunately it did not hit the island as predicted leaving us with windy conditions and some rain. One of the most beautiful things at the Rendezvous was the Samaan Tree which at night is lit by a number of magnificent chandeliers casting a magical sence over the tropical gardens!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EntrepidEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilingham, dorset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week towards the end of May, we were looking for a relaxing all inclusive break and this was our first experience of the Caribbean. The hotel is set towards the north of the island close to the donestic airport with it's own long stretch of sandy beach. The airport being so close was not intrusive at all during our stay, The grounds of the hotel are very peaceful and well kept. The verandah room we stayed in was clean and spacious if a little dated in decor but not to be faulted in confort. The hotel facilities are fantastic, the various pools are great and offer different atmospheres. We preferred the lazy river as it was very chilled out and peaceful and the bar service was great here too! Evey day breakfast, lunch and dinner there was a massive choice all perfectly cooked and varied. We found the toughest thing each day was deciding what NOT to eat! The staff are perfect very friendly and accommodating and there are plenty of them! Our only minor negative is the spa was a little dissapointing, the treatments were a little overpriced and the setting was in our oponion not overly relaxing or special. All in all a very nice hotel and one for couples of all ages to enjoy not just the retired or newlyweds as you may expect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire,UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Four of us visited this hotel in november last year (all aged 40-50yrs) check in was very slow the staff were not very friendly, two of us had to change rooms due to being put in ground floor very damp, dank dark rooms - badly needs a refurb. My room on top floor was better but still not worth the nearly 5k per couple we spent for two weeks there. The pool areas are nice and clean, the one by the spa being the best. The beach is ok near the hotel but walk about 300yards on the left from the hotel and you have a grave yard falling into the sea!! The beach walking away from the hotel is not very clean. It certain is not paradise! The food was very good and varied as only one main buffet restuarant and a couple of others that we could only book once. We did pay for private dinning for a birthday and that was reasonably good. Overall we had a good holiday but this resort is sooo expensive that you can visit much cleaner, lovely tropical resorts than this, it really is not worth the money we paid and we all agreed we would never go back.

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor rooms in the main building as very dark and damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pippa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Rendezvous in June and had an absolutely amazing honeymoon.

The hotel itself is lovely with plenty of private space to keep your honeymoon special. Its a relatively small resort but it's got a great beach front and an amazing open terrace restaurant with fantastic views.

The food was 5*, a massive selection, there wasn't a day that we didn't like. The highlight for me was the breakfasts, with a live cooking station and an amazing chef we were always full! I think the range of food was what impressed us the most. The drinks were also plentiful...wine was readily available and wasn't stingy like other all inclusive's we've stayed at. We often were given a bottle of wine for the table and the glasses were well topped up throughout! The strawberry milkshakes are also amazing, just what we needed to keep cool during the day.

The resort itself has loads of activities everyday which we weren't really keen on. There were a few active couples who signed up to loads but we just wanted to relax after the wedding so spent most of our time on the beach.

The tours available are quite expensive but we found hiring a taxi for the day quite reasonable and more personal when there isn't a large tour group.

You can also walk into Castries (approx 25 min walk) where you can see some of the local culture. The hotel is near the airport but you really don't notice the noise at all. Also don't let the graveyard proximity put you off, its not even noticeable and only if you walk all the way along the beach front.

The only disappointment was our room. We were upgraded to a veranda suite and we really wouldn't recommend it. We would much rather have paid more for a nicer room but it was too late to do this when we got there (they offered for us to move half way through the holiday when an upgrade was available but this was quite disruptive and the cost to upgrade quite substantial). There are no pictures of the veranda suites on their websites and you'll see why. They are quite old style and no where near as romantic or pretty as the other rooms available. They are in definite need of a refurb.

Overall though would definitely recommend the place but just avoid the veranda rooms if you're looking for something romantic or special (we didn't feel like we got what we thought we had paid for).

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get the beachfront villas if going for something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine wi
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just returned from an 8-night stay at Rendezvous, our third time there. Everything was more than wonderful. To say the island of St. Lucia is beautiful is an understatement. The scenery is breathtaking. The lush, green mountains and valleys, the majestic Pitons... It is impossible to fully describe the beauty of the panoramic mountain views and the magnificent beaches. That being said, our choice of hotel when we visit St. Lucia will always be Rendezvous. It is a small Boutique Hotel for couples only with much attention to detail. It is a very romantic place to stay. The grounds are beautiful. One morning we just walked the numerous pathways and took photographs of all the brilliant flowers and plants.We upgraded our room this time from a Verandah Suite to a Luxury Beachfront Room and were not disappointed. Our third floor room was large and spacious, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean... and the view was OUTSTANDING! We had always been quite happy with the Verandah Suite, but now there is no going back! We will from now on treat ourselves to the Beachfront Room! It was heavenly to hear the sound of the waves when we awoke every morning. The bed and the pillows were exceptionally comfortable. Everything at the hotel is excellent. The food, the service, the atmosphere, the cleanliness, the beach.. but what really stands out is the genuine friendliness of the staff. Everyone from the gracious General Manager Yhasmine Remy-Hylton to the sweet wonderful maid Una who cleaned our room for us were wonderful. Una was so friendly and so caring that she called our room the morning of our departure to tell us she wanted to be sure to say goodbye to us in person. She is such a sweetheart! The food was excellent. Both quality and presentation were outstanding. The wide variety of desserts each day for both lunch and dinner were not only delicious, they were pieces of art! The talented pastry chef Ronnie does an excellent job. We had the pleasure of meeting him during our last stay three years ago and were able to see him again this time. Very personable young man! Of course we got to see Chef Julius again as well. He was there when we went the first time twelve years ago and is always a delight to speak with. The food was excellent in both the Terrace Restaurant and in the Trysting Place. In addition to the buffet in the Terrace Restaurant, you always had choices for made to order items as well. Every morning, Veronica made the BEST omelets we have EVER had! She is the Omelet Master! All the servers are friendly and fun, especially Cookie, one of the bartenders at the Terrace Bar. They offered a great variety of really good blender drinks, even nonalcoholic versions. So you could sip on refreshing tropical drinks all day long! Our favorite server was Carmen, although we had great experiences with many. When it was time to think about leaving, Leon at the Reception desk was truly a blessing when he completely did our pre check-in for our flight home. Truly amazing! We greatly enjoyed talking with and getting to know Dawne, one of the managers. The list of people goes on and on, but we primarily had a lot of relaxing and romantic time to ourselves as well. The majority of our time was spent on the beach, although we did enjoy the Water Garden. (We called it the Lazy River) Very beautiful, very peaceful!! You can choose from a number of secluded spots of paradise in this meandering little freshwater "river". It's really a neat concept! The beach was very nice and never ever crowded. One activity we would highly encourage is to hire a taxi for the day. We strongly recommend Andy Alexander whose taxi service is stationed at Rendezvous. We used him the last time we stayed and were hoping he would still be available. He was, to our delight and he provided us with a fun filled day. We drove south from Rendezvous through many beautiful areas such as Marigot Bay (Breathtaking!), Anse la Raye, (quaint little fishing village),Canaries and Soufriere, and of course the main attraction.. the Pitons! You have the freedom with Andy to spend as much or as little time as you want at each place along the way. The opportunity for photographs is outstanding. There are many that include the two of us as well, thanks to Andy. He showed us all the sights! He was our tour guide for the day! And because it was just the two of us, not a large group of people who booked a typical tour, we had so much more freedom. Not only is Andy a safe driver, he provided us with great conversation. He is truly a nice man and an honest one. We enjoy snorkeling so we were dropped off at three different beaches for snorkeling. We knew from our past experience with Andy that he is honest and trustworthy. We left our wallet with him and any other valuables while we were snorkeling. We did not have a worry or a care! All three coral reefs we visited were off the beach so no boats were needed. We could snorkel as long as we wanted. We left Rendezvous at 9 am and didn't return until 6:30 pm. Like we said, the day is yours, as short or as long as you wish it to be. Andy charged us $150.00 which we think is very reasonable. It is a wonderful way to see more of the island. If you only stay at the hotel you miss a lot. The view from the mountains is indescribable! During our last two vacations when we went on our "day trip", we ate lunch at Dasheen, a restaurant at Ladera. It is an open-air restaurant and the view of the Pitans is spectacular! It's as if you could reach out and touch them!! The prices are reasonable and we always say that if we had a restaurant with this kind of view in the United States, you would have to be rich and famous to afford it! The prices on the lunch menu are very moderate. But this time we chose to eat at Anse Chastanet, one of the places we went snorkeling. The snorkeling was great! The coral reefs in St. Lucia are the best! It is awesome to swim and snorkel at the base of the Gros Piton. It's a chance of a lifetime! Feel free to email us if you have an interest in snorkeling. We'd be happy to share more information. Also, feel free to ask us any questions about Andy, Rendezvous, or anything else! We have lots of pictures we'd be more than happy to share as well. Rendezvous is a wonderful place to stay. We have never been tempted to try somewhere else. They are very appreciative of repeat guests and provide some nice extra touches to make your stay even more special. We have only been home three days and we're already wishing we were back!!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms on the third floor exceptionally nice! We stayed in room 345.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jmracine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
937 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
833 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing