We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dream wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

What can I say? We loved this place. We stayed in November 2012 for seven nights, and also had our wedding there in the gazebo on the beach. The staff were lovely - especially everyone involved on our big day. Our room was also very nice - a large a comfortable bed, good sized bathroom with an excellent shower, good air con and ceiling fan, a small balcony replete with hammock.

I suppose I can understand some of the gripes - there are a small number of tired edges, the drinks service was occasionally a little slow, the food very nice but unexceptional - but that is being very, very picky.

I guess what I loved about the place was the atmosphere. It's a relatively small resort, but it's quite spread out. The small outcrop on the beach effectively makes two beach areas, and there are also two swimming pools. This means that, if you want it, it's very easy to have complete relaxation. But if that sounds too quiet for you, it's also very easy to while away your time with all the activities - walks, aqua aerobics, yoga, gym, tennis, archery, sailing, scuba diving, snorkelling, tubing, and that's before you even leave the resort to do any excursions.

We may have just got lucky, but all the guests we met were very nice too. Indeed, we're still in touch with a number of people - including the couple who witnessed our marriage!

So, all in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swainy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,759
    501
    126
    49
    38
See reviews for
31
2,091
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Not long returned from our 4th trip to this resort on St Lucia. We have been to other islands and hotels which although lovely have not really matched Rendezvous in terms of location, service and facilities. We love taking advantage of the activities including the inclusive scuba dives if you are licenced although we started off our scuba career here with Discover Scuba! The wreck dive on Saturday was a highlight, so many wonderful fish although we also saw a turtle on one of the reef dives. We also use the tennis courts and they have flood lights so you can play in the evening and avoid the full glare of the sun.

Staff are fantastic all the way from the garden to the organised activities. Fireworks for hogmanay were particularly impressive this year. We love the selection of food at the terrace restaurant and tend to try a bit of everything. The room was great, we now ask to return to the ocean front suites as so lovely to just walk out onto the beach. The hotel does not have TV in the room but we have never missed it. Wifi in the public areas is a big improvement although it does mean that you now see a lot of couples both sitting around on their phones/tablets/laptops, can some folk just not switch off?? We found the convenience of the hotel sited tour desk more helpful than our appointment rep who was only there for an hour a day. We recommend the piton climb for a dramatic and varied day out and also "Bean to Bar" at Hotel Chocolat.

Like others the tranfer by taxis from international airport is a pain. If you can do any other island first you can do a small plane to the nearby airport or splash out on helicopter transfer - its so worth it.

Haven't found an all-inclusive in the Caribbean that compares with the Rendezvous and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beach front was actually poolside. You need to get Ocean front for the actual beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guests
We appreciate your review and we are honoured to receive the very high accolade that you have bestowed on us. More than anything else, we are extremely pleased that you had a memorable experience that exceeded your expectations. Do take care of eachother. We look forward to hosting you again. Please also note that the Luxury Beachfront Room is located right on the beach while the Seaside Suite over looks the pool and beach.

Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a little follow up and addition to our previous review (under Treacle) as I MUST mention the guys who hang around just a bit further on from the watersports area on the Rendezvous beach and ride their horses daily.

What a fabulous sight to have these guys exercising their horses up and down the beach and swimming in the sea with them, just magical.

We became friendly with Kevin, Alva and Zane who were absolutely charming and took my husband and I on a riding trip up the beach and up to the lighthouse which was spectacular. I would recommend riding with these guys but be aware - there are no hats provided and the tack is minimal and basic to say the least. If you can ride they will let you gallop through the water's edge and take the horses ion the sea to swim on their backs but only do this if you are a very experienced rider with a lot of confidence - otherwise, they are happy to lead you all the way and we found the horses to be very calm and good to handle. My husband did come off because the saddle didn't fit properly so it is not the safest of rides but we still had fun and he was only a bit bruised!!
The ride was for nearly 2 hours and cost $15 so a bargain and the guys were really lovely and were constantly checking to make sure we were happy and felt secure and were enjoying ourselves. Even if you don't want to ride, go and see them as they are a lovely crowd.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Rendezvous last October and were hoping for a stylish boutique hotel in which to spend a romantic week enjoying the hotel facilities and the food.
I agree with other reviewers that the activities co-ordinators, water sports staff and bar staff were all excellent and very enthusiastic, and I also agree with one reviewer who found some (in particular 1) of the reception staff unapproachable and possibly even rude.
Our main gripes (no pun intended),though, were with the hotel refurbishment and the food:
On every day of our stay we were subjected to loud and obtrusive construction and demolition work (the latter referring to poolside rooms). Not merely "tarting up", but full-on building work. I understand that such work needs to be done, and sure does it, but the hotel should have been closed during this work. It is impossible to relax next to a circular saw, or a drill, or hammering. You couldn't even escape from the area round the pool where one lot of work was going on, because right above the other pool, next to the relaxation spa (ha ha) there was yet more noisy work going on. To their credit the Spa did offer us a complimentary treatment - which we declined on the basis that it was not relaxing at all. When we complained through our travel operator about the construction work the hotel clearly were economic with their explanation to the travel operator of the duration of this work.
The food, in my opinion, was like school canteen food. Often the specialty of the day had run out after only a short time, bearing in mind we were not late to dinner. On one occasion the chef was carving minute remnants of meat from the bone. The service, however, was very good and cheerful with it. We ate in the a la carte Trysting Place restaurant when we could, and when this was not possible we even caught a taxi to the sister hotel on 3 of the days we were there, just to get away from the Rendezvous' main dining room.
I personally will not be returning to the Rendezvous and believe it justifies the 1 star for my review.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the water's edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your review and feedback. We regret that you did not have a fully relaxing holiday. There were indeed some repairs required in October when you stayed that could not be avoided. Generally, the resort team applies a maintenance plan that is regular enough to keep work on small enough scale that it does not cause disruption to our guests. However, during your stay in October last year, there was an emergency situation requiring urgent action. Even in situations of that nature, much care is taken to secure the comfort of our guests. We apologise if this was not enough. We confirm that this is not a regular or every day occurence. At the moment, no such work is being undertaken and work of this nature is not scheduled for the short term or medium term future.

Again, thank you for your feedback.
Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have just returned from a two week holiday at The Rendevous & have mixed feelings.

The bar staff and range of drinks was excellent and the service very good with some lively banter. Kato & Ash were excellent bartenders & the others were also excellent.

The service in the Terrace Restaurant was mixed, perhaps because the hotel was very busy but sometimes it took an age to get a drink, water or have the table cleared.

We weren't very impressed with the food & ended up eating out on a number of occasions. The buffet especially at lunchtime became very dull. There is only so much ham salad you can eat.

The Co-ordinators were excellent and really tried to engage with everyone.

The New Years Eve event was also excellent, although they ran out of lobster before we had chance to try it. The fireworks and entertainment were very good though.

The reception staff let the side down and ranged from being unfriendly to really quite rude. There definitely needs to be some improvement in this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvonDasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guests
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that there were aspects of your stay that you really appreciated. It surprises us that you say that lobster ran out on New Year's Eve when we have every record that confirms that lobster was served to the very last diner. Our sincere apologies if you missed this service. New Year's Eve is an extra special night for us and you would have noticed the effort made by the resort team to put on a good show for our guests. We are disappointed that we let you down but assure you that we kept the srevice going. Your comments with regard to the Recption team are being addressed and for this we also extend our apologies.

Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for Christmas and New Year and quite simply had THE best festive period we have ever had.

The staff really make this resort and that includes everyone from all the activities co-ordinators (Ron, Deano, Clavi, Webster, Josie, Johanna, Pauline, Nima) bar staff (Ian, Trevor, Kato, Papi) and restauarnt staff (Steven) - apologies to anyone I've missed out. We never normally get involved in daily activities but the staff create such a great atmosphere that you just want to be part of it! Beach volleyball, coconut bowling, cricket on the beach on Christmas Day and much more, rum tasting, wine tasting, Creole Experience - there's so much to mention I couldnt put it all down here, and that's just the day time fun!

The hotel really went to to town for Christmas and New Year, putting on some truly spectacular and touching things which I don't want to go in to too much detail so as not to spoil the experience for anyone who books for this coming year.

The food is top notch for all inclusive, variety and taste all all the time. Fresh grilled lobster on New Year's Eve as much as you like - who could ask for more? The Trysting Place al a carte is great and provides a welcome change from the buffet. All branded drinks are included and the selection is excellent.

The airport close by is really not an issue unless you are looking for total tranquility of course but you really don't notice it.

Nightly entertainment was varied and fun and you can choose to be involved or not as usually things don't kick off until 10pmish.

Being couples only we thought it may be a bit stuffy but we met some fantastic people of all ages from all over the world and everyone was so friendly.

I cannot stress enough what a fabulous resort this is and having travelled all over the world, this is the ONLY place we are already planning to return to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TreacleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your very complimentary review. We take all our guest feedback very seriously, positive or negative and it is always very motivating to myslef and the rest of the team when a glowing review such as yours is received. It is the ultimate reward for the work we do and so we are very grateful. We look forward to hosting you again.

Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Don't be put off by the location to the small airport. The flight noise is minimal.
The resort made an idyllic Christmas location.The staff are fantastic hosts and the all inclusive is great value as there are a surprising number of things included where other resorts charge extra. The food selection is excellent and good quality. Named brand drinks freely available including the cocktail list.
Would i recommend it? You bet!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolatezone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing