We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip and Resort Staff”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This review is about 1.5 years late. My wife and I stayed for about a week back in spring of 2011. The resort staff was great; they are all about making sure the guests have a great time. The resort itself is of modest size, is clean, has a nice beach and we had a great ocean side patio.

The resort is near a small airport, but it didn't bother us much. Other than that, the only average thing was the food. They had a rotating menu and we found that the nights where they had more local flavors was awesome; it's just the other nights (e.g. asian, italian, etc.) that was so-so.

Be sure to take advantage of the access to their sister property (we took a trip to so some snorkeling and just followed the boat back up to sister property and they had a shuttle back). We also took a day trip to hike the Pitons and visit other sites around the island, which we booked through the resort.

Tip: If you are not used to wearing a wedding ring (like i was), be sure to take care of it on the beach and in the water. I had lost it on the beach and spent an hour or 2 looking for it. The staff was super helpful and helped with the search. Unfortunately, we couldn't find it. However, to my amazement, I got an email from them 2 weeks later saying they found it in the sand! They mailed it to me and all was fine. Another example of the great staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,447 - 1,453 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for one week early December , except for the weather which we have no control over, we had the most Wonderful time Fine Wine Fabulous Food and entertaining company made for a Great Holiday . The Staff were so kind and attentive but discreet and courteous . The Island is Beautiful so PLEASE take time to have a look around

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Rendezvous in early December 2012 to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was our first time to the Caribbean and an all inclusive resort and we had the most fantastic 10 day holiday. Have never stayed in a place with such friendly and helpful staff who just made us so welcome and relaxed. Also, lots of chatting and laughing with other guests so guys if you’re reading this, thanks for your company !

Not normally a beach person but was so comfortable with the bar right on the beach that we spent most of our time there rather than at the pools. Beach sport guys were great and made it really easy to do some sailing, skiing and trial scuba diving.

Food we could not fault. Always plenty of choice. The buffet was in the best of locations, eating next to the beach with the sound of lapping waves in the background. We did eat one night at the Trysting restaurant but found that to be a bit sterile and cancelled some bookings we had made as we preferred the buffet for food choice and ambience.

We stayed for the first week in a verandah room which was spacious and comfortable with a small settee and a large verandah overlooking the beautiful gardens which had two sun loungers, table and chairs and enough room for the visiting birds that kept us amused. In the second week we were upgraded to a luxury beachfront suite which was even more spacious with a super roll-top bath as well as large walk-in shower but the verandah here was a lot smaller and less user friendly but spending most time on the beach so not a big issue.

The only negative we can think about was the 90 minute drive from the airport to the hotel which we both felt a little rough after so would suggest splashing out on the helicopter transfer or some travel sickness tablets before the trip.

Can’t wait for our 26th wedding anniversary and another excuse to go again !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AshandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The room was super and the bed was the best bed I've slept in in any hotel. The people were kind and helpful and gave great service. The food was good and always available. The facilities were clean and the activities were fun. Good place to return every year

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyboy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We chose the Rendezvous Resort based on the reviews written as well as our appreciation for smaller resorts that are all-inclusive and have a direct flight from NYC. The flight to St. Lucia was 4-1/2 hours and once we arrived we waited 45 minutes for another flight to arrive to fill the van and then headed out on a 1 hour and 45 minute trip on very narrow and windy roads to the Rendezvous. If you suffer from motion sickness the ride can make you ill (as it did to 2 of our passengers). We were quite pleased when we arrived to find that the resort was small (100 rooms) with a very nice beach and calm blue waters. We had a suite right off the beach that was amazing. The kingsized bed was on a platform and the room was very spacious and well appointed. The resort has many positives including: an amazing beach, good food, nice facilities, a great champagne bar, nice rooms and, for the most part, good service. We ate dinner at the buffet the first night and the service and food were good. Overall, the buffet was as good as a buffet can be given they are serving many people at different times over a period of 3 hours. We ate at the buffet for breakfast and lunch but in the evenings we dined in the al a carte restaurant Trystings which we thought was excellent. Trysitings has great food, a wonderful intimate atmosphere, good entertainment and exceptional service. Although you can purchase premium wines and champagnes the regular wines and alcohol are just fine and are included in your meal plan. We would recommend eating dinner at Trystings often for dinner.

That said there were a few negatives during our stay. The resort is very near the local airport and, depending on the day, you can have quite a few aircraft taking off right over the resort. Also, the resort is very close to Castries (you can walk there) and since all the beaches in the Caribbean are public, on certain days the beach can be somewhat crowded with both locals and passengers from cruise ships since Castries is the main port for the Island. Since the resort is small and only has one restaurant (other than the buffet) you are not always able to get a reservation. And like most Caribbean Islands you have to arm your self with lots of Insect repellant.

Service
We found the service level at the Rendezvous to be a bit uneven in that about 80% of the staff was excellent and as good as anywhere else we have been. Some members of the staff who provided excellent service were: Myra, Simon, Carmen, Louvina, Harry at Trysting, Cato at the champagne bar and Felix in the Kitchen. Two truly standouts in providing outstanding service above and beyond were our housekeeper Sandra who did an amazing job and Dean who runs water sports. If you need anything concerning water sports go directly to Dean and he will gladly take care of it.
The remaining 20% of the staff appeared to be just going through the motions or in a few cases were pretty rude. We noticed that there were no towels at all on the beach in any of the 3 towel stations and when we asked at the front desk if they could arrange for towels at the beach we were told "well why don't you go look in the gym?" When we asked the overnight receptionist if he could open the gym at 7:30AM (the posted hours were at 7AM) he was upset that we even asked him. He grabbed the keys and didn't say a word and stalked off after he opened the gym. Some (but not all) of the younger bartenders were also pretty disinterested (except when it came to chatting with the female staff members who they spent a fair about of time talking to). There were other examples but not worth going into. For the most part they were minor issues but the disinterest level seemed so out of place given how good and helpful most of the staff were.
We found the same to be true of resort sponsored events. We attended the sunset cruise on Wednesday and the event could not have been nicer. Same with the General manager's cocktail party. But we took the lighthouse walk and the guide didn't really pay attention to most of the guests (some who were unable to keep up) and only spoke to who ever was walking with her.

In Conclusion we viewed our stay at the Rendezvous as very good but not as good as it could have been. Some things they are unable to fix like the the 1 hour and 45 minute ride from the airport and the proximity to the airport and Castries but if they improved the level of service for the 20% of the staff it would raise the overall level from good to excellent. And remember your insect repellant!

Room Tip: The North side of the resort is nearer the beaches and more quiet and the South side is closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Brianccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guests
We appreciate your feedback and we are addressing your concerns regarding the response of the staff at Reception. Whilst most of our guests tell us that our staff is our greatest assest, we appreciate this may not have been your experience and of course we are willing and ready to do something about that. Our staff in all teams receive a great deal of customer service training and are held to high standards ans expectations. We have every confidence that we can improve the situation you describe and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to host you and deliver service to your expectation.

Yhasmine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were very much looking forward to stay at this resort to escape cold and rainy London and spend Christmas together with my husband. The setting of the resort is nice, we prefer small scale hotels with friendly service.

On our arrival, we were greeted by a member of staff, who took us to our Garden room. The room was nicely cool with air/con, clean and modern with comfortable bed and pillows. REN guest amenities is great choice by the management.

The beach was nice and clean, only could have more sunbrellas. With the scorching sun and occasional rain we needed to hide in the shade during the day. Organized water based activities were super. We did tubing and kayaking twice and planned to take on catamaran sailing. We enjoyed tennis clinique for beginners and intermediates, only disappointed that weekends were not covered.

Other slight disappointment was dinner. We prefer A la carte service, but we found the quality of Trysting place restaurant actually worst than buffet restaurant on the Terrace. Not sure why this the restaurant is fully booked few day in advance....
Breakfast and lunch was good, good choice of fruits, pastries, warm and cold dishes, etc.
Deserts were repetitive....would prefer less quantity but more refined ingredients.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ZaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I purchased a package through Luxurylink for the Rendezvous for a Christmas getaway. This was our first "couples only" resort but not our first all inclusive resort. The overall resort: The resort is designed for couples with many subtle touches making it a very romantic place, from the swim up bar to the "lazy river" pool hidden in the gardens, it was perfect. While not intending this trip to be a second honeymoon, it turned out that way. Activities: There was plenty to do, from scuba diving and snorkling, to wind surfing and catamaran sailing, water skiing and tubing, simply enjoying the ocean, beach volleyball, archery, beach chess (yes, with 2 1/2 foot high chess pieces) and dancing the night away with live entertainment. Food: You are served 3 full meals a day plus an afternoon tea that is a meal in itself. Breakfast and lunch are all buffet stuyle, but yet have people cooking additional made to order dishes with each meal, be it pancakes or waffles, egss or omelets for breakfast, or special salads or panini sandwiches at lunch. There are two choices for dinner, which is either a buffet (the barbeque on the beach was really good) or an a la carte restaurant Trysting Place. The buffet dinners were rather good but the a la carte dinner at Trysting was a great alternative. Rooms: The rooms are varied in style and size, but the whole compound is fairly compact and convenient. St. Lucia did suffer some damage from a hurricane about 2 years ago and some of the rooms still could use some updating. Staff: I have never seen a more friendly and helpful group of people, whether they were part of the wait staff, activity staff, or office staff. When we were leaving several of the staff went out of they way to say goodbye and offer a hug. Since the hotel has a no tipping policy, the level of service from the staff was incredible. The resort is owned by a Brittish family so there are a lot of Brittish visitors, but there were also visitors from the US, Canada, Russia, Austria and France while we were there. This lended itself to an interesting group of people and many wonderful conversations. This is the first place my wife and I have thought that we could return to many times.

The resort has a sister resort called Le Sport, and is even more activity oriented. However, a guest at either resort can use all of the facilities and restaurants at the other resort (at no additional charge except for the cab fare to go to the other resort). One excellent option if to try the le Sport's a la carte restaurant "Tao", an asian fusion menu well worth the cab fare!

Room Tip: The Veranda suites offer very large main rooms but the bathrooms are small and in need of updating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tallahassee-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
987 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#2 of 11 in Castries
677 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 15 in Gros Islet
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
2.2 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 11 in Castries
7,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $438 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing