We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful wedding and dream holiday”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful wedding and dream holiday”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Having chosen to get married abroad my (now wife) and I done a lot of research on finding a place that would tick all the boxes for a dream wedding.

Having just returned from the Rendezvous I can honestly say that not only were our dreams fulfilled but in many ways exceeded. Having arrived at the hotel we were personally welcomed and immediately taken for a drink in the bar lounge and they knew immediately that we were there for a wedding and put at ease straight away. Being couples only, everything is geared to romance and true relaxation. I cannot honestly recommend enough the hotel and the memories will live with us forever. Therefore in summary:
The Location
The Rendezvous Resort is situated right on the beach. It has 3 wonderful pools including a secluded lazy river pool that allows you to find a secluded sunbathing spot with for all intents your own personal bathing pool surrounded by exotic plants and trees with humming birds and the sound of gentle running water. Drinks from the bar are no problem as a barman comes around every 15 minutes to ensure you are topped up with drinks.

The beach has beautiful sand with sun beds that have their own flags to signal that you want another drink from the bar. Again simple waiter service. Some of the people still insist on getting up early to put a towel on the sun beds but we found there are still plenty to go round. There are also several spots for getting dry towels and placing your old ones when used. Again a nice touch.

There are beautiful gardens to walk around, randomly placed hammocks and the place is exceptionally clean.

The Staff
The staff are exceptionally friendly and if it is within their power to do something for you they will. They knew our names within the hour and always had a smile and a hello. Whenever you said thank you, they always said 'no problem' which seemed an automatic response and a very nice touch.

The Room
Our room was Huge. We had room 346 which is one of the three largest rooms. It had a four poster as well as a huge corner suite. The bathroom had a stand alone bath and a shower. There is a safe as well as ample space for clothes etc. The balcony overlooked the beach and had its own hammock as well as a couples round lounger it was idyllic. Again exceptionally clean.

Evening Entertainment
Every night there was something on in the bar area and the entertainment was adequate with some good groups and some dancing to be had. You could always slip into the piano bar for some free champagne or any other drink you wanted.

The Food
We worked out that during daylight hours there was only two hours where you could not get food. Also the food was of superior quality the only problem being was what to have. Breakfast was buffet style and covered everything from fruit to a full cooked breakfast, handmade pancakes or the chef’s special of the day cooked in front of you. Lunch was another huge buffet with everything from hot or cold meals, afternoon tea was sandwiches and cakes and dinner was another huge buffet. For that extra special evening you could go to the restaurant and have a sit down 5 course meal at no extra charge. All you had to do was book in the morning. Needless to say I came back larger than I arrived!

Getting Married
The wedding co-ordinator took away all the hassle and stress and made our day really special. She accommodated where we wanted to get married (on the beach gazebo) arranged the flowers, the drinks and all the legal stuff. All we had to do was turn up enjoy the experience and sign a few documents. My wife had a hairdresser come to her room in the morning and help her get ready. The Minister gave us a wonderful service that will stick in our minds forever and we felt like the most important people at the resort for that day. We were applauded when we went into the restaurant, serenaded by the guitarist during our meal and went back to champagne in our room and a bed decorated with flower petals. We even had a tray with a huge breakfast brought to our room the next day. An absolutely perfect day.

Overall
The Rendezvous has left a memory in our minds and hearts that will live with us forever. I cannot find fault with anything and would recommend the experience to anyone. If you want a perfect wedding with no hassle, a perfect location, great food and wonderful staff book your ticket now.

Room Tip: Rooms 146, 246 or 346 are the best and largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigRichKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    512
    132
    50
    38
See reviews for
34
2,157
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Our expectations of this holiday were huge. It was booked to celebrate 25 years of marriage and to make up for a disastrous honeymoon all that time ago. Plus for various reasons work, family etc we were abolutely exhusted and in need of proper R and R. The rendezvous pretty much delivered in all areas. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with refreshing cocktails and cold towels we new our decision was the right one.
We had booked a luxury seafront suite and it truly was. Complimentary, champagne, flowers and the most enormous bed I have ever seen greeted us, but more importantly it was impeccably clean and welcoming. Nothing was to much trouble.
We dined in both restaurants but to be honest preferred the atmosphere in the main terrace restaurant to that in the supposedly more exclusive Trysting restaurant. In our opinion the food was no better, and the decor seemed to be stuck in the 1980's. However in both restaurants the service was exceptional. Just a note to the gentlemen,its preferred if you wear long trousers in both restaurants in the evening.
For us the real gem of the rendezvous was the beach. The wonderful loungers and the fantastic service from the staff who were just so attentive without being intrusive to our needs was just wonderful. I couldnt praise them or it enough. We truly were able to relax, which was just what we wanted. Yes there are local sellers on the beach but if you say no they will go way, but do make time to talk to Mitchum the Rastafarian. A very interesting and wise man.
We didn't leave the hotel much but did book the whale/dolphin watching trip via the hotel. This also proved to be a good move as our tour rep was rubbish. We also booked a local taxi to take us to Castries where we visited the market, cathedral and generally got a taste of the town. A word of warning here, dont make the mistake we did and stray away from the centre which you can very quickly do. Although you will see the real city as we have subsequently been told it is not very safe for tourists and we were certainly getting looks that made my husband in particular feel uncomfortable.
To sum it up this was booked as the holiday of a lifetime. Trouble is we now want another one, so I guess the saving has to start right away. We will return not only to the stunning sland that is St Lucia but also to the Rendezvous.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank caromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been travelling to the Carribean for 17 years now and this was our third visit to St Lucia. We have recently returned from our first visit to the Rendezvous resort. From the moment we arrived it was a most relaxing and enjoyable stay.
We were met on arrival and taken to the lounge/bar area where we were given a drink (choice of fruit or alcohol) and gave our details. Very shortly thereafter we were taken to our room, a garden view (220) with views from the balcony across the garden to the sea. The room had been renovated to a very high standard, was very bright, airey and most importantly very clean. Coffee and tea making facilities were in the room and as soon as requested fresh milk was provided which we kept in the room fridge. Thereafter the milk was replenished by the staff without asking - a very nice touch. The bed was probably the most comfortable we have had in a hotel.
The beaches (there are two) were always well kept. Every morning early on a young man raked and cleared the sand. On one occasion we had 24 hours of heavy rain and the morning after one beach was covered in debris swept down the nearby river, the hotel staff worked tirelessly and by the end of the day there was no sign of anything.
All the staff from every department were always there and happy to help. I had a go at archery which was fun and safe. I also had instruction on water skiing from the gents at the water sports who were very patient, very good at boat handling and I was successful.
The champagne bar was also a haven in the early evening before dinner and i am sure it would have been so after dinner with the piano but we were generally so tired from the relaxing day in the sun that we never made it ! perhaps next time.
The food in both restaurants was of a very good standard with differing themes during the week, we stayed 14 days and always found something different to try.
The day we left we could choose from using the resorts air conditioned changing area or as we did for a modest charge keep our room until 5 minutes before we left.
All in all a great 2 weeks. Yes it did rain nearly every day but apart from as mentioned above the rain was generally short lived or during the night and it is the 'wet season' which keeps the island green

Room Tip: Garden view rooms on middle and top floors are likely to have a sea view (ours was 220).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chippy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at Rendezvous for a couple of weeks at the end of October. We were after relaxation, good food and some sun, and we got it all in spades...

The resort really is fantastic. The rooms are spacious, well laid out and very comfortable. The open plan dining area looks out towards a beautiful view of the beach. The food was always good, breakfast in particular, with specials each day (eggs benedict being my personal favourite).

The Trysting Place - the A La Carte restaurant - was superb. A different atmosphere to the main restaurant: inside, air-conditioned and normally with an unobtrusive guitarist playing away gently in the background.

We spent most of our time by the spa pool and its lazy river, and even here we didn't have to wait for anything as drinks waiters we always on hand to refresh cocktails and provide cold towels and ice pops from time to time.

The resort is beautiful, but the staff really make Rendezvous a treat. Every single member of staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Josie for coaching me to the archery tournament win (if anyone beats 990 let me know!)...

We hit the main pool, with its swim up bar normally late afternoon, after enjoying some sailing or tubing, then heading back to the lazy river when the volleyball kicked off.

The weather was perfect, and the hotel was not busy at all. It felt like we had the place to ourselves - apparently it gets busier from November, so the end of October was a great time to visit (though I know people who have been when the hotel is full and they said that never felt crowded - the benefits of a boutique hotel I guess).

Rendezvous offers more than enough activities to keep you occupied, but also offers more than enough places to escape and be by yourself - and just read and sleep in the sun, getting slowly wasted on Bay Watch cocktails...

Really recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I would struggle to find anything bad to say about this resort!

We returned from our two week honeymoon at the Rendezvous on Saturday 26th October - if only we could have stayed longer!

We arrived Friday 12th October (in terrential rain) and from arrival it was clear that this holiday was going to be relaxing. We were dropped off at the lobby by our taxi driver and asked to leave our luggage and take a seat. Within minutes we were escorted to the terrace bar (without our luggage) where we spent a few minutes seated again before someone came to hand us our resort information and key and escort us to our room, where our luggage was ready and waiting. We had booked a Luxury Beach Front Room and it was lovely - plenty of storage, clean, quite new, large bathroom. We received some gifts for our honeymoon and rose petals on the bed (a nice touch) and the night maid came to check that we had everything - on finding out that we did not have an umbrella and that the air con was leaking slightly she rushed off to have this resolved and to fetch us some fresh milk for our fridge, and it was all sorted within about 30 minutes. The view from the room onto the beach was fantastic and we never heard a peep from our neighbours so I'm guessing the walls are quite soundproof - though the doors are not so be prepared for the sound of sea and tree frogs! The beds are very comfortable and enormous so a good night's sleep was had every night, and rooms were made up daily, beds turned down every night.

The food was fantastic and by far the best I've ever experienced at a hotel resort. The buffet restaurant had a great variety of fresh salads, main courses and desserts for both lunch and dinner and there was plenty for breakfast. For all meals there is a chef's station for eggs/pancakes etc at breakfast and for the specials at lunch and dinner. My husband wanted to bring home the lady who cooked his breakfast for him and we met Julius, the head chef in the evenings, who was lovely! The Trysting place restaurant is from the same kitchen but the food has a lot more finesse than when you're piling it on yourself and there is a variety of excellent food that you don't get at the day-to-day restaurant. Would recommend at least one visit to it, if only for the atmosphere - it does feel like a different place! The Terrace Restaurant itself is open at the sides so you can look out onto the beach, which does let a few of the local birds in but they are all harmless and quite entertaining. At night, there is the occasional bat! There are snacks available most of the day if you can't wait between meals, in the coffee/tea room and at the pool bar. (Also worth noting that even with a gluten intolerance I neevr struggled to find something great to eat!)

Beach/pool facilities were fantastic and there was always somewhere to lie - there are a variety of sunbeds and shades on the beach, by the main pool, at the pool in the water garden (also slightly warmer than the main pool and has a hot tub) and at the lazy river. Service by the pools and on the beach was great if you didn't want to get up to go to the bar yourself. There are also either hot dogs or Nachos available daily at the pool bar.

Watersports are good and you don't have to sign-up early to get on any of them. We went windsurfing, water skiing, used the Hobie and the pedalo and even went on the rings, which was a lot of fun. They're all free. My husband also made use of the diving and was very impressed - apparently you don't even have to carry your own kit to the boat. He thoroughly enjoyed the free dives that he went on and also went on one of the paid dives to the marine park and hasn't stopped talking about the turtles and enormous crabs/lobster - I think he described it as like a scene from Finding Nemo... Would thoroughly recommend trying out anything you fancy!

Finally, this review wouldn't be complete without mention of the best thing about this resort - the staff! Everyone we met was friendly and incredibly helpful, from the cleaning staff, the waiters, chefs, bartenders, spa staff and activities staff. The attitude of everyone was great and we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The activities staff were always on hand to keep you entertained (but only if you wanted it!) with various games, bike and walking tours, archery, competitions, volleyball etc, and they even put on a few indoor games for the first day when it was raining. Clavi, Josie and Johanna have so much energy! Evening entertainment was limited but fun and decent, and if you're not interested anyway then there is also a Champagne bar with pianist.

Last thing - DO get out to see the island one way or another - St Lucia really is a stunning place and the people, history and culture are amazing. We went on the bike tour to Castries with Clavi, the Soufriere by Land and Sea trip (brilliant way to see everything) and the Segway tour in the North of the Island (I think my husband would rank this as equal to our wedding day in terms of enjoyment) and we took the helicopter back to the airport - do this if you can afford it as it's not only convenient but a breathtaking way to see the island.

Couldn't fault anything with the resort or the holiday as a whole and would recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxing week or two being spoiled in the Sun. We never go back to the same resort twice, but can honestly say that we will be back to the Rendezvous!

Thank-you Rendezvous!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are cheaper and smaller and are in the quieter part of the resort. Beach front roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We married on the beach at the Rendezvous in 2006 and decided to go back especially now they have invested so much in the infrastructure of the resort. We have never gone back anywhere before and were slightly worried that it would not live up to expectations.

I'm pleased to say that the Rendezvous team (many of whom we remembered from our previous visit) have maintained all of the good features and our worry was unfounded.

This is a remarkable resort in every way but one. Previous reviewers may not agree but the food quality is very hit and miss. Breakfast is adequate/good but Lunch and Dinner can be very unappetising. I had a toasted sandwich for lunch twice as there was nothing else edible .Also we had a pretty awful meal in the Trysting Place (the air conditioned a la carte) one night.

My point being 4/5 star resorts should be on the button with food and this is my only real area of contention.

Nonetheless I do recommend the Rendezvous, this is an ideal couples resort where the staff treat you as honoured house guests and most have a cheeky sense of humour. (Mini Me, Myra, Gloria and many others).

Room Tip: All rooms are good. You get what you pay for. Verandah suite rooms are excellant. Being ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We just arrived home today from what we can best describe as the best holiday we have ever had. What can I say...

Firstly, the staff. The staff are incredibly accommodating, helpful and friendly. They couldn't do enough for us. We have never experienced anything like this, they were extremely friendly and polite and we have been pampered to an inch of our lives. It literally was a week in paradise.

Secondly the food was amazing, we got to experience the food at Trysting Place and we also had dinner at the sister resort Lesport and their restaurant Tao was incredible. The champagne bar was a nice touch, the drinks on offer were not just local drinks but premium brand drinks like Grand Marnier, Smirnoff etc. were also on offer. The cocktails on offer in the pool bar were also a nice touch and the waiter service on the beach or even in the secret garden was excellent.

The accomodation was amazing, we stayed in the Verandah Suite and the air conditioned room did come in handy in the middle of the day when temperatures hit 30 degrees plus.

The activities on offer were excellent and the watersport centre did their very best to accomodate all the guests, we tried everything that was on offer from waterskiing to Scuba Diving. We even tried archery and did the bike tour to casries which was excellent.

The evening entertainment was excellent, they have a pianist every night in the piano bar and a guitarist in the Trysting restaurant every night who are very good, the evening entertainment in the Terrace bar which overlooks the Caribbean sea was also very good.

I would recommend this hotel to everybody from honeymooners to couples who want an amazing holiday.

We had an excellent time and I would definately go back.

Room Tip: The Verandah suites are air conditioned and really spacious, they are literally less than 50 paces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ilovesun907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
833 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing