We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic time at The Rendezvous”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic time at The Rendezvous”
Reviewed February 10, 2008

We have just come back from a one week stay at The Rendezvous and we could not fault it. It was my birthday and we got upgraded to an ocean view room which was kept immaculate by Marcia the room maid. We also got flowers fruit and champagne compliments of the hotel on my birthday.
The food at all meal times was delicious with plenty of variety.
The staff at the hotel worked hard and were very friendly and helpful.
We met some lovely people there. Special mention to Eve and Simon who we missed saying goodbye to at the airport when we arrived home.
We spent a day at Le sport the sister hotel which was well worth doing but we were glad to get back to the more friendly Rendezvous.
We went on a couple of trips to Pigeon Island and a catamaran trip and also into Castries and it was nice to see different parts of this beautiful island.
I could go on but I would only be repeating other positive reviews.
One word of warning don't forget to take mosquito spray.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank holly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,780
    504
    128
    49
    38
See reviews for
32
2,114
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
harpenden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

We stayed at the Rendezvous for 10 days. The resort fronts on to a public beach that is of excellent quality - locals do use it at the weekend, but this did not cause any problems. The resort is next to a graveyard and the country's second airport - to be honest, you don't really notice the graveyard and although there were quite a few planes taking off, they didnt bother us at all (no night flights). The food at the resort is very good - there is a buffet which was above average (different themes every night). Tthere is also a private restaurant, which serves better quality food than the buffet, but it gets booked up quick so best to book before you go or as soon as you arrive (you can book in there every night if you want; no extra cost). In the main, the staff are friendly but they do sometimes give the impression of being rushed in the restaurant (the resort was full when we stayed). The hotel also employs 6 co-ordinators who manage the daily activities - the co-ordinators are excellent and a credit to the hotel. I would suggest that most of the guests at the resort are aged between 45-65 and there are a lot of repeat visitors - the evening entertainment is generally tailored towads that audience. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. However, if you are a younger visitor, looking for a lively resort, The Rendezvous might not be for you.

The Rendezvouse is a sister hotel of le sport (20 min taxi ride). we went to le sport for dinner at The Tao - we were very impressed with the Le Sport resort, and the meal was excellent, however we did get the feeling that the atmosphere at Le Sport was not as friendly as The Rendezvous. Definitely worth a visit though - you can get a free day/night pass at reception.

  • Liked — co-ordinator activities
  • Disliked — table tennis table was broken!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank eastcommoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

We have just returned form a 6 night stay at the Rendezvous resort. We had originally booked a 7 night stay, but had to miss out on our first night as our airline provider cancelled out flight on the day of departure - The rendezvous were great about his and offered us a full refund for our first nights accommodation.

Our first impressions of the hotel were a little mixed as we were left to find our way to reception by our own means. We made our way through the tropical gardens and followed various windy paths until a holiday maker guided us through to reception.

We were shown to our luxury ocean front suite, which was on the first floor, the room itself was planet enough - The rooms could actually do with a little pleasant / modernisation as whilst the rooms were cleaned and well maintained the decor was a little 1980's. The bathroom was very large and clean, but again the marble floor and tiling along with the valence around the bath was a little dated.

The facilities at this report were very good. The gym is one of the best that I have ever seen at a Caribbean resort. The pools were both nice enough, I disagree with previous comments about the pool being 'dirty', as the only odd thing that we saw was the odd leaf / twigs. This is hardly surprising bearing in mind that the resort had vast tropical gardens!!! Gym and water classes were very good and varied, the other activities that wee had access to included putting competitions / archery classes / tennis / badminton sunset walks and water sports (all included in the all inclusive package).

The food at this resort was really outstanding. I find that the quality of food is usually compromised at all inclusive resorts - However, this is not the case at he Rendezvous. Breakfast consists of a buffet and hot breakfast items ordered to personal taste, they also have a buffest style theme every evening, again very good quality & variety of food. The food and the service at the Tysting restaurant was also exceptional, and in fact even better than the food that we had on the night out to the Charter house restaurant (Rodney Bay).

I cannot praise the staff at this report enough. I am not usually one for mingling with staff and must confess that I can be fussy and hard to please - However, the staff at this place were so genuinely friendly, charming polite and sincere that I cannot write a review without mentioning them. I am suspicious minded and originally thought that the staff were after tips.....but this is not the case as the resort actually asked that you do not tip (all all gratuities are included in the package).

I really don't know what the previous reviewer 'smallestbear is talking about', he seems to have literally taken the most extreme & worst photos that he could have taken. There were o shanty towns around the complex & definitely no building works......Yes there is a run way close to the airport & we found that there were about 6 planes that took off per day. The noise of the take off lasted for no longer than 30 seconds and it was actually interesting to look at something other than the clear blue St Lucian sky (!). The beach is formed of soft clean sand, no rocks' or pebbles & the sea on one side has a few small stones upon entry. There were a few locals that could be seen at the weekend, but they merrily play / swam on the beaches adjacent to that were the majority of holiday makers were. I was not once disturbed by any beach vendors or locals.

As I say the hotel staff cannot do enough for you....We even received a complimentary bottle of champagne & flowers form the resort staff on or anniversary which was a lovely gesture! As per my own confession I can be fussy & hard to please and find that I am often dubious / wary about hotel staff and their motives - However, this pace left us feeling truly relaxed, pampered and at ease..... We were reluctant to leave and envy anyone who has a holiday booked there!! Enjoy your stay!!!

  • Liked — great staff & food
  • Disliked — greeting on arrivel.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank LondonMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Have recently returned from Rendezvous Resort in St. Lucia and had a marvelous time. I am wondering why the previous review from “Smallestbe…’ took such a long time to post their review as they had travelled in September. However, I thought I would address a few points that they made.

It is true that when you arrive the front part of the hotel is not very exciting, however you soon get past that as the outside reception we received was very good. We were instantly greeted, given a hot towel to wash up with, and a nice cool drink. We were immediately taken to our hotel room (the bags followed 2 minutes later) and shown the room and verandah and how to work the in-room safe. Our registration card was in the room, and we were asked to fill it in at our convenience, and take it to the Reception office.

We had a Verandah Suite, which overlooked the lovely gardens – we could also see the ocean and one of the swimming pools. I found the quality of the room to be first rate, it was very clean, marble floors, freshly painted walls in a pretty colour, the 4 poster bed was freshly made up and flowers were placed in the room. The bathroom again had marble floor tiles and a 2 person glassed in shower, that had marvelous water pressure. Everything was super clean. They changed the towels and sheets every day.

The outside staircase leading up to our room was in good repair, and we tried a few other staircases which were also in good repair.

The 2 pools in the complex did look a little ‘tired’ but we did see people cleaning them on a regular basis. Since we are not pool people we never tried them. The gym area was the best we’ve ever seen in the Caribbean, clean with rubber floor tiles. The equipment looked to be in good order too. Again we never used it because we were on vacation.

The beach is not “white” sand, in fact it seemed a lot whiter than the sand in Rodney Bay, but it was very clean. If you visit in September to the Caribbean you are likely to get hurricanes, and therefore rougher water which brings in stones, shells and maybe makes the water seem cloudy. When the water was really calm, it was crystal clear, and then you got that beautiful turquoise colour.

As far as the beach is concerned, we walked its entire length and were not disappointed with it. Yes there is a cemetery not far from the resort, but its kind of a quiet place! We thought it looked nice with all the white headstones etc. and my husband took some photos. Malabar Beach is a public beach as are all beaches in St. Lucia – and yes the locals use the beach (mainly on Sundays) and yes they can be a bit noisy, but you know, its their island. We are only visiting. If the noise was too much for you, then you could use the pool and be away from the beach area. We had absolutely no problems with the locals, and with the security on the beach just by being there eliminated any problems. There are 2 areas of the beach, one by the swimming pool and the other outside the Terrace Restaurant. We also sat there, because the palapas were there for the shade. To get our drinks, we would put our flag up and the waiter would come and take our order and then return with the drinks. It’s a marvelous system, and works really well.

The Terrace Restaurant is open air with some fans – and while we were there the temperature was just fine. We never once felt too hot. With an open air restaurant you will get birds in, although mostly these are shooed away and the waitresses cleaned up the tables very quickly. Also, this restaurant has all the food covered up, with neat plastic tops that you twist around to open and get your food and then twist back so everything is protected from flies (which I never saw any) and birds. We really enjoyed the Terrace Restaurant and the food was exceptional. Tons of fresh fruit every morning. A different “theme” every night and lots of choices. The desserts were to die for. There is also the Trysting Place, for which you need reservations. This is an air conditioned restaurant, with lovely tables and chairs, fabulous food (the menu is changed twice a week) and quiet live music. We ate there twice, and can thoroughly recommend it. There is also 4 pm tea time, with sandwiches and cakes, tea and coffee. You will never go hungry or thirsty here.

The resort is very close to the domestic airport, but surprisingly it was never a bother. Several planes took off during the daytime, but you rarely heard them for more than a minute. The previous review said “up to 3 planes per minute took off” hm…. More like 3 an hour, if that. Anyhow, the only really loud plane I heard happened to be a Fed Ex plane.!!!!

The equipment in the watersports area was great, we took out a catamaran and had a great time. If you don’t know how to sail, they will teach you first. You also get to go waterskiing – which normally is an extra at most resorts, also tubing and your first diving class and dive is included.. There are 2 tennis courts (which are lit) with a pro and there is archery and golf lessons too.

There is some construction going on outside the back of the resort – but it really wasn’t a problem. We certainly couldn’t hear it from our room. If your room was closer to the construction you might hear it, but since they didn’t start until at least 8 am it wouldn’t be a problem, as most people are at breakfast by that time.

We never had any problems with bugs, although they did come through and fog the gardens once during our visit.

Castries is not far away, and its quite safe to take a local bus into town. The markets are a great way to shop or just look. St. Lucian’s are very friendly people. If you want to take duty free goods home, its best to get them in Castries (they have 2 duty free shopping plazas) as there is not the greatest selection at the airport. In fact the liquor store was closed at the airport when we left.

Well, that’s my review. Would I go there again – you betcha. Would I recommend this resort – absolutely.

If anyone has any questions that I haven’t covered, please feel free to email.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
32 Thank lindylou50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Rendezvous. We stayed in one of the oceanfront rooms and cannot speak highly enough about the service we received. Sheets and towels were changed daily and the room was cleaned thoroughly everyday. The beach was beautiful and you only had to raise a red flag and people came to serve you drinks!

At weekends local families visited the beach (as all beaches in St Lucia are public) but how anyone can complain about local people using their own beaches is beyond me.

The Trysting restaurant was excellent and we have no complaints about the food at all. Afternoon tea was excellent and better than at other 4 star hotels we have stayed at in the Caribbean.

The decor of the public areas is a little tired and I understand that refurbishment is now being planned.

The staff cannot do enough for you and I would recommend this hotel. We have stayed at a number of 4 star hotels in the Caribbean and believe this hotel offers real value for money.

Barbara Griggs

  • Liked — The service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank millie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We stayed at the Rendezvous Hotel from Tuesday 11th September to Tuesday 25th September 2007 for our honeymoon. From the moment we pulled up to the entrance of the complex our hearts sank as even the tiled wall area's each side of the driveway which showed the "Rendezvous" logo, was dirty, old, tatty & with cracked tiles, little did we know, the whole complex was going to be the same!

I do not agree that this hotel should be sold as a four star complex, this is more like a very tatty 3 star at best!

We had paid for a garden view room & were expecting “Garden View rooms overlook the carefully tended tropical gardens, which are dotted with hammocks for two”. The view from our room was certainly not as described & in fact overlooked the roof of the restaurant/bar area which was unsightly! At the entrance into our garden view room at the front, we overlooked the lobby of the hotel, what we were not expecting was a terrible view of a building site, which was currently in use & very noisy, sometimes starting from around 8am in the morning.

I also found the quality in the room poor considering the four star rating of the hotel, for example the bathroom, the bath looked like it needed a good clean & was marked, also the grouting was dirty.

We spoke to the holiday rep the next morning, she then spoke to the hotel about changing our room, we were offered an alternative room, also a garden view room, however, on inspection, the room was in worse condition than what we were already staying in, no further from the building site & with a horrendous smell of damp, therefore, we stayed where we were!

Other area’s of the hotel were also poorly maintained & in need of repair, this included the outdoor staircase leading up to our room.

There were 2 pools in the complex, they were clearly not maintained & did not look clean, in fact I do not believe they were cleaned in the whole time we were there! Even after tropical storms, when the leaves from the tree's hanging over the pools floated on the water!

The beach was not the “White Sand Beach” that had been promised. In fact the sand was yellow & there was an array of pebbles & rocks. Also the water was not the “Clear Turquoise” we had been advised & it was very rocky when entering the water. We spoke to reception about the beach & they said “You do not come to St Lucia for white sandy beaches, you need to go to Barbados or Antigua for that”.

We also were extremely disappointed with the actual surroundings of the beach, on the beach was the watersports hut & also a small boutique shop selling souveniers, next to these, right on the beach, was debris & behind was what appeared to be a shanty houses.

In additon, just a short distance from the small boutique shop was St Lucia’s cemetary which we were not informed about & clearly more than marred the beach surroundings.

We specifically chose to go to an adults only resort (which the Rendezvous is sold as), being on our honeymoon, we didn’t want children running round the complex & we wanted peace & quiet whilst we were trying to relax on the beach.

What we were not informed of is that Malabar beach on our complex was in fact a public beach & on weekends & national holidays, the local people are free to use the beach. The beach was swarmed with local adults & children on these days & we were then surrounded by a very high noise level whilst the children played on the beach & in the water & the adults, played football & cricket. Also the local people brought their pets to the beach, so there were dogs running around the beach & complex. There was in fact one day, children riding horses up & down the beach, whilst fellow holiday makers were trying to dodge them to get in & out of the water!

The Terrace Restaurant, we were advised was fully air-condition, in fact the restauant was not air conditioned & only had a small number of ceiling fans, which made it very uncomfortable when eating due to the high temperature & humidity even at night. In addition, there were cats wondering around the restaurant, sitting next to the tables, begging for food & birds flying through the restaurant & drinking water from the glasses on the tables & eating the food from the plates which I am sure is a total breach of health & safety.

We were not told at any point that the complex is located next to the domestic airport, in fact the landing strip was only a approximately a hundred meters from the hotel & this was not only used by small aircraft & helicopters, but also large passenger planes & jet carriers, all of which were flying extremely close to the complex as coming in to land or taking off & were extremely noisy & disturbing. There were a large number of flights throughout the day & night (the middle of the night & very early morning, not just the evening), sometimes up to 3 planes per minute, so there was not much chance of sleep or sunbathing without being disturbed!

We also had an issue with regards to the “All Inclusive” aspect of the hotel, on arriving, an invoice was left in our room to the value of $1725 USD, we were advised that the “Compulsory All Inclusive to Tour Op, Two for One Special” had only included our food & drinks for the first week of our holiday & that we had to pay the supplimentary invoice for our second week of food & drink.

Fortunately, I had been advised by another holiday company in advance of booking to be aware of this & to have it confirmed by the agent that it was fully inclusive for 14 nights. I had asked the question on booking & was advised the full 14 nights were covered, so there was nothing to worry about. To be sure I had insisted a note be made on our booking confirmation under “Comments” to say:

“Please note this is for 14 nights all-inclusive with no additional local charges”

Without this statement on my booking confirmation, we would have had to pay the supplimentary invoice. Other people staying at the hotel were not so fortunate.

In no way was our holiday “the luxury holiday of our dreams” or “the perfect tropical holiday” & it definitely did not “exceed our expections”, it did not even meet our expectations.

The general standard of the whole complex, we felt was extremely poor & is clearly not deserving of the four star rating that it has been given. The hotel in general was tatty & in need of maintenance & the surrounding area’s, like the building site, the shanty houses, the cemetary etc only added to the massive disappointment of the whole complex.

This holiday was our honeymoon & a once in a lifetime trip, we were more than devestated as we will never get the chance to re-live our honeymoon & in our minds our honeymoon has been ruined.

We felt the holiday we were sold was in no way a representation of the holiday we actually had & paid for. I would not recommend to anyway to stay at the Rendezvous & I canot understand why there are any good reviews about this complex & the bad reviews given are a true representation of the complex. We paid a lot of money for this holiday & I would not want anyone to have the same bad experience we did. We were not the only one's who felt like this, everyone we spoke to at the time we were there felt the same & I only wished they had voiced their views on here.

I wanted to air my view's to prevent people from making the same mistake, please please please, spend your well earned money elsewhere!

Sarah & Stuart Buckwell

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — The complex as a whole!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
23 Thank Smallestbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

The Rendezvous surpassed our expectations in terms of quality of food, location, facilities and friendliness of staff. We had an oceanfront room which literally opened onto the sand with a lovely terrace with hammock and chairs. The only downsides were tired 1980s decor which is definitely NOT seaside chic and the fact that the hotel is at the end of a runway. A lovely stay overall.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ClaudiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing