We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
Reviewed November 28, 2006

My family and I just returned from Thanksgiving vacation at WJL. We had a wonderful time and loved windjammer. Many things that I loved but just a few negatives

Positives
WJL is a beautiful, well maintained resort. Villas are spacious and well appointed you have to get used to the open air nature of it though. living space and dining rooms are windowless with all the tropical breezes associated with that. Little to NO bugs though which was a pleasant surprize. Little black birds however join you and I didn't mind that though some might. We got uppped graded to a larger Villa with a plunge pool and the villa was bigger than my home. I would have liked to have a bathroom on the same level as living space but they were all down with bedroooms but that is nit picking. Plunge pool was a great addition and was serviced everyday. Housekeeping was great clean and turn down service everyday. Maintenance was there quickly as needed. Food was very good We particualrly enjoyed Upper deck but ate in our villa most nights So i cant critique all the restaurants. Staff was very pleasant and attentive. St Lucians seem to be very friendly and polite. More so than many islands I have visited. Beautiful views from the entire resort and villas A little more rain this week than I have experience most years this week. Beach staff very nice got the kids doing little activities to have fun All good

Negatives

It is not a complaint against WJL but St Lucia is NOT a coral based island. SO therefore there are not the white sand beaches and crystal clear blue water that you will find elsewhere ie St Martin, Cayman so therefore not a place to snorkel and scuba We had a car and as we traveled the island there were not public beaches to stop and snorkel. When we went on Catamoran and snorkelled Anse Cachon. It was weak at best So if you are looking for snorkeling this isn't the place.
The other negative would be that the layout of the WJ with all the villa's on the hill side requires taking a shuttle all the time. Shuttles were very efficient usually there within minutes but a couple of times it took a while. But I could have lived without getting in and out of these shuttle up and down the hills to your villa. Dont forget something in your room. As a note though It was amazing to see these drivers navigate the hills winding in ad out and around. The way they drove in reverse was impressive. Shopping in Soufreire was nothing to get excited about as was most of the other island shopping that we got to. Souvenier vendors were very aggressive at destinations

Overall a very good time lovely resort dont know that I would return to St Lucia. If I returned to ST Lucia would definately stay at Windjammer

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drjoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,596
    711
    206
    96
    44
See reviews for
891
1,068
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2006

just got back from the Windjammer Landing resort. It is a beautiful resort. You do get a great workout from climbing up to your villa each day. My boyfriend and I did not mind it since we like to work out, but for some of the villa locations you definately need a shuttle to and from.

Our workouts each morning were to climb to the top, beautiful views. We stayed probably in the cheapest room with no pool and it was beautiful. 2 balconies, big size room, walkin closet etc. It does have regular USA outlets in case anyone was wondering which was great.

The beach is nice and the people are pretty much friendly some didnt really try that hard and there seemed to be 2 reservation desks we didnt know what either one did? We did not do all inclusive and instead bought food at a local grocery store in Rodney bay $10 cab ride cheap groceries and stocked them in our frigerator in the room. Saved us a ton of money and only ate out at night at the resort restaurant mainly jammers on the beach pretty good food and or went into town. The GROS ISLET jump up on Friday night was fun great local food.

I highly recommend DAL's (tuna and pees in a crossiant type thing) The chicken roti's were okay they have potatos in them or you can get veggie. It is so hard to get around the island, we wanted to rent a car, but there are no street signs, its on the right hand side of the road, crazy drivers, very bumpy. So we did however get a great deal by Aldrin (taxi guy) for $70 each we took a tour of the whole island about a 7 hour trip. Started at Pigeon bay up north down to the Piton volcanos at the southern end.

We ended up at Ladera Resort restaurant overlooking the volcanos so beautiful go and take pictures. My favorite place was Marigot bay, gorgeous place. If I ever come back I would stay here. We had a great time! Hope you enjoy your stay as well.

  • Liked — I loved the meditterarn look and feel of the resort very pretty felt like I was in Europe
  • Disliked — The hike up and down the mountain
  • Tips/Secrets — hard to get around island, taxi's expensive wouldnt suggest renting a car unless you want to get lost
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jillerkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2006

We just returned from a week long stay at the Windjammer Landing in St. Lucia. This was the first trip to the Caribbean for myself and my boyfriend. The Windjammer was an overall good place to stay, and for our first trip to the Caribbean all of our needs were met and the staff was very helpful. The setting was beautiful and the resort was very clean. We would probably not return to the Windjammer because of a few issues and the fact that it is very much geared towards families with children, plus we want to try other places in the Caribbean.

One of the unique aspects of the Windjammer are the individual villas. You really feel like you have privacy, with your own entrance. Our room had a large terrace and nice amenities, but could have used more outdoor lighting as we almost tripped up and down the stairs a few times in the beginning of our stay. Our villa was luckily located close to the beach and restaurants, so we could walk down and not have to rely on the shuttles. We loved our villa the first 3 nights we were there, until a large family moved in to the villa next door. There was no insulation between the two, so you can virtually hear all conversations. Our little paradise was dampened due to the noise factors. We inquired about switching villas but there were none available. Also, because our villa was closer to the resort, the music playing at the bar at night was rather loud.

The restaurants were all pretty good, though if you are staying more than a week you are quickly going to get bored. Some were better and more formal than others. The nice part was each restaurant has a very different ambience and menu so you feel like there is a wide variety. However, the quality was better at some of the restaurants than others. The Jammers restaurant and Dragonfly were the better ones. The breakfast was probably the best and most reliable meal of the day. If you get the all inclusive it makes it worth while to try all the restaurants.

The beach itself at the Windjammer was average. There was absolutely no visibility to snorkel at the beach, not even at the place they take you for daily snorkel trips. To really snorkel we took day trips booked through the hotel to Anse Chastenet and Anse Cochon, where you could see lots of fish. The water near the Windjammer is not very clear and the sand itself is not very smooth. The beach gets quite crowded with families so we tried to go further down the beach where it was a little more private and quiet. The waiters at the Embers club were very nice and attentive. Loud music of various types (not always good) played throughout the day, which was sometimes annoying when we just wanted to relax. The best part about the beach were the breathtaking views. There was also a good variety of watersports, and we witnessed three weddings in one week.

The tours desk was very helpful in booking the tours. This was essential to us feeling like we got the full St. Lucia experience. The staff was very nice and eager to accomodate, though at times it seemed that they were very busy and service could be slow.

Overall the Windjammer is a very nice resort full of lots of activities for all ages. It is very much geared to families and children, and would be a great place to have a family reunion. The staff was very nice and it was professionally run. I recommend the Windjammer resort, but if you are looking for some real peace and quiet, then maybe this is not the place to stay.

  • Liked — Villas, architecture, views
  • Disliked — Noisy neighbors, too many annoying "resort" activities, bad music
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go if you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway. There are tons of kids and sometimes they play really loud cheesy music.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chewy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2006

The Windjammer Landing resort is a nice retreat, set into the hills surrounding a cove north of Castries. The quality of construction and setting of the resort is top-notch, and the views out over the water and on to Castries across the bay are pretty both day and night.

It also serves as a nice jumping off point for activities on the north side of the island. We had easy access to golf at St. Lucia Golf & Country Club (a respectable layout, if a little unforgiving...don't take your good balls, and be ready to buy a bag of Pro V1s from the groundskeepers who make their secondary income from scavanging for the spheres) and the restaurants and activities of Rodney Bay are just a short drive. (You MUST eat at The Edge in Rodney Bay...the food is superb on every level.) Pigeon Island is just a skip away as well, and a nice spot for a few hours of history and scenic beauty.

The food quality in the four restaurants is quite good, although for dinner our favorite was Papa Don's italian, and for lunch you can't go wrong with the Beachburger from Embers. The wait staff is somewhat hit-or-miss in their level of efficiency and attentiveness, but if you're persistent you can always get what you need.

This is true of the management staff as well. We booked through Expedia, and the listing on that site had wrong information as to which rooms came equipped with a king bed. Because of this confusion, the resort upgraded our room to a villa with a king bed at no extra charge (although it took some cajoling...again, be persistent and pleasant and you can usually get what you want).

Major drawbacks: take heed from all the other reviews about the hillside room locations. This resort is tucked up into a very steep hill, and you'll spend a lot of time on shuttles getting carted back and forth to your room. We were in one of the lowest villas so we could walk it in about 5 minutes, but we definitely got our exercise!

Also, the water is quite warm and there are free watersports at the beach, but this particular cove doesn't have the crystalline blue water you expect from the Caribbean. Other spots on the island do, but for some reason not here.

If you want to see more parts of the island, being in the north side will require some patience. We rented a 4WD car for the week and that made us mobile, but the driving is on the left and the roads are marginal at best, so caution is required. And driving up and down the windy-twisty-pot holed roads is a challange; from Castries to Souffriere is only 28 miles, but they are hard earned and it takes an hour and a half.

Recommendation: Windjammer Landing is as good a place as any if you want to relax on a beach all day, not go very far for food and drink and want a casual ambience. If you want more adventure or to see other things on the island, we would recommend spending half your trip up in the north part, and then another half at one of the resorts by Souffriere where the scenery is even more spectacular, the water is clear for diving, and there is a different sense of adventure.

  • Liked — Nice decor in villas and beautiful ocean view
  • Disliked — hillside location made beach access cumbersom
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan half a week here, then another half somewhere in the south part of the island
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank Jeff_S_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

We stayed at Windjammer Landing for 11 nights in October 2006. This was our second stay at Windjammer, the first being in 2003 and it was just as great the second time around....
We came both times through an RCI connection and both times were treated wonderfully by everyone and were accomodated whenever possible with all of our requests....I cannot say it enough that the staff at windjammer from the top to the bottom convey verbally AND demonstrate through their actions a strong desire and genuine concern for their guests' satisfaction. Everyone went out of their way to accomodate...
We were reserved into a two bedroom two bath villa with a plunge pool. It was a lovely villa with three levels and the master bedroom upstairs and the second bedroom downstairs from the main level, but neither of the two bathrooms were on the main level. Because of and injury just before our trip, my wife had difficulty and pain climbing the stairs to use either of the bathrooms, so we requested a villa change....Heather and Beverly in the reservations department were so great and so helpful and took us around to see several available villas and actually ended up upgrading us to a beautiful villa with the bathrooms all on the same level.....We were SO VERY APPRECIATIVE!!.....Thanks also to Helen our ambassador, Dawn and Clary at the front desk, Ronny and Madaline in management and a BIG thank you to LAWRENCE our shuttle driver who went above and beyond and showed us such great kindness throughout our stay.
I cannot say enough about the incredible beauty of the resort and the island of St. Lucia in general....We have travelled to many beautiful places in the caribbean and the pacific, tropical islands and resorts, and Windjammer is the most beautiful.....What makes Windjammer unique among timeshare resorts is the fact that you have all the services of a fine hotel....Come on....here you have TWICE daily maid service including turn down service.....Show me that at a time share resort....you're lucky to get more than once a week maid service at most time share resorts!....Room service was wonderful and if you are on the all inclusive plan (optional for most guests....but I would highly recommend it as the a la carte charges are quite high) the room service charge was only about $7 US to deliver and set up your meal in your villa at your dining room table or on your deck at the table there....WOW!!!!....Needless to say with the INCREDIBLE VIEWS from our villa, the beauty all around and the low service charge for room service (the food for room service is included on the 'all inclusive plan') we had many meals right in our villa.....But we did eat at all of the restaurants for dinner at least two or three times each (Jammers, Upper Deck, Dragonfly and Papa Don's) and lunch at Jammers and Embers at least two times each....Breakfast buffet every morning (you could order off the menu or have breakfast room service) at Dragonfly was terrific!! The restaurants were all very good and the quality of the food was very good.....the beef was better than I've had at other all inclusive resorts and definitly better than in Mexico or Jamaica...No complaints at all about the food...

Didn't use the water sports this time but enjoyed them with our first visit in 2003.

Didn't use the pools as we had our own at the villa but they looked to be well kept up and very clean....Fewer kids at the pool by Popa Don's.....Only saw one wedding going on while we were there but no disruptions to us.....Time share people were pleasant and not high pressure.....

The Beach was very nice and very well kept up by the staff....Water was crystal clear....Not much surf and VERY CALM....Almost like a pool....but great for and safe for kids....Great bar/food service on the beach.

We did not find it much of a problem with insects/mosquitos etc....never used sprays or other measures and didn't feel we needed it....May just be the time of year....I like the open air concept but would have preferred screened in main areas for bird control when you're eating....Not hard to deal with though, once you get used to it.....AC in bedrooms worked well and was a must.....

It was just such a terrific and relaxing vacation with everything I was looking for: Privacy, Beauty, Peace and Quiet when I wanted it, Great Food, Good Value and MOST OF ALL WONDERFUL STAFF WHO TRULY CARED ABOUT THEIR GUESTS......"HAT'S OFF" to Windjammer Landing!!!!.....We have already booked our next return visit and can't wait to come back.

I could go on and on but hope this has been helpful.

  • Liked — Villa and views.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — No.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank AGKKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2006

I believe the greatest bit of St Lucia is the people. The most friendly we have encountered across all the Caribeban islands we have visited.

The Hotel is OK but I found the distance from our room to the beach a bit of a chore. OK walking down but you really do need the shuttle going back up.

Food was average, with Papa Dons [Italian] scoring the lowest marks. Not Italian food as we know it in the UK; or indeed in Italy.

The Dragonfly restaurant was too complicated with competing flavours. The best was either Jammers or the Upper Deck where the palate is not confined by fancy mixtures of sauces and herbs that do not go together.
Service was great; I have to mention Ben, Benson, Sandy and Simeon who made the Upper Deck / beach entertainment great fun. Plus Dawn at Reception who moved us because we were troubled by cockroaches. This appears a problem for others giving trip advisor feedback.

Also the beach sports both non motorised and motorised were good with a range of fun packages.
A great hotel that could be better especially some of the rooms that do need a makeover.

Our holiday was also spoilt by the building works currently taking place which we were not informed of.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The room locations
  • Tips/Secrets — Check where your room is on the site before you go as it covers a lot of ground. Villas further away from the central facilities are isolated
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank mrmikeprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

My wife and I stayed at this resort for seven days back in May 2006. It was our second visit within six months. We stayed in a One Bedroom Villa with Plunge Pool at the top of the hill.

1. The Villa alone was worth every penny. It had every amenity and was approximately 1100 sq ft in size with double hung french doors in the Living Room that opened to the Terrace and plunge pool. It had A/C thoughout but we did not need it most of the time. Shuttle service up and down the hill was prompt 99% of the time.
2. The food was good to excellent at all the restaurants. We enjoyed Papa Dons and Dragon Fly equally.
3. The Pools were clean but the main one was mainly used by children. The upper pool was rarely used.
4. The Beach was nice and kept clean each day. Water temperature was usually in the 70's. There was no problem getting a lounge chair anytime of the day.
5. Check In was uneventful and took about 20 to 30 minutes. There was a mix up in that I requested to be on the All Inclusive plan. But when we checked out we were in formed that we had not been placed on the AI plan. No arm no foul this time in that the amount was the around the same as if we were on the AI plan.
6.One negative area was the noise generated by the daily construction occuring just above the beach. It seems that six or so Villas had to be leveled due to the heavy rains earlier in the year. I just wished they would have been forth coming with that information when I was scheduling this trip. It would have made no difference but I would have liked to knkown in advance.

All in all I would rate this resort as one of the best on the island and plan on returning yearly.

  • Liked — The Villa with Plunge Pool with fantastic view
  • Disliked — The check in.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank Ready2Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,124 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
911 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, West Indies, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing