We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Harmony Suites(Castries)(Great Value!)
$85
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Vega(Castries)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Beach Cottages(Castries)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel Jou Hotel(Castries)(Great Value!)
$224
$180
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Regency La Toc(Castries)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,843)
Filter reviews
2,843 results
Traveler rating
1,728
746
221
101
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,728
746
221
101
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspapa donsupper deckplunge poolkids cluball inclusive planhibiscus suiterodney bayjammers bartime sharebanana boatdragonfly restaurantdragon flywater sportsall inclusive optionshuttle servicesea urchinsst lucia
Filter
Updating list...
2,642 - 2,647 of 2,843 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Windjammer Oct 21- Oct 28,2005 .We did not know what to expect having never travelled and having won this vacation so to say we were pleased is an understatement!From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were blown away !The resort is beautiful rivalled only by all the staff that are always pleasant and always smiling , we were so comfortable and felt so welcomed . The staff are gracious and kind , saying good bye was difficult.We had villa 148 ,WOW, a one bedroom with a private terrace and jacuzzi , three levels total, with the bedroom on the bottom floor, sleeping was easy with the air conditioner in the bedroom . The birds looked for breakfast on the terrace every morning and I was happy to accommodate . We had all inclusive, I would highly recommend going this way,we didn't want for anything.The restaurants are all excellant,the service is not slow,it is well timed and perfect.I could go on for pages but suffice it to say we had a wonderfully amazing week and only hope to be able to return at some point in the next few years.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank nicey522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2005

This was not our first choice. We were transferred here by our travel agents after the resort that we had booked was sold...and closed! We were not happy at first. However, it turned out to be a dream vacation from the moment we arrived. We were welcomed with a drink and a cool towel by Dawn, our lovely "Ambassador," whose job it was to oversee our entire stay. This is a luxury resort with a variety of fabulous condo-style villas perched on a hill. Every one has an incredible ocean view. We were in an older style one-bedroom villa with plunge pool where only the bedroom was air-conditioned. There are mosquitoes at dusk, so you really do not have use of the large villa 24/7. It didn't matter! The service is the best. Yes, you do have to wait longer (10 - 15 min) for the shuttles at dinner time, but during the day they appear moments after you call. Everything is immaculate. The restaurants are each delightfully appointed and unique. Chef Bobo is unbelievable. We even photographed the amazingly artistic and delicious desserts; they were so special. Windjammer Landing seems to have the best beach on St. Lucia. Don't miss the catamaran tour. There's so much to tell but...Just go!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank CaptSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Whitman, MA
19
Reviewed October 20, 2005

We just spent 5 nights at the Windjammer and had the absolute time of our lives. The employees are incredible, the views from the resort are magnificent. I didn't want to leave St. Lucia I would return to the Windjammer no questions asked. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa w/plunge pool. I can not say enough about this resort, if you want to go on a vacation and truly relax this is the place to be. I am looking forward to one day returning there and meeting up again w/all the great people we met.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
110
Reviewed October 20, 2005

This is an amazing location, the views are truly fantastic and the staff are really friendly and try very hard to help but....
... there are plenty of problems, it takes an age to get things fixed (often because it takes so many attempts) and finding someone to make things happen rather than just make lots of promises can be difficult. It looks like a lot of Villas are being refurbished, make sure that you get one which has been updated because the old ones are very tired and things don't work very well. If you need to see the manager make sure you book well in advance because he is never around when you need him and don't believe it when his staff tell you he will contact you because he wont.
A shame really because this place has got so much going for it and is full of well meaning people who try so hard to please; if only they could do what they promise.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2005

My husband and I spent the last 3 nights, Oct 1-4)of a 6 night stay on St. Lucia at the Windjammer. (The first three were at the Sandals Grande.) We were very impressed with the Windjammer. We had a one bedroom villa (#135). We were delighted with our villa complete with kitchen, living room, bedroom (comfortable bed and pillows), bathroom (with only cool water - no need for hot)and private balcony. We could see Martinique from the balcony. Little birds came right up on the deck to check us out.

At the Sandals Grande, we had birds just waiting for us to get up before they went for our leftovers on the plate. At Windjammer, during breakfast each morning, an employee set out a bird's buffet of leftover breads on a platform behind the restaurant. It kept alot of the birds occupied elsewhere while we ate. We still had a few come greet us at our table when we ate breakfast on the porch of the Dragonfly.

Yes, there are lots of steps to the villa and it definitely would not be a resort for a handicapped person. But, we walked down and UP to our room using the walk as our exercise for the day.

We were amazed at how quiet it was. I think the resort was less than half full. We had no problem getting reservations at any of the restaurants. In fact, the night we dined at Dragonfly, we were the only ones there for at least 20 minutes. All the restaurants are open air. The temperature was in the low 80's. Without a breeze blowing, it was warm. The food at all the reservation restaurants was good, but my favorite was Papa Don's. I had their special seafood in alfredo sauce over penne pasta - magnificent. The desserts were fantastic. Although I was always full, I could not pass up the chocolate. We were very grateful we were on the all inclusive option as the meals are not cheap. Our 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and one dessert (we took it to go and split it when we were a little less stuffed) with tea to drink at Dragonfly was over $130 US!Oh, for lunch at Jammers, I had the chicken roti, different, but very good! Embers was not open while we were there due to the low occupancy rate.

Entertainment was limited. We did have live music in the evenings provided by a duet or trio. But, we are not much for nightlife, instead prefering to return to our room to read or whatever.

We were the only ones on the 11 am snorkeling trip. For our afternoon dive (not on the inclusive plan), we had 8 plus 2 dive masters (Donovan and Eget). The highlight of the dive was seeing an octopus "walk" across the sand on two "legs". The visibility was not very good - maybe 25 feet.

We enjoyed the optional day sail on the Barq Unicorn (the ship Henrietta from Pirates of the Caribbean) from Rodney Bay to Soufriere with a side tour to the volcano and a waterfall. It was a long sail. We do not drink, so the people getting drunk on the rum punch were a bit obnoxious. We enjoyed the stop to swim and snorkel on the way back to Rodney Bay.

The Windjammer is set back off the main road on a narrow, potholed street. No shops or restaurants were within walking distance. That was another good reason for an all inclusive plan. There are two gift shops, a jewelry store and a small convenience store at the resort.

We did not go into any of the pools, spending our time instead in the beautiful Caribbean water.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. At the restaurants, the service was slow. That may just be the way of the island. We had no where to get in a hurry, so it didn't matter much.

We were on the island at a time when the airport in Castries was closed for resurfacing. So, we flew in and out of Hewanorra, a 1 1/2 hr, $80 one way cab ride away. We did find another couple going to the airport at the same time and were able to share a cab with them. Driving (or riding for that matter) can be a harrowing experience. The roads are narrow and very twisted with lots of hairpin turns. We did see alot of the island on the taxi rides.

We recommend the Windjammer Landings very highly. And, we can't say enough good things about the island of St. Lucia. We want to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank agentaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews