We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our own private villa in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Austin TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Our own private villa in paradise”
Reviewed October 6, 2005

My husband and I spent the last 3 nights, Oct 1-4)of a 6 night stay on St. Lucia at the Windjammer. (The first three were at the Sandals Grande.) We were very impressed with the Windjammer. We had a one bedroom villa (#135). We were delighted with our villa complete with kitchen, living room, bedroom (comfortable bed and pillows), bathroom (with only cool water - no need for hot)and private balcony. We could see Martinique from the balcony. Little birds came right up on the deck to check us out.

At the Sandals Grande, we had birds just waiting for us to get up before they went for our leftovers on the plate. At Windjammer, during breakfast each morning, an employee set out a bird's buffet of leftover breads on a platform behind the restaurant. It kept alot of the birds occupied elsewhere while we ate. We still had a few come greet us at our table when we ate breakfast on the porch of the Dragonfly.

Yes, there are lots of steps to the villa and it definitely would not be a resort for a handicapped person. But, we walked down and UP to our room using the walk as our exercise for the day.

We were amazed at how quiet it was. I think the resort was less than half full. We had no problem getting reservations at any of the restaurants. In fact, the night we dined at Dragonfly, we were the only ones there for at least 20 minutes. All the restaurants are open air. The temperature was in the low 80's. Without a breeze blowing, it was warm. The food at all the reservation restaurants was good, but my favorite was Papa Don's. I had their special seafood in alfredo sauce over penne pasta - magnificent. The desserts were fantastic. Although I was always full, I could not pass up the chocolate. We were very grateful we were on the all inclusive option as the meals are not cheap. Our 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and one dessert (we took it to go and split it when we were a little less stuffed) with tea to drink at Dragonfly was over $130 US!Oh, for lunch at Jammers, I had the chicken roti, different, but very good! Embers was not open while we were there due to the low occupancy rate.

Entertainment was limited. We did have live music in the evenings provided by a duet or trio. But, we are not much for nightlife, instead prefering to return to our room to read or whatever.

We were the only ones on the 11 am snorkeling trip. For our afternoon dive (not on the inclusive plan), we had 8 plus 2 dive masters (Donovan and Eget). The highlight of the dive was seeing an octopus "walk" across the sand on two "legs". The visibility was not very good - maybe 25 feet.

We enjoyed the optional day sail on the Barq Unicorn (the ship Henrietta from Pirates of the Caribbean) from Rodney Bay to Soufriere with a side tour to the volcano and a waterfall. It was a long sail. We do not drink, so the people getting drunk on the rum punch were a bit obnoxious. We enjoyed the stop to swim and snorkel on the way back to Rodney Bay.

The Windjammer is set back off the main road on a narrow, potholed street. No shops or restaurants were within walking distance. That was another good reason for an all inclusive plan. There are two gift shops, a jewelry store and a small convenience store at the resort.

We did not go into any of the pools, spending our time instead in the beautiful Caribbean water.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. At the restaurants, the service was slow. That may just be the way of the island. We had no where to get in a hurry, so it didn't matter much.

We were on the island at a time when the airport in Castries was closed for resurfacing. So, we flew in and out of Hewanorra, a 1 1/2 hr, $80 one way cab ride away. We did find another couple going to the airport at the same time and were able to share a cab with them. Driving (or riding for that matter) can be a harrowing experience. The roads are narrow and very twisted with lots of hairpin turns. We did see alot of the island on the taxi rides.

We recommend the Windjammer Landings very highly. And, we can't say enough good things about the island of St. Lucia. We want to go back!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank agentaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,545
    690
    205
    96
    44
See reviews for
853
1,048
36
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2005

We just returned from Windjammer last week and had a wonderful time. We stayed in unit 46 which was a 2 bedroom 3 story villa with a plunge pool. The room was basically located along the first row of buildings. The grounds of the resort are extremely well kept and very lush. The unit was huge and very clean. Most people complain about the bugs but we were not really bothered. I would definitely recommend the plunge pool if it is an option especially if you are traveling with children. The grounds are extremely hilly so the resort has a very free efficient shuttle service to get you around. Since our room was pretty close to the main building we walked most of the time.

We traveled with our 4 year and 1.5 year olds and wanted to get away for a little scuba diving and had an opportunity to use both the kids’ club and nanny service. Both are top-notch. The kids club is free but if they are going to be there during meal time you will have to pay $12 for their lunch. The nanny service was good but a little expensive when you factor in that again if the nanny is watching the child during a meal you will have to pay for meals for both the child and the nanny. The nanny was very accommodating and would gladly take the child down to the beach or pool if we had wanted her to do so. Both of our girls had a great time.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Since we visited there on an RCI trade we expected to get hit with the timeshare hype but this did not happen at all. When our microwave died one day I call down to the front desk and about an hour later they had a new one installed.

I know that many people do not recommend driving but it was just fine. The roads outside of town are good (windy and hilly) and as long as you stay on the main streets in town you will also be ok.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ckps4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2005

We couldn't have picked a more perfect place to spend our Honeymoon. We got married on July 30th, and by July 31st we were on the Island of our dreams. We stayed for a week, and we never wanted it to end. Although our travels from home to the resort were exhausting, it was worth everything when we finally entered our room. We had been given a one bedroom, 2 bath villa with our own pool. I don't care what anyone says, get the pool, its a little extra but it is worth it. We never stepped foot into the main pool area. There was always to many kids and games going on. We just wanted to relax. After a hot day at the beach, or just coming back from an exhausting excursion, we would just lounge in our very own pool. We really enjoyed our view from our deck. Every night we could watch the sun set and it was breathtaking. My husband cooked dinner a few nights and we ate out on our deck. Its so much cheaper to go grocery shopping and cook. Plus its more personal and romantic. I wouldn't recommend shopping at the mini mart, but I would go to a grocery store outside the resort. We found it to be much cheaper, and it was safe. They took american money so don't wory about bringing EC's at the grocery store.

There is a lot more to Windjammer than just the rooms. There are a variety of excursions that you may take (of course for extra money.) There is also other activities going on throughout the day at the resort. We enjoyed going horse back riding the most. If you go on the two hour ride (which I recommend) you can actually go into the water with your horse which sounds scarey and I was determined that I wasn't going to do it, but once I was there and I saw how much of an amazing experience it was....I did it in a heart beat. It was so different. I don't know of anyone who has ridden a horse in the water.

Another excursion we went on the 1/2 day safari. I do recommend only the 1/2 day because first of all its not all that great, and two, its exhausting. They tell you that you go see a waterfall which its nice but not amazing. You also are told that you get the chance to swim in a freshwater pool which when you drive up to it....it looks like a sewer. I didn't think it looked very safe to swim so I passed on that. They fed you Piton's (which is the local beer) and water. Everyone was feeling pretty good toward the end of the trip. Its a nice time to get away from the resort for a few hours.

We also went snokeling for the first time. It is a free trip. I believe they do two trips a day, one is at 11 and the other at 2. The one at 2 is supposed to be better because you go further out to another cove, but if there was more than 8 people going at 2 then they would go to the cove they go to at 11. This happend pretty much everyday, so I don't know how many people see the other cove. If you do end up going, it cost $5.00 I guess for gas?

Finally, we went on two cruises. Our first cruise was the cruise to Marigot Bay which was absolutely beautiful. They only allow a certain amount of couples on so its not crowded, and we were on the front of the boat the entire time with another couple, drinking champagne, beer, and eating light snacks. It was a nice way to see the sunset and see more of St. Lucia from the water. Another cruise we went on was the Jammers cruise which I would classify as a Booze Cruise. They serve you all the alcohol you want, and of course have a dance contest. My husband ended up winning a bottle of rum. By the end of the cruise everyone was feeling pretty good. It was fun.

As for the restaurants, I would recommend Papa Don's. I didn't care for the Dragonfly, and eating at Jammers everyday at lunch got boring. They really need to have more of a variety for people to eat during the day. After a week of salads and cheeseburgers for lunch you need something ele. We didn't make it to the upper deck. Overall the food was good.

Overall, I would without a doubt recommend this resort and Island to honeymooners, who aren't really into the party scene. My husband and I were on our honeymoon to be with each other and not to party and be entertained. It's a perfect time for relaxation and for privacy. There is also much to do otherwise. This is not a party hotel, such as a Sandles would be. But that is exactly what we were looking for so it may not be for everyone. If you have the chance go......it is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 10, 2005

August, 2005
We, a family of four including college-aged children, spent a glorious week at this perfect resort.

Our Villa was the top-most, #58. We had the luxury of three bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, a fully equiped kitchen, dining room, cable TV, living room and and divine "dipping pool" which was large enough to swim a little bit. The beds were adequately comfortable (bring your own pillows if possible). One small negative: we never seemed to have hot water in the showers, but it was hot and cool water felt wonderful.

When we arrived we were greeted by our Ambassador, Dawn, who assured us that this resort was truly all-inclusive. Food at the 5 restaurants, cocktails, wine, beer, and use of all water equipment (except diving tanks), and all water sports (sailing, water skiing, windsurfing). I didn't believe it, but when we checked out, our bill was minimal and covered only those small purchases we made at the little convenience store on the property and diving lessons our son took. Do not consider this resort without choosing the all-inclusive plan: town is a $16 cab ride away and there are no restaurant options other than the resort's. The prices in American dollars were very high. Tipping was a mystery, though. Tips were included in the tag for each meal we had, and our Ambassador was vague about how and who to tip. We ended up over-tipping a maid (..I think they can be a bit tricky..)

The food? Very, very, very good. You could dine on anything from excellent pizza (Papa Don's), to burgers and fries at the beach, to haute cuisine (Dragonfly) and Asian inspired cuisine at the "Upper Deck". No matter what your preferences, you will find something you'll enjoy at every meal.

Every night there was live music at the beach-side bar and dancing. During the day there were planned activities such as treasure hunts, water aerobic classes, complimentary snorkling trips, and salsa dancing lessons. There was an entire area for young children that looked almost like a preschool with plaground and an "Astro Jump."

The water was extremely calm, so the beach is safe for even the youngest child. A large area was roped off for swimming and was kept clear of rocks and sea urchins. Kids enjoyed the water trampolene and floating platform. The water was warm and wonderful. To be very honest, we've had better snorkling elsewhere. The water tended to be a little cloudy due to run-off from the hillsides during downpours. Although we didn't see any coral reefs, there was an enormous variety of beautiful fish.

Best way to travel to Windjammer? Fly from San Juan to Castries. The other, bigger airport is 1 1/2 hours away by cab.

The staff was very friendly and willing to please. We had a few telephone calls early in our stay asking if we'd like to attend meetings with the time share staff and the tour planners. We just said "no." The grounds were gorgeous and well kept.

To sum up, my family would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2005

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, especially not to honeymooners! i stayed there during our honeymoon for one week in june, 2005 and we ended up leaving one day 1 early b/c we were not enjoying ourselves at all. dont go here! the people are very nice and the views are amazing, but its not worth it. its a time share condo arrangment, so every unit may be different. when we arrived, they made us wait for 3 hours b/c our room wasnt ready. when we finally got there, one of the fans was still broken! then, the beds were made out of some foam material, which gave each of us backaches. the phones didnt work half the time. the resort is in the middle of nowhere, and there is nothing to do outside of the resort. do not go here!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2005

The resort sits on a lush tropical hillside with a series of narrow brick roads that wind through the property. The resort has shuttles that will whisk you to dinner or down to reception so you can spend the day at the beach with merely a call down to the operator. It is an easy walk down to the beach depending on the location of your room, but the trek down as well as the return trip can be a bit taxing on the knees as there are a number of very steep hills. There were a couple of instances in which we had to wait 30 minutes for a shuttle to get to our room and take us to dinner. This could potentially cause problems especially during the high season as 3 of the restaurants at the resort ask that you make reservations. However, the shuttles did arrive in 5 minutes or less the majority of the time.
Oceanview rooms are roughly 800 square feet with a private patio. The view from our room 57A was beautiful. Mosquito netting covers the very firm beds. The rooms are equipped with a shower, a safe, AC, television, phone and a small refrigerator. The room (at least in the case of 57A) appeared to be the second bedroom of a two bedroom villa with plunge pool. Similar to a suite in a regular hotel room there was a door that led to the villa downstairs. This door being on a stairwell, led to a bit of echo and amplification of noise in the stairwell from our neighbors as well as light seepage into our bedroom but neither of these detracted from the accommodations. The control panel of the AC was illuminated with bright blue lights. They are easily rendered a non-issue with a piece of tape or a band aid.
There are 5 restaurants at Windjammer Landing: Dragonfly, Embers, Jammer’s Bar and Grill, The Upper Deck, and PaPa Dons. Dragonfly is the only option for breakfast with a choice of the buffet or regular menu which appear to be identical, with the usual choices such as French toast, omelets, fresh fruit, yogurt etc. Lunch time gives you a choice of Jammer’s Bar and Grill or Embers. Both have the average lunch fare such as burgers, fries, salads and kebabs, with a Caribbean flare. The added bonus of Embers is that it is on the beach and they will bring your food and drinks to you. Grab a flag that alerts the staff that you are in need of another Piton(local beer) and they will bring it to you… no need to walk to the bar every time. Dinner is stepped up a bit with the choice of Dragonfly, Jammer’s Bar and Grill, The Upper Deck and PaPa Dons. They ask that you make reservations for Upper Deck, Dragonfly and PaPa Dons. The food at all of the restaurants is good. As with any restaurant there are things that are hit and miss but overall the quality of the food and the portions are good. Note that all of the dining is open air and if you chose to go during this time of year (August) prepare to sweat. At times there is a breeze but when there is not there is very little air movement if any at all. Being from Georgia we are used to this but felt it worth mentioning for those who are not.
The all inclusive options is quite convenient. It includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, and all your drinks which include beer, mixed drinks and the house wine by the glass. The non-house wines cost extra. The all inclusive option also covers the 8% tax and 10% service charge that is added to the check.
The beach is small (might become a bit crowded during high season) but it’s nice, bits of shade under a coconut tree or one of the permanent table trees and plenty of lounge chairs available.
The nightly entertainment during our stay was average as resorts go. There were fire eaters, limbo dancers and a variety of bands of varying quality and ability.
We found the resort’s staff to be very attentive, friendly and accommodating.
Some other items of note. Upon checking in you are given towel tags to exchange for towels on the beach. If you lose the towel tags or don’t return the towels you will be charged for them. You are also given a key to the in-room safe which you will also be charged for if you lose it.
Overall the stay in the oceanview room and being on the all inclusive plan was a good experience and a pretty good value. Windjammer Landing is a beautiful resort which is well maintained and certainly worth checking out. Photos of the resort speak for themselves. Please feel free to e-mail me if you have specific questions

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank ATLTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 23, 2005

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Windjammer-Landing Resort in St. Lucia. It was the best vacation!!!! The resort was beautiful! The rooms were spotless, the food was five star, and the staff were the friendliest people you would like to meet. They put the guest first at Windjammer-Landing. The staff were so attentive to our every need, many times taking care of our needs before we even thought of it. The resort and the people were first class. They made the vacation better than we could have asked for. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and the pool and surrounding facilities were very clean. The Watersports facility provided a wide variety of activities including a great snorkel trip, twice a day to two different reefs. The food was wonderful, and Papa Don's had the best pizza we have ever eaten. The beach area was well kept and had plenty of room for sunbathing, other beach activities, and an excellent swimming area. I cannot say enough about how wonderful our experience was there. I would recommend the Windjammer-Landing to anyone who is looking for a superb Caribbean vacation.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
903 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
853 reviews
7.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, West Indies, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelUp, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing