We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

We vacationed at the WJL Villas from June 14 thru 21. The villa was a four-bedroom unit and was very nice. The plunge pool was actually about 15' by 30' and was able to handle six adults and four kids. We traveled with another family and had a great time at the WJL. Our only complaint was that our boys both were bitten while swimming in the water. Our four-year old stepped on a sea urchin and had to take extreme measures to get them to come out of his feet (stand in urine). This is actually a memory that will be looked back on as being hilarious. This was in no way a complaint against the WJL, just the water. All of the staff was courteous and friendly and the atmosphere at the pool was really good. There is a kid's pool that our 2-year old really enjoyed. There is a daily volleyball game in the adult pool where everyone is invited to participate. St. Lucia was the the greenest island we've been to and probably the most beautiful. The ride from the airport to WJL takes quite a while but the scenery is worth it. We took the helicopter from the Hewannora airport to the airport just south of Rodney Bay. I can't say if I'd recommend that due to the high cost but it did allow for some great views of St. Lucia. I would definitely recommend the Windjammer for anyone that is considering a vacation in St. Lucia.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    682
    204
    96
    43
See reviews for
833
1,044
35
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2005

My fiancee and I went to the resort with another couple and we all absolutely loved it. We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa with plunge pool -- pay the extra cash and get a villa with its own pool, it's worth it! It's very hot and humid in St Lucia, and you'll want to take a random dip when at your room. The kitchen is fully equipped, so leave your blenders at home (we brought ours to make margaritas)! The resort is gorgeous, especially the landscaping. The villas have a rustic feel, and our integrated into the environment so do not expect central air and refined hotel accomodations. You're in the tropics so just go with it! The bedrooms do have air-conditioners, thankfully. The bugs are bad, but they supply you with repellents for the rooms. Bring some for yourself, though. The hills are very steep, but there's a great shuttle service to take you to the main buildings and beach. Service is outstanding and the food was very good, much better than typical all-inclusive resorts we've been to, and we travel frequently. Yes, we did the all-inclusive and it's completely worth it, especially if you like your fruity cocktails and not thinking about money while you're on vacation. Plus, you get bottles of water for free, and you'll want to stock up. Dragonfly is fabulous restaurant, and I'm a discerning New Yorker who loves good food! The resort caters to all ages, and we found that suitable to us. The beach is very pretty. This is a great place to drink some fruity cocktails, soak in the sun, and just relax. St Lucia is gorgeous, go on one of their excursions!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2005

Anyone with a bad review of the windjammer needs a vacation. This resort is the picture of carribbean charm. Dont take a taxi to see the island. If you are a little adventurous, hire the local that shows up each day in front of the resort in the bay to take you on a all day boat ride. Definately the highlight of our trip. For a little more than taking one of those catamarans with about sixty people on it, you can go anywhere on the island and stay where you want for as long a you want. Without the crowds. Just tell "Levi" that Ron sent you and he will give you a discount. Or as he likes to be called "Dr. Feel Good". Make him take you on top of the mountain, near the Pitons, to Stonefield for lunch. You wont regret it. And you will not regret staying at the Windjammer.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank superron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siler city,nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

My husband and I just returned from the WJL and had a wonderful experience. I'd read some of the negitive reviews along with the positive ones and chose to believe the latter and they were certainly correct. We travel often to the Caribbean and Bermuda, staying at many of the best reosrts, and WJL ranks at the top. From the minute we were met at the airport to the time we returned to the airport everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. I'd booked a 1 BR villa w/ a plunge pool and we were upgraded to magnificent 2BR villa w/ plunge pool. The villa was clean and well decorated and the view was heaven. The food was so delicious that we changed our plans to dine out and wish we'd booked the all-inclusive plan. We took two excursions, the sunset cruise on the Brig Unicorn and the Jammers day sail and both were excellent and well worth the money. While we were there Hurricane Emily threatened the island the the resort was forced to take precautions. The staff handled the potential threat with professionalism and keep the guests well-informed. Each guest is given an Ambassador to contact as needed throughout their stay with any questions or assistance which is a great help and made us feel we had someone 24/7. I cannot say enough positive superlatives about WJL and St. Lucia too and hope others are lucky enough to experience it's charm and delight for themselves. We certainly plan to return soon and maybe take the kids this time.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank NCTravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2005

My fiance just returned from a week vacation at the Windjammer Landing resort and loved every minute of it! The food and drink were delicious, our room had a gorgeous view of the ocean and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The beach is no longer under construction and very private (if that's what you seek). There are also quite a lot of activities for kids. My fiance and I visited on the all inclusive plan so we ate at all of the restaurants and bars. They were great, especially Papa Doms, Jammers, & Dragonfly where all had beautiful ocean views. In addition, there was great music every night and activities planned throughout the day for those who wanted more than solely laying by the pool and on the beach. Some activities included St. Lucian dance lessons, water aerobics, crab races, & tropical drink making. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing and fun vacation . . . we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KHunsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2005

We just got back from a week at the Windjammer Landing in St. Lucia. It is a beautiful resort especially with all the flowers in bloom. It is situated on a hillside with the main complex at the bottom. The hills can be tedious if you choose to walk, but there is a shuttle service that with get you to your villa. Our villa was a one bedroom with A/C and living area. The bathroom was open to air. They have 2and 3 bedrooms as well. The view from the villa was perfect for sunsets and great to open the eyes too. The hospitality and services were excellent. We found ourselves just wanting to relax on the beach reading and catching some rays. The water was refreshing and if the pool is more your style it is only 10 yards from the beach. It was no problem getting a drink or even lunch on the beach from the Embers beach bar or to take a break from the sun the Jammers bar and restaurant is just steps away.
They offer a wide range of sporting activities from kayaks, snorkeling,diving,sailing... as well as other excursions. We went on the Martinique splendor, a catamaran ride for shopping and tour of Fort de France and then to a wonderful snorkeling spot where the water was super clear. The crew prepared a wonderful BBQ complete with desert. Along the way we stopped at a bat cave(see picture). Other excursions offered were a Rum distillery tour and a day sail to Soufriere.
The resort has four restaurants on site with one more coming. There is a variety of food offered from island cuisine to burgers. The Dragonfly restaurant is first class with entrees and deserts to die for. All inclusive is optional at about $100 a day. There is always entertainment provided from games during the day on the beach to bands at the bar at night.
There is also a great kids program with planned activities for kids from 4-12yrs to allow adults to enjoy time to themselves.
Overall the resort was very enjoyable, food, entertainment and activities make it a great trp.

Helpful?
8 Thank suprtoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2005

ok so me and my family and my 2 best friends went to st lucia for my sweet 16 and we stayed in the windjammer. all the reviews from these other people saying how bad it is and stuff are so totally wrong. St lucia was the nicest and most beautiful place ive ever been to in the caribbean. we had a 3 bedroom villa and it was so nice; very spacious and comfortable, not to mention the awesome plunge pool!! all the food was delicious, especially the chocolate bag at the dragonfly!! the beach was very clean with the bluest waters. There was a water trampoline and thats where me and my friends stayed most of the time. there was so many things to do like banana boating, water skiing, jetskiing, and tubing, and we did it all! the staff at windjammer landing were so nice and friendly, i dont know how someone could think they werent. They were also very helpful if you couldn't find something. The beach shops were great for jewelry and you could get your hair braided also. The pool was clean and very big. the activity coordinators were super friendly and the games were fun like the egg toss on the beach and pool volleyball. alvin and malone were the directors and were so nice to talk to. embers was a great place for lunch on the beach. our waiter lee brought our food out quick and was really nice. we liked him alot! we had a crush on him :) the spa had lots of different treatments to choose from. the pina coladas and pimp juice were to die for. the steel drum band at night had to be one of the best parts. theres only one thing bad to say about this place and that is that the service at the dragonfly is slow, but its definately worth the wait. we had the best time of our lives here and cant wait to come back. we recommend this place to anyonone and you will have the time of your life for sure!!!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
22.0 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
7.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, West Indies, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing