We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for a honeymoon! Definitely recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Bottom line: Windjammer Landing is truly a great place and we recommend it for honeymooners or families.

We originally found the Windjammer Landing through the RCI timeshare program but the dates were blocked out so we decided to book directly. Our agent was great and she hooked us up with complimentary chocolates and foot rituals at the spa.

Room: We were in a one bedroom villa and loved the space: full kitchen, spacious living room and bedroom, and plunge pool on the balcony with an amazing view of the water, sunsets, cruises and Castries in the distance. Our maid, Mathilda, kept the place spotless on a daily basis.

Food: We ate at all the restaurants. The food was delicious. From the tuna sushi at Upper Deck to the pizza at Papa Don's to the "topless tuna" at Jammer's. Breakfast at Dragonfly every morning, try the Belgian waffles with homemade whipped cream. We also opted for in villa dining one night which was a blast. Max (chef extraordinar) and a server cooked a meal in our villa! They took pictures and conversed as they served an incredible meal that we selected off of the Upper Deck menu.

Beach: Picturesque beach where you get a view of the Windjammer estate on the hill. The pictures on TripAdvisor do not really do the Windjammer justice. Do remember that St. Lucia is a volcanic island so there are not the stereotypical white sand beaches found elsewhere in the Caribbean. There is a swimming area roped off. Anywhere outside of the swimming area, you run the risk of stepping on a sea urchin but can still snorkel in those parts. There is a Beach Bar and weddings can be arranged on the beach. Windjammer is also expanding the estate on the hillside.

Activities: We did snorkeling, scuba diving, wakeboarding, kayaking, and paddle boarding (for the first time!) Windjammer has plenty of other activities including tennis, peddle boating, kid’s activities, and wind surfing. A jetski guy is available but he is not associated with Windjammer. We took part in a couples massage at the spa which was awesome. Tuesday nights is manager’s cocktail hour which is a good opportunity to meet the staff and other guests. It’s the largest congregation at the Windjammer during the week.

Staff: Super friendly and accommodating. Dial “0” on your phone and they will send a complimentary shuttle to your room, make a reservation for you…anything. Every employee has a nametag and the company does a good job of making sure you’re in good hands, even when you’re off the property. Kudos to Daniel the bartender at Jammer’s for being super friendly and pouring some great drinks.

Other activities: While in St. Lucia, see the Pigeon Island National Park, the Gros Islet Street Party on Friday nights, the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception and the vendor market in Castries, and the Pitons and sulfur springs south of Soufriere. Rainforest Hideaway restaurant at Marigot Bay was a quiet and unforgettable getaway. If you want to journey south of Castries, it’s worth renting a car.

All in all, Windjammer Landing was a great place. If you’re young and like a big party scene then Sandals may be your scene. But we definitely enjoyed the laid back yet fun environment at Windjammer. We already miss the shuttle rides up the lush hill, swimming in the pool, and the sunsets. If you go around Christmas, they decorate and light the property well.

Photos to follow...

Room Tip: Villas give you a full kitchen and plunge pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,681)
There are newer reviews for Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,367 - 1,373 of 2,681 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

First villa was infested with ants throughout kitchen. I was moved to another area called hibiscus. I thought I was being bitten by mosquitos but turned out to be BED BUG bites.Upon returning to the states, a M.D. diagnosed the bites as bed bug bites.Management insisted they were sand flea bites. Sand flea bites occur one week after being bitten. My bites appeared during my stay.
The hotel management did nothing to compensate me. In addition, I witnessed a kitchen worker exit the restroom located by the pool area WITHOUT washing her hands !!!!

Room Tip: Do not suggest this location !!!!!! Poor customer satisfaction !!!! One hour at least to from the a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Joan: As you and I have discussed several times, we did place the room out of service and have had our pest control people completely inspect your room on two different occasions. Our own team has also thoroughly looked through all of the furniture with particular attention to the mattress, bedding, etc. We have not found any evidence of bed bugs. Once we were completely confident that there were no evidence of bed bugs, we re-opened that room and there have been no reports of bugs at all.

We also had a local physician review the pictures you sent to us and he concluded the bites are consistent with sand fleas which do occur in tropical environments.

I am sorry that you were not happy with our resolution but we did make every effort to research your complaints and you and I discussed this 4 times during our review.

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort is definitely the place to stay if you are visiting St Lucia and want to just relax, soak in the sun and sip cocktails! We went as a family for a wedding on the beach and I can't really fault the resort at all. Having two small children in tow, I was concerned about the bugs. Especially staying in an open villa where birds and bugs fly in. But the staff can't do enough and soon we got use to the creepy crawlies as they were fairly harmless. The villas are cleaned daily and the views from the upper villas are very scenic. If you are after luxury then this is the resort to stay at. The people of the island are friendly and welcoming. We happened to be around for the street carnival and the atmosphere is very lively and you get a true taste of the partying!

Room Tip: Book a day's excursion tour to get the main sights in. Ring for the shuttle bus earlier if the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bharti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Staying here over Christmas. Food mediocre at best. Service forced friendly. Too many excuses and service glacially slow slow slow. Had the worst storm in years and the hotel was terribly un prepared lost electricity for hours though they said they has a generator. No apologies no extra drinks - glow sticks that is it!! When we called to leave they had no info on roads airport NOTHING! Terrible terrible worst care for guests I have ever experienced. You are not cared for at the windjammer you are on your own! Trust me don't stay here if you expect care and service and good food!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank localnorthbeach_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

First, I am sorry you did not have a good stay. It is difficult to respond without specifics but I certainly apologize if you didn't like our food experienced slow service. We take all feedback seriously and I will discuss it with our team.

Second, I wish to answer your comments related to the issues regarding the storm. Normally, I would not defend our actions as you have every right to your opinion. In this case, however, I would like to offer a different perspective.

As you noted, this was certainly the worst storm in many years and perhaps the worst to occur outside hurricane season. At least 5 people perished on Christmas Eve.

While our generator was operational, the proximity and intensity of the lightning prevented the system from running; this is a safety mechanism. As you noted, we distributed 1,000 light sticks to guests to insure they had light.

It is true we had little information about the roads and airport. As much of the island's electricity, land line phones, and mobile phone systems were impacted, there were few reports available. The information we did receive was coming from employees, taxi drivers, and individuals as there was little available from the government. These report were typically isolated to very specific areas. As you may know, we were in constant contact with the airport and individual airlines as the status of the airport and individual flights constantly changed over the the course of 48 hours.

I am sorry if you didn't feel cared for. Many of our staff worked extremely long shifts due to the weather. We had over 50 employees who stayed overnight as the roads were impassable. Some were stuck on the roads trying to get home. For instance, one of our Landscaping employees left at 3:00 p.m., was stuck in a minibus taxi on the roads, slept in the minibus overnight, made it home at 7:00 a.m. and was back at the resort grooming the beach at 9:00 a.m. With only a few isolated exceptions, the entire team was at work on Christmas Day. Those that did not make it to work were in areas that were inaccessible. At least 6 employees have lost all of their belongings but they are here working. Others have lost goods or suffered damage to their homes. They, too, are here at work.

Again, I am sorry you did not like our food or felt our service was forced. I don't offer any excuse for this and we will take your comments to heart.

Regards,
Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Perched up on a beautiful hill on the north side of the island, the Windjammer landing provides one of the most beautiful views from both the beachfront and the rooms. Being our first vacation, my wife and I stayed here for a week in a two-bedroom villa with private pool.

The entire island of St. Lucia is a surreal paradise, composed of perfect weather, lush green mountains, and the friendliest people you will ever meet while travelling. Although the airport is about a 1.5 hour taxi ride from the resort (as is for most resorts), the coastal and mountain views make it the first beautiful experience of the trip. If you have not arranged for transportation with your resort, be sure to only take taxis that have a BLUE license plate beginning with a TX. These are government taxis and you can take one with peace of mind. The standard rate to the Windjammer from the airport is $85US each way.

RESORT
The entire resort is themed in a white-stone, almost greek-like fashion. It is more traditional, caribbean-like rather than modern and contemporary as it may seem from some of their photos. We still loved it. Upon arrival at the Windjammer, we were greeted with smiles and complimentary drinks while they checked us in. After about 10 minutes, we were off to our villa. Because entire resort is on a hillside, the villas are in rows along the hill at different heights. This requires you to take a shuttle every time you need to get to and from your room which we didn't mind. Aside from waiting a bit long a couple times, the shuttle service for the most part was really good, arriving within 1-5 minutes. From the shuttle drivers to the concierge, everyone at the resort is extremely polite, friendly, and helpful.

2-BEDROOM VILLA
We booked the 2-bedroom only because there weren't 1-bedroom villas available with a private pool at the time of booking. We had an 'open-air' villa, (Room 33bc) with incredible views of the beach, ocean and the capital city Castries at a distance. 'Open-Air' means the living/dining room, and kitchen are open to the outside as there is just a sliding gate separating them from the outside patio/balcony. The bedrooms and bathrooms however, were enclosed. We enjoyed being occasionally visited by tiny birds that would fly in for a minute and then leave, but at night the mosquitoes had us rushing into the bedroom spraying ourselves with repellant.

The rooms were very well furnished, and equipped with gorgeous furniture, and all the appliances and dish-ware you could ever need. We had two LED TVs, one in the bedroom, and one in the living room. The room also came with a modern iHome stereo that connected to my iPhone to blast my music through the speakers. The patio was huge with a large table, two tanning beds, and a large plunge pool. Being 2-bedrooms, the second room also had it's own balcony, full bathroom with shower, and closet.

ACTIVITIES
The Windjammer has a wide array of things to do onsite such as water sports, beach activities, and a kids club. We went snorkelling and tubing which were both really fun. There's a ton more to do. On the beach, the resort trainer starting a small table-tennis tournament which was also really fun.

There's lots more to do from the resort, but the highlight of our trip was booking a tour of the island with Cosol Tours. They are the #1 Tour operator on Trip Advisor for St. Lucia.

It's also worth taking a trip to the local markets in Castries, or to the malls in Rodney Bay. While stuff isn't cheap anywhere on the island, it's a gorgeous place to walk around and great way to get to know the culture and people.

RESTAURANTS
We ate breakfast at the Dragonfly once, which was really great. The eggs, salmon, bread and fruits were really fresh and delicious. We also ate at Papa Don's which wasn't as good, but not bad. Lastly, we had dinner at the Jammers restaurant one night which is on the beach with a really nice view, and music, and also had delicious entrees.

For some reason, the service at all three restaurants we tried was very slow. We waiting about 45 minutes on average before getting our main dishes.

PROBLEMS
We encountered a few problems during our stay that are worth mentioning.

First, the TV in our living room did not turn-on. It took 3 calls to reception to get someone to come look at it, who said it needs to be replaced, but never returned. Then we noticed our microwave didn't work and after 2 calls to reception, had another maintenance guy come who was great and replaced both the microwave and TV the same day.

As mentioned before, the open-air living room allowed mosquitos to enter and become very annoying. I had over 50 bites by the end of the trip. After the 3rd day, we informed reception about the problem and they offered to spray the villa and provide a mosquito net for the bed.

While the problems we had were eventually addressed by the staff, it took a bit of persistence. For all these reasons, it made the resort fall short of perfect.

OVERALL
This was a great trip at an amazing resort. I would definitely return and recommend the Windjammer as long as they get a fully-enclosed villa.

Room Tip: We do not recommend the villas with "open-air" living rooms as we were constantly attacked...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shirazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were looking for a place which was nice and had an arrangement that would let our two kids be in a suite with us over Christmas week.. This fit the bill, and although initially the hotel gave us two double beds instead of a double and two twins, they changed our room. Has good water sports. We rented a car and did a lot of day trips, which fit our needs. It takes a lot longer to get to the south than we had realized--we went down and climbed Gros Piton and took about two hours to get 2 hours to get there. But mostly we stayed in the north--is a lot to do here. Is on a steep hill which we were fine with but if you are not fit wouldn't pick this.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbates509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just got back from our second trip to the Windjammer-Landing during the first week of December and again we know why we went the first time. We have travel to a lot of places and this is probably one of the ones we like the most. The best thing we like about the resort is the view from the units that are built on the hill side. It is hard to beat. We were there two years ago and thought the unit would be hard to beat, but this time it was even better. We had a two bedroom room unit in the estate villas with a large individual pool. The unit was very clean and plenty of room for 4 people. The unit we stayed in several years ago was an open type of unit, but we understand they are upgrading and enclosing many of the units.
The resort has an option inclusive plan for meals with three different choices. We went with the half board selection, as they called it and found we were very happy with the decision. There are five restaurants on the resort with Papa Docs being the best. The food is about twice what you would pay in the US and the resort prices may be a little more expensive than outside the resort but all food on the island is more expensive.We ate at several restaurants in Rodney Bay and found the food good there also. We would say this is not a party type of resort, but one that caters to families and couples. The resort provides a lot of activities and there are many water things that are provided free while there. Also every night entertainment is provide which we enjoyed very much. There are several pools which are not that large, however we found most people use the beach anyway.
We also found the staff very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate any needs we had. Also we found if we had any problems, Helen Richards was the person to see. She was the "can do" lady and came thru on several things.

In closing we would like to say this is the only resort we have gone back to a second time.We have stayed in many resorts and this is one of our favorites. I am sure we will be going back.

Room Tip: We had unit 500 which is in the estate villas, which is near the top of the hill. Great view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmancharlotte,nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
949 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,160 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
17.0 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $160 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing