We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing and chilled out holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were there for our silver anniversary and had the most amazing experience. The whole set up is great, the all-inclusive definitely a must. The highlight of the resort is the over friendly, courteous and helpful staff which made the whole experience an even better one. They just could not do enough for you. We were thoroughly spoilt. The villa we were in initially had a Mediterranean feel but 3 nights down we were upgraded to their premier modern Hibiscus suites,right on the sea, with super views, which was a cherry on the cake. Did not get involved in any time sharing discussions. Overall, a great resort for a chilled out break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,681)
There are newer reviews for Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,522 - 1,528 of 2,681 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

This resort didn't disappoint. We lucked out on arrival as, while we'd booked an Ocean View Room, we ended up in a villa which was stunning! The staff, from the minute we arrived were wonderful - couldn't do enough for us.
We had a few favourites at Jammers where the bar staff are just lovely. A Big Hello to Alex, Jeff, Daniel, Barry, Ernest & Nona, who looked after the beach hut 96 Degrees in the Shade, as well as waitresses Valerie and Oswaldina who we loved too. All the staff from water sports were excellent and patient trying to teach us to water ski. The hobie cats, kayaking and tubes were all amazing fun.
Our favourite place to eat was Jammers, followed closely by The Upper Deck where I had amazing fillet mignon. Papa Doms was lovely too but our least favourite was Dragonfly at breakfast time and it does need updating decor wise too. Don't choose from the menu as it takes ages-always go for the buffet - you can have whatever you like & the chef will do your eggs just how you like them!! (thank you Peter).
The entertainment varied but on a whole was good. Our favourite band however was Ten/90 who played every Thursday with their amazing Errol Brown lookalike lead singer - just amazing!
I heard comments about tired accommodation and smells but it didn't effect us personally.
You really must go zip-lining in nearby Dennery (well - 40 minutes!), absolutely fabulous fun. Do a Sunset Cruise too and while we enjoyed the Day Sail the best thing about it was being on the catamaran having a sail and Shona & the staff there were good fun too.
I wouldn't hesitate going back to this resort.

Room Tip: We lucked out getting Villa 7. Although its on a VERY steep hill you can get the shuttle bus to take...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This resort is built on a hill side with advantages of most all rooms have some sort of sea view. Disadvantage popping back to your involves the minibus or a hot walk. The minibus is regular accept at times of change over - which is frequent.
The room was pleasant with an upstairs terrace. The dragonfly restaurant is tired and dated. This where you have to have breakfast it's too small for the size of the resort. Don't be tempted if you are a couple to sit on a table for 4 so you both have a sea view - it is forbidden!!!
The water sports team were great, as was David the tennis coach. The bar staff always good, the restaurants often service was slow but most of the waiting staff were great and worked very hard.
Worse mistake we made was getting involved with the timeshare agents. It's a constant nag from lovely looking people that of course have another agenda. The timeshares we were shown again were tired and in need of upgrading. Apparently there is a planned rolling revamp.
We were advised to discuss the timeshare option with other time share owners. What put us off the most was the fact that raw sewage enters the bay that the resort faces where you would swim! This has been on going for years and we discussed it with the general manager who confirm that recent test had tested positive. There is a drain that runs into the sea to the right of the resort you can smell it on the beach. The nutrients from sewage causes increase seaweed growth which in turn causes an increase in sea urchins. Speaking to the locals they too confirm this. The beach on the photos of the hotel looks extensive but there is a main swimming area, then the rest is coral, with a small ' wallowing ' area. Whilst in the 'wallowing' area we did see some unpleasant floating matter. After our chat with the general manager we noticed the beach was thoroughly cleaned. Apparently moving this pipe is an enormous task and one i don't think will happen in a hurry, as it has been ongoing for so long.
I would suggest an all inclusive option as the resort is expensive.
On leaving the resort we were advised there would be a courtesy room available. We gave ourselves an hour to change. There was no room available. We were the given a key That didnt work - there were no minibus available as change over - we ended up with 10 mins to change in a dirty room with no clean towels, no hair dryer other people's rubbish everywhere. So we left feeling dirty with wet hair to the airport - not a good ending.

Room Tip: All inclusive option
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Morgans369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Morgans369: I appreciate the positive comments on some aspects of our resort and I am sorry that not all parts of your stay met your expectations. We are addressing the issues with your courtesy room. Our timeshare staff is instructed to only approach guests once and we will insure this is reinforced. I do want to correct some information you posted. Periodically, we test our storm run-off. In a recent test, we did discover we had some contamination. We subsequently took corrective action which included installation of a new interceptor out of our kitchen. The unpleasant floating matter you saw was associated with the seaweed which was coming into the bay. This is not a common occurrence and only happens during when the current flows a certain way.

Regards,
Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Second visit (which is a first for us) and we were delighted and I guess a little relieved that our memories from last year were not rose tinted and the place really is as good as we remembered.

With a few improvements. First off, our 4 bed villa (no 17) was superb, whereas our 3 bed from 2012 was a little tired, this more modern villa gave off a really refined air. We really felt like we were in 5 star luxury. Other than that there were a few minor changes around the hotel and they all seemed to be improvements on before. From the smaller menus to more reliable shuttle buses to really responsive maintenance crews to slight faster service in the restaurants everything just really worked.

Special mention to Valerie for looking after our children's special food requirements so well.

Thank you Windjammer team, sure we'll see you again!

Room Tip: If you have a big party go for villa 17 - superb!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virgin_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Windjammer Landing is the consummate getaway for a multi-generational family vacation! We were there with three generations, and everyone from young kids to adults enjoyed their stay! The food was delicious, the employees extremely guest-focused and it was a relaxing stay from start to finish!

Room Tip: If you are afraid of heights, request a villa close to the restaurants
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smittys_Littlest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Windjammer for 11 days and enjoyed ourselves very much and would return.
Accommodation: We didn't stay in a villa, instead just had a room. The room (151B) was clean/spacious and perfect for what we wanted - how much time do you spend in a room anyway?! The hill/walk up to the room was tough, and we could have taken the shuttle bus, but it kept us fit and meant we could have an extra cocktail.
Food: Papa Don's (Italian) was very good and the service very efficient, but you don't want Italian every night. Embers for lunch was great, but sadly not open for dinner. Jammers was ok, although not very high quality at times and the attention to detail was not great. You ordered something and it came with something else, the vegetables were so undercooked they flew off the plate when you tried to cut them! Upper Deck again was ok, but nothing outstanding and the same for the food in Dragonfly, we had 4 shrimps in our Shrimp curry....! One thing to improve with breakfast, there are apparently many different types of Mango in St. Lucia - why then did we never once have fresh mango on the breakfast buffet???
Fitness/Watersports: very helpful and efficient staff, friendly and each day when we went out sailing they were quick to get out on the water. The lady who takes pilates and yoga was very motivational and enthusiastic - wish more guests used her services. The gym was basic, but had good quality equipment and was not too busy which was perfect.
Wifi: the hotel recently installed a great system that covers all the beach areas and nearly all the villas - very efficient, good signal and complimentary. A great addition.
Service: In general very friendly, helpful staff. Smiling and respectful, even the gardener said hello without being prompted!
Overall the property is very good and a great place to stay, just don't expect outstanding cuisine.

Room Tip: Whilst the Hibiscus suites are very nice, the rooms at the top near Papa Don's are less expensiv...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelloverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We've just returned from a 2 week stay in St Lucia, spending 7 nights at Windjammer Landings. The resort was very nice, the accommodation was excellent and the view from our villa was stunning, but unfortunately, in our opinion the resort was hugely let down by the beach!! The beach is nice, (although most of the shady sunbeds are taken quite early in the day) but the sea is full of seaweed (that's attached to sea bed not floating in the shore) and had warning about sea urchins, this was very disappointing and made me not want to go in. One of the reasons we go to the Caribbean is for the wonderful sea/beaches.

Also another disappointing aspect are the shuttles from the room to the main restaurant/pool/beach area. All accommodation is set in the hill (we requested one close to the main area and even that was a 5 min walk up a steep hill, but manageable!!) however as it wasn't on the beach and the room layout wasn't right for our family we moved further away. We never had to wait more the 5 min for a shuttle, they were usually VERY prompt, which was great, but it just meant you had to plan when you wanted to go to breakfast/beach etc. Also staff in resturants were very slow with service sometimes, Although it didn't matter as we were on holiday, but having to get up and go to the bar for a beer a couple of times during lunch was a bit annoying!!

Having said all that, The food was very good and of a high standard and the Kids club was great too. We have a 7 & 5 year old, who had great fun there (they asked to go every day)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carpOt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
948 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,157 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
17.0 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $163 - $727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, West Indies, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing