We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, good value, but badly isolated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views, good value, but badly isolated rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We decided to book our stay at Windjammer only a couple of days before the departure and we didn't have an idea of what to expect. The staff was very friendly upon arrival and we were welcomed with a rum punch (not the last one of our stay!). Due to renovations we did get an upgrade and our room had a nice balcony facing the ocean.

The things we liked:
* Great views
* Plunge pool next to our balcony
* Friendly service
* All non-motorized sports are free
* Jammers Day (boat trip with stops at waterfall, volcano and plantation) is a must!

The things we did not like:
* Our room was connected to another room and this caused a lot of noise: we told the staff on day one but they did not manage to get us another room. You could smell what the neighbours were eating and the worst part of the whole trip is that we had very bad nights. Our neighbours were loud and moaning until 1.30am (even with my earplugs I could hear them moaning).
* The resort is a bit outdated. They are doing renovations to some rooms and restaurant, but this resort is simply not top-notch.
* Everything offered at the hotel (food, tours, spa) is very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not connected to another room to make sure you have a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marijke_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    690
    205
    96
    44
See reviews for
856
1,048
36
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The place is very nice, the views are incredible. You should have mosquito repellent as they can be bad in the shade. The upper rooms do no have wi-fi and traveling to the lobby for a signal is quite a walk, they do provide shuttle svc back and forth.
The island is poor so know you will be approached by people selling things a lot.
cust svc very good

Room Tip: watch the water when bathing it can get VERY hot then cool ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank extracrisp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

On our first day Peter lost his wedding ring in the sea it was in the swimming area and we did report it to the security, Unfortunately the stafff didnt feel the need to advise other guests of our loss in case someone else came across it, they were very casual about the loss.

On arrival we were informed we would have an ambassdor to assist us with our stay , we didnt meet them until Peter went to ask about it , he met a guy called Darryl briefly but then we looked for him and were told he was gone and it was Charlene, imaginary Charlene i reckon as we never met her.
On Tuesday night we arrived home quite late and got up on wednesday morning to find out our fridge was unplugged, we rang reception and asked to speak to Charlene, never got to talk to her and she never called back , no apology was made or fact any food we had was destroyed was acknowledged. Approx 30 euros worth.
This morning we came outside to discover a person in apartment above us had thrown cigarette butts down onto our balcony area and they burnt into Peters swimshorts. We called and asked for a manager to come up to us and then sent security, this was 10 minutes before our transfer was due to arrive (7.55am) Transfer (8.10) . We then went down to reception and again asked to speak to a supervisor, none was available. I requested that as the shorts had cost us some money as had the food , that they waive the final food bill as a gesture towards the undue upset and stress. They refused and insisted that the clients staying in the room above us were responsible , they took no accountable of the ruined shorts or the ruined food , both costing us well earned money. The attitude was that the people who were staying in 147 A were responsible, however I have not paid them money and expected in good faith that while I am staying on your property that there is a level of security and responsbility of your customers. They prehaps were unaware that there were people underneath them and in the dark would not have seen our clothes, therefore a staff member should have advised them that there were people in apartment below. In fact you are very lucky that it is not a more serious complaint and the wet swim shorts put out what could have been a potential fire. The lack of responsiblity and follow up by you as manager is not only unprofessional to your staff member who had to deal with it but also shows a lack of managerial skills .

I certainly wont be rushing back to the Windjammer and I will be logging onto Trip advisor , facebook and Twitter to advise other people of same.Luckily I took a number of photos which I will upload once we return home, The security personnel also noted these and took his own photo of the damage. Not a honeymoon experience , in fact not once did someone even refer to our honeymoon or do anything special for us.
Richard Marks manager was 'unavailable' at the time. Althought before we left due to the late transfer , the receptionist said she had managed to talk to him and bascially he was more concerned about if we have a receipt for the shorts and what was the cost. Monetary cost 60 euro ,emotional stress of having to deal with this on honeymoon is hard to work out considering I was extremely upset when leaving and this has now impacted on the rest of the holiday

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bee_ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We recently returned from a week at Windjammer. We stayed in Unit 411 which was quite a ways up the side of the hill. The view was absolutely amazing. We had a plunge pool on our balcony which was fantastic. We had coffee each morning out there as well. We had 2 bedrooms (basically both masters) and 2.5 baths. The shuttles were more than prompt in picking us up after we called to request one-sometimes a matter of a minute. The shuttle drivers were all really friendly too. The grounds were maintained beautifully. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The rum punch on check in was very tasty!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Once again we have had a lovely restful stay at Windjammer - 60 acres of Caribbean styled villas tucked into the hillside overlooking Labroulette Bay on the northwest coast of St Lucia.The steep inclines of the hill are not a problem as the shuttles come within minutes of being called as wisks you down to the beach area .All inclusive is offered and works best for those who drink many alcoholic beverages but at $150 pp it did not work for us. They do allow you to run a tab and see if All Incl is worthwhile. It is not handicap friendly as there are such steep inclines. You are lulled to sleeps by the island music of crickets and awakened by the cooing of dove and the lapping of Caribbean waves. Chef Bill Munn does a great job of keeping the menus varied and interesting with catch of the day always delicious and healthfully prepared. The desserts are scrumptious too. Burn off the calories with a snorkel trip toward Castries or just chill out in the shade of the palm trees on the crescent beach. For the more adventuresome water skiing, SCUBA day sailing and other organized day trips can be arranged. Our 2 BR villa with plunge pool was just what we needed during our break from the working world. Check it out. With friendly helpful staff, It is a lovely quiet venue.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view with a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Friendly staff, good service, excellent watersports centre. We stayed in a 2 bed villa with plunge pool (2 adults, 2 kids 9 and 11) for 7 nights in early Sep 2012. We were initially allocated villa 42 which was great but had its views blocked by trees so we asked to move. They obliged with no issues and got villa 54 which had amazing views. There was a trade-off however - it was smaller but that didn't bother us - it was still plenty big enough and had a plunge pool. It was also much higher up the hillside (hence the views) which meant using the shuttles. You could walk it in 10 mins but at 37C it was hard work.

We went for room only and I guess 30%-50% of the guests do that. A lot are on the All Inclusive option but you can select breakfast only or half board. AI cost would have cost us an extra £2k for the 7 nights and would have been nowhere near worthwhile. We had evening meals twice in the resort. £60 for the 4 of us in the pizza place, Papa Dons, which was good and £70 in Jammers which was poor. The villa had a pretty good kitchen area, massive fridge, cooker, toaster, kettle, coffee maker, microwave etc so we ate in a few times.

Although not on AI, most of the facilities were free, ie tennis, snorkelling, windsurfing, kayaks, banana boat, etc. I took a windsurfing lesson with Gordon who was great. It was US$40 but because I did it on my last day (and so he said I wouldn't get good value from it because I couldn't practice afterwards) he didn't charge me! The lessons for other things are good value too and I got the impression they wanted to teach you, not just take your money. So if you go, make sure you get a lesson at the start of your stay and they will continue to give you free advice for the rest of the week.

We hired a car at the airport with Drive-a-matic who are a professional outfit despite the naff name. We pre-booked it through their website. No need to pay in advance. So we drove to nearby places for meals, etc. If you have kids, Spinakers is a pretty good option - much better and cheaper than Jammers. It's on Reduit beach, carpark adjacent.

The only downside of the rooms is that only the bedrooms are air conditioned. The sitting room and kitchen area is open to the elements and has ceiling fans (none of which worked perfectly). So we got through a fair bit of deet and one of the boys picked up some pretty bad mosquito bites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timbonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just arrived back from Windjammers Sept. 8th and could not have had a better experiance. I have been to many islands and many resorts and found The Windjammer and there staff as freindly and accomodating as any where I have been. I read many reviews and was a little concerened before we went but cannot find anything to really complain about. Our room was absolutly wonderful and our ambassador Elsi was as helpful as you could ask. I could see if your room was on the top of the mountain you could have to wait on a shuttle but they run constantly so should not be an issue.
We went fishing and caught several Dolphin and one Marlin. Great time. When we got back we took one of our Mahi Mahi to the chef at Jammers Howard..( BTW a great place to eat at the resort.) He cleaned and cooked our fish blackened, grilled and creole style and it could not have been better. If your looking to go fishing its available at the resort but we called Capt Ram that was recomended and I would highly suggest calling him. He will come right to the dock and pick you up. His local # is 758-718-5293..
The Catamarran trip to Soffries was also a blast. The Snorkling was not as good as I have done but OK, so when we decided to take diving lessons at the resort we were concerned it would not be so great but it turned out the diving was alot better than snorkling.
All in all I would highly recommend this resort and not be the least concerned if your planning a trip. The only thing you have to remember is your on island time. They dont get in a big hurry but your on vacation so relax and enjoy. The one thing I could recommend to the resort it lacks is a swim up bar. I Give the resort a 4 star and the staff a five star... GOOD JOB

Room Tip: Get the inclosed room not open air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
7.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, West Indies, Cancelon, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing