We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Windjammer Landing resort for our honeymoon in July of 2005. We have since recommended it to many of our newly engaged friends, when looking for a place to honeymoon.

The great thing about Windjammer is that you get to have your cake and eat it too.. literally.
First, it is an all-inclusive resort, you dont have to worry about carrying cash on you for every meal or drink. If your spouse is anything like mine, this makes dining out much easier and stress-free, getting whatever you would like for dinner. There are also several great restaurants at the resort to choose from, including fine dining; seafood grill; casual grill; italian/pizza; and a beach grill. Our favorite part of the all-inclusive was sitting on the beach during the day, and ordering from the beach bar, sticking a flag in the sand, and having food delivered directly to your beach chair.
Second, it is affordable for what you get. My wife and I stayed in a 1 bedroom villa, with a full kitchen, dining room, living room, full porch and a pool for a week, with the all-inclusive plan and private transportation to and from the airport for less than $5000. Try finding another 5 star hotel in the caribbean that can boast that.
Third, the staff is absolutely amazing and the island is beautiful. We only had one problem with some cold/warm water issues, and the staff graciously offered to switch us to another villa. The weather in St. Lucia is amazing too, as most days there is a cool 20 minute rain shower that cools the weather, and then goes back to being sunny and beautiful.

Overall, our stay was amazing and was the perfect end to a hectic wedding. We felt so relaxed in our villa knowing that everything was taken care of for the week and that the beach was waiting for us below, if we wanted to go down. Below I have included a few of my "top 5s"

Top 5 favorites of the resort:
1. All inclusive aspect
2. Having our own villa with a pool
3. Great restaurants to eat at
4. Friendly staff / great spa and massages
5. Beautiful beach / free water sports

5 Things to 'improve':
1. Bathroom is nothing to write home about
2. Had a small cold/warm water problem
3. Bugs, bugs, bugs (nothing to do with the resort, st. lucia is very tropical)
4. Airport is a little far away - I would recommend getting private transportation instead of riding the provided van
5. Nothing else to complain about!

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank Spade05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,339 - 2,345 of 2,716 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2007

Hubby and I just got back from a week long stay at Windjammer and I have to say it was a blast!! Here is a quick review:

The drive from the airport is about an hour and a half, which is absolutely beautiful. Just make sure the cab driver turns air conditioning on, otherwise you'll be breathing in the polluted air from all the cars. But the views are gorgeous, and you really get a tour, since you really have to cross the whole island to get to the hotel.

Check-in was a breeze. We were staying at a one-bedroom villa with amazing views. Unfortunately, they didn't have any upgrades to one with a plunge pool, but I hear those are great! Villa 153 is three-stories high. The bedroom, spacious bathroom, and a little study corner are on floor one. It's air conditioned, and we never had a problem with moskitos, I only got bitten once during the whole stay. They provide you with a net, but we never used one.

The second floor has the living room, full kitchen with everything that you need (coffee machine, full fridge, plates, utencils, etc), and a large balcony with a spectacular view. And the third floor is mostly open, with two chaises for sunbathing.

We have traveled the Carribean a lot, and I have to tell you that the service was the best, bar none. We had all the attention we needed at the restaurants, but it was discrete and unobtrusive. The chocolate torte at Papa Dons is a must try, in fact we ordered it for carry out pretty much every night :)

The only activity we tried was the horse rides, and it was truly wonderful. I was really worried because of an earlier review that the horses would be abused, but they were very well taken care of, and quite charismatic (mine tried to wonder off to the bushes to eat all the time :).

Overall, I would highly recommend this resort for couples and families. I hope you have a blast, like we did.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank askvortsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

We stayed at the Windjammer from Dec 13-18. We were attending a destination wedding. We were so happy they had their wedding here because we had the absolute best vacation. The people at the Windjammer are the nices people you will ever meet. Everything was great from the food to the rooms to the beaches. We would go back in a minute. The walk up the hill was a bit much at times but the shuttle was always right there to take us up the hill.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank angel1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

My boyfriend and I just returned from an amazing week at the Windjammer. I booked my package through US Airways which included airfare, transfers and accommodation in an oceanview room, and we did not purchase the All Inclusive plan. I was extremely nervous because of the recent negative reviews but I had no reason to worry.

The setting is stunning - amazing landscaping in a beautiful cove and with an open air tropical resort setting. Check-in was a breeze....complete w/ welcome cocktails. We were in a hotel room with ocean view and terrace- not a villa - which was totally fine for us, although the rooms could use updating. There is not a kitchen in the hotel rooms, just a bar fridge, coffee maker and a few eating utensils. Rooms are 'tropical rustic' but were fine for us as we were always out exploring. If the actual room is really important to you, book a villa, they are much bigger and really beautiful. A big bonus was that our room was close enough that we didn't need the shuttle and a stiff walk uphill was welcomed after a lazy day at the beach or a big dinner.

Construction - seriously, this is a non-issue that you barely even notice.

The watersports were great - there are Hobie cats, kayaks and snorkelling trips included. Dive trips for snorkellers and SCUBA can be arranged at the Dive Desk at the watersports area.

Food - very, very good! We were really pleasantly surprised with the food at the resort. Prices are in EC dollars so some reviewers who say prices are high must have been mistaken - they are comparable to normal restaurant prices (we live in Chicago for reference). Happy Hour in the Jammers bar was loads of fun every day.

Staff are extremely nice and helpful. Housekeeping was a bit inconsistent...we had one maintenance issue that really didn't get fixed (the toilet ran) despite several visits by an attendant...but we didn't really care that much. Concierge was very helpful. We did the timeshare presentation because we were curious and also to get the discount off an excursion. It was interesting and was NOT a hard sell. We said we'd think about it and they never asked us about it again the entire trip. We actually thought seriously about it.

Rodney Bay is a short cab ride ($10 US each way) but it is very easy to grab another couple and share a cab - we did this several times. We went to Razmatazz for Indian food and it was so good we returned 2 days later. We also ate at Coal Pot in Castries which was amazing and the setting is georgeous as well.

We met so many fun people at the resort - lots of couples of all ages - it wasn't overun with kids (which was my worry) and I think we'll definitely return if we go back to St. Lucia. It had everything we wanted - a tropical feel, a laid back atmoshphere, but the attentiveness and service you expect at a higher end hotel. We're both seasoned travellers and I found that a lot of the things people complained about in the previous reviews are things that come along with a tropical resort setting.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

A beautiful location, villas dotted over a mountain with beach at the bottom. Excellent service but watch out for:
1. staff trying to sell you a timeshare - we were approached 3 times, often in the disguise of a 'special dinner offer'
2. Items from the gift shop on sale everywhere - by the pool, by the towel area on the beach, they even did a 'fashion show' in the bar arrea to promote gift shop sales - this, along with the timeshare team was a bit too much.
3. When you book, make sure you get one of the new villas - the old ones are pretty grim but the new ones are beautiful
4. DON'T book a transfer from the airport with the hotel - they just send someone to meet you at the airport and stick you in a taxi - you can get a taxi for yourself and its about US$10-15 cheaper. Also, once you get there, the tour desk try and sell you their own tours but you're better off just hiring a car or a taxi for the day and going private. The hotel has its own taxis outside which are more expensive than if you get one yourself - the hotel will try to push its own taxis though.
5. The resort is very secluded - no cafes, restaurants around (although the hotel has its own). The nearest lively area is a 10 minute taxi ride costing around $US20 which means it can sometimes be too expensive to just wonder out for a coffee.

Having said this, the staff were extremely attentive. There is a great Tennis pro on site who does a free tennis clinic 3 times a week. Once you meet him, he can also organise matches for you.

The shuttles were never a problem and arrived within 2 minutes of calling for one. We went during term time so only a few kids.

We had a chef with our villa (Trevor) - he was fantastic - great if you have dietary restrictions.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Just returned from a family thanksgiving trip to the Windjammer. I can't imagine a better resort for our group of 14 (9 adults, 5 kids). The combination of the beach, pools, food, service and the amazing villas was perfect. The villas were not as plush as a four seasons, but were very large and accomodated everything that a traveling family might need. We had issues with air conditioning and other components of the room. One phone call to the front desk fixed everything. The service is second to none. The staff seemed to only no how to say "no problem".

I might recommend that honeymooners choose another resort, especially if you won't be able to put up with seeing an occassional bird, bug or lizard in your villa. But for families looking for paradise for adults and children, this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BostonChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

We had the most enjoyable time in St. Lucia in September 2007. Just a few weeks after the island was brushed by Hurricane Dean it was truly amazing how the locals joined forces and clean the island up.
During our stay we were very fortunate to call the Windjammer Landing our home for the week. We had a 2bdrm unit on the higher level with our own private pool and I believe every unit faces the ocean with the most incredible sunsets nightly. Our "home" was in a new unit at nearly 2,400 sq feet with 2.5 bath and 2 decks. The fully furnished kitchen had all the modern appliances (no dishwasher) and more than adequate dinnerware. A wood dining table and buffet complimented the eating area. Having a washer and dryer is truly a luxury in the Caribbean but ever so practical as it can cut your packing in half. The unit was immaculate with housekeeping and pool keepers visiting us daily to see to our every need.
The island itself is unique in that it is mountainous with natural vegetation. The Windjammer Villas are built in the cliffs which depending on your unit can be a little challenging to walk. They do offer on property free shuttles when you leave your unit to take you anywhere on the resort you want to go. Very prompt friendly service I might add. Our little oasis was 45 steps from the drive to our front door. Worth every step!
Everyone at the resort was extremely friendly and knew the meaning of hospitality. Upon our arrival at the resort we checked in and completed our paper work. They offered us a refreshing beverage, on the house. The welcome was a truly needed relief from our long journey to get there.
We flew into the Hewanorra Airport (UVF) on the south side of the island and it was a good little drive up to the resort in paradise. Courtesy Car Rental picked us up in our rental car and drove us to the resort and returned us to the airport on our departure. No extra fee.
Any activity you want to do can be arranged there at the resort and the guides are so helpful in planning and making the most out of your limited time. We were able to horseback ride on the beach, a tree top adventure and take a sunset cruise on a pirate ship. All for $475 USD for the 2 of us.
We did dine at our villa mostly but those meals we did eat at the resort were quite tasty. They also have a small market on site to help with untimely snacking craves.
Again I cannot even express what a lovely experience we had at the Windjammer Landing. Being in the travel industry myself we have been blessed to visit most islands in the Caribbean and I can honestly state this was the nicest and cleanest accommodations we have ever had. Hats off to Beverly in reservations for making our stay a dream come true and our week so memorable.
I have included some pictures to try to share our little paradise and I hope to be able to return soon.
If you have any hesitations about staying here please contact me and I shall give you my honest opinion.
Deb Walker
Indianapolis, IN

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank debrawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
970 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,199 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
3.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $237 - $834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing