We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Sandals Halcyon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Out of three beautiful Sandals resorts on the island of St. Lucia, the Halcyon Beach is definitely the way to go! The smallest of the three resorts, the Halcyon has a comfortable feel to it. You'll find yourself strolling through lush manicured tropical vegetation including coconut trees, mango trees, and many other local plants rare to St. Lucia - rather than being transported by shuttle bus around the resort as is the practice at the island's other two Sandals. Having visited the other two beautiful Sandals resorts, the Halcyon was still the best fit for me. The value of the trip was excellent and my expectations were easily met by the friendly and professional staff Sandals Halcyon. With three restaurants, a beachside bar and grill, and two "swim-up" poolside bars, you'll never go hungry. Sandals Halcyon is certainly worth the trip!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nickff302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,529 - 3,535 of 3,852 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2007

We are a couple in our mid 20's from the U.S. We stayed at the Halcyon from May 22-27 and got married there. Then, we switched to the Regency for our honeymoon, from May 27-31- just for something new! This was the way to go!!

Wedding: Very intimate, very beautiful in the wedding gazebo next to the beach, amazing pictures which were ready in a few hours, beautiful cake, tasty appetizers, laid back and not rushed, great hairstylist/ make-up artist at the Body Shop, no problems with getting our marriage certificate. The whole process went smoothly.

Private DInner Reception: Highly recommend, but you must have at least 10 guests attending. It did cost extra, but it was worth it! You get to pick the menu and they even prepared a special meal for one of our guests who was a vegetarian. This took place at the Viewing Gallery.

Room: We stayed in the Deluxe Room Category (500 block), which was just fine. The room was adequate, but could be great with some upgrades. We agree with others that the bathroom could use some remodeling. The room was decorated with Caribbean Charm, a king size bed, a balcony, safe, and vaulted ceilings. Tip: when the maid came into clean, she would turn the A/C off everytime. We would go right back to our room when she was done, and turn it back on because it was very hot during our stay, however, the evenings were perfect!

Beach: Excellent beach, the water was very calm especially compared to the Regency's. The water was clear and a beautiful color. It was very relaxing! There were beach vendors, but if you tell them no, thanks they will leave you alone. I didn't mind them, but my husband got a little annoyed with them. During our entire stay at the Halcyon hardly anyone was on the beach, which was great because we got it almost to ourselves! Everyone else spent their time in the pools. We went into the Paradise pool once in the evening.
One negative: In order to get beach towels you must give them your beach towel token and when you return your towels you get it back. This was just a hassle and half the time no one was in the towel hut! They did not do this at the Regency, they just gave you a towel.

Watersports: We went tubing, which was more relaxing then exciting. We also took the tricycle out. My husband wake-boarded and had a great time. Our favorite thing was the hobbie-cats- just try it!

One negative: Some rude people work in the watersports. It seemed like everything was a burden...but too bad! Watersports are part of the ALL-INCLUSIVE and we were going to do everything we could since it was our vacation!!

Scuba Diving: We did this for the first time EVER! It was $70 per person. The class took about an hour and then we went out for our first dive. I was extremely nervous, but it was GREAT!!! Our wonderful instructor, Elijah, took just my husband and I out, since we were the only people from the Halcyon that went diving that day, even though they take the Regency and the Halcyon divers and snorkelers out on the same boat. Elijah was excellent and we can't say enough great things about him.

Food: Overall, I give it a B+. Marios was fancy and very quiet. The food was great. The Pier was very good and a great atmosphere. The Bayside was pretty good, depending on what you order. The beach grill was great, casual, and perfect for a snack.

Service: Hit or miss! Some were very nice- others not!!

Tour with Jeffrey, not through Sandals. It was personal and we got to call the shots: volcano, shopping, Diamond Waterfalls, Ladera for pictures, scenic pictures along the way. Beverages and lunch were provided. This was great because it was just us and our guests who came for our wedding. Please let me know if you would like more information about this, we are happy to help!

Property: GORGEOUS! NO RATS, NO BUGS! The temperature was about 86 degrees everyday. It rained for about 10 min. two of the days we were there, but it didn't matter!

It is hard to say which Sandals Resort is the best, it really depends what you are into! Each Sandals is unique. We did find that the staff at the Regency were actually more nice than at the Halcyon, but maybe we ran into the wrong staff members at the Halcyon. Everything was a little slower at the Halcyon as well, especially when waiting for our food.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and we would do it all over again! The Halcyon is perfect for weddings or a quiet, relaxing vacation. The resort is by far, smaller than the other two Sandals, less people and less walking!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank hollyc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

For those considering the Sandals in St. Lucia-

My preference is certainly for the Halcyon over the Grande and Regency.

The Halcyon is the smallest property of the three and the oldest. It grounds feature an amazing lanscape of flowers, palms and green lawns. This differs from the other resorts which put more of a premium on putting more people into the resort spaces, and have less of a resort feel and more of a hotel atmosphere.

The Halcyon lends itself towards relaxation and romance, more of a quiet vacation. The other 2 resorts are geared more towards a hedonistic type of "spring break" atmosphere. Apparently this is what most people are perceived to be looking for on their Sandals vacation, but I digress...

vs. the trip to Halcyon I took 5 years ago the service was down a tick and I think this reflects staffing shortages caused by the opening of the Grande. Sometimes the pool bars would be a little late in opening and the cook at Kimono's showed up late. The staff was still very friendly and I have no real complaints but you will certainly encounter more staff that speak in the local English-Creole dialect, rather than English, than in the past- which can be akward. The people of St. Lucia are generally very friendly and one of the best aspects of a trip there.

Really enjoy the paradise pool and overall ambience of this property and if you are considering St. Lucia for a honeymoon the no brainer pick is the Halcyon.

BTW- some may nitpick the size of the beach at Halcyon, but in my opinion is just as good as the others. As all 3 resorts are on the Caribbean side of the island, sand has to be brought in to all 3 resorts to make "resort" style beaches, so really none of the beaches differ from the others in that respect.

My only real complaint is that Sandals presses pretty hard now for "up sale" of your vacation. All inclusive doesn't include spa treatments, massages, golf packages, etc... which they will be marketing to you. The biggest "ughhh" is when someone from the team of photographers canvassing the property (to sell you the picture for at least $15 later) wants to take your picture while you are eating dinner.

Bottom line - plenty of shady spots to lay out, sip a rum drink, stare at the sea or the sky, forget about your real life for a week, all with the ease that Sandals provides.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank saucywombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2007

We've stayed at a number of resorts in Jamaica over the last 20 years and wanted to try something different. The island of St. Lucia appeared to be beautiful and this resort was within our price range.

On the plus side for Sandals Halcyon Beach -
+ Check in was a breeze! One of the absolute best processes in the world - either for business or personal travel!!
+ The grounds were beautiful. Rich & plush.
+ The ease of going to the other two Sandals resorts was excellent.
+ The work-out facility was nice; although some of the machines were "out of order" during our stay.
+ The distribution of ice carts throughout the resort allows you to get ice (something you really need in this humid climate) without a lot of effort.

On the minus side -
- Don't go to the resort if food quality is important to you - it's much better at the other Sandals resorts. It's not that it's bad - it's just mediocre.
- For those of us that drink our caffine cold (e.g. - Coke) in the mornings, you can't get one until after 10 a.m. (and then that's not a "given"). Plan to spend some money in the gift store to get your canned drinks.
- The disco didn't attract much of a crowd at 11 each night.
- For casino night - bingo was offered! Come on . . . .
- The best "show" (there aren't many compared to other resorts we've been to) was the reggae group and they setup inside a door (instead of the stage at the main pool); which allowed people to stand in front of those that had already been seated.
- The second pool, Paradise, was quite nice, but the smell of sewage or garbage in the air was quite distracting.
- The resort is very near one of the main roads and the sounds of sirens and traffic was something we were not used to hearing.
- The surf on the beach is quite rough, which results in very cloudy water at the shore line. We're used to walking into the water and actually seeing our feet.
- As to the beach, it's a public beach and is only about a mile long.
- The attitude of the staff is inconsistent. We met some that were so friendly and accommodating and others that were indifferent and, in one case, rude. However - we've found this to be generally true no matter where you go.
- The tennis courts had an old "astro turf" surface; which played a little like clay. On one of the two courts, the turf was torn up. A nice hard surface would probably be an improvement.
- The material the hotel provided for our return to the states indicated that small bottles of liquids & gels would not be permitted in our carry-on luggage; only to get to the airport (after we packed everything in our checked luggage) to find the same rules in affect as all American airports (e.g. - 3 ounces or less).

Needless to say, we won't return to this resort and we're not sure we'll return to the island (although the zip line through the rain forest was really cool). The resort offers very little to do at night.

However, if you're looking for a place to get married or to honeymoon - you should absolutely consider this resort since it's obvious that's the type of guest to which they cater.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RedSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

The Sandals Halcyon is a real gem! It is a small resort with a very private feel. The staff are wonderful and we plan to go back for many years to come. The sandals experience as a whole is just awesome!

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Shep1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We had a magical honeymoon, made all the better by the genuine friendliness of all the staff at Halcyon Beach. Even the unofficial beach vendors enhanced the whole Sandals experience. Our only grouse might have been that the accommodation, and particularly the bathroom, was a bit "tired", but we believe that refurbishment is planned for later in the year.
Sunbeds on the beach could also do with being updated.
Our only question is, "How soon can we come back?"
.

Stayed: April 2007
6  Thank hobiecat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We had the most marvellous honeymoon at Halycon Beach Resort in St. Lucia.
On our arrival at St. Lucia we were met by Leroy who offered us cold refreshments as we set off on our 11/2 hour journey to our resort. When we arrived there we were greeted and welcomed by cold hand towels and champagne, absolutely wonderful.
Our concierge suit was situated by the beach and although a bit tired in the decor it was all that we could have asked for.
The whole fortnight was fantastic and the staff couldn't do enough and were so friendly and kind.
This was paradise and we were in it.The gardens were beautiful and the pools were so inviting.
We enjoyed going through the cocktail list and met some lovely people. We witnessed weddings and were asked to witness one special wedding for a very special couple who we got to know. We are now good friends and been to see them since we got back and to share in their celebrations over here in England.
We had the time of our lives and would love to go back to Halycon Beach anytime.
Thanks for all the memories.
Fantastic.
Ruth & Greg Bateson, Cumbria ,England

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank windermerecumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 12 in Castries
7,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
15.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
5.6 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $489 - $1,161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing