We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$357
$332
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Suites(Castries)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Vega(Castries)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel Jou Hotel(Castries)(Great Value!)
$214
$180
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Regency La Toc(Castries)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,045)
Filter reviews
4,045 results
Traveler rating
2,362
1,030
370
157
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,362
1,030
370
157
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparadise poolquiet poolkelly's docksideour honeymoonst luciala tocbeach vendorsroad noisebeach grilllaid backjoe knowsclub roomwater sportsconcierge roomitalian restaurantmain poolshuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
3,896 - 3,901 of 4,045 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2005

We stayed at the Sandals Halcyon Beach resort on our Honeymoon from the 12th to the 19th April. We are missing it already!
As people have previously stated, its a 90minute drive from the airport in the south to the resort in Castries in the north. The time does fly by though as there is so much to see along the way. There are some real eye-openers too.
Upon arrival we were given champagne, cooling flannel and shampoo set. We were then shown to our room, which was upgraded for us to Grande Luxe Oceanview, although we believe as its a small resort, any accommodation would have been fine. All rooms are the same size whether you are in Honeymoon Concierge or standard room, only location is different.
The evening we got there we booked Kimonos (Regency) and the Pier restaurants as these get booked up very quickly. They advise you to book following morning at the Induction meeting but we advise you to book as soon as you can or you could be disappointed if you are only there a week like we were.
Kimonos we believe was the best night we had in a restaurant. It was an amazing atmosphere and gives you a real chance to make friends with those you are dining with. The pier restaurant has lovely food, so long as you like Steak or Fish you'll like it. One point though, if you want to sit around the edge of the pier to see more out of the window, ask for Smoking seats. Otherwise you'll be sat in the middle of the restaurant.
Food elsewhere was good. At the Halcyon we had a great breakfast each morning. 6.30 to 7.30 is continental breakfast. 7.30 until 10.30 is cooked breakfast. In the cooked breakfast you get a choice from food such as pork sausages, crepes, eggs, hash brown and french toast.
We hardly ate meals at lunchtime because we were so full! We did use the sandwich station though at the Bayside, and Toasties at the Beach Grill (yes its strangely true that Estelle will remember your name).
For evening meals we also went to Armandos at the Regency (Italian food), was nice food. Then went to the Olde English Pub at the Grande, food was nice again albeit a far fetched flavour of English pub food. We also tried Marios (Italian) and Bayside (International) at the Halcyon.
On mondays there is a BBQ and show which was fantastic. The limbo act and the band called "Axis" were highly entertaining.
The pool bars open at 10.00 in the morning and will create all kinds of cocktails on request. The staff are extremely friendly.
The beach is quite small but still nice and clean. Certainly enough room to walk along and sunbathe. The beach vendors are interesting. Some are very nice to you, Daniel in particular you should say hi to and buy some small gifts from.
Went on 2 excursions. The Helicopter tour of the island was brilliant and scary at the same time because it was a particularly windy day. Worth it though! The other was the undersea experience aboard a boat with a hull with windows so you can see the reefs and fish without getting wet! That was a good trip too.
We wish we could have stayed for 10 - 14 nights instead of 7, because it is such a nice resort and there is so much to see in St Lucia. The shuttle bus connections between Halcyon and the other 2 Sandals run on the hour from 7AM until 11PM so it gives you an opportunity to experience dining and relaxing at the other 2, but we very much preferred the Halcyon. The Grande was our 2nd favourite. If you prefer Large and Loud, the Regency will accommodate you better than the blissful nature of the Halcyon. The Grande was quite big but still had the closed intimacy feeling to it.
The Halcyon gardens were amazingly well maintained. If you are up early enough, at around 5.30-6AM, we recommend you watch the sunrise on the beachfront as its a great experience.
When we booked we were a little worried the Playmakers would try to embaress people into participating in everything and not let us relax but on the contrary they were very funny, especially one that sounds and looks like Chris Rock. They don't put any pressure on people to join in, and add to the whole atmosphere with their nature.
To summarise, if you are looking for a romantic, relaxing and intimate getaway to experience Caribbean flavour, we definately recommend you stay at this resort, you will love every moment.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank whistlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2005

My husband and I were looking to renew our vows in a tropical paradise and the Sandals Halcyon in St. Lucia was suggested to us by our travel agent. After tons of research we both decided that this was going to be our destination. Looking back, I am so glad we went with this resort because we had the best time. I myself have traveled all over the world and have not seen a more lavish, romantic, and lush resort. The vegetation was just spectacular, perfect for those wedding renewal pictures. Also, the location of the Halcyon was great, located in the middle of all three resorts, it was 15 minutes to either resort. Also, there were a lot of excursions to choose from. We rode and swam with the horses in the ocean, hiked the tropical rain forest, took a catamaran trip around the island to see the Pitons and Volcano, and went on a snorkeling trip. After our trip we both looked at each other and said “no trip will ever compare to this one” and has held strong ever since. I would like to highly recommend this resort and kudos to Sandals for such great service!!

  • Stayed: April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank srlaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous holiday at the Halcyon. We have been to St. Croix, Barbados and St. Lucia and we found this holiday to be the best one yet. We booked through Virgin Holidays and had a great experience from the start. The Halcyon is by far, in our opinion, the best of the 3 Sandals on the Island. The resort is intimate, the grounds are a tropical paradise and the staff are tremendous.
The island of St. Lucia is beautiful. There are mountains, waterfalls, and lush forests -- not to mention the flowers! From the airport, it takes 1 1/2 hours to get to the resort -- it's a drive, but the countryside is lovely.
Upon arrival, we were given champagne and an assortment of fruit, crackers and cheese. Everyone was given a welcome pack which included large sized shampoo, conditioner, aloe vera, and lotion. Finally we were showed to our room. From what we could see, all of the rooms were basically of the same standard. They are nice sized and all have large king sized beds. All rooms have a patio or balcony.
Some helpful advice: While the currency is EC dollars, most all of the shops, taxis, etc. ask for US Dollars. You can use Sterling or Euro -- but if I were to do it again, I would take US Dollars. Also, you will want to book restaurants well in advance. The Pier, which is the nicest restaurant on site, stays booked. We were lucky to get a seating -- usually it's all booked out 3 days in advance. The food was good -- not the best in the world -- but good. The seafood is fresh. The Beach Grill was one of our favorite places at lunch. Estelle is wonderful -- she really does know you name! Apparently we were told if we returned in years to come, she would still remember our names.
I could go on and on about the resort -- bottom line is that it is wonderful!! Book the holiday -- this is the one resort that I hope to return to time and time again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Erin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
16
Reviewed March 23, 2005

We found it a very relaxing vacation. Room were clean and no bugs. The food was excellent. The staff and the natives were very friendly. No lines to wait in and the service was great.

We were looking for a relaxing vacation and we found it here. The activities were good and the pools were nice. The beach wasn't huge but had no problem finding a spot.

We will return again next year, and possibly try the Grand instead, only for the change. I'am really glad we took the trip and it was really worth the money

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2005

Excellent…
Stayed here 6-13 March ‘05

Quick Overview:

Found the resort to be very good indeed – clean accommodation, good food, endlessly cheerful smiling (and singing) staff. The rooms are arranged in two storey blocks in the gardens, which themselves are beautifully well kept. Lots of shade with seats and hammocks dotted around, flowers and hummingbirds.

The gardens are designed to be eco-friendly, so lots of birds about, some butterflies and lizards – very small ones.
We had NO bug problems at all – maybe it helped that we went in the dry season.

The water was perfectly safe to drink.

Beach facilities very good – watersports available 8-4 each day, tuition for HobyCats and Sailboards from 9-10 and 3-4 each day. Waterskiing was first come, first served. Not much difference between high and low water.

The sea can cut up a bit rough though – watch the flag at the lifeguard station.

The hotel has a list of recommended excursions – we did the reefwatch, day sail to Soufriere and the volcano, champagne cruise in the evening – we won that at the Manager’s Cocktail Party – and dolphin and whale watching. Total cost was $450 (£233)

The Hotel photographers ( Kurt or Shayne) accompany some trips and will take photos of you – these can then be viewed at the hotel on a PC screen. We chose the $100 option of a disk containing the 56 photos that they took plus 1 print of the best one. $150 gets you an album as well. You don’t have to have them if you don’t want to.

Entertainment was not bad at all – limbo dancing, steel bands and disco. The bands were quite versatile – one steel band played a selection of Viennese Waltzes for example. The limbo dancing was excellent, being as much an acrobatic exhibition as anything else. Don’t know what the disco was like as we were generally whacked and gone to bed by the time that started.

There are games etc going on all the time around the pool.

DO remember the suncream - I plastered myself in the stuff and still got a bit scorched, even though I avoided the sun directly......

All The Detail:

We flew Virgin Atlantic from Gatwick. The flight was fine – enough room to shuffle your feet around whilst still seated, inflight food not bad. Bit of trouble with the seat back entertainment screens, but they sorted it OK.
Vieux Fort Airport in St Lucia is very rural as airports go. Took about 45 mins to get the luggage (doesn’t all come round on the conveyor – some was placed over in a corner on the floor) and then to get through immigration.
Watch For:
“Porters” who will shout “Sandals?” and then, when you say “yes” will grab your bags and take them through to the main concourse – a matter of feet. They then ask payment for this service – whatever you choose to give. These people have no connection with the hotel, as far as I am aware, and I suggest that you resist using them.
On the concourse, we were booked in fairly swiftly (have your passports and travel documents as supplied to you by the travel agent handy) and pointed towards our little bus – a Toyota Hiace Minibus. There are hundreds of these on the island – I think the entire worlds production must go there. Taxis are identified by the prefix TX on the number plate.

The hour and a quarter drive to the hotel is interesting – the road is all tarmac but of widely variable quality – lots of hairpin bends, hills, dales and potholes . It’s a good way to see the interior of the island though. The driving is a bit ‘Wacky Races’ and did produce a few raised eyebrows, though the average speed is about 40mph. The most important fitment on the vehicle is the horn….

On arrival at the hotel, we were received in the piano bar, given a drink and formalities completed. A pack of lotions, shampoos, etc was handed out, along with a quick briefing. A guided tour is available the following day.
They like to take an imprint of your credit card. Nothing is charged to this until you leave, so if you want to settle up (for excursions etc) in some other way (we paid cash) then no problem.

Then the porters take you to your room and that’s it.

There’s a fitted safe in the room so you can secure your valuables. The bed was very comfy, the bathroom fine, the TV had only US channels (except for the BBC world service). The air-con was rather noisy, but we found that switching it on when we went out for the evening and switching it off when we returned was enough.
The room was cleaned each day, the bed and towels changed.

The food we found to be very good indeed – we ate mostly at the Bayside because it was easiest – self serve as much as you want although in the eveni8ngs they serve you. There was a vast array of different foods available, and the chefs were on hand to do crepes etc should you want them. They also did theme evenings with a bewildering array of dishes available. Anyone who couldn’t find something they liked would be very hard indeed to please.

We also ate in Marios (Italian) and the Pier. These were fine as well. Didn’t try any of the other sites – not enough time!

It is true that the birds fly through the Bayside on occasion, (no windows) but they are no inconvenience and, in my view, add a bit of interest to the proceedings. There are bird tables for them, and it all fits in with the eco thing.

The beach grill is pretty good but could do with a bit of a makeover. Food fine though – Estelle will remember your name.

Have no worries about going to this resort – true, this was our first Caribbean vacation, but we found no real cause for complaint.

If you require or expect a lot of glitz then I would say that this is not for you.
This is a homely resort providing a quiet and unhurried vacation. I had read some negative reports prior to staying here, but I feel, after my own experience, that those people were unfortunate in that perhaps they went to the wrong type of resort for them, were very unlucky or extremely difficult to please.


Go out on some excursions - the day sail to Soufriere is very good - includes a trip to the volcano, botanical gardens, waterfall and a sit down lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank gwb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews