We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic place to honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed for 10 nights at the Halcyon Beach resort, and from the moment we got off the plane the service was excellent. We were greeted by a friendly concierge who took our bags through to the waiting lounge at the airport, where we were offered cool refreshments while we waited for the free transfer. We only had to wait for about 10 minutes before the bus arrived to take us to the Halcyon, an interesting journey across the island which took about 1 hour 20 minutes. Upon arrival at the Halcyon we were offered champagne or a rum punch (go for the rum punch, it is excellent!) while our bags were collected and then we were shown to our room. We had a Caribbean Luxury room situated on the first floor with wonderful views over the gardens and views of the beach. We were close to the beach bar, which served excellent snacks/sandwiches during the day. All four restaurants (beach bar, Kelly's, Bayside and Mario's) offered excellent food, although Mario's was definitely our favourite (serves good Italian fare). The house wine on offer was also good – we didn't bother choosing from the wine list as the free wine was enough for us!
The sunset pool was the busiest place during the day with games and competitions taking place – not really our thing but if you like activities then it looked like fun. There are pool tables available too – perfect for a holiday tournament! We enjoyed the quieter paradise pool which has a swim up bar (as does the sunset) with great service from Agnes. The beach is also nice, although the water isn't as clear as I expected but this is owing to two rivers that feed into the sea and a massive storm over the Christmas period. It is cleaned every morning with plenty of sun loungers.
We took advantage of the Stay at One, Play at Three offer which was a real selling point for us – it was nice to be able the visit the Grande St Lucian and La Toc and experience the different atmospheres at both. We preferred the Grande to La Toc – the beach was excellent and it wasn't quite as busy. However, the quiet pool doesn't have a bar which was a shame, although the main bar isn't too far of a walk. The Barefoot on the Beach restaurant here was good – we didn't try any others. La Toc was ok, excellent facilities but not our kind of resort – lots of games/activities/dancing by the pool. However the red flag was up most of the time so no watersports could be done here. Neptunes was good for food.
During our stay at Halcyon we went on the Super Snorkel trip which was US$50 per person and great value – we sailed to Marigot Bay and Soufriere, saw the Pitons, snorkelled for an hour in a beautiful bay with plenty of fish and coral to see, had a BBQ on the beach and then sailed back with plenty of refreshments on board (both alcoholic and non). In total the trip was about 6 hours and a great way to spend the day. We also took out a kayak from the watersports centre and visited the deserted island which was good fun. Another worthwhile trip is to the local market in Castries – we took a taxi from the resort which cost US$30 return. We spent two hours here which is probably all you need (closes at 1pm Saturdays).
Overall the facilities were great – our room was large with a very clean bathroom and nice balcony to sit out on, and the staff changed our bed every day and also provided a turn down service each night. The mini bar was regularly restocked and the staff couldn't have done more to help us have a perfect honeymoon. I would definitely recommend the Halcyon as the perfect relaxing destination for any couple.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your review, Hazel!
It's wonderful to hear about your amazing honeymoon at Sandals Halycon Beach on the beautiful island of St. Lucia. We are delighted that you had the perfect stay and enjoyed it all from beginning to end! We truly appreciate your feedback and your many kind remarks that we will be sure to forward to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,921 - 1,927 of 3,925 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I spent a very relaxing week at the Sandals Halcyon Beach in late November. The hotel, staff and food are all superb. It is also great being able to sample the other 2 Sandals hotels during your stay. My only tiny comment about the Halcyon would be, that I thought the bar area where you sat on an evening could do with extra lighting and some comfy sofas. Other than this, it is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your review!
We are elated to hear that your stay at Sandals Halcyon Beach was a stellar one and that the staff took excellent care of you! It's wonderful that you also visited our other properties and explored all that they have to offer. It's a great way to maximize your fun!
We appreciate your feedback and will forward your suggestion to our resort management team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were totally thrilled with everything at Halcyon Beach. The staff was warm and friendly and very helpful. The food was great to excellent. The room was fabulous, the grounds were impeccably maintained on a daily basis. We visited the other two properties, La Toc and the Grand, which were fine, but didn't seem quite as personable as Halcyon, maybe because they were much more crowded and busier. If we asked for something, like more orange juice in the room, it was delivered promptly. We were greeted with a smile by the staff any time we met them walking around.

I don't understand some of the complaints. One person complained about not having top shelf alcohol. While I admit they did not have Don Julio tequila or other $100 a bottle varieties or a huge selection of each type of liquor, they did have upper level stuff, Bombay and Tanqueray Gin several good vodkas etc. We had several cocktails but did not go there to drink constantly and it was fine with us.
There were many free activities including a yacht cruise down the coast and daily activities on the grounds from pool and beach games to rum and martini and cigar tastings.

Someone complained about the resort 'allowing' the locals to try to sell them their wares on the beach, souvenirs and such. Obviously they did not listen when it was explained that ALL the beaches on the island are public, none are privately owed by individuals or the resorts, therefore they cannot make these people go away. We bought a few things from them and, if we declined, they left us alone.

A vacation is what you make of it. Unless you had catastrophic problem things that could happen anyway can be dealt with. We had a wonderful time and will go back to Halcyon if we go back to St Lucia. It was "Simply Beautiful'.

Room Tip: Our room was all the way in the back, backing up to the main road. Even so we did not hear traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your review, Pam!
We are delighted to hear of the fantastic time you had at Sandals Halcyon Beach and that your expectations were not only met but surpassed! Our staff will greatly appreciate all of your kind remarks and that all of their earnest effort to see that you had an amazing trip was well-received.
We hope you will "soon come back" for more wonderful moments in paradise with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

As soon as we arrived for our honeymoon (January 2014) everything was amazing. The resort was clean and beautiful,the staff was friendly and very helpful, and the food was amazing. The entertainment staff, Michael and Junior, were very friendly along with the rest of the staff. They made it a fun experience at the resort. This resort also provides a more personal/friendly feeling where everyone seems to know each other. This resort provided a great honeymoon experience for me and my new wife and we are already looking at going back to Sandals Halcyon. We would recommend this resort to anyone because of the relaxing feel, great food, and an excellent staff. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Sorry no tip for room selection but everyone I talked to liked the room that they were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoeJ0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hello and thank you so much for your review, Joe.
It is always an honor for us to host these very special events and we are thrilled to hear you had an amazing honeymoon experience at Sandals Halcyon Beach! It's wonderful that your stay was absolutely perfect from beginning to end and that you had the trip of your dreams.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were in November 19 til 25.11. Halcyon.
Pluses: very very very friendly people works there.
Beautiful nature, nice food, quiet and peaceful resort, suggest for couples who wants some privacy.
But sea in Halcyon is not so beautiful, so if u want to see peaceful sea, with white sand u should rest in Grande. If u like waves u should visit La Toc.
Definitely u should try everything what this resort giving to u.

We also had Most Crazy and Fun trip with Joe knows! Definitely u should try that if u are fun and young :D

Room Tip: More privacy - Halcyon Trip with friends - choose Grande or La toc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I am writing this review before I leave so all is fresh in my mind. After reading so many bad reviews I was worried. From the moment we arrived we found the staff very friendly and helpful, the food was very good, perhaps the room wasn't the 5* I would expect in Europe but was clean! quiet and well serviced. The negative comments about the drinks being smaller.... Then have two!!! Food choices being poor...... Then ask for something else!!! A holiday is what you make it, chill out and enjoy..because you can

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We visited just after the new year 2013 and had a great time. The staff was very kind and friendly. We SCUBA dove every day - it was excellent! At this Sandals you have to take a shuttle to the boat dock, but it was quick and easy. The location was quiet, relaxing and perfect for a couple looking to get away and relax.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
988 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 11 in Castries
7,506 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
1.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 15 in Gros Islet
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $481 - $1,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing