We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at the Halcyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at the Halcyon”
Reviewed April 9, 2004

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Halcyon in February. We
went for 10 nights, 11 days, and I would highly recommend that as a
perfect lenghth of time to spend. There is so much to see and do that I
don't think a week is sufficient time. As soon as we arrived we made
reservations for horse-back riding and the Sunset Cruise. The cruise
was on a Friday night and it was a blast. There are photographers from
the hotel on board and they will take the most beautiful pictures at
sunset. We also booked the Honeymoon photography package and it was the
best decision we made. We now have beautiful pictures of us on the
island that our families and friends have really enjoyed viewing. They
r so vivid, every time we see them, we feel we r back there! The
horse-back riding was great, they did leave us off at a small port,
however, where the locals really push their beaded necklaces and
crafts.
The food was comparable to none, and we spent many breakfasts and dinners at the Bayside. We never had a problem finding chairs or seats by the pool or on the beach. The staff was very friendly- Estelle is the best- she remembers everyones names- however, they r overworked, and have to work long shifts. Noone would accept any tips, the brochure is true to it's word. Although I do suggest tipping the drivers. The trips to and from the airport and between hotels was different to say the least. If you get carsick- beware! Everyone drives crazy there. We enjoyed eating at several of the restaurants at the Regency. Armandos and Latoc, and Marios at the Halcyon were excellent.
The only complaint we had was the night time entertainment at the Halcyon. They play music all night which noone dances to except the staff! I would highly suggest going over to the Regency for better night time entertainment. They provide transportation, but be warned, the last shuttle will leave at 11PM just as things r getting good. My husband and I found ourselves taking cabs back to the Halcyon later at night. This was no big deal and it's fun to go to the other resorts as well. The Regency and the Grande are definately the larger of the resorts, but we really enjoyed the island feel of the Halcyon.
We went snorkeling several times and the guides were very professional and we had a wonderful time- bring your underwater camera! They r way to expensive in the gift shop.
The rooms were very clean and adorable. They r really basically the same, so I don't know if it's really worth it to pay for the upgrade.
Overall, I would suggest booking the adventures you plan to take, Sunset cruise, horse-back riding, etc., the day after u arrive. Also, go directly to the Concierge desk to make dinner reservations, they will also book your dinner reservations at the other resorts, this way u won't have to miss out on any of the dining opportunities. I would also suggest having some pictures taken, as they r really nice to have after u get home. Our honeymoon was everything we hoped it would be and we can't wait to get back to the Halcyon. We highly recommend it, and don't forget to try their terrific mudslides!

Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyMama77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,170
    962
    337
    146
    118
See reviews for
77
3,019
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2004

My Husband and i went with 2 freinds (we are 30)and had a great time.
We were welcomed with champagne and cold towels just what we needed after the journey. The rooms were better than expected, plenty of room, there clean and tidy although the bathroom could be updated. The pools were lovely and there was plenty to do through out the day. The Grand's beach is the best with clearer water and the trampoline in the sea was fun but hard work bouncing on it. The food and staff at the Halcyon were great and were always smiling and laughing. Le Piton resturant at the Grand was great with lovely views. The halyon is small than the others but we liked this as everything was local. We had a good night in the Piano bar and sang songs once we had a few drinks in us then headed for the jacuzzi to relax later on. Titus was a great barman and once he got used to our drinks there was always one lined up. I cant understand how anyone can complain about this restort, it was fun, clean, everyone got on the rooms were lovely and there was always a variety of food. We did not want to leave but all good things must come to an end.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2004

This was our first trip to the caribbean, and it couldn t have been better. Our stay was March 20-27. Here s my philosophy on which Sandals is right for you: if you are a hotel person, love a big building, fancy hotel room and atmosphere, and want that at the beach, stay at the Sandals Regency or the Grande. If you want tropical gardens with a smaller resort  island feel resort, stay at Halcyon. The rooms may be small, but we were never in ours!! We found the bartenders at Halcyon to be a lot friendlier, and know how to make a great mudslide! I will say the view and the beach are definitely top notch at the Grande, but still can t compare to the intimate feel of the Halcyon. Estelle, Krisila, Valery, Aldrich ..the staff at Halcyon are superb, willing to do anything for you. I unfortunately got sick while we were there - the nurse on property went out of her way to get me to a good doctor, followed up with me continually, and the staff at Bayside restaurant wanted to bring dinner to my room when we only had the basic room, nothing more. There is a good mix of people of all ages here. We re 30, went with a couple friends and had the time of our lives. We did participate in the games and special nights of karaoke, casino night, etc. and had a ball. The piano bar is a must see, David the pianist is amazing - his comedy act is equally entertaining. You must go. There are a few kitties roaming around the property, but won t bother you unless you feed them. We love cats, so it was fine with us. We met some wonderful people, had excellent meals (had the best one at Barefoot by the Sea at the Grande). Can t wait to go back. Here s the BIGGEST TIP!! Fly into the airport at Castries. It is a 5 minute ride to Halcyon. Otherwise, you ll fly into the airport on the south end of the island and have to take a 1.5 hour nightmare shuttle ride.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlesuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 29, 2004

Have just returned from the Halcyon , St. Lucia. I have travelled quite a bit throughout the Caribbean and I liked this Sandals property. I have been to all the Superclubs and all the Sandals properties in Jamaica. This resort is small and quaint, it is not as reported in other reviews, run down. The rooms are not dirty and there are no bed bugs. Our room was immaculate as was the bathroom. The rooms are small and nicely decorated and comfortable. We were upgraded to an ocean front room and it was wonderful falling asleep to the sound of the waves. The staff is very very nice. It is true that Estelle at the beach restaurant will never forget your name, Agnes and Noelissa at the main bar are both great bartenders and nice ladies and Valerie too. The dine at 3 properties is a huge bonus. All of the specialty restaurants we visited were good. The buffets are typical of any buffet at any resort. We enjoyed several nice meals in various restaurants at the Grand, Regency and at the Halcyon. The beaches are average, if you want a nicer beach go to the Dominican Republic or Cuba, or Mexico , but if you want lush foliage, mountainous terrain , hot weather and nice people St. Lucia is the place. It seems many people are not happy unless they are complaining. Yes there are negatives which are too few to mention, and nothing is perfect no matter how much you pay. So much of enjoying a vacation is attitude.If you can't enjoy yourself at the Halcyon with the benefit of having all the amenities of the Grand and the Regency you should just curl up at home and not waste your money travelling anywhere. In my view Sandals Halcyon in St Lucia is a wonderful vacation destination. Go and have fun!!!!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 17, 2004

We booked this trip for the luxory and service and got neither of the two. Besides the cats roaming in the restaurants and the unfriendly service.We also had a very unkept room and bed bugs.We have stayed in resorts for a lot less and had better accomidations then we had here.The pools were a joke and the beach, well where was the white sand? I looked but couldn't find it.Very unclean bar and lounge areas.We rate this a 2* and thats being kind.Renovations are desperatly needed to bring up this sandels.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2004

We were at this resort from February 21-28, 2004 and had a wonderful time. I was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews here, but after spending a week here, I really feel that this is a wonderful vacation spot. The only problem we had was with our room - we had booked a Run of the House room, and we were put in the furthest block of rooms from the main hotel. The rooms were right along a rather busy road, so the first night we didn't get much sleep - it was very loud!
We complained about the room and our things were moved for us the next day. The rooms are on the small side, but the balconies are very nice and we didn't spend too much time in our room so we didn't mind. We loved the fact that when you book at one Sandals in St Lucia you get to use all three - we loved eating at the Regency and going to the beach at the Grande, but we were always happy to come back to the smaller, more intimate Halcyon. If you're looking for a party, then perhaps the Halcyon wouldn't be for you, but if you want a relaxing, romantic getaway, then the Halcyon is wonderful - so lush and tropical, the other two resorts can't compare. We loved eating at Marios, and at Bayside for the beach BBQ and for the International Buffet. We also ate at Kimono's and La Toc at the Regency and both were wonderful. We weren't too impressed with dining at the Grande (although the crepes at Josephines were incredible!). I would highly recommend taking a snorkelling trip with the hotel - it was outstanding! The beach at this hotel is not as impressive as at the Grande, but we enjoyed sitting at the pool (there is a pool for activities which was quite loud and a quiet pool which was very relaxing). We would definitely return to this resort, or to Sandals Regency - we loved St. Lucia. We've travelled a great deal in the Caribbean and found the people of St. Lucia to be very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MapleMama_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 7, 2004

We are just about to visit Sandals Halcyon for the 4th time in the first week of April 2004. We last visited in April 2003 and had a very nice time. It has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and does not look like a concrete jungle like La Toc or the Grande.We have always found the food to be very enjoyable and the service great. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and seem genuinely please to see you. Estelle at the Beach Grill is truly amazing. She MUST have a photographic memory, and she is one of the reasons we like to go back.The Dive Center Staff are good too, although the SCUBA diving is not as good as it was went we first visited in 1999 since they let some of the staff go to the Grande. It is much more like a production line than a fun occasion, although the diving is quite nice.The rooms ARE looking dated and a little tired, and in my opinion, it is not worth spending more money on your room as they are all basically the same. They do have everything you need though including a very large and comfortable bed.The truly nice thing about Sandals Halcyon, is that it is very laid back and relaxed. If you like to be left alone to do your own thing, yet be pampered when you wish, I would recommend this resort. The grounds are beautiful, and the staff so welcoming. For me, it is like a second home.I can't wait until April 4th.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
1.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
832 reviews
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing