We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Halcyon Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Halcyon Honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sandals Halcyon for 7 days/6 nights for our honeymoon in September 2012. Overall we had a terrific honeymoon and would recommend Sandals and St Lucia as a HM destination. We had done our due diligence in researching St Lucia/Halcyon Beach prior to booking so knew what to expect or perhaps more importantly what NOT to expect.

Halcyon is an older resort and it does show it's age. It doesn't have that grand, luxurious feel that comes to mind when you think of the Sandals name. However, it is a very nice resort - low key, quiet, and not overly busy. The grounds are well landscaped and the resort has a quaint tropical feel to it. We enjoyed the food and drinks there (ASK for top shelf or else you get rail liquor) especially the buffet lunches. I am not typically a fan of buffets but enjoyed the variety and ability to explore some St Lucian foods. We never once had to fight for a lounge chair or pool raft and were able to take advantage of all the water sports/equipment with no to little waiting. Our room was nice (ocean view room) and the bed was the most comfortable I'd ever slept in. The highlight of our entire trip was the Joe Knows speed boat tour we booked through Sandals- do not go to St Lucia with out doing this tour!

Halcyon is centrally located to the other two Sandals Resorts on St Lucia. Take advantage of the shuttle and explore the other resorts! I preferred Grande over La Toc personally. Barefoot by the Sea was my fave dining experience - a must do. Pigeon Island Nat'l Park is a quick 10 minute walk from the gates of Grande and is worth a visit. It is a decent hike up to the top of the hill but the amazing view is worth it. Also the little bar in the basement of the park building there is a fun stop for a Guinness after your hike. Make dinner reservations at the other resorts as soon as you get to Halcyon - the spots fill quickly.

If you like modern, high class luxary and a buzzing social scene go to Grande, but if you want laid back relaxation Halcyon is perfect!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a room with an ocean view or better yet the private sea-side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MnMallyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,096
    934
    324
    141
    117
See reviews for
75
2,910
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent a perfect week in a seaside cottage on the beach in this unspoiled paradise. Our trip was amazing from start to finish. I first would like to thank my awesome travel agent Ruth DeMuth from TripGuy Travel. There is a reason she is a Certified Sandals/Beaches Specialist and a Member of Chairman's Royal Club at Sandals, Her work is always Flawless. I have found lots of helpful information and travel tips on this site but the best thing I found was Ruth. After reading Tons of great reviews about her I called her and booked my first Sandals trip in 2009. Its been perfect planning again and again.
We had a privateVIP transfer with Serenity Tours, Perfect. Thanks Hanns. Arrived to meet our Butlers Willard , Claudia and Silveria. Top Notch service all week. We found the beach and pool areas clean and beautiful. The water was not as people made it out to be in other reviews. But yes it is clearer and a prettier color at The Grande. All our meals were very good. La Toc French and Kelly's at Halcyon were our favorites. What really makes the Halcyon special is the people. The staff is so friendly and upbeat. Thanks to them all Dean, Greg, My girls Eslyn and Viana and Beautiful Lucy. We had a amazing time and will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dee273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Halcyon Beach. We're so happy to read that you had another amazing vacation with us. We always strive to go above and beyond to please our guests and I'm glad we were able to meet that goal during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place was absolutely amazing! We had the time of our lives. My husband and I spent 9 nights there this past July 2013. We were so impressed with the service and friendliness of the resort staff. The food was great,we ate at every restuarant on site as well as at La Toc. Kimonos was by far the best food, with Marios being a very close second. The drinks were really good, especially if Kenzely or Ms. Agnes made them, ask for a Bob Marley; you will be hooked. The activities that they offered were also good, and the excursions are well worth the money. The one excursion that is an absolute must is JOE KNOWS!! You have to experience it and make sure you are on the boat with the main captain and Big L; you will have the time of your life. The garden setting of this resort was perfect, the atmosphere is great if you prefer a more relaxed vibe; if you are looking for more of the party scene, La Toc seems to fit that bill. Halcyon definately shuts down around 11pm. There was a pretty good mix of age ranges for couples. They do need to play more Carribean music and not Celine Dion and Lionel Richie, we can hear that music at home. Our only one true dissapointment and the reason I did not give 5 stars was the room and the beds. The beds were awful to sleep in, very hard and uncomfortable ( We were in the honeymoon hideaway rooms across from the paradise pool, concierge category.) and the swamp coolers make the room feel wet all the time. You would think that for the amount of money you spend, you would be able to get a decent bed to sleep in. The rooms were also very small with not a lot of space to move around in. Oh yeah, and the beach here is not white sand with blue water, try the Grande or La Toc if that is what you want. Overall we loved it and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We're so happy to read that you had such a wonderful honeymoon with us at Sandals Halcyon Beach. We strive to create romantic and memorable experiences for our guests and I'm so glad we were able to achieve that goal during your stay. I will be sure to send your feedback to our management team on resort about your concerns with your room and bed. We will do our best to make things right for our future guests.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I was here from July 27-Aug 4th and loved the tranquility of the Halcyon resort. Although there are 2 others that you have access two, if you are looking for relaxation this is the place. The staff were accommodating and very friendly. The food was delicious! It was nice that the staff came up to you to check to see how you were enjoying you stay and if there was anything that you needed. The Barefoot restaurant food was delicious as well as the LaToc French Restaurant! Loved the Zip line excursion and Juliene's Boat tour of the Piton's. Thanks everyone for such a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMWeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Halcyon Beach. We're happy that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us. We always strive to meet the expectations of our guests and it's wonderful to hear that we were able to do just that during your stay.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 20th wedding Anniversary and decided to book a Sandals resort as we wanted the 5 star treatment that we believed Sandals would offer us. We stayed between the 3rd &10th July. Overall,the resort was good but it was not as amazing as we had expected. Our room backed onto the dual carriageway which could be heard from our room and the paradise pool. I feel the food was average, definitely not 5 star. We booked a Concierge room but this was not worth the extra money.

The staff were very friendly at the restaurants and bars. However, staff at the Concierge desk and reception seemed to be, at times, preoccupied. The rooms were a good size and the bed was huge! We did two trips, Joe Knows and the North Buggy Tour, both were great.

Overall, our stay was enjoyable but if you're looking for a 5 Star experience we do not feel that Sandals Halcyon meets this expectation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We're happy to read that your stay, overall, was very enjoyable. We always strive to offer amazing vacation experiences and anything less than perfect calls for improvement on our part. It seems we did not meet your expectations in a few areas of our service. We want to ensure that our future guests do not share the same experience. Therefore, your feedback will be sent to our General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Thank you for your review. We hope that you will afford us a chance to make things right during a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a pre-conceived idea of what a Sandals holiday would be like, but we were reassured by our travel agent that the Halcyon was the smallest of the 3 hotels.
It was lovely. The staff were fantastic (especially the desk staff who helped my husband with urgent work stuff). We had a lovely room near the water sports area and therefore didn't get disturbed by the noise from the bars and pools. Our room was very nice and kept clean by the wonderful staff.
The food was fantastic...Mario's and the main dining area especially. It was a wonderful relaxing holiday and made better by meeting so many nice people.
Gripe...... Charging for wi-fi??? Please take note!

Room Tip: Near the water sports centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLM903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon Beach. We're all so happy to read that we were able to offer you such an amazing vacation. We strive to not only meet the expectations of our guests but to exceed them as well.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful experience in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sandals Halcyon for 10 days, and celebrated our anniversary with friends there. First of all, all the Halcyon staff were fantastic, always friendly and helpful. The food at the various restaurants was great, especially Mario's. Some notes for those planning a trip to the Halcyon. First of all, it is a fairly quiet resort, which we enjoyed. There were poolside and beach activities during the day, and nighttime activities, mainly musicians, most evenings. Bring bug spray, not all of us were bitten, but I was. There is really nothing right outside the Halcyon resort, but taxi's will take you anywhere's. The beach was fine, and sure the water was murky, but it didn't bother us. Poolside chairs were always available, even after 10 am.

We had a moonlight dinner there to celebrate our anniversary. This was outstanding, and professionaly done. We're middle aged, so quiet evenings were fine for us. We generally went to our rooms on or before 11 PM. We only heard partying after midnight one evening, but our room area was quiet except the waves hitting the beach. There is something peaceful about waves hitting the beach. We stayed in the 400 rooms. Our room was fine and comfortable. The cleaning crew kept our room clean - thanks. We really really really enjoyed all the bar drinks. They were strong enough for us. One minor gripe is the Internet service; the resort should consider lowering the prices. But we were not there to stay on the Internet.

We went to the Sandals Grande and Le Toc. They are nice, but we liked the Halcyon better. We met many people there, but one family has been to the Halcyon 7 times - And there reasoning is because of the people. We totally agree. We'd love to go back to the Halcyon someday. St Lucia is a very nice island and worth seeing more of. Thanks Sandals Halcyon!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Colorado91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
15.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing