We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I work in the service industry in Las Vegas and I know good service when I see it. Sandals has some of the best service I have ever had. The people are so genuinely friendly. All inclusive at its best. Most places skimp on alcohol and food when it comes to this but not Sandals. The food is top notch with ample choices. The bars are fully stocked with many different upscale brands of alcohol. This resort is specially designed for couples to have a romantic get away. It is smaller and more quaint that the other two on St. Lucia but you get to visit them all. They are all amazing in their own way but this one is truely for couples looking for romance.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chisox312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,010 - 2,016 of 3,852 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The people at halcyon were wonderful! Thanks to shara, Nielan, Greg, Eslyn, Micky, and the intern Bryan! They were wonderful and we had top notch service! They always made us feel included. The rooms were wonderful and the meals were delicious. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megpie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at Sandals Halcyon on July 13, 2013, and departed July 19, 2013. We were in room 804, the least expensive rooms on the property. Our room was located just across from the quieter of the two pools.

Our room was very comfortable. In fact, on two nights we had to turn the a/c off. Although we did not have alcohol in our refrigerator, housekeeping kept juice, sodas, and water stocked each day. Upon learning we were diet soda drinkers, we never had less than a six pack of our particular soda. Housekeeping kept the rooms spotless and we lacked for nothing.

The food was probably the best we have experienced in all our many travels. The beef was outstanding and, because most of our friends are from Texas, that says a lot. Thoroughly enjoyed Mario's. We were miserable after our meal because it was just so good. Kelly's was great, as were the meals we ate at Bayside. The beach grill had your typical burgers, dogs, sandwiches, etc. We did think the hostess at this grill was a bit gruff.

The bartenders were generous and very friendly. We had all we needed to drink and then some. My friend tried to tip one bartender and he politely refused the money.

We were there during Carnival and that was quite an experience. Don't know that I would book again during that celebration, but we were glad we got to see it. Very colorful.

Yes, there were a few mosquitos, but it's the tropics. What can you expect. For the most part, unless we stayed out late the mosquitos didn't bother us. There are cats on the property. Give me a cat any day over a mouse. The cats look healthy enough and most are friendly. I'm not a cat person, but they didn't annoy me at all.

For the most part, this was an incredible experience. We booked through Delta Vacations. Honestly, the only thing we did not enjoy was our Delta Flights back and forth Atlanta/St. Lucia. Delta has one smug little representative at their terminal in St. Lucia. That young woman should be canned for the way she treats passengers.

My friend had to change her camo shorts at St. Lucia's airport. Evidently, only the law enforcement is allowed to wear camo in St. Lucia. Not a bad thing, just a little head's up.

We have traveled to many countries and seen many beautiful places. Right now, our favorite is St. Lucia. Sandals Halcyon is great. We will book again, but maybe not through Delta.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtsdtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our first time with Sandals, we had a fabulous holiday!! From the moment we arrived you were treated like royalty. The resort was excellent, so clean, staff were so nice, always a cheery smile and welcome. We visited the two other resorts on St Lucia,they were stunning also. Best holiday ever! Cant fault anything. We will certainly be booking with Sandals again. Well worth long flight!

Room Tip: We had a eves honeymoon suite was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were slightly disappointed with the Halcyon Beach. The rooms were ok and the beach was ok and the food was ok and the entertainment was also ok. Get my drift? This was our first holiday at a Sandals resort and we probably expected too much or could it be that this hotel is at the bottom end of all of the Sandals resorts in quality, I don't know. Whilst there we travelled to the other two resorts on St Lucia and found them much better, we even discovered fresh lovely oysters at the Grande at one lunchtime, there were no oysters to be seen at the Halcyon even at the speciality restaurants. We have travelled previously to the Dominican Republic for half the price and got twice as much with better resorts, fabulous entertainment and much better food than here so that's were we will head back to next.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MajorTom515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Halcyon, in saint lucia , the second week of july.
A friend of us highly raccomended Sandals for our honeymooner and we proud of the choice made.
The resort whole was breathtaking,really peaceful and with top staff.
Food and service good all over the restaurant, however we found the italian placeoutstanding.
The name is Mario's, they offer a various regional italian menu followed by first class service.
Stefano Bartolini,the manager,is the most professional guy we've ever met and he spent enough time talking with us to say that this young man is plenty of skills and passion for his job.
Davina,the best smile waitress in this resort,seems worked along Stefano , always ready to take charge when the maneger was busy helping staff. She deserve a price.
We ate in there 3 time and everytime its been an un forgettable dining experience.
Thanks all Mario's staff , thanks allsndals

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nico2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Number one item. If you can flnd a flight into Castries Airport. Take it. The airport on the south side of the island is the main international airport. but it's like 1.5 hours in a crowded shuttle bus over the mountains to the sandals.

This is my second time to Sandals Halcyon. Can't complain about much at all. I just hate the beach beggers trying to sell you stuff all the time. But that happens everywhere. Our youngest son had a destination wedding. It was great. The staff was great.

Make sure to take the shuttle over to the Grande if you like being in the pool all day. The Halycon has two nice pools. A quiet pool and a noisy fun one. The Grande has tons of pools. Lots of restaurants. Just make sure to visit the other two resorts. It makes the trip that much more fun. We had a total of 10 people in the wedding party that went. Fun was had by all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrokerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 12 in Castries
7,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
15.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
5.6 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $490 - $1,151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing