We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and certainly not a 5 star resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing and certainly not a 5 star resort.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Chris from cardiff.
My wife and I came here hoping for a last dream luxury holiday before our soon to be first child. Sadly for a 5 star sandals resort it has proved to be disappointing.
Whilst only Mother Nature can be blamed it rained for 4 of our 7 days. The beach is ok but is not cleaned and covered in cigarette butts, broken glass and litter.
The food is ok but nothing out of the ordinaru at the bayside buffet and at Kelly's dockside and we ended up giving half our meals to the cats on the resort who were totally harmless and just looking to feed. however I would highly recommend Marios and kimonos.
We did book a private meal which like everything not included in the all inclusive was very costly but was a lovely experience.
We did two tours, we did the sea walk which was an interesting experience but as it had rained there was very little to see and the scuba people with us had the same experience. We also did the catamaran tour which was ok. The gardens are lovely but the volcano really is a disappointment ( think more a babbling brook with steam and rotten egg smell). The catamaran we had also had a broken toilet and so the smell was awful.
The staff are all lovely and friendly and could not be any more helpful.
Our room was very average though and we had a honeymoon deluxe. Tiny bath, shower with very little power and more fitting a 3 star resort.
Be warned alot of reserving at the beach goes on here with people putting towels on chairs and not returning for hours, pathetic but it does happen.
All in all st lucia is beautiful but i would not return and I think for the cost coming from the uk this is not value for money and I left disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cc1971afc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,170
    962
    337
    146
    118
See reviews for
77
3,019
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

What an amazing time we had - a perfect romantic getaway. For the sun lover choose rooms 101-105. Ours was right on the end by the watersports which meant that we were away from everything and could just crash out and enjoy the sun.

Not everyone's choice but that's the beauty of Sandals - you get out of it what you want, you engage in anyway you want to.

Wendell went out of his way to make sure it was perfect. Mini bar top up every day, drinks twice a day on the beach, great food and really friendly staff. Never found them sterile apart from the head guy in the buffet restaurant who needs to smile a bit more.

Did laugh at other reviews compaining about the noise of the sea and the water being murky. Get a life! You are on the sea so you're going to hear the waves breaking if you choose a sea view room. The water is also murky when it's windy - that's nature for you churning the sand up - it's not Sandals fault! Next people will be grumbling that it rains in rainy season!

Would highly recommend if you are a sun lover and want a quiet break. If you want to get involved there are things to do, if not just crash out on the beach and enjoy.

Room Tip: If you want water front choose 101-105 concierge rooms - not sure that you got extra concierge servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedders37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Saint Lucia, we have stayed at Sandals 7 other times, we picked Halcyon because it was small like SRC the one we like in Jamaica. The resort was beautiful, the rooms were like little private cottages with beautiful greenery everywhere, and not too many bugs! If I had to complain about anything it would be our shower, we struggled all 14 days with getting the temp adjusted but that was all there was to complain about. We loved the fact you could get into any restaurant at anytime without a reservation, except the new Kimono's and even that wasn't hard, the food was excellent, loved Francis and Enphina( I know thats not right but she made omeletes). Agnes who runs the Paradise Pool is the best of the best!
Always had our fridge full and all requests were taken care of. Love this resort and we will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the 100's have wonderful ocean views, the 600 and 700 are in a great area by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival it was apparent that the grounds and buildings were kept well but needed a bit of a face lift. The room was clean and comfortable. We had to call the concierge on multiple occasions for replenishments. There were a handful of staff that made our stay pleasant but for the most part they were either pushy or cold. The location is in between the other two resorts so visiting the other sandals resorts was great. This was the more laid back and older location of the three.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Modern M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my wife and mines belated "Honeymoon", as well as 2 other couples "Honeymoons" as well.
We couldn't have picked a better place to go or stay at. The staff was wonderful, very pleasant from the groundskeepers and the housekeepers all the way to the beach vendors everyone was very pleasant and helpful. The property is located right on the beach and most of the cottages or rooms face the beach. So you wake up to the crashing of the waves and music of the birds chirping in the trees. This property has 2 pools with in my opinion the best one is the "Paradise pool" where "Agnes" works, she has worked for this property for 18 years. She introduces herself to you and remembers you by name whenever you're around. She is so humbled by the fact that everyone knows her before she knows them by all the reviews about her on different websites. She truly makes you feel at home and treats you like your part of her extended family. She tastes every drink by dabbing a little on the back of her hand, to make sure it meets her high standards. Meeting "Agnes" isn't the only reason to come to this property, but in my opinion its one of the best reasons to want to come back in the future. Another reason is the laid back island attitude that everyone expresses here, "No worries, No problems" is the catch phrase everyone uses, which just makes you feel like you're on vacation. The food at the resort isn't bad. Breakfast and lunch are by far better then Dinner in my opinion. Because if you stay at a Sandals property you are able to go to the other 2 Sandals properties located close by on the island. We had the opportunity to go to Sandals "La Toc" for dinner at "La Toc" and it was very good, this is a french style restaurant, the food was better the the dinners at most of the restaurants at the "Halycon" property. The one common downside for all the dinners was there wasn't a real heavy presents of seafood dishes, which in my opinion you'd think being on an island this wouldn't be an issue, but it is and the seafood presents is lacking at all restaurants at the Sandals properties on St. Lucia.
While on the island we had the opportunity to experience a couple different tours; We took the deep-sea fishing tour, a bit pricey for what you got to do, at 155 per person, i feel i didn't i got my money's worth. We went out for about a mile to mile and half from the shore and did big circles for 4 hours until we got a bite, two members of our group, got to fight a couple of fish, which one was caught, the other members didn't get anything and for 155 pp i didn't feel that what we spent for the trip weight out evenly. Our next tour made up for the pricey deep-sea fishing tour though. The resort offers several different tours excursions and does warn about going thru local people instead, but this tour was very hard to pass up. The "Julian's Speedboat Tour", offered by a local, is the one to take. The price is perfect person at 110 or cheaper depending on # in your party, which includes a speed boat tour with full bar, Snorkeling, Coastal sightseeing, tour thru the different villages, Mud bath, followed by a mineral bath at the worlds only drive-thru volcano. You get to go to "Mama's" house for an authentic Caribbean meal, served potluck style a prepared by Julian's Mom at her house, then its off to the Waterfall, shopping and then back on the boat for the journey to the different sights during the return back to your resort. The key to all of this is; Julian only asks for a small deposit to hold your seat, he doesn't pressure you about the balance during the excursion, he waits until you return from the trip and you settle up then, and that is only if you have liked the tour...Which its hard not to just be ecstatic about all the places they take you and things you do for the price you pay. To do everything Julian offers in his 1 trip you'd have to take 3 excursion offered by the resort, costing 3x as much. So if you decide to to go to this fabulous place and stay make sure you go to the Sandals "Halycon Beach" resort, this is where you'll find Julian and his family members walking up and down the beach offering the "Julian Speedboat Tour", which you'll have the best time for an incredible deal.
All in all the trip was fabulous and i would highly recommend staying at the Sandals "Halycon Beach" resort, where you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This review is for people that can enjoy a vacation.With any resort anywhere in the world it wont be perfect.We had a blast at this place.The ride from the airport is rather long but we stopped a few time to take pics and get out of the bus to stretch our legs.If you are in a hurry don't book any sandals resorts in St Lucia.The check in process at the resort was very fast and easy,It took less than 15 min.All the staff was great,the grounds were very clean,the food was great and the drinks were COLD.The room was great and quiet.We were in the garden area witch was very quiet after 8pm.This resort is not huge but it is spread out.I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax.If you want to complain then stay home and let me relax.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cp7314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked our 2 week holiday at Sandals Halcyon beach to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary in 2005.

We had high expectations, and they were exceeded! Although I am only writing this review now (only recently joined Tripadvisor) the memories of this holiday are still vivid. It may not be the newest Sandals, it may not have the glam and glitz of some Sandals, but for us this was perfect. It is if anything understated but offers superb accommodation, excellent food and a very relaxing environment. Staff are always willing to do that little extra to make your holiday memorable. The 3 restaurants at the resort offered us a good choice of well prepared food including a carvery on Sundays.

I do hope that it hasn't changed in the interim, because as far as we were concerned, just perfect !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
1.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
833 reviews
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing