We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest to Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Petawawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Closest to Heaven on earth”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our first experience in the carribean and let me tell you that we were amazed. The food was amazing, the location was great and the staff went out of their way to accommodate you. A big shout out to Agnes at the Pool Bar. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Will be back in the not so distant future for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We're so happy to read that you had a great vacation with us. We love to hear our guests boast about their amazing experiences and the wonderful personality and hospitality of our staff. Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure creating such a memorable experience for you.

We can't wait to welcome you back soon!


Sincerely
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,149
    953
    334
    145
    118
See reviews for
76
2,988
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our biggest disappointment was when we tried to have a nice dinner that we both had dressed up for at Marios and were told that since my husband did not have close toed shoes we could not eat at the restaurant. We spoke to management about it. They said we could sit at another restaurant and they would bring us the food from Marios. My husband did not have any close toed shoes except tennis shoes or water socks. So, we ended up eating at a different restaurant that night (there are only three so if you cannot get in one you are down to two). Two nights later, we went back to Marios and my husband had his water socks on and we got in! It looked totally ridiculous. As I looked around, I saw most other men had on tennis shoes. I had to leave while we were waiting to be served and another couple were just being told they could not come in either. I told them about the water socks and they came back with the man in water socks. It is a very unrealistic rule - especially since women can wear sandals in the restaurant. I don't know what Marios has against men's toes!

We also were placed in the block of rooms right by the road. We live in the country at home where it is very quiet so we noticed the noise. They did move us to another room after some time. Then, we could not hear the traffic except the sirens. One of the reasons the traffic is so noisey is because in St. Lucia they beep for everything - even to say hello - or I am coming past you - so there is constant beeping.

The staff always go out of their way for you - those that made a special impression were Kennedy (porter), Shara (bartender), Selena (manager of Kellys), Casey (waiter at Kellys).

Since I get sea sick, we wanted to see the island by land. The Buggies Soufrie (6 hour tour) with Greg as our lead and Thomas as the tail was an absolute blast! We saw the island and viewed things we never would have seen if we were not on this tour. Greg is a wonderful lead - he does everything in his power to be sure everyone ridding in the Buggies have a great time. He posed us for pictures and took pictures. He even noticed that my husband didn't have his flash on on his camera. My husband didn't know how to turn on the flash. Greg took it and within one minute Greg had it turned on! Above and beyond amazing! Memories from this event will last a lifetime!

As others stated, there were never enough chairs especially in the shade. People put their towels down (or have their butlers do it) and many times the seats will remain empty for most if not all of the day. It was very disappointing.

I don't think we will go back - there are too many other places to explore . . . .

Room Tip: For concierge rooms - the numbers on the map are different than the numbers of the block of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 137JaneS137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We returned to Halcyon Beach after being there before in 2007; since then we have been to many (6) other Carribean Islands & different companies (not Sandals); we have also experienced many European holidays so we hope our review comes from an experienced viewpiont.
Let me say from the start that the staff at the Halycon are what makes this resort tick, Key in this were Francis, Celina, Martha, Stephano & Delores who seem to work extrordinarily long hours to keep a mainly young staff up to scratch.
Firstly a tip at the airport arrivals, don't get caught by the porters wanting to take your cases to the Sandals arrival lounge; which is in fact only 20mtrs from the exit door!.
On arrival we were allocated a room in block 7, a room type which we had not booked (we were told that the hotel was full & that this was the only room available, yet we had booked in July 2012!) This and block 8 are backed onto the main dual carriageway out of Castries(see photo) and we found it noisy; we did eventually get moved to block 4. Block 4 view was excellent within 50 mtrs of the ocean front, but also next to the Beach Bistro which for some reason reopens at 10.30 pm & closes at 3am in the morning. People seem to talk very loud at that time of the morning so take EARPLUGS for this area.
We were amazed that in this Technology driven age WiFi was available but at $42.99 a week or $14/day how can this be justified, our other resorts had free WiFi.
Sunbeds are another issue; the main pool is very noisy with non stop music in the mornings & shaded beds are reserved by Bulters. Paradise pool is a little quieter but still has road noise & shaded sunbeds have to be reserved early <8am. The quietest most relaxing is the beach, though narrow & small it does have serenity; to get a shaded sunbed you have to get up at 6am!!! true. Since our last visit it appears the resort has expanded but not the seating facilities.
We also visted the other resorts and Halcyon is by far the most peaceful.
Our Sandals package price at other resorts would have got us a wider "all included" deal, for example all "Couples Resorts" rooms have fridges stocked with Premium drinks restocked to order every day, Couples also offer free trips, WiFi & room service (espec Breakfast). Front Desk trips through Sandals are good but expensive, other resorts offer some as free.
Finally we must mention one of the most talented people we met, Kennedy can be found on the Beach & his & Chris's skills as mahogany wood carvers are superb, we asked him to create a bespoke design & within 48 hrs he had made it for us; recommend you check him out.
In Summary we feel Sandals offer was expensive & incompetitive on its package.
Despite the excellent service from the staff, sadly we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms in block 7 & 8 rear onto the main dual carriageway, block 4 faces the Beach Bistro which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CGT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We regret to hear that we did not meet quite your expectations. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our accommodations. However, as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We are always looking for ways to improve our resort to exceed the expectations of our clients. Since we are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities, I will be sure to send your feedback to the General Manager and relevant departments.


Kind Regards,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed at the Halcyon for 14 nights. We had a bungalow which was lovely, cleaned everyday by very friendly and happy cleaners, thank you Valentine. We were lucky enough to be invited to be witnesses at a wedding, a couple that we met on our flight. The wedding was beautiful and Claudia did an excellent job. The resort is the smaller of the 3 and I was so pleased that we chose this one. The Grand and Le Toc were huge and not as intimate and as friendly as Halcyon. The staff were so friendly and happy, they couldn't do enough. We spent alot of our holiday sat by the Paradise pool, which was quieter than the main pool, plus Paradise pool had the added bonus of Agnes, who served up fantastic cocktails. Agnes has worked at the resort for 18 yrs and is part of the furniture, she is a cheery, funny, lovely lady. She served me up her own cocktails which we named 'Agnes delight', I think Sandals should have a cocktail on the top of the board in her name. We will really miss her. Also other staff that stood out to us and deserve a mention are Stacey, who was working with Agnes and at the end of her training, I really hope Sandals keep her on. In the Bayside Restaurant we met Spencer, who started with Sandal 2 weeks ago and Jimmy who is training to be a Doctor, both these young men were very pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. To be honest all the staff were approachable and friendly, can't fault them. The only fault I found with this resort was the lack of umberellas. There is very little shade.The sun was beating down, if you get up early enough then you can get a lounger with umberella at the poolside, but at the beach that was impossible. The chairs at the paradise pool were plastic type material, whilst the loungers at the main pool were more luxurious, I think they loungers should be switched. People were getting up at the crack of dawn and putting towels down on chairs then disappearing, sometime not returning. I was told that people were putting towels on the beach and pool loungers so they could chose throughout the day where to bathe. I was also told that the rules were that if persons put towels down and didn't return within an hour then security would remove the towels. I didn't see this happening at all. Sandals, you need to stipulate that there is to be no seat/umberella reserving at all.

Room Tip: We had a bungalow which was ideal. There is a main road outside the resort and a main route for emer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed at the Halcyon 15th March till 29th March 21013.The hotel is first class not to big like the sister hotels La Tok and Grande, which is what we wanted thanks to Ruth at Holiday Please.The room Honymoon luxury Concierge Room was first Class.The room had a full drinks bar containing all the drink you could think of stocked up each day.We had 4 clean towels each day along with room cleaning.All your hair product were also supplied along with Hair dryer, and Iron and board, so no need to take any of these items. The food was first class with lots of variety, Steak,and Sea Brass, being of special note. We did go to the other hotels for a meal, again first class food.
The Staff are great nothing is to much trouble, be it the cleaner or the cook.Agnas will look after you in the Paradise Pool Bar with any cocktail you may require.Dwight, Davis, Dolorus will look after you whilst having your meal.The two swimming pools are good ,one where there is something going on music games etc, the other pool is the relaxing pool were you can just chill out. This is the pool we used. The beach is very nice but more sun beds are required along with some shade as it does get very hot.If you like to see round the island like we did, Joe Knows is a great trip, along with Whale watching, and Segway, all the trips you can pay to your room and then at the end of your holiday pay it by Visa Card. You do not need any money only for trips which takes all the stress away.Do not be put off by the odd bad review, this is a first class hotel with First Class Staff.We will be going with Sandals again.

Room Tip: We had a Honeymooon Luxury Room Sanctuary Concierge Room as we were upgraded.nothing more is require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geoffsue186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Second visit, on the first one just so tired that rest, good foot and excellent and friendly service was enough. While these still applied, there is n't much to do beyond that so after a few days the need for intellectual stimulation - of a relaxed kind - got to me and thoughts of Venice, Thialand, Tuscany or the Peleponese took over - so be careful, it's very much a one a one shot holiday. If that's what you are after then it works and the staff work incredibly hard to ensure your enjoyment, but if you'd like an occassional trip to a lecture theatre or concert hall or a chance to walk beside the Arno and relax with architecture then run !! My misjudgement; culture vulture holiday urgently needed.

Room Tip: Away from the restaurant - bar block
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZandDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This all inclusive hotel is clean, has good food, outstanding rooms and a lovely small beach. I have already booked my next stay. See Rasta Charlie on you tube who is great entertainment and will sell you things he has made for great gifts. Staff are great and you will be on first name basis after one day. Agnes, angel, emphie, just to name a few.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snake1official
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
1.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
822 reviews
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing