We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Harmony Suites(Castries)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Beach Cottages(Castries)
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$354
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel Jou Hotel(Castries)
$247
$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Regency La Toc(Castries)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa del Vega(Castries)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,016)
Filter reviews
4,016 results
Traveler rating
2,337
1,027
369
157
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,337
1,027
369
157
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparadise poolquiet poolkelly's docksideour honeymoonst luciala tocbeach vendorsroad noisebeach grilllaid backjoe knowsclub roomwater sportsconcierge roomitalian restaurantmain poolshuttle bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,451 - 2,456 of 4,016 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

To be honest, this was our first trip to St.Lucia and first Sandals experience. If you're looking for a relaxed, calm atmosphere, Halcyon is exactly that! We knew Halcyon was for us by the pictures alone. Most of the other Sandals Resorts have a tall square hotel, but Halcyon has two-storey, plant covered love nests. From the 2nd floor, we had an excellent view of the RedLane massage table closest to the beach, of the water and the cute little gazebo's spread across the garden.
We're professional musicians, so it was fun to participate in a talent show one night. Being in the entertainment field, the band was amazing. Its hard to find a groove like that in Toronto. The Playmakers were a lot of fun. Say hi to Nicky for me if you go. She's great!
Everything went extremely well. They even gave us a complimentary upgrade at check-in which gave us a higher wood panel ceiling and a better view of the gardens. We like to vacation at different places each year, but Sandals Halcyon will see us again. Check out my photo's on my Facebook page Liana Primerano. Photo Album: Saint Lucia Oct 2012
Oh they even have a 15 minute complimentary photo shoot and a second shoot because we missed the sunset the first night. It was a lot of fun. Sandals Halcyon, a 5 Star Experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lprimerano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I celebrated 20 years there and he surprised me with this vacation! We stayed Nov 3-10. I'm so glad he picked the Halcyon vs the other resorts. We had a beach front, butler room and we loved Sylvie and Claudia!! The food was outstanding and the pool was a total blast every day. Get up early to get a spot! What I liked most about Halcyon is the laid back atmosphere. The average age was 25-65. We met a lot of Brits and a lot of east coasters just making it through hurricane Sandy. We met people we will, no doubt, be friends with forever! The Friday night street party is a must see...not the one at the La Toc, but the one thrown by the locals. Well worth the trip! The beaches were nice, but I'm a pool kinda person. The "vendors" on the beach were there trying to sell you their jewelry, aloe, carvings and smoke. Yes, smoke...the illegal type! Don't be discouraged, they don't push hard. A simple, no thank you will suffice. Make sure you bring slacks and dress shirts for the men. We were turned away from Marios, which is ok. Its nice to dress up for a week. Make sure you take the "Joe Knows" tour. It is all day long, but soooo worth it!! Big Al, Snoop Dog and Big Willie were so much fun and we learned so much about the island! You get to snorkel, go in a volcano, wash off in a water fall, eat traditional Creole food, and see the other side of the island. A must do. (Tell Al, Willie and Snoop Clint and Angi said hi!!) All in all, we would totally visit this resort again and again!!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view, butler service...well worth the little extra money. They make the trip so worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

First I would like to justify our critique. Both my wife and myself are seasoned travelers and frequent the Caribbean. We have just returned from a week at Sandals St. Lucia Halcyon. 11/03/2012-11/10/12.
First, if you are a serious beach/water person you might not want to pick this resort. It is not what you see in the pictures. It was too rough to enjoy the ocean and the water was stirred up and murky. Not the crystal blue you see in pictures. Have to settle for the pool.

The food at Mario's and Pier Restaurant are pushing 4 star with service to match. However, the food at the Bayside is hotel grade at the best. Service is spotty and there are times when no service is around. JUST FOR A HEADS UP, BOTH MYSELF AND MY WIFE GOT SEVERELY SICK ONE NIGHT AFTER EATING AT BAYSIDE. WE ALSO RAN INTO SEVERAL OTHER COUPLES WHO DID ALSO THE SAME EVENING. SO I QUESTION THEIR SANITATION.

Transportation buses are available to travel between Sandals resorts, however there appears to be a problem with there being enough buses. We had dinner reservations at another resort for 6:00 and attempted to use the 5:15 bus. It arrived at the our resort already full from another resort. We finally arrived for dinner at 6:45. Just to add a footnote, it is apparent that one hand doesn't know what the other is doing at this resort.

The property is nicely kept however is becoming very worn out and needs to be updated for it to be the quality Sandals advertises.

Housekeeping was superb. Our little St Luciana gal, Shermina, could not do enough for us. Its such a shame the rest of the resort doesn't share her passion!

In summery, we would say that if you were to compare Halcyon with other Sandals resorts, Couples resorts in Jamaica and several other Caribbean resorts; Chose elsewhere, this is a poor bang for your buck!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jetjoc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Sandals Halcyon. While we have not had similar complaints regarding food sanitation, we are respectful of the opinions you have expressed and recognize that one person’s specific experience can only be judged by that individual. We strive to keep the highest standard of quality and service and we deeply regret if we did not live up to your expectations. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments as well as the General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Thank you, again. We hope to welcome you again in the future for an experience that exceeds your expectations.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visited Halcyon for the first time in 2007 with my now husband… it was a first time at an all inclusive and at Sandals and we really enjoyed ourselves. Back then there were some other guests our age and there was a little night life. This past time was very different…. We also got the feeling of really not being welcomed by the staff because of our age… this time they were very rude especially about the “dress code” that they enforce when they want to. The worst experience was going to the pier restaurant. We were told “Leather Sandals” were appropriate so my husband had leather sandals on. The hostess was so rude and said we couldn’t come in… fine.. so he went and put full shoes on. We came back and were seated the whole time she is rolling her eyes at us. When we were sitting we look behind us and there is a man (Probably in his 60’s) wearing shorts and flip flops… also another women who was in her 50’s looking a mess… braids in her hair (which was wet) and a sun dress wrap. We were both dressed very nicely…I just feel we were treated differently because we were in our late 20’s. We didn’t even eat our dinner and I left in tears because I was so angry…We complained to the manager on duty and she did nothing just said that we should follow the dress code. We ended up spending all the rest of our days at Sandals Grande where there was fun music… better food… and a more laid back vibe. Food is good at Mario’s but other then that the food is just average. Service is just OK there is no real urgency and there were some rude staff. The only exception is the Hostess and the servers at Mario’s… they were all fantastic! It was a sad disappointing experience to think the place we loved years ago we are no longer welcomed at…maybe we will give them another chance but it isn’t likely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kstark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Everything about our honeymoon was perfect!! We stayed at Halycon Beach Sept 30th-October 8th, 2012 for our honeymoon. We loved the small, quaint feel of this resort. (We visited the Grande one day and felt we were "just a number") The staff was amazing (Nikki, the 'playmaker' had us laughing at the pool and got everyone involved) The gardens/beaches were spectacular and the view from our room was right out of a movie. (We were in room 110, overlooking the beach) Everyone from the GM to the housekeeper was pleasant, smiling, and eager to serve. You can really tell they take pride in their resort, and country. Although other reviews commented on the poor quality of the food, we LOVED the food! (Great fruit and local cuisine) If we didn't have to return to work, we would have extended our trip a day or two. We will DEFINITELY be back (Hopefully for our 5 year anniversary!!) Erin and Andrew Quarino

Room Tip: Room 110 is right on the beach, but still nice and quiet! You can hear the ocean at night through the windows.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank erin q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews