We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Harmony Suites(Castries)(Great Value!)
$85
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$367
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Vega(Castries)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Beach Cottages(Castries)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel Jou Hotel(Castries)(Great Value!)
$224
$180
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Regency La Toc(Castries)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,058)
Filter reviews
4,058 results
Traveler rating
2,372
1,033
370
157
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,372
1,033
370
157
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparadise poolquiet poolkelly's docksideour honeymoonst luciala tocbeach vendorsroad noisebeach grilllaid backjoe knowsclub roomwater sportsconcierge roomitalian restaurantmain poolshuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
3,697 - 3,702 of 4,058 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2007

As titled above our holiday at the Halcyon was the best ever. Staff were very friendly and we had lots to do each day. From Doug, our tennis coach giving fun lesssons to sailing, snorkling, etc we had a great time.
Food was great; we ate at nearly all the restaurents and enjoyed all of them.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

My wife and I honeymooned at the Halcyon this year and it was an amazing experience.

A lot has already been written in other reviews but I would like to add my own thoughts so here goes.

We took the helicopter ride from the airport in the south of the island to the airport in the north and it was well worth it, the bus journey is terrible! The helicopter ride lasts about 14 minutes and the taxi from the airport to the hotel was about 5 minutes.

On arrival at the hotel we were offered sparkling white wine and a lemon scented towel to cool down with. We were checked in quickly and shown to our room

The room was immaculate. Clean and large with plenty of space to relax and a balcony that was very private, nobody looking over you. Had a delux room with a garden view. Our toilet blocked twice when we were there (not our doing) but it was fixed straight away, once we didn't even know it was blocked until the man with the plunger turned up!

Resort - The resort is small and romantic. It has a village feel about it and although there were many other couples there the resort did feel very private. One main pool with bar where all the activities take place. You aren't bullied inot taking part but the entertainment staff will come up and try and encourage you to take part. we spent most of our time by the quiet paradise pool. No entertainment staff here so you could read your book in piece and quiet and the pool was never busy. This pool also had a fully stocked bar and served afternoon tea which was excellent.

Food - What can I say about the food? Quite a lot! Breakfast is served in the Bayside where you can also have lunch and dinner. Heard a few complaints about no choice at breakfast which I found astounding. At breakfast you had a choice of poached eggs, fired eggs, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, omlettes, crepes, cererals, variety of bread, beans, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, hash browns, cheese, cold cuts, pastries, fruit juices, steak, fish and some other options that changed everyday. To me this is a great choice. I just want to know what the people that complained eat for breakfast at home.

Lunch at the Bayside was a buffet style with a huge range of food on ofer everyday. All fresh and cooked fantastically well.

Dinner is where your options really opened up. The Pier was really good, brilliant food and brilliant service. We also went to the other Sandals properties and ate at Kimono's which is an experience of the positive kind and the Sandals take on the classic British pub was odd but again good. Our favourite place to eat by a country mile was Mario's at the Halcyon. We ended up there 4 tmes during our stay. The staff at Mario's are amazing and the food is out of this world. You have so much choice at Moario's that even though we went 4 times we never had the same thing twice.

There are a number of restaurants over the 3 sites, each ten minute complimentary bus ride away, that you will never get bored eating out and if you do then you are just not trying.


Staff - The staff at the Halcyon are amazing! The most professional staff I have ever encountered at any hotel. I offered to give Claude, one of the bell hops, a hand with our cases up the stairs but her refused saying that he could get sacked if anyone saw me helping him. Trying to tip is impossible as well but a chat and a smile go a long way. We made loads of friends there, staff and holiday makers, and couldn't go anywhere without somebody shout our names out and giving a wave or stopping for a chat. This level of excellence stretches all the way to management as well. Managers are always about and work just as hard as the other staff. The staff take time out to learn your name and about you so we took the time to ask about htheir lives which made our holiday an even better experience. Gavin is a legend! Our glasses we never empty when he was on duty. As soon as the last mouthful of drink was gone a fresh one was there in front of you. Marlon was as the same, a class guy and a great laugh. Kimbert and Warner were magicians with the cocktails and Agnes is a superb lady. Always smiling and always willing to stop and chat.

Hurricane - Hirricane Dean hit the island whilst we were there and I have to say the way everyone pulled together, staff and holiday makers, was amazing. The hurricane hit about 3.00 am on Friday morning. Later that morning breakfast was served 30 mins late. 30 mins late! That is unbelievable as the Bayside is just metres from the beach. The entire place was filled with sand and sea water but they managed to clear it and still serve breakfast. The pools were out of use for our last 2 days and the Pier was badly damaged so it was closed as well but everyting else got back to normal quickly. It was a bit of downer to the end of our honeymoon but it is nature and the hotel did everything possible to make things go smoothly. This however didn't stop many folk complain that the couldn't use the pools and other facilities but we just ignored thses people and got on with it.

Sandals offer a hurricane guaranttee that states if your resort is hit by hurricane strength winds and facilities at the hotel are disrupted then they offer you a free vaction for the same value as the one you are on when the hurricane hits, to be taken within 12 months of the original holiday. I am here to tell you that this is no joke and we managed to claim a free vaction. No problems at all in claiming it and it good to see a company backing up its customer service promises and not trying to wriggle out of it.

We are planning a trip to one of the Sandals resorts in Jamacia next year and really looking forward to it.

Go here if you want a romantic get away. You can't beat it.

Gavin & Cheryl Taylor

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Gaviebawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Myself and Partner arrived at the Halcyon 2 days after Hurricane Dean, we got the helicopter from the airport to the hotel which I would strongly recommend.

The Halcyon is a beautiful hotel, the only evidence of the hurricane was the main pool and the pier restaurant were closed. The staff worked very hard and the pool was emptied, cleaned, refilled and opened within 4 days and the pier restaurant open in less than a week after. Well done to all the staff cleaning up and getting the resort back to normal, you did a grand job.

We had a beachfront concierge room and it was beautiful, I really could not fault it, room number 134. For anyone that is worried about the rooms we went to a Managers meeting whilst there and he said they had been granted money to update the rooms immediately. If you are lucky enough to be in a concierge room you really do get looked after, just go to the desk and they will sort anything out for you and also book all the restaurants there and the Regency and Grande.

All the restaurants are fantastic and the food was very good. We did go to restaurants at both the other Sandals and they were very nice, especially the Japanese which is also alot of fun. My only comment on the other two hotels is that for us they were to big, very nice, but we preferred the intimacy and friendliness of the smaller Halcyon.

My Partner loves his water sports and The Halcyon is great for this. He must have gone out Wake Boarding at least 4 times aday, he built up a good relationship with all the water sports staff and they did look after him very well, thanks guys and dont forget 'Curly' if any of you read this. We were informed that the water sports at the other hotels were not as good and you had to queue for everything.

The Pools are lovely, main pool and paradise pool both have swim up bars and are good size pools. Afternoon tea and cakes are served in the afternoon at the paradise pool which is very nice.

Beach grill is handy for something to eat at anytime of the day, shuts for a few hours in the evening then reopens about 10.30 till the early hours. This was very handy one evening as we had one to many cocktails one afternoon fell asleep and woke around 10.30 so to the beach grill for dinner haha

We did a couple of trips, the Catamaran for the day. This was great as it included more or less everything to see on the Island, the view of the Pitons is breathtaking. You are then taken to the drive in volcano and the botanical gardens and to a restaurant for lunch then back to the Cat.
We also did the Zip Wire Adventure in the Rain Forest - you really must do this its awesome, we had so much fun.

Big thank you to all the staff, you guys really made our holiday. Agnes is a lovely lovely lady and Marlon is a top guy, if you read this we loved you dude and know you will never forget us, especially Curly.

The only down side to the whole experience was having to leave. The journey to the airport was terrible, the driving is horrendous as are the roads. I would strongly recommend the helicopter to and from the airport.

I missed the place and people for days after :-(

Paula & Curly

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Booey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

Everything was a positive experience, the grounds are just beautiful and well maintained, the staff was the best we have ever encountered in some very extensive travels.
(get to know all their names)-they'll know yours and its so nice to get a chat with the locals of St. Lucia....
Our suggestions are very minor but would make it 100% PERFECT:
A) add ceiling fans to the outdoor balconys (the box air conditioners create soo much heat it makes it impossible to sit outside with the air on inside.)
B) cut back the vines from the balconys so you can actually see your ocean view and feel the lovely breeze, rather than the humidity being trapped on the balcony.

C) the only real annoyance was the vendors on the beach (yes I know its public) but they went from asking for a glass of water ,to alcohol, to wanting us to bring them lunch plates specialy ordered. (The other two resorts are too hard for them to get on the property, therefore they don't bother the guests..)
We found ourselves hiding out in the "paradise pool" area ALOT just to avoid talking with the "boys" on the beach. They were not threatening ,but extremely pushy..and I really got fed up with explaining that "NO WE ARE NOT MILLIONAIRES ,AND WE DID WORK HARD HOURS for this vacation" and sorry about not wanting to buy your goods....AGAIN this was an annoyance, I think most public beachs have this same problem, It would be nice if the security at the Halcyon took a more active role in discouraging that behavior from both the guests ordering food/drinks for them, and the vendors badgering the people on the beach once they got on first name basis. WE would go back in a minute, the only change would be to totally discourage any conversation with the guys selling stuff

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank divewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We stayed at the Halcyon from September 2nd for 2 weeks where we were married. I have so many positive things to say about this resort and its staff which really made the holiday for us.

Wedding- We met the wedding team on our first day there and made all of our arrangements. They were very helpful and put our minds as ease. The wedding day itself was fantastic. It only lasted about 20min in total but we never felt rushed and the location in the gazebo overlooking the beach was breathtaking. We had the wedding video which came out well however there was some background noise picked up on the tape from the main pool so please make sure this is resolved beforehand. Gavlin took our beautiful photos for us and although we pre booked a photo package it was impossible not to select extras (quite expencive so be prepared).
That evening we had a special wedding meal which was 5 courses and lovely. The following morning we were brought breakfast in bed and we were still talking about it to anybody who would listen 3 days later.

The resort- Beautiful grounds, everything within short walking distance and the ability to access the other 2 resorts on a 15min drive. There are lots of little hide aways too including love seats and hammocks.
There are two pools and we preferred the paradise pool (sometimes known as the hangover pool) as it is larger in size and far more relaxing than the other pool which held daily games of volly ball etc.

The staff- The staff really make the difference here between a great holiday and a fantastic holiday. There are so many names to mention. The staff at Marios the Itallian resturant were amazing and this quickly became our fav place to eat. Special thanks to Selina the manager and Leiane the waitress who made us feel so special on every visit. It is white glove service but very relaxed.
The bar staff were very intertaining and again really made you feel like you were getting special attention. To name a few-Kimo, Chrispin,Agnes. And the more you make conversation ect with them the more you get back from them. We made some great friends in the staff.

Entertainment- To tell the truth this sometimes lacked however this may be due to the time of the year. However again what you put into this holiday you will get back out. We made lots of new friends in guests and staff so there was never an occasion where we would go to one of the many bars and not find great conversation and laughs. One of the highlights for us was David in the piano bar. He was in there about 3-4 nights a week. You basically sit around the piano with a book of song words and everyone joins in singing and picking out songs.Its a fantastic way to meet people.

This review seems short compared to how many wonderful memories we have of the place. We had the wedding of our dreams and would highly reccommend this holiday to anyone.

Please feel free to contact me with regards to any element of this rewiew. I will be more than happy to share any info.

hayleymorling@yahoo.co.uk

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank butterflykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews