We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overrated and very expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coal Pot

The Coal Pot
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fish and seafood specialties restaurant on water front at Vigie Cove, Chef Xavier Ribot has lead this charming restaurant for 15 years offering french and Caribbean cuisine.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“overrated and very expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Tried this restaurant on recommendation of our B.A. rep. what a let down!
the menu was written up on a chalk board which I think may have been marked up especially for us.
the food was nothing better than average, my wife and daughter had a three course meal with a bottle of wine Bill = $400 US and the waitress promptly said the tip was not Included!!!
Sorry not for me, and definitely wont ever return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    207
    67
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

One of our favourites. We always visit when we are there. The owner is extremely friendly and the menu is vast. I don't like fish even though the choices are extensive, but there is plenty for meat eaters too - pork, beef and lamb.

What lets this place down is the unfriendliness of the staff. Our waitress didn't engage or speak with us other than to take our order. It wasn't service with a smile. I hope it was just a bad day and not a sign of what we can expect in the future. It really dampened our spirits and we couldn't wait to leave.

Another thing I hate is when a restaurant is being closed down around you. We weren't there late - arrived at 8pm but by 10 they were closing off lights, shutting down the bar and we felt they couldn't wait to get rid of us. At least wait until the last guest leaves before you do this it really is very unwelcoming.

I do hope this place bucks it's ideas up - it was once superb but other than the food and the outlook it really doesn't have more to offer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank janie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Caribbean food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

After 2 months in St Lucia, this was our favourite restaurant. The fish was amazing (particularly the dorado) and it is in a beautiful location. Fantastic Caribbean food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Coal Pot is exquisite dining with sumptuous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Coal Pot Restaurant serves excellent blend of good food made with local ground provisions, vegetables and various meats. I enjoy the mussels and Coquille St Jacques in addition to the lobster bisque as appetizers. The garlic shrimp, coconut curry Dorado or snapper are my favorite entres. The chocolate cake or passion fruit cheese cake completes my lunch menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aajean32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting unexpected elegance in an island setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family made a stop for lunch at the Coal Pot while on a cruise. This was the best meal we had the entire week - from the handmade cocktails to the fantastic handmade dishes that everything is served on, it can't be missed.
My son is a chef at a top restaurant and this was up to his standards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank damostdaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coal Pot also viewed

Castries, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Been to The Coal Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing