We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castries "Pot of Gold!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coal Pot

The Coal Pot
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fish and seafood specialties restaurant on water front at Vigie Cove, Chef Xavier Ribot has lead this charming restaurant for 15 years offering french and Caribbean cuisine.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Castries "Pot of Gold!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Coal Pot is a wonderful restaurant! We noticed the beautiful waterfront restaurant upon or arrival from a whale watching excursion next door (Hackshaw Island tours, very nice as well.) I asked our taxi driver about it and he highly recommended it. The food was absolutely delicious! The service was wonderful, and the view was amazing! I had the Dorado "Mahi Mahi" while my wife had the Tuna, in her words "amaze-balls". Everything was excellent from the fresh bread to the well proportioned meals and the dessert which I couldn't resist trying. All for about $75 US. The menu is only shown in Ec, but ahhh that is the currency, so pull out you iphone and multiply by the exchange rate 2.65 US. and credit cards are accepted. Cant wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    203
    64
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just okay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Was put off immediately as cats were wandering around the restaurant so vey unhygienic. Please get shut! Food very good but storm in progress so all customers got soaked as it was windy too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing food, fantastic service !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is one of the best meals I have ever had in a restaurant. Myself and 3 girls friends went to this restaurant on recommendation from our hotel,the landings. It was beyond our expectations,and certainly the best steak I have tasted for years. The service was attentive and excellent. We force ourselves to order dessert and the crime brûlée and chocolate cake were awesome . It's not the easiest restaurant to find , but the setting is just spectacular.
Manager was a great guy and even gave us a lift back as we had let our driver go ....... Please ignore any bad reviews as you will be really missing out of you don't eat here !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank totallydiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tourists BEWARE!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Cabs will take you here and recommend it, but find a safer place. We should have listened to The Royal Carribian cruise line when they warned us about this restaurant. This establishment will not give you the exchange rate. They will put you next to a muddy rock beach and then charge you $30.00 a plate. Food is over cooked and will not let you reorder, or make new. Just letting you know, if it was good at one time it's not anymore. Raul is the manager, and he will just tell you it's your problem not his.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kjgilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Save your money people. Im not a picky person and dont mind paying for good food however Raul, the french guy that runs this place is the worst. Lunch entrees are 20 dollars plus and listed in ec so its difficult to see what you are paying. My wife asked if we could forgo the entrees and was adamantly denied. said they were already prepared. After waiting another 1/2 hour we received our main course it was horrible. the fish wich was tuna was overcooked and smelled old. We complained and were told we were liars and that his restaurant is the best. well Raul maybe it was the best years ago but bad management poor food and disrespect for customers have destroyed your restaurant. If I were the owner I would clean house.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jag820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coal Pot also viewed

Castries, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Been to The Coal Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing